USA Films | Release Date: July 27, 2001
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 81 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
50
Mixed:
14
Negative:
17
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
DampweazilFeb 20, 2012
If you don't like this movie, then you must be the most suffocatingly
boring person ever. You must suck so bad that your mom punches herself
in the face every day to atone for giving birth to you. People who don't like this movie likely get a
If you don't like this movie, then you must be the most suffocatingly
boring person ever. You must suck so bad that your mom punches herself
in the face every day to atone for giving birth to you. People who
don't like this movie likely get a huge stiffy thinking about tax
season and professional golf. I hope all you haters severely burn the
roofs of your mouths.

Everyone should watch this movie. Period. Awesome throwback flick with
a great cast. Crass, goofy, slapstick, you name it, this flick has it.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
TimG.Jul 2, 2007
To all the critics who gave this movie a bad review; stick to reviewing other genres because you have no idea what truly great comedy is. Leave the comedy reviews to the Onion. (which by the way they gave this film a good review)They are To all the critics who gave this movie a bad review; stick to reviewing other genres because you have no idea what truly great comedy is. Leave the comedy reviews to the Onion. (which by the way they gave this film a good review)They are right almost all the time because their brilliant comedy writers. You're damaging people's careers and hurting peoples feelings with your ignorance of not recognizing genius comedy. Chris Meloni's brilliant absurd performance deserves to be seen. Also David Wain's amazing juggling act of satirizing and embracing the summer camp genre movie at the same time should also be recognized. And the leaving the camp for an hour montage sequence, where they quickly descend from sneaking smokes to shooting up smack and prostituting themselves is one of the funniest moments ever in film. Its a damn shame this film didn't get better reviewed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JudS.Aug 4, 2006
Okay, look. I can see why the critics don't like it. Showalter-Wain comedy is so far out of the mainstream, that I don't think it will ever be universally accepted. Yet, in a strange way, these guys are on the cutting edge of Okay, look. I can see why the critics don't like it. Showalter-Wain comedy is so far out of the mainstream, that I don't think it will ever be universally accepted. Yet, in a strange way, these guys are on the cutting edge of modern comedy. Whether people realize it or not, these two writers will have a permanent influence on the evolution of comedy. One small example: This movie was on the front end of a generation's fascination with '80s culture. Now, '80s-fueled humor is all over Cartoon Network's Adult Swim, and has become the butt of 60-70 percent of jokes on new Family Guy (arguably the funniest TV of our generation) episodes. You tell me that's not influential. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BradH.Aug 2, 2007
Greatest comedy ever! Definitely a movie you need to watch more than once. I've seen it about 100 times almost everytime I catch something else hilarious in the movie. The deleted scenes may be the funniest stuff I've ever seen. It Greatest comedy ever! Definitely a movie you need to watch more than once. I've seen it about 100 times almost everytime I catch something else hilarious in the movie. The deleted scenes may be the funniest stuff I've ever seen. It took most of my friends a few tries and a little late night drunkeness to understand the humor as well! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveP.Mar 13, 2002
Wet Hot American Summer is the only movie of its type...plain and simple. This movie fools you with the first 25 minutes to make you believe it is actually just a somewhat sly parody. [***Ed: POTENTIAL SPOILERS AHEAD***] Then it drowns its Wet Hot American Summer is the only movie of its type...plain and simple. This movie fools you with the first 25 minutes to make you believe it is actually just a somewhat sly parody. [***Ed: POTENTIAL SPOILERS AHEAD***] Then it drowns its first kid. Kills him. Then, we see the camp counselers go to the city to find a library, who then start smoking joints, beating up old ladies and taking their purses, and then becoming heroin-addict prostitutes at the local crack house. Then, another kid drowns, and we have bizarre romantic chemistry between a 9 year old kid and a 35 year old art teacher, as the boy is trying to console the teacher's recent divorce. There is a graphic homosex scene at one point, and also features lines of dialogues about Dungeons and Dragons, Pubic lice, and astrophysics. Featuring perhaps the best talent show sequence in the history of film, this perhaps should go down in history as being the best film to see with a roomful of male college buddies. If you're a fan of Upright Citizen's Brigade and The State, this is the movie for you. Totally awesome. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeteW.Dec 12, 2005
This film is heavy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LizS.Feb 1, 2006
This is the most hilarious feel good movie. If you have any sense of humor its definately not a waste. And if you're going to use these "intelligent" phrases to critique a movie you should know better not to watch something called "Wet This is the most hilarious feel good movie. If you have any sense of humor its definately not a waste. And if you're going to use these "intelligent" phrases to critique a movie you should know better not to watch something called "Wet Hot American Summer" Anyone who didn't like it is either the type to look too much into movies, or not be watching them at all. Now i'm gonna go hump the fridge. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TommyHAug 24, 2009
Just look at the non-State cast that's in this film. Cooper, Banks, Poehler, Meloni, Pierce, Moreau, Rudd, Shannon, it's ridiculous. You think all these people got it wrong? Like they didn't all WANT to be in this flick? David Just look at the non-State cast that's in this film. Cooper, Banks, Poehler, Meloni, Pierce, Moreau, Rudd, Shannon, it's ridiculous. You think all these people got it wrong? Like they didn't all WANT to be in this flick? David Wain is a genius. ANYONE who says this movie is stupid can just drive their SUV off a cliff after picking up their fat children from Sunday School. It's beyond pathetic that I ever respected morons like Stephen Hunter of the Washington Post. This movie will not be accepted as legendary for at least another decade, but when it comes down to it, many of the actors who contributed to this work will look back on it as their finest of shining moments. I can't wait for Wain and Michael to come out with the prequel to Wet Hot. Buy the State on DVD!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndyL.Dec 12, 2005
You all taste like burger, i dont like you anymore!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DeronW.Jul 18, 2009
Anyone who has given this movie a bad review...I don't care if you're an intelligent, well-read, objective, observant person who has had years of experience - is completely missing the point. Once again, Owen Geliberman is the only Anyone who has given this movie a bad review...I don't care if you're an intelligent, well-read, objective, observant person who has had years of experience - is completely missing the point. Once again, Owen Geliberman is the only one who gets it. It's borderline criminal how underappreciated this movie truly is, with its one-liners, subliminal disturbing scenes, the writing, the deliberate bad acting, everything. A must own for anyone born between 1970 and 1980. I have had friends fall on the floor laughing with how ridiculous this movie is, it nails all the stereotypes it aims for with style. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LucyKNov 26, 2005
For a film that doesnt take itself too seriously, Wet Hot American Summer successfully encapsulates the awkwardness of romance, the excitement of summer camp, and the essense of being Jewish surrounded by romance at summer camp.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LamontRaymondAug 11, 2015
There are certainly some fun moments, and I enjoyed the nostalgic elements, but is it worthy watching 4 hours if you're a Wet Hot fan? Sure... but go in with MEGA low expectations....
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
drlowdonAug 5, 2015
Up until Netflix decided to make a TV prequel I'd never heard of this movie, which is surprising considering it contains so many big name comedy actors. Attempting to spoof the stereotypical 80's summer camp movie, as well as a few otherUp until Netflix decided to make a TV prequel I'd never heard of this movie, which is surprising considering it contains so many big name comedy actors. Attempting to spoof the stereotypical 80's summer camp movie, as well as a few other genres, this is yet more proof that a good cast alone is not enough to make something successful. There is the odd funny moment here and there but far too few of the jokes really land and I certainly hope the Netflix revival offers a bit more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
csw12Jan 28, 2016
Wet Hot American Summer is actually a pretty funny movie. It is painfully stupid at times but the weird mix bag of comedy and stories negates the dumb parts for the most part. The movie truly only worked due to the fact I knew so many peopleWet Hot American Summer is actually a pretty funny movie. It is painfully stupid at times but the weird mix bag of comedy and stories negates the dumb parts for the most part. The movie truly only worked due to the fact I knew so many people in the movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
OpinionatedGuyAug 8, 2015
While the plot is a mixed bag of ups and downs, Wet Hot American Summer is a “it’s so bad that is so good” movie with over-the-top yet funny jokes and amazing cast comedic chemistry.

Rating: 8/10 Pros: +The jokes are over-the-top
While the plot is a mixed bag of ups and downs, Wet Hot American Summer is a “it’s so bad that is so good” movie with over-the-top yet funny jokes and amazing cast comedic chemistry.

Rating: 8/10

Pros:
+The jokes are over-the-top funny.
+The cast has great comedic chemistry.
+I can feel like the cast had a good time making this movie. Because of this, it makes this movie more enjoyable to watch. If the cast were awkward instead, this movie might not have the grade that I gave.
+The movie has re-playable value. Either you can watch it alone again or you can watch it with friends who loves comedies.

Neutral:
.The plot is quite a mixed bag of ups and downs. Some of the subplots are stupidly hilarious and some of the other subplots are stupidly dumb.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheDude-Aug 12, 2015
Wet hot American summer is one of the most underrated films of all time it has some of the most memorable characters ever put to screen and the jokes of course are hilarious it deserves the cult status and Netflix follow up prequel series itWet hot American summer is one of the most underrated films of all time it has some of the most memorable characters ever put to screen and the jokes of course are hilarious it deserves the cult status and Netflix follow up prequel series it has received. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
FeeThinkerAug 5, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Even if it has a pretty good start , writing and plot gets stupider with every minute. The Last half hour is a totally unwatchable crap of nonsensical desperate gags that don't even make any single sense ( like two counselor running around the infirmary breaking stuff with no apparent logical reason , a divorced inept art teacher who ends up dating a minor and everyone celebrates it , a group of "mad scientists" kids who changes the collision course of a space lab part with machine made out of kitchen goods and such law-of-physics-defying space lab part that creshes without neither being a fireball of melted metal or generating a 10 km fatal blast radius ). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews