2023 DGA Awards Theatrical Nominations: From Steven Spielberg to John Patton Ford

Find out who was nominated for theatrical film DGA Awards in 2023.
by Danielle Turchiano — 

Steven Spielberg with a DGA Award

Getty Images

Although the majority of the 75th Annual Directors Guild of America (DGA) Awards nominations were announced on Jan. 10, two key categories were left for the following day: Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Theatrical Feature Film and Outstanding Directorial Achievement of a First-Time Feature. And now, Metacritic can share those nominees.

In the former category, the nominees are Todd Field for Tár, Joseph Kosinski for Top Gun: Maverick, Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert for Everything Everywhere All at Once, Martin McDonagh for The Banshees of Inisherin, and Steven Spielberg for The Fabelmans.

The first-time director nominees are Alice Diop for Saint Omer, Audrey Diwan for Happening, John Patton Ford for Emily the Criminal, Antoneta Alamat Kusijanovic for Murina, and Charlotte Wells for Aftersun.

"The confidence and vision in these skillfully crafted films by first-time directors is truly inspiring," added Glatter. "The range of storytelling shown by these talented filmmakers ensures the future of cinema is in good hands as we recognize the artistic achievement of this exciting group of nominees. I can't wait to see what's next from them in the years to come."

Full teams are listed below.

Field's team includes Unit Production Manager Nigel Wooll and First Assistant Director: Sebastian Fahr-Brix, while Kosinski's team includes Unit Production Managers LeeAnn Stonebreaker and Tommy Harper, First Assistant Director Scott Robertson, Second Assistant Directors Andrew Stahl and Robert E. Kay, and Second Second Assistant Director Spencer Taylor. The Daniels' team includes Unit Production Manager Allison Rose Carter, First Assistant Director Rodney Smith, Second Assistant Director John Nasraway, and Second Second Assistant Director Ken C. Wu. McDonagh's team includes First Assistant Director Peter Kohn. And Spielberg's team includes Unit Production Manager Carla Raij, First Assistant Director Josh McLaglen, Second Assistant Director Heather Wagner-Wang, and Second Second Assistant Director David Stickler.

Click here for the list of TV, commercials, and documentary nominees; and be sure to return on Feb. 18 to learn who takes home the trophies.