Annapurna Distribution | Release Date: August 16, 2019
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 54 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
25
Mixed:
22
Negative:
7
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
W5anthAug 21, 2019
Everything Cate does is exceptional. The overall picture and storytelling falls a little short but it is a nice film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
mattieellenAug 16, 2019
Funny, heartwarming, entertaining. Love Kristen Wiig as the mean mom at the PTA. Cate Blanchett is fantastic and funny.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
TVJerryAug 16, 2019
Once again, Cate Blanchett goes neurotic as a promising architect whose career is sidelined by raising her daughter (newcomer Emma Nelson, who gives a compelling performance). Director Richard Linklater creates interesting conflicts, whileOnce again, Cate Blanchett goes neurotic as a promising architect whose career is sidelined by raising her daughter (newcomer Emma Nelson, who gives a compelling performance). Director Richard Linklater creates interesting conflicts, while examining family relationships and creative drive. Even though Blanchett is great to watch, her character borders more on obnoxious than sympathetic. Some of the plot elements feel a bit forced and a few moments seem too pat, but the overall effect is a sweet study of artistic drive and familial love. NOTE: The final designs are based on a real project. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
GreatMartinAug 16, 2019
There are some actresses that even when quiet still are acting up a storm and you can almost hear what they are thinking and Cate Blanchett is certainly one of those. In "Where's You Go, Bernadette" while talking, listening, acting, reacting,There are some actresses that even when quiet still are acting up a storm and you can almost hear what they are thinking and Cate Blanchett is certainly one of those. In "Where's You Go, Bernadette" while talking, listening, acting, reacting, smiling, serious, crying, etc., makes no difference her whole body mesmerizes you making it impossible for you to not get involved with her and her character!

The first half of the film takes its time setting up why Bernadette disappeared leaving her brilliant computer smart husband (Billy Crudup) and a daughter (Emma Nelson) who loves her and sees her as her best friend. Twenty years previously the very successful and admired architect , Bernadette Fox (Cate Blanchett) and her husband left Los Angeles moving to Seatle where Elgin can advance his career with Microsoft while Bernadette, after a few tries, gives birth to Bee and devotes her life to both while working, slowly, on an old former reform school. Aside from fixing the house and taking care of her family Bernadette seems to have no friends or life and when Bee calls them on a promised trip to Antarctica for her school accomplishments Bernadette disappears.

The screenwriters, Holly Gent and Vincett Palmo, Jr., the director Richard Linklater and the actress Blanchett, hints at why she disappears but all 3, and the supporting cast, in telling you where she disappears to and the reasons makes the second half of the film fast moving and involving.

There is an extraneous story line that seems far fetched regarding a scam and the ending is too much 'Hollywood' but Blanchett is a marvel, it is good seeing a mature Billy Crudup with that little boy's grin and newcomer Emma Nelson as their daughter is a find.

"Where'd You Go, Bernadette" is not a must see film but is certainly a film worth seeing.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
GinaKAug 20, 2019
I am a huge fan of Richard Linklater because he is so brilliant as a director that he never gets in the way of the ideas, wonderful performances, or the sadness and frustration in many of his films. I love his “Before” trilogy, probably theI am a huge fan of Richard Linklater because he is so brilliant as a director that he never gets in the way of the ideas, wonderful performances, or the sadness and frustration in many of his films. I love his “Before” trilogy, probably the three finest contemporary films I have ever seen. Here, instead of Ethan Hawke, he has Cate Blanchett, who I always thought was an interesting and intelligent actress, but in this film, she does an incredible job with a character who is so frustrated that you can never really like her – just feel happy for her in the end. It’s a rich and nuanced performance, one of the best I have seen this year – perhaps ever. Actually, there are no weak performances in this film – but that’s Linklater. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
Sam2Aug 26, 2019
Maravillosa,divertida la actuacion en especial de cate blanchett como siempre es fascinante
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
Brent_MarchantAug 18, 2019
While somewhat ambling in its approach, this offbeat comedy-drama nevertheless delves into a number of thoughtful notions, especially in the areas of creativity and fulfillment and what can happen when they aren't satisfied. Cate BlanchettWhile somewhat ambling in its approach, this offbeat comedy-drama nevertheless delves into a number of thoughtful notions, especially in the areas of creativity and fulfillment and what can happen when they aren't satisfied. Cate Blanchett and newcomer Emma Nelson deliver fine performances as an outspoken and unusual mother-daughter duo in a quirky tale that's sporadically overwritten and sometimes verges on losing control of the room. Far from perfect (or even adequately developed for that matter) but certainly not the unmitigated train wreck some have made it out to be. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
moviecritic68Aug 22, 2019
WARNING GUYS : Not to sound sexist but this is a " Chick Flick ". No doubt most of the high reviews are by females. Don't make the same mistake I made and have your significant other drag you in for this one. Dreadfully boring in my opinion.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
MasterDXSep 11, 2019
So many is wrong with this Movie. The Story is without any conflict, nothing is happening not even during the climax. Everything is fixing it self and has no repercussions. It’s like they were afraid to bring any obstacles in the way of theSo many is wrong with this Movie. The Story is without any conflict, nothing is happening not even during the climax. Everything is fixing it self and has no repercussions. It’s like they were afraid to bring any obstacles in the way of the main characters. All the green screen scene where especial atrocious. Is it so hard to make the Actor look a little cold in I don’t know Antarctica?
I can’t believe this is a movie made in 2019 its bad, really bad. If you don’t have any connection to one of the actors don’t watch this. Not even Kristen Wiig could safe this and she is amazing.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
PanchogulApr 12, 2020
¿Dónde estás, Bernadette? (2019)

Sinopsis: Basada en un exitoso bestseller, ¿Dónde estás, Bernardette? es una inspiradora comedia dirigida por Richard Linklater acerca la búsqueda personal y el re-descubrimiento de los impulsos. Protagoniza
¿Dónde estás, Bernadette? (2019)

Sinopsis:

Basada en un exitoso bestseller, ¿Dónde estás, Bernardette? es una inspiradora comedia dirigida por Richard Linklater acerca la búsqueda personal y el re-descubrimiento de los impulsos. Protagoniza la ganadora del Premio de la Academia Cate Blanchett, quien da vida a Bernadette Fox, una afectuosa mujer que desaparece repentinamente para reconectarse con sus pasiones después de años de sacrificarse por su familia. Pero...las desapariciones pueden ser engañosas.

Opinión:

No se como empezar, dejé pasar mucho tiempo antes de animarme a ver esta película, me fascinó, la amé y me agarró el corazón a dos manos desde el inicio hasta el final, el argumento, el cual está clarito en la sinopsis, es tan solo la punta del iceberg siendo más profunda de lo que parece.

Quién se lleva todos los aplausos es Cate Blanchett, la cual brinda una actuación que sobrepasa los límites de la perfección y la pulcritud, por dios, me sentí tan empático, identificado y emocionado con su personaje que casi logra hacerme llorar, bueno, no casi, de hecho lo logró, su personaje es un poco difícil de explicar, pero sentí en lo más profundo de mí alma que tanto ella como yo, compartíamos simultáneamente los mismos temores e inseguridades.

Indignante que haya sido ignorada en las premiaciones...

Valoración:

5 ⭐ de 5 ⭐
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LexixelSep 17, 2019
Cate Blanchett's performance is great and I also love Kristen Wigg. Such a heartwarming film. It's very interesting to watch this film with your mom, especially she also (kind of) gave up her dream to raise you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JLuis_001Dec 1, 2019
Versatile and prolific, Richard Linklater is a director who has achieved quite a reputation in the last 20 years but his biggest problem is how uneven his filmography is. Where'd You Go, Bernadette only reaffirms it.

This time Cate Blanchett
Versatile and prolific, Richard Linklater is a director who has achieved quite a reputation in the last 20 years but his biggest problem is how uneven his filmography is. Where'd You Go, Bernadette only reaffirms it.

This time Cate Blanchett saves his ass because of the things Linklater stopped doing as a screenwriter and that is that this time despite Bernadette being an attractive character becomes more functional because of what Cate Blanchett than because what the character actually offers. And that's the persistent problem, because although it's an interesting story about depression and anxiety, it's not done in a way that makes these emotional elements resonate and despite his capacity as a director, Linklater seems happy with taking the fast and simple route without trying to deepen in any way and so things remain just there: simple good intentions that never finish to develop.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ItsmayaFeb 18, 2021
I'll start with the fact that I can not understand the low grade for this film, I mean sure it's not a masterpiece, but it's a cute film with well-developed characters that feels real and brought to life by great actors!
The story is well
I'll start with the fact that I can not understand the low grade for this film, I mean sure it's not a masterpiece, but it's a cute film with well-developed characters that feels real and brought to life by great actors!
The story is well paced, interesting and well execute.
Cate Blanchett and Emma Nelson (AKA her daughter in the film) works very well together, and I loved seeing them…
Overall I think you should watch the movie and decided for yourself, personally I think you will have a good time ;)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
freerideartsMar 4, 2021
This is a great film. This is a great film. This is a great film. This is a great film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews