Screen Gems | Release Date: April 20, 2007
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 228 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
190
Mixed:
27
Negative:
11
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
oliver1hMay 1, 2013
I honestly want to rate it higher, but I can not! This movie was a totally average thriller, that is not really better than any other boring, ''we have seen this before'' horror/thrillers. The actors were not that bad I have to mention that,I honestly want to rate it higher, but I can not! This movie was a totally average thriller, that is not really better than any other boring, ''we have seen this before'' horror/thrillers. The actors were not that bad I have to mention that, but they were nothing outstanding...Maybe a rent worthy survival/slasher. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
eTurkeyJun 16, 2012
Must resist 'Psycho' motel references. *cough* Oh, hi. I didn't see you there. Anywayz, 'Vacancy' is... well, rather average. It's not so much of a bad film as it is pretty boring. It neither expands the genre nor offers anything new orMust resist 'Psycho' motel references. *cough* Oh, hi. I didn't see you there. Anywayz, 'Vacancy' is... well, rather average. It's not so much of a bad film as it is pretty boring. It neither expands the genre nor offers anything new or fresh. The acting performances were alright (at best) but these lead actors weren't exactly believable as a married couple which repelled me from further from enjoying the movie. The production values are cheap but that simply might have been the intention to further point out that this isn't the Hilton Hotel by any stretch. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
FilmVirtueFeb 15, 2014
Vacancy is horrific, as well as scary, violent, and mysterious. It was okay, I'll say that. I had no complaints with this film but to me-- this film was just okay.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
Lambo442Nov 18, 2011
Good acting, good pacing, well filmed and an interesting idea. Not that memorable though, I mean its not the kind of film you're gonna watch over and over again, or even twice. I'm only watching it again now as it happens to be on TV and I'mGood acting, good pacing, well filmed and an interesting idea. Not that memorable though, I mean its not the kind of film you're gonna watch over and over again, or even twice. I'm only watching it again now as it happens to be on TV and I'm wondering why it doesn't blow me away. I think it's because it's so far fetched. View to a kill's starting now on another channel and I'll be switching over. Vacancy is THAT kind of movie Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
4
MicSinApr 21, 2007
This movie sucked. No wonder they pumped up the advertising. Not scary. Not innovative. Not believable. Go see Fracture instead.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MarkB.Apr 25, 2007
Woe be to any thriller (and its audience) where the biggest and most effective thrills by far appear in the opening and closing credits sequences! By themselves, they're quite marvelous, actually, with the listed names of everyone Woe be to any thriller (and its audience) where the biggest and most effective thrills by far appear in the opening and closing credits sequences! By themselves, they're quite marvelous, actually, with the listed names of everyone involved acting as puzzle pieces in a design that suggests a collaboration between Saul Bass and the person who designed the topiary maze in Stanley Kubrick's The Shining, scored by Paul Henslinger as though his doctor told him that this would be the last music he'd ever compose, and, by golly, he's gonna make the most of it! Given how torpid, predictable and monotonous most of what follows turns out to be, it's hard to decide whether to congratulate those involved with the credits or sue them for breach of promise. The plot involves a troubled married couple (dealing with a recent tragedy, but details are deliberately left vague) who, experiencing that good old familiar car trouble that acts as such a reliable fulcrum in movies like this, check into a (literally) ratty old motel that, due to the manager's predilection for filming snuff movies starring previous customers, they might not be able to check out of. The most interesting filmmaking decision involved with Vacancy is that the time period is extremely difficult to place: for reasons obvious to the plot, no cell phones are employed; the costumes and cars don't tell you much; the radio looks old enough to have played Tommy Dorsey's first Number One hit; the TV Guide in the room is the size and shape of a Reader's Digest, just as God intended, and the technology used in making the snuff films is video, not DVD. (And given just how dusty and decrepit the motel is--it makes the Bates look like the Fountainbleu--it wouldn't surprise me to know that the videos were Beta, not VHS!) The heroes, Luke Wilson (by far the more bearable of the Wilson brothers and hence far less of a box office draw than Owen) and Kate Beckinsale (who was supposed to become 2001's "It Girl" following the release of Pearl Harbor, but instead was reduced last year to playing Adam Sandler's inflatable doll in Click) are quite good in their early sequences, effectively portraying two people who still care about one another, but still can't resist locating each other's last nerve and stomping on it, while Frank Whaley (Swimming With Sharks) is amusing as the motel guy, finally fulfilling all the inherent creepiness I always thought he possessed even in his sympathetic roles. Unfortunately, all three are rapidly reduced to climbing and crawling (in Luke's and Kate's cases) and stalking, shooting and slashing (in Frank's), resulting in an 85-minute movie that seems much longer, and whose "ending" is totally nonexistent and fraudulent. I suspect that a big part of the reason that this is getting so many friendly reviews is that, although dealing with a mass murderer, Vacancy doesn't endlessly dwell on explicit torture scenes in the manner of Hostel, Wolf Creek, Chaos and the Saws. In light of recent, extremely regrettable events, this is like a college professor giving a student who constantly turns in mediocre work a high grade...because at least he didn't shoot up the campus. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
KevinL.Sep 30, 2007
Vacancy wasn't the best horror movie I've seen and its not the worst. Its unoriginal plotline and its predictable events rarely keep me in tact.
0 of 0 users found this helpful