A24 | Release Date: May 17, 2019
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 62 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
39
Mixed:
10
Negative:
13
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
Brent_MarchantJan 11, 2020
Handily one of the most empty, tedious and flat-out dull movie experiences I've had in quite a long, long while. This alleged story (if one could even call it that) of the perils of toxic relationships never gets off the ground but insteadHandily one of the most empty, tedious and flat-out dull movie experiences I've had in quite a long, long while. This alleged story (if one could even call it that) of the perils of toxic relationships never gets off the ground but instead wallows in a collection of disjointed incidents mixed in with pseudointellectual discussions about filmmaking and other obscure, esoteric topics. For the life of me I have no clue what director Joanna Hogg was going for here, and, based on the results, I suspect she didn't, either. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
JLuis_001Aug 4, 2019
I'm quite confused as to the positive reviews this film received because I couldn't find those merits attributed to it.

Its plot is supposed to be a story of maturity, a coming of age story outside the basic mold of stupid teenagers and yet
I'm quite confused as to the positive reviews this film received because I couldn't find those merits attributed to it.

Its plot is supposed to be a story of maturity, a coming of age story outside the basic mold of stupid teenagers and yet this experience is devoid of functionality when its two main characters are poor in empathy and sympathy.
Certainly functional for the kind of relationship they carry but it's ironic to think that a film that also falls within the romantic genre is so unromantic, since everything in their relationship seems to be based on opportunism and need.

Undoubtedly The Souvenir is a sober film and is filmed in an elegant way but that in no way justifies its narrative poverty because sincerely leaving aside its cinematographic quality its protagonists are not characters with whom you want to spend a lot of time.

And I'm totally amazed and baffled that the credits announce that a sequel is coming. I cannot think a single argument that justifies it.
Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
8
amheretojudgeJul 26, 2019
Walking into the film is like entering a well documented room that is screaming for attention and regretting.

The Souvenir Hogg is a reserved person in here. The persona of the writer-director, Joanna Hogg factors incredibly in a film so
Walking into the film is like entering a well documented room that is screaming for attention and regretting.

The Souvenir

Hogg is a reserved person in here. The persona of the writer-director, Joanna Hogg factors incredibly in a film so personal as such. And I don't mean just that it is derived from some real experience, but that it deals with something so personal for the characters too, that it doesn't, they don't even let you in. You remain a part of an audience throughout this journey. And on a larger scale, this might act as a double edged sword as not everyone would respond to such a formal invitation- if there is any. But the art form remains a mystery to be solved. And what the film made me feel makes me not to understand but just remember it. This is one of those experiences that will stay with you.

And the reason behind it, is Hogg's deeply religious virtue on deconstructing the romanticized version of itself. First, I thought she has unromanticized the genre by never agreeing to anything which happens to be the theme. No character, no surroundings, no situation, no philosophy, nothing seems to agree. Not even my favourite part of the narration that is the musical sequences that every now and then pops up, just like Julie's (Honor Swinton Byrne) reads. I never felt the love between the lead couple despite an excellent performance.

If anything, their equation seemed a dry rough patch persisting to heal as each of them tries to stay in one room and just be present. No spark just a warm soothing feeling that could actually be any relationship and not particularly just a romantic one. For a world so sane and sensible, Hogg flipped the coming-of-age genre through new lenses marking the first creatively fresh film I saw claiming this genre. The Souvenir speaks most of the time through the physicality present in nature, she says, she cries, she reads, should be accounted in for theatricality.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
MarcDoyleMay 19, 2019
There are some incredible individual moments in this film. Much of it is something that you'd see from the corner of your eye - you know it happened, but you didn't see it directly. What I can say is that I wasn't entirely satisfied with thisThere are some incredible individual moments in this film. Much of it is something that you'd see from the corner of your eye - you know it happened, but you didn't see it directly. What I can say is that I wasn't entirely satisfied with this film while watching it, but it has absolutely stuck with me half a day later. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
PlasticsOct 19, 2019
The direction is next level. Subtle yet completely engrossing. Tilda Swinton is still the best actress alive. Two scenes with her is enough to steal your heart. Young actors are very talented as well, both will have a very bright future fir sure
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
emkadvJun 8, 2019
Must-see? More like must-avoid. The worst movie I've seen in a long time. It reminded me of the worst of Antonioni: jumps from one scene to another without any explanation or justification. Characters who had no apparent reason for theirMust-see? More like must-avoid. The worst movie I've seen in a long time. It reminded me of the worst of Antonioni: jumps from one scene to another without any explanation or justification. Characters who had no apparent reason for their actions. It started out boring but by the end it got to excrucating. I had a free ticket and I feel like I overpaid. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
1
EVWMay 31, 2019
Pretentious. Boring. A slap in the face to the true story of how addiction actually affects people.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
orangedroogMay 18, 2019
Saw The Souvenir at Sundance, INSTANT CLASSIC, can’t wait for part 2!!! Honor Swinton is an exciting new discovery that I can’t wait to see in more movies. This movie got under my skin and has stayed there for months.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
moviemitch96Jun 9, 2019
This is a film about a young film student entering into a relationship with a troubled man in the 80s. There's really not a whole lot for me to say on this one unfortunately. I wanted to like it more, as many have been deeming this small andThis is a film about a young film student entering into a relationship with a troubled man in the 80s. There's really not a whole lot for me to say on this one unfortunately. I wanted to like it more, as many have been deeming this small and quiet little film a masterpiece, but that was it's problem. It was almost TOO quiet and subtle for my liking, almost to the point of being not very memorable at all. On the plus side however, it's beautifully shot, and the performances are brilliant. Tilda Swinton plays a small role in this, with her daughter Honor Swinton Byrne playing the lead role of the film student in this, and she's got some great emotional and acting chops! Overall, films that depict a slice of life should at least be interesting enough, but this one didn't really do much to make it stand out to me, despite some great shots/cinematography and performances. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
BrunoVn00Sep 26, 2019
The Souvenir is one of the best films of the year. It is a romantic drama, that tells the story of a couple: The woman (played by Honor Swinton) is an aspiring filmmaker and the boyfriend (played by Tom Burke) is a mysterious drugaddict. IThe Souvenir is one of the best films of the year. It is a romantic drama, that tells the story of a couple: The woman (played by Honor Swinton) is an aspiring filmmaker and the boyfriend (played by Tom Burke) is a mysterious drugaddict. I wasn't expecting some subject matters in this movie and they were handled in a realistic and shocking way. The movie is very well-written, but its strongest point by far is its performances. Honor Swinton's acting is just wonderful, so was Tom Burke's acting too. These actors really give realism and depth to their characters through their performances. This is one of the best acted films I have seen in the year so far. The directing and cinematography, while both good, could've been better.

Overall this is an amazing character study film. Don't expect like an exciting plot because this movie has no plot. You will be left with nothing but great dialogue and terrific performances.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
jlbutsonJun 29, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Well-crafted and visually captivating, The Souvenir makes you sit and slowly absorb the tale as it’s unraveling, which is to say this movie isn’t for everyone, If it’s a neatly packaged and spoon-fed plot with a quick pace you’re looking for this film is definitely not for you! Reminiscent of Bergman films where what’s not said is every bit as important as what is spoken, I loved the theatrical atmosphere akin to watching a play/stage as most of the film is set in the apartment of our lead character who is in film school and often more an observer than a participant in the beginning.

Evocative of the early eighties London where much of it takes place, we are invited to the parties, the dinner table, the bedroom, and even the editing room as our heroine film maker falls for her rather louche lover and they slowly descend into his heroin addiction. I would see this film again if only for the scenes in Venice!
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
TVJerryJun 13, 2019
The ONLY interesting thing about this movie is that Honor Swinton Byrne works with her mom, Tilda (who also plays her mom in the movie). Honor plays a dull film student who's also in a relationship with a man who has serious issues (TomThe ONLY interesting thing about this movie is that Honor Swinton Byrne works with her mom, Tilda (who also plays her mom in the movie). Honor plays a dull film student who's also in a relationship with a man who has serious issues (Tom Burke). However, this whole thing is played out in quiet conversations with virtually no emotional investment and only the most sedate of interactions. A staid, tedious British version of mumblecore. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
1
katezoeSep 21, 2019
One of the worst and most pretentious movies I have seen in 2019. Instant BOREDOM, I stopped watching the movie to read the rave reviews. Waste of time.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
Andrew70Jun 12, 2019
The movie is boring and horrible. I watched 2 couple walkout of the movie. I stayed because it was raining outside. I can't believe I drove 20 minutes to see this mess. Lucky I used my AMC Alister pass to see this. Stay away from this movie.The movie is boring and horrible. I watched 2 couple walkout of the movie. I stayed because it was raining outside. I can't believe I drove 20 minutes to see this mess. Lucky I used my AMC Alister pass to see this. Stay away from this movie. I felt as if I was robbed of 2 hours of my life. There is a reason RT Audience score is 34%. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
8
LamontRaymondMay 18, 2019
It's certainly a beautifully-shot film, and I love that they don't "tell" you everything as the story progresses. You're seeing the results of actions instead of the actions themselves. The lead actors are excellent, but the fact that we'reIt's certainly a beautifully-shot film, and I love that they don't "tell" you everything as the story progresses. You're seeing the results of actions instead of the actions themselves. The lead actors are excellent, but the fact that we're dealing with another addiction story knocks it down a peg for me. But it dovetails with the blindness of young love in an interesting way. Further, it captures the journey of a young, privileged artist in an honest way. The music in it is excellent. You don't know exactly when the film is set, but it feels like the early 80's? Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
GinaKMay 29, 2019
The best film I have seen so far this year, even though it is a kind of “Merchant Ivory film” from and for a new generation. It's beautifully acted and beautifully shot, but more realistic and with more of an edge and a more contemporaryThe best film I have seen so far this year, even though it is a kind of “Merchant Ivory film” from and for a new generation. It's beautifully acted and beautifully shot, but more realistic and with more of an edge and a more contemporary theme. The louche Anthony (brilliantly acted by David Burke) is “cool” and self-possessed, but also hopelessly lost. He flirts with and tempts Julie (Honor Swinton Byrne), and perhaps because of her family ties and a stronger sense of self, she manages to resist his frailties. It’s been awhile since I have seen such wonderful, believable acting, and I look forward to seeing more from the director Joanna Hogg. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews