• Network: USA
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 13, 1997
Season #: 5, 4, 3, 2, 1
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7

Where To Watch

Buy On

Critic Reviews

  1. St. Louis Post-Dispatch
    Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Apr 30, 2014
    90
    Bridget Fonda was wrong for the role in the unsuccessful 1993 remake "Point of No Return," but Australian Peta Wilson is terrific in the new version, tough and bitter and innocent at the same time...Sexy, sharply written (and, yes, violent), it's an exciting addition to the USA lineup of original programming. [13 Jan 1997]
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jun 26, 2013
    83
    Peta Wilson, an Australian actress with the harsh blonde hair, snub nose and oversize, depthless blue eyes of your average mass-produced doll, makes a sexy, amusing Nikita.
  3. The New York Times
    Reviewed by: Caryn James
    Apr 30, 2014
    80
    The series may not be original, but it is swift, engrossing and escapist. Sometimes that's all you want. [13 Jan 1997, p.C15]
  4. Chicago Sun-Times
    Reviewed by: Lon Grahnke
    Apr 30, 2014
    75
    Wilson's charisma should attract viewers. [13 Jan 1997, p.31]
  5. San Jose Mercury News/Contra Costa Times
    Reviewed by: Ron Miller
    Apr 30, 2014
    60
    It's fast-moving eye candy and that's about it. [12 Jan 1997, p.4]
  6. Newsday
    Reviewed by: Terry Kelleher
    Apr 30, 2014
    40
    For this series to wear well, the forces of evil have to locate some clear motivation. Revolutionary ideology, world domination, pure greed - almost anything would be better than the explanation offered by next week's chief villain, who clings to her missile launcher and declares, "This is what I am." [12 Jan 1997, p.03]
  7. Seattle Post-Intelligencer
    Reviewed by: John Levesque
    Apr 30, 2014
    40
    A show rises or falls on its writing, and there certainly isn't enough quality writing in tonight's premiere episode to recommend a return visit. [13 Jan 1997, p.D6]
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Sep 11, 2010
    10
    After seen CW new Nikita skeleton actress, and awful Michael performance, I decided to watch again La Femme. At least Roy Dupois was some manAfter seen CW new Nikita skeleton actress, and awful Michael performance, I decided to watch again La Femme. At least Roy Dupois was some man you want to see... this other guys, is just to iackk... bad actor first, bad actor last. Full Review »
  2. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    La Femme Nikita the TV Series of 2001 was and is 10x's better than the New Nikita TV Show ever will be. Made by the same company who made LaLa Femme Nikita the TV Series of 2001 was and is 10x's better than the New Nikita TV Show ever will be. Made by the same company who made La Femme Nikita TV Series 2001 the New Nikita show was an answer from Warner Brothers to a online petition of LFN Fans who wanted closure for their version of La Femme Nikita and wanted better stuff, but the same actors playing the parts. Instead Warner Brothers did just the opposite, they rewrote the show to match the French Movie Version and changed all the actors. Warner Brothers keeps saying that they didn't remake our version of LFN, but in reality they did. If they didn't why use the characters Michael (who was never in the French Movie Version) or Birkhoff who was killed off in the LFN TV Series (2001) Version.

    We as LFN Fans of the (2001) version had to beg for everything we got. We thought at first that Warner Brothers would put our show out on Video Tape, but we had to beg them to get it on Video and then when we did they priced it higher than any other TV Show on TV or Cable. Then we figured well we won't have to beg to get it on DVD, but once again we did and once again they priced it as high as 400.00 dollars for the whole Season (5 Seasons). I have never seen another TV show on Cable or anywhere else priced this high.

    I believe that Warner Brothers tried to destroy LFN (2001), because they wanted to do a different version and never showed the support for LFN (2001) like they did the New CW Nikita show.

    They (WB) should be ashamed of themselves for what they have put La Femme Nikita Fans around the world. Oh one more thing, because Warner Brothers didn't want LFN (2001) to get anymore Fans than it already had they stopped making Video or DVD's for other countries and stopped showing the show on TV in other countries even though there are LFN Fans in China, Russia, Japan, Argentina, etc.

    LFN (2001) has got more class and better acting than the New Nikita Show on CW will ever have.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 17, 2017
    7
    Only true Nikita Serie.
    Peta Wilson fits perfectly in the role and lends some shine to the series. One notices just them cheap was produced.
    Only true Nikita Serie.
    Peta Wilson fits perfectly in the role and lends some shine to the series. One notices just them cheap was produced.
    Many scenes have logic mistake and it plays almost always in the same scenes.
    Full Review »