• Network: NETFLIX
  • Series Premiere Date: Dec 18, 2015
Season #: 2, 1
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 165 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 165

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Oct 22, 2018
    10
    A great continuation of the story. glued to every episode and watching how the justice system works and doesn't work,
  2. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    Very interesting. Every human with common sense would give the Avery's a re-trail. Ow and Kratz is an A-Hole
  3. Oct 21, 2018
    9
    Bring on season 3. Amazing to see how far the state will go to cover up injustice.
  4. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. MAM2 blows apart the prosecution case. Ken Kratz, state prosecutor not only withheld evidence but buried very significant evidence. If he had shared the contents of Bobby Dassey’s hard drive during the trial, I believe no jury (unless planted by the state) would convict Avery. Expand
  5. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    It is heartbreaking what happened to Teresa. My heart goes out to her family. This story however is tragic for Steven & Brendan as well as their family. It is an extreme injustice that has been done in framing these two & them being sentenced in a case that had so many red flags against the police & prosecution. I hope Zellner not only gets the case heard but that all those guilty ofIt is heartbreaking what happened to Teresa. My heart goes out to her family. This story however is tragic for Steven & Brendan as well as their family. It is an extreme injustice that has been done in framing these two & them being sentenced in a case that had so many red flags against the police & prosecution. I hope Zellner not only gets the case heard but that all those guilty of lying get nailed to the wall & the real killer gets caught. Teresa, her family, as well as Steven, Brendan and theirs all deserve to have peace after all of this. The negative Nancy's like Ken Kratz are just worried the truth is about to be out!! Expand
  6. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    I followed the Steven Avery case for several months after watching the shocking injustice covered in season1. Then life took over and I lost track of it. Until the Season 2 showed up in my Netflix feed. I wasn't sure if I wanted to see it because I was pretty sure what was the fate of both the defendants, and I couldn't be sure what this season could really show.

    Boy, was I wrong. And
    I followed the Steven Avery case for several months after watching the shocking injustice covered in season1. Then life took over and I lost track of it. Until the Season 2 showed up in my Netflix feed. I wasn't sure if I wanted to see it because I was pretty sure what was the fate of both the defendants, and I couldn't be sure what this season could really show.

    Boy, was I wrong. And oh boy, aren't we wrong big time when we make assumptions about the jobs of highly rated professionals. This season was all about how the "post conviction" law works and demonstrated exceptionally by the meticulous and breathtaking competency of his new lawyer Kathleen Zellner.

    I just spent the weekend binge-watching all 10 episodes and I must say this season exceeds the first season in how compelling, taut, and brilliant it is in the discovery of evidence, process of "post conviction" law and appeals, and the dramatic intertwined stories of Steven Avery and Brendan Dassey.

    Don't miss it!
    (Watch it now - the whole 10 episodes - before you read a spoiler here or in the news!)
    Expand
  7. Oct 29, 2018
    10
    Heartbreaking portrayal that highlights how America hates it poor, its vulnerable and seeks convictions over the truth. As with Making a Murderer this insight, clearly showed the lengths the Wisconsin DOJ went to, to keep an innocent young man incarcerated. A must watch for anyone ready to champion criminal justice reform
  8. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    Show us really good and if you have extra time, you can find online many resources about the case. You might sleep only 4-6 hours the upcoming weeks but it is totally worth it! Still shocked about the case, I wish everything would be online, all raw uncut copies.
  9. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    I remember being deeply affected by the events in the first season, especially because of its real life implications and astounding injustice. I hope the truth comes out rather sooner than later.
  10. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Making a Murderer is a harrowing, disturbing and shocking piece of essential filmmaking. It rightly challenges all of us to ask questions of the law and the systems that underpin whilst warning us that we can never take our freedom for granted. In season 2, lawyers for both Brendan and Steve reflect the very best traits of humanity whilst their brilliant legal team's fight for truth and justice against a corrupted system that refuses to support the truth. In the journey of season 2, a few judges offer us a glimmer of hope which is welcomed as we ultimately have to ask ourselves what the point of a Supreme Court is if it refuses to protect the most vulnerable from the most corrupt. The brilliant work done by Kathleen and her Team uncovers the likely killer whose new interview by Manitowoc Sheriffs Dept shows that even all of these years later that counties public services are corrupt to the core. Sadly the corruption cannot be challenged because those who perpetrate it hide behind the grief faced by Terresa Holbocks family. At the sametime, Steve sister tragically refuses to recognise that she will have to make some tough choices about who it is she wants to believe in future. As it stands she is praying for one son to come out of prison not accepting that the other one put him there. The story exposes the best and worst of humanity and the story will continue to have lessons for us all for many years to come. One can only hope that they are both freed and that the real killer and those responsible for corruption that hid the killer away do ultimately face justice. Certainly, the series sends the guilty a warning that the truth is known and that they are increasingly exposed. Expand
  11. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    MaM2 is very intriguing and informative and very well done. It tastefully follows the Avery Dassey Post conviction process and Kathleen Zellner and Nirider and Drizin are absolute genius. Ken Kratz the prosecutor and his cronies are lying piece's of doo-doo. He withheld evidence from Avery's trial defense among other unethical childish disgusting behavior.This Documentary exposes the SICKMaM2 is very intriguing and informative and very well done. It tastefully follows the Avery Dassey Post conviction process and Kathleen Zellner and Nirider and Drizin are absolute genius. Ken Kratz the prosecutor and his cronies are lying piece's of doo-doo. He withheld evidence from Avery's trial defense among other unethical childish disgusting behavior.This Documentary exposes the SICK amount of corruption going on in WisconSIN. Justice is due for Theresa Halbach. Steven Avery and Brendan Dassey are 100% INNOCENT! I give the show a ten! Expand
  12. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    A must watch documentary. Part 2 presents Kathleen Zellner armed with irrefutable science that completely unhinges every thing you know from season one. No rock is left unturned with Zellner as she is determined to free Steven Avery. Kathleen brilliantly shines light, and exposes the disgusting behaviour of a deeply flawed, former prosecutor named Ken Kratz. Ken, the sad pitiful formerA must watch documentary. Part 2 presents Kathleen Zellner armed with irrefutable science that completely unhinges every thing you know from season one. No rock is left unturned with Zellner as she is determined to free Steven Avery. Kathleen brilliantly shines light, and exposes the disgusting behaviour of a deeply flawed, former prosecutor named Ken Kratz. Ken, the sad pitiful former prosecutor tries desperately to stay revelant though out season 2. Ken ends up being the fool and permanently marking his sweat stain on justice forever. Expand
  13. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    I am absolutely blown away by this show! Both seasons have sent me through a whirlwind of emotions. I have never felt so much sadness as I do for the Avery, Dassey, and Halbach families, and I have never harbored so much disgust as I do for Ken Kratz, the Manitowac police force, and the US judicial system. Do yourself a favor and binge watch this NOW!
  14. Oct 29, 2018
    10
    It is a shame what the State of Wisconsin has and is still is doing to these 2 men. Ken Kratz is a freaking joke!! He is just a slim ball and anybody can see the type of person he is just from his behavior and having to step down from his position. So there is NO doubt in my mind he did everything and anything possible to get Steven and Brandon convicted. The state is doing everythingIt is a shame what the State of Wisconsin has and is still is doing to these 2 men. Ken Kratz is a freaking joke!! He is just a slim ball and anybody can see the type of person he is just from his behavior and having to step down from his position. So there is NO doubt in my mind he did everything and anything possible to get Steven and Brandon convicted. The state is doing everything possible to keep these 2 in jail as they in no way want any more publicity that they convicted an innocent man not only once but twice so they will do whatever possible not to have egg on their face again. Expand
  15. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. MAM2 is more jaw dropping than MAM1 (if youve followed MAM1 closely and currently).
    It was 100 times better than expected due to all the new evidence and clues and leads.
    Of course the soiled prosecutor and team even look worse than in MAM1, almost as if they are using every trick and backdoor politics to defend this unethical case. Kathleen Zellner has uncovered a huge corrupt issue with the harddrive and prosecution unethically hiding it. Also the split vote of the Supreme Court Judges show us how riveting this case is all the way to the top.
    Expand
  16. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. very well done, further explained key points that were missed in the trial, and How evidence was planted against Avery. better than season 1 Kathleen Zellner did a good job! Expand
  17. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Part 2 of a great documentary series chronicling the failure of our justice system to offer a fair trial within politically corrupt Manitowoc and Calumet County. In Part 2, Steven Avery's attorney shows clear proof that no evidence offered by the prosecution can be replicated, and that the state's theory of the murder is unsupported by logic. Items like the blood, the bullet, the key, and the bones - planted, most probably. The fact that the bones were found in 4 different locations was a jaw dropper.

    Additionally, sadly, despite no physical evidence the county and state machinery continues its 100 percent investment in standing behind the clearly coerced confession of Brendan Dassey, a 16 year old who is intellectually challenged.

    The most startling revelation in the show is that the prosecution had full knowledge during the trial that Bobby Dassey, Brendan's brother, had 1000s of inappropriate images of underaged porn and pictures of dead women on his computer. Additionally, Bobby is shown to have lied in his testimony, regarding that he slept mainly that day and went hunting in the afternoon. Knowing these lies the state still used him as a star witness to convict Steven Avery and withheld the analysis from the defense.

    Front and center in the corruption is Ken Kratz, the prosecutor, who was forced to resign from his position of DA later after harassing, stalking and propositioning sexual abuse victims he was supposed to be protecting. Understandably, this is a slower moving series than the first, but the wheels of justice move slowly. Lets hope Season 3 shows Steven Avery and Brendan Dassey out of prison, the corruption identified and prosecuted, and the killer held responsible.
    Expand
  18. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    Be prepared to be angry. Very, very angry. Angry at the criminal justice system we all trust to sort out the truth. Can a viewer say, without a doubt, that the subjects of this docuseries are 100% innocent? I don't think so, but what can be said, is that those with the power to ensure this case is approached with complete transparency have not done so. The truth is not pursued, it isBe prepared to be angry. Very, very angry. Angry at the criminal justice system we all trust to sort out the truth. Can a viewer say, without a doubt, that the subjects of this docuseries are 100% innocent? I don't think so, but what can be said, is that those with the power to ensure this case is approached with complete transparency have not done so. The truth is not pursued, it is simply assumed. Above any sort of entertainment, this show is important to see because it exposes so many of the weaknesses and failures of the system, and asserts that we must engage more in conversations about them so we can advocate for change. The filmmakers have bias, but not in any unreasonable amount. Facts are presented, tactics are presented. What those who would argue hard about the bias don't say, is that they are themselves highly biased! It is worth your attention. Expand
  19. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    A fantastic insight into the workings of the American (so-called) Justice system. Wonderful to see that the filmmakers tried and had the decency to approach all involved with the case and to name them at the end of each episode: paints an interesting picture of those involved.
  20. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    This show is amazing shows the hardwork put in by steven avery's laywer kathleen zellner and Brendan dassey's lawyers. Definitely a great watch everyone should check out the compelling evidence that is presented in the case of Steven Avery
  21. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    Kathleen Zellner alone is reason to watch Season 2. No matter where you stand feeling about Season 1 or the Avery Case. She’s truly a wonder to watch.
  22. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The first season was a rollercoaster ride of, "did he do it, did he not do it" there was a lot of doubt and confusing accounts. I was half convinced of Steven's innocence after watching season one, after watching season two I am completely convinced a severe miscarriage has taken place and Brendan & Steven are both innocent.

    Season two is an entirely different perspective on the case. It largely centres around Kathleen Zellner who is attempting to get Steven Avery exonerated, as well as Brendan Dassey's legal team attempting to get his confession thrown out.

    Zellner is arguably the cornerstone of this season. I thought season one would be hard to top, but season two had me on the edge of my seat. Towards the end of this ten-part season, I was feeling shaken, helpless and angry for Brendan and Steven. The interview with the ex-Mantiowoc County coroner is what really shook me the most when she detailed how she was prevented from attending the crime scene and how no coroner was ever present.

    Kathleen Zellner needs her own TV series after she gets Steven released. She is full of energy, she is calculated and calm, we get to see her firing a gun in one episode and her relentless pursuit of the truth has you wanting more. Her persistence and lengths she is willing to go, speak volumes of just how sure she is of Steven's innocence. I have no doubt in my mind that she believes Avery is 100% innocent.

    The heartbreaking parts of season two are seeing how Steven's family has been affected. We see Avery's scrapping car parts for metal to make money and live. Their livelihood and business have been completely destroyed, seeing Steven's parents age and hit 80 make you feel worried that they'll pass away before Steven is released.

    This case is going to be taught in legal classes all over the world when it is over.
    Expand
  23. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    I thought the second season was full of emotion, passion, and intelligent investigation. KZ has really outdone herself in throwing a wrecking ball at this entire ridiculous story. Keep up the good work Kathleen!
  24. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    This show is so well put together; it's so fascinating to see real life playing out in the fashion (albeit hard to accept at times). Hard to put this down... I inhaled this 'season' in just a week. Also wishing I'd gone to law school.
  25. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Watched 3 times, couldn’t get enough. KZ is fantastic in this series. Explains how post convictions work Expand
  26. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    Making a murderer 2 is even better than making a murderer 1. Get ready to be anger at corrupt cops and a broken judicial system.
  27. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    Riveting, and fascinating to watch Zellner and her team pick apart the state's version of events.
  28. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    Amazing and terrifying all at once. Wonderful efforts to free clearly innocence men and how scary the lengths the state will go to just to keep the behind bars..!
  29. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    Season 2 dives into the evidence and debunks the state's narrative on how Teresa was murdered. It was captivating to see the science and investigation work Steven Avery's new attorney, Kathleen Zellner brought forth. It is perplexing how the ex prosecutor was able to get away with hiding and/or suppressing key evidence, as well as to this day lying all over social media. This is a must see!
  30. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    Season 2 is a fantastic follow-up to Season 1! Once again, the film makers have managed to show the World how corruption has taken away the rights of Steven Avery. While the show does not provide us with a conclusion, new attorney, Kathleen Zellner shows us proof of that corruption and that she is a force to be reckoned with. No doubt we will be seeing a third season!
  31. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    If a member of my family was murdered, I would want the killer sent to jail for life, not just any one. If the Halbach family still believes that Steven Avery is the killer, than what does the public not know about? I read the court documents, not just watched this beautiful documentary, and learned very few new facts that I did not get from the second season. It is simply unreal howIf a member of my family was murdered, I would want the killer sent to jail for life, not just any one. If the Halbach family still believes that Steven Avery is the killer, than what does the public not know about? I read the court documents, not just watched this beautiful documentary, and learned very few new facts that I did not get from the second season. It is simply unreal how someone can be granted a chance at a new trial by one judge and then have another judge say no, only to have that judge be overruled by another, and so forth...

    Looking forward to the third season when we hopefully get to see Steven and Brendan reunited with their families and the real killer is found.
    Expand
  32. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    JAIL KRATZ AND MCSO, FREE BRENDAN & STEVE. New Testing, new witnesses, new theory on what actually happened. You have to see this to believe it. Police are just as bad as CNN. Kratz is a pathological liar, and Colburn is an outright criminal. I pray that Zellner can get these bastards
  33. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    Wow. You almost never top an original / 1st series, but MaM2 has gone and done it. This is superb. It is one of the most compelling legal documentary's I've watched in my lifetime.. A fantastic (frightening) insight into the workings of the American (Un)Justice system.

    I sat down on a Friday night to watch a few episodes.. ended up watching all 10 episodes in one sitting.. I didn't go
    Wow. You almost never top an original / 1st series, but MaM2 has gone and done it. This is superb. It is one of the most compelling legal documentary's I've watched in my lifetime.. A fantastic (frightening) insight into the workings of the American (Un)Justice system.

    I sat down on a Friday night to watch a few episodes.. ended up watching all 10 episodes in one sitting.. I didn't go to sleep until 5am Saturday morning. (weekend was shot).

    I love the way Kathrine Zellner clearly lays out her questions and hypothesis and proves or disproves them. I love her and her methodical nature. Seeing the Avery family makes me sad.. boy they need resolution soon (before they expire)....

    Watch this. Just make sure you have 10 hours of un-interrupted time. Because you will not be able to stop watching and you WILL watch all episodes at the same time.

    My questions are:
    1) When is season 3??
    2) How are there people like Kratz still working? How is he not crawled in a hole and died yet?
    3) How is it the detectives who interviewed Brendan Dassey or planted evidence not in jail/prison??

    This documentary is riveting. It will change your perspective of our justice system. May inspire you to donate/support the Innocence Project. And maybe, just maybe, it will inspire you to change careers and be like Kathrine Zellner, because she is a badass.
    Expand
  34. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    Better than the first season! Although it may seem slow and dry, MAM2 presents information that was previously unknown to the public, even if you read all of the litigation after the first season, some of the new information gives you a shocking look into the post-conviction process in America. A must watch, very informative about the legal process in both Avery and Dassey's cases whileBetter than the first season! Although it may seem slow and dry, MAM2 presents information that was previously unknown to the public, even if you read all of the litigation after the first season, some of the new information gives you a shocking look into the post-conviction process in America. A must watch, very informative about the legal process in both Avery and Dassey's cases while never dehumanizing to the victim, Teresa Halbach. Expand
  35. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    Slow at times, but AMAZING on so many levels:

    1. An inside look at how thorough Kathleen Zellner and her team are in investigating... SO much more thorough than the cops or DAs; she's a ROCK STAR 2. The degree to which cops and prosecutors are willing to trample over your constitutional rights if they think you're guilty. Sadly, it only takes a hunch for them to think they KNOW you're
    Slow at times, but AMAZING on so many levels:

    1. An inside look at how thorough Kathleen Zellner and her team are in investigating... SO much more thorough than the cops or DAs; she's a ROCK STAR
    2. The degree to which cops and prosecutors are willing to trample over your constitutional rights if they think you're guilty. Sadly, it only takes a hunch for them to think they KNOW you're guilty
    3. The human side - the heartbreak of the Halbach family which turned into anger against Avery and Dassey; the heartbreak of the Avery clan and their amazing optimism

    GREAT TV. Highly recommended.
    Expand
  36. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I could watch Kathleen Zellner talk abput this case for days. After all the false hope Steven received in season one she is like a breath of fresh air and when she tells you that she is positive she will overturn Steven’s wrongful conviction you know that it is going to happen. Can’t wait for season 3! Expand
  37. Oct 29, 2018
    10
    Compelling, brilliant, heart-breaking.. Thank you for not giving up, Kathleen Zellner. These men would have been locked away without anyone knowing what we know now. How could they sleep at night knowing what they did, and why wouldn’t TH family want to know whom the real killers are?
  38. Oct 29, 2018
    10
    Free Steven AveryFree Steven AveryFree Steven AveryFree Steven AveryFree Steven AveryFree Steven AveryFree Steven Avery
  39. Oct 29, 2018
    10
    This documentary is spot on. When I first heard about this case i was curious. As I went through the prosecutors arguements and "evidence" presented to suppprt the case i found a lot of anomalies and suspicious bits of information. Anyone who conducted any kind of basic research into soke crucial problems with ken kratz absurd story of what happened could pole holes in the prosecutionsThis documentary is spot on. When I first heard about this case i was curious. As I went through the prosecutors arguements and "evidence" presented to suppprt the case i found a lot of anomalies and suspicious bits of information. Anyone who conducted any kind of basic research into soke crucial problems with ken kratz absurd story of what happened could pole holes in the prosecutions case all day long. What i like about the second season is watching KZ go through a very systematic and scientific process to disprove one piece of the prosecutions case after another. She thought along the same lines as i did as i analyzed the prosecutions case for the first time. She is deffiently 100% better at her job than steven avery's initial defense team, and it shows when you compare her investigative defense using science and forensics to discredit the procectuions case at every turn. Something his orignal defense team didn't do, the talked a good game but they failed to preform when the chips where on the table if you ask me. I continue to have confidence that the great nation i defend everyday will eventually correct the misscarriage of justice the corrupt city, county, and state have allowed to happen. Expand
  40. Oct 29, 2018
    10
    I look forward to a 3rd season where we will hopefully see justice done for Steven, Brendan AND Teresa annd her family. Sweaty Kratz gives me the heebie jeebies.
  41. Oct 29, 2018
    10
    Absolutely incredible. That DISGUSTING Ken Kratz withholding VITAL evidence at trial AND refusing to let the Coroner speak at trial! The whole thing is an absolute conspiracy. Kathleen Zellner showing everyone how to do their job properly. What an inspiration. Teresa Halbach's family should be so grateful that finally someone is trying to get to the bottom of Teresa's murder. They shouldAbsolutely incredible. That DISGUSTING Ken Kratz withholding VITAL evidence at trial AND refusing to let the Coroner speak at trial! The whole thing is an absolute conspiracy. Kathleen Zellner showing everyone how to do their job properly. What an inspiration. Teresa Halbach's family should be so grateful that finally someone is trying to get to the bottom of Teresa's murder. They should be thanking her for her search for the truth. Ken Kratz is disgusting and so are the police who framed it all. Expand
  42. Oct 29, 2018
    9
    Better than the first season! The new lawyer of Steven is such a badass! She is spending so much time investigating all the mistakes from the prosecution, It's unbelievable! I watched all 10 episodes in one week-end.
  43. Oct 29, 2018
    10
    Season 2 is as intriguing as season 1. Kathleen Zellner isn't messing around and is destroying the states case piece by piece. She is proving who the real criminals are. Its the DA and cops. Kratz and the others need to go to prison.
  44. Oct 29, 2018
    10
    MaM2- and you thought MaM1 was frustrating! Bringing KZ on board just emphasizes the amount of corruption in the state of Wisconsin. What a disservice to the people of the state. How many other cases were so blatantly mishandled? Ken Kratz - you still watching? Sweating yet? Make him sweat Kathleen make them all sweat.
  45. Oct 29, 2018
    10
    This season is compelling, frustrating, and shows Kathleen Zellner and Brendan's lawyers in action. I can't comprehend how anyone could still think Steven and Brendan are guilty after what they've uncovered. The cops are corrupt, Brendan should be released, Steven deserves a new trial, and Teresa deserves real justice. The true guilty parties need to be held accountable!
  46. Oct 29, 2018
    10
    Great job, Kathleen Zellner. Keep following the evidence. Never forget Teresa Halbach and her family. They deserve the truth.
  47. Oct 29, 2018
    10
    Great to see forensic testing being done properly in the case FINALLY Zellner is going to collapse the state's house of cards - and then Teresa will get the justice she deserves. Sad for all involved that it's taken this long. Ricardi & Demos has produced another compelling part to this story. We continue to hope for the judicial system in WI to join the 21st century.
  48. Oct 29, 2018
    10
    Building on season one this season we are treated to the brilliance of Kathleen Zellner who systematically performs the type of investigation that should have been done by the police.... had they not been too busy framing Steven Avery. Gripping amd brilliant. Watching her pull apart the case presented by the prosecution provides for this season's mouth dropping moments. We also followBuilding on season one this season we are treated to the brilliance of Kathleen Zellner who systematically performs the type of investigation that should have been done by the police.... had they not been too busy framing Steven Avery. Gripping amd brilliant. Watching her pull apart the case presented by the prosecution provides for this season's mouth dropping moments. We also follow the tireless efforts of Brendan's lawyers Laura Nirider amd Steven Drizin fighting to overturn his conviction. The resistance they face is beyond staggering. Bring on Season 3. Expand
  49. Oct 29, 2018
    10
    It is very easy to binge watch this series. It grabs your attention and does not let go. I enjoyed the fact that this documentary shows that no case is a “slam dunk”. Reversing a conviction is very hard work on all levels and there are many obstacles to overcome. I feel good knowing that attorneys like Kathleen Zellner are out there fighting for the wrongfully convicted.
  50. Oct 29, 2018
    10
    This documentary unveils a total miscarriage of justice! It is appalling that Mr. Kratz concealed evidence from Mr. Avery’s defense team! How do these people sleep at night? It is also a disgrace that law enforcement took advantage of Brendan Dassey’s disabilities and put him behind bars! Now not one, but two victims of this corrupt system are suffering for a crime they did not commit!This documentary unveils a total miscarriage of justice! It is appalling that Mr. Kratz concealed evidence from Mr. Avery’s defense team! How do these people sleep at night? It is also a disgrace that law enforcement took advantage of Brendan Dassey’s disabilities and put him behind bars! Now not one, but two victims of this corrupt system are suffering for a crime they did not commit! Let’s also not forget that the real murderer for Teresa Halbach is still out living their life in the free world while the innocent pay the price! I’m sure her family would like to seek justice for her murderer which clearly is not Steve Avery or Brendan Dassey! I pray that Mr. and Mrs. Avery get to see their son released before they pass from this world. I pray the same for Brendan’s parents. Expand
  51. Oct 30, 2018
    10
    Definitely a must see documentary. It's obvious that they are innocent!! It breaks my heart to witness the corruption in the American justice system. Something needs to change now!
  52. Oct 30, 2018
    10
    Best indepth documentary, especially part 2, part 1 was really good and fascinating but part 2 takes it to a whole other level, Kathleen Zellner is a boss, the prosecution isn’t ready for her and her actual experts.
  53. Nov 5, 2018
    6
    Loved the first season but you can tell the producers didn't have enough material for a 10 episodes second season. There's so much boring filler and repeated footage from the first one. The good, interesting parts ammount to 3 episodes or so. Besides, knowing Steven and Brendan are still in prison it's like knowing the ending of a thriller before you've even seen it.
  54. Dec 9, 2018
    5
    While I loved season one, season two of Making a Murderer is a drag for most of the season. It finally gets interesting around episode six, but for the season to be half over by that point is just not acceptable. If they had gone with a shorter number of episodes in this season, it could have been nearly as good as the first season.
  55. Dec 17, 2018
    3
    When we all researched the case after the 1st season and saw how manipulative it was, and saw the news as to how inextricably convicted Avery and Dassey are, the show still dares stir the pot by spending so much time on a desperate lawyer desperately deconstructing the prosecution theory of the case rather than pointing us to the motive and identity and evidence in support of the "realWhen we all researched the case after the 1st season and saw how manipulative it was, and saw the news as to how inextricably convicted Avery and Dassey are, the show still dares stir the pot by spending so much time on a desperate lawyer desperately deconstructing the prosecution theory of the case rather than pointing us to the motive and identity and evidence in support of the "real killer". It punctuates this with endless melodrama designed to make us try to care about Avery. Frankly, Dassey's story might be compelling, but Avery drags the whole thing down. Don't bother watching, you know how it ends. Expand
  56. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    Even better than the first season, because Kathleen Zellner leaves no stone unturned, and continues to shine a bright light on the truth, on the corruption of Manitowoc county, specifically of already disgraced prosecutor Ken Kratz, on who really murdered Teresa Halbach, because ultimately she never got true justice. And on the slow and sometimes unreasonable justice system, specificallyEven better than the first season, because Kathleen Zellner leaves no stone unturned, and continues to shine a bright light on the truth, on the corruption of Manitowoc county, specifically of already disgraced prosecutor Ken Kratz, on who really murdered Teresa Halbach, because ultimately she never got true justice. And on the slow and sometimes unreasonable justice system, specifically in Wisconsin. I can't wait for the next installment of this story, can't wait to see Dassey and Steven get the lives they so deserve, hopefully not too slowly, and to find out who really committed this crime, how deeply the police were involved, and specifically Ken Kratz's reaction when he realizes the Truth has finally caught him, and all his appearances, his books full of absolutely ridiculous fantasies, and his only convictions in his entire career were bogus. Expand
  57. Oct 20, 2018
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I literally could not stop watching it until the very last episode. Interestingly enough it plays right into my Cassandra Complex. It's a docu-series, so the pacing is expected to be academic... and yet it was more riveting than any documentary series or movie that I've ever watched with the possible exception of, "I am Innocent" (which for some reason I can't find on this site to give a review) The trick to enjoying it is to attempt to watch it without an," etched in stone" opinion of who you believe is guilty. The families of the accused is heartbreaking to watch. Ironically, the victims family,, not so much.. The District attorney's family name would be more aptly named ,"sh@#%^&T-Head" and it's interesting that no one has noticed his blatant use of virtue signalling by unfailingly ending every public statement with expressing his concern for the ,"victim's family" whenever new evidence is brought to the courts. The Kratz prosecutor has the most eerily annoying baby voice that makes your skin crawl and once you tune into when he is spinning his bull-cacaa, I, for one, was squirming in my seat feeling like a cornered animal who is the only one in a room full of people who see's the monster. In my analysis, the whole damn states justice system is in cahoots to frame Steven Avery to prevent him from suing the state for liability to the tune of 35 million, plain and simple. It certainly isn't plain and simple though because of the new evidence implicating two other people whom no one saw coming. It's a perfect example how the rich and the powerful and those in privileged employment all stick together to screw over the lower class because they cynically figure that they can't pay for a decent defense team. It's all rather disgusting while unfortunately, reinforcing the perception that human beings suck. Although the slimy lawyer, a few of the cops and D.A. resemble reptiles more than human beings. It's incredible how many of those officials have absolutely no conscience especially in how they coerced a confession from a defenseless mentally challenged adolescent. They never imagined in a million years that someone would rise to the occasion and actually investigate the obvious sham of a conviction(s) and tirelessly defend the railroaded prisoners. Kathleen totally rocks!! Just watch as all the rats start furiously covering each others back sides. Prediction; I can't wait to see when the rats start turning on each other. Expand
  58. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    it's time for people to wake up. If you can't see the truth after Season 2; then you are choosing to ignore facts and hard evidence- Just like most of the Manitowoc county and the American justice system.
  59. Oct 28, 2018
    10
    MAM2 was much better than the original MAM. Actual, evidence is uncovered in this season that shows SA innocent. .It makes it clear that SA was framed by MC and that KZ is a BAB.
  60. Oct 29, 2018
    10
    Such an important show. Steven and Brendan deserve to be free! I’m hoping we see a part 3. This story is far from over.
  61. Oct 29, 2018
    10
    This is an amazing documentary from start to finish. Steven Avery’s attorney ;Kathleen Zellner pours her passion into this case like no other and that is what makes it what it is- a truly fascinating look at the progress of the evidence she has (unlike anyone else), bothered to look for. She is an absolute Queen and a total credit to the series. I cannot express just how amazing this womanThis is an amazing documentary from start to finish. Steven Avery’s attorney ;Kathleen Zellner pours her passion into this case like no other and that is what makes it what it is- a truly fascinating look at the progress of the evidence she has (unlike anyone else), bothered to look for. She is an absolute Queen and a total credit to the series. I cannot express just how amazing this woman is. Never known anyone like her before. Her hard work and determination is sure to pay off and I cannot wait to see it. Expand
  62. Oct 28, 2018
    0
    What an incredible emotional journey! My heart breaks for Teresa’s family, this has to be difficult. Still it is beyond critical to have the right person or people in custody. Ken Kratz needs to understand, truth & justice, are more than sound bites. The taped confession is beyond wrong, a 16 yr old is no match for an adult.. Anyone with an ounce of decency can see the whole case needs toWhat an incredible emotional journey! My heart breaks for Teresa’s family, this has to be difficult. Still it is beyond critical to have the right person or people in custody. Ken Kratz needs to understand, truth & justice, are more than sound bites. The taped confession is beyond wrong, a 16 yr old is no match for an adult.. Anyone with an ounce of decency can see the whole case needs to be re-examined with an objective view of the evidence, an unflinching search for the truth no matter where it leads. Expand
  63. Oct 22, 2018
    0
    It's a very biased documentary. It leaves out key evidence to make the show more entertaining but since most people don't understand that, viewers leave thinking that there was great injustice done. Even a very simple amount of research outside of this "documentary" will be enough to show that there is a lot more to the story than what the show portrays.
  64. Oct 28, 2018
    0
    This is not a documentary. It is a fictional account of the Teresa Halbach murder case told from the point of view of the killer's lawyer, Kathleen Zellner. Plus it is boring.
  65. Oct 28, 2018
    1
    Like the first MaM, this set of episodes paints two killers as the victims when the crime was committed against an innocent woman. The difference here is the killer’s attorney becomes the star of the show as she grandstands and makes up pseudo science she tells her loyal following will get the killer off. Unfortunately she is not as successful in real court as she is in the court ofLike the first MaM, this set of episodes paints two killers as the victims when the crime was committed against an innocent woman. The difference here is the killer’s attorney becomes the star of the show as she grandstands and makes up pseudo science she tells her loyal following will get the killer off. Unfortunately she is not as successful in real court as she is in the court of public opinion. Both seasons of the series are highly slanted and biased away from justice, and don’t mind impugning innocents and besmirching people’s good names along the way. Expand
  66. Oct 29, 2018
    10
    Corruption all the way down from the Judge, prosecutor, sheriff’s dept, and stealth juror(s). Disgusting. These men need to be freed and replaced by those who wrongly put them there.
  67. Oct 29, 2018
    9
    The game is on! Steven's new lawyer, Kathleen Zellner, goes full sherlock on the Manitowoc County Sheriff Department. This is almost like watching Mythbusters, she is destroying every piece of 'evidence' (?) presented by the state. It is truly fascinating to listen to her talking, she is mesmerizing and extremely clever. And she is the perfect antagonist for the sweaty, disgusting, liarThe game is on! Steven's new lawyer, Kathleen Zellner, goes full sherlock on the Manitowoc County Sheriff Department. This is almost like watching Mythbusters, she is destroying every piece of 'evidence' (?) presented by the state. It is truly fascinating to listen to her talking, she is mesmerizing and extremely clever. And she is the perfect antagonist for the sweaty, disgusting, liar **** known as Ken Kratz. But, to be honest, the rest of the documentary is not as fascinating. Brendan's parts are interesting but a little dragged-out, hence a 9 rating instead of a 10. Expand
  68. Oct 29, 2018
    10
    Making a murderer season 1
    Making a murderer season 2
    Loved it. Ready for Justice!
  69. Oct 29, 2018
    10
    Oh my god, I love KTZ. Whoever would have thought that MAM2 would be just as good as series 1, credit to Moria and Laura. So well observed, so ballsy ... well done leading ladies!,
  70. Oct 29, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Kathleen Zellner hands down will slowly but surely overturn this case and everyone who is in disbelief will see the outcome sooner or later. All the new evidence she gathered and her finding other suspects within all this research is pointing to the truth. I still don’t understand why Teresa’s family wasn’t ever questioned or interrogated especially her Ex Ryan H. who wasn’t ever looked at solely because he was doing some search party at the Avery property when he should have been a suspect in question. Lastly I am disgusted to know that Bobby Dassey and his stepfather had almost everything to do with this murder, they should be behind bars. Expand
  71. Nov 1, 2018
    10
    Clearly innocent and set up, I believe. Kathleen Zellner is a great mind. The system in America seems more interested in being right, than achieving justice. Fantastic second series. Kratz should be ashamed of himself but seems to lack capacity, like a psychopath.
  72. Nov 1, 2018
    9
    Kathleen Zellner is amazing to watch! She’s so calm as she eviscerates the holes in the state’s arguments. I hope her efforts along with the attention from the show bring all parties justice.
  73. Nov 2, 2018
    10
    This a great season 2, with many new evidence. Zellner is clearly an incredible lawyer and she should be rewarded for her commitment and hard work.
  74. Nov 2, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Possibly one of the saddest stories since the start of this century.

    The manner, in which the state of Wisconsin is handling Steven Avery & Brendan Dassey's lives is profoundly immature.
    Not only the concealing of evidence, fabrication, and lies, but I would've never thought sending the wrong people to jail was not only accepted, but legitimately preferred by some states in the united states of america. Truth? Justice? Nah. We did wrong by them, and they'll want us to pay them for their time spent behind bars.

    Steven Avery is only in prison because certain people in power in Wisconsin don't like him. After all, they wrongly sent him to jail for 18 for a crime there was no evidence he committed. That worked once, surely it'll stick if they fabricate evidence.
    They'll keep him in jail for the rest of his life in fear that he'll seek a larger amount, and take a massive dump on the state's reputation.
    Brendan Dassey is just an unfortunate victim of circumstance.

    10/10. Recommend watching.
    Also recommend following Kathleen Zellner on twitter. Trust me.
    Expand
  75. Nov 3, 2018
    10
    Wow! Kathleen Zellner, you are amazing! This is a must see documentary. If you thought Season 1 was tantalizing...Season 2 will leave you speechless!
  76. Nov 6, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I could not stop watching. I watched the entire season the day it was available. I am absolutely blown away by the time, and energy Kathleen Zellner has invested into searching for the truth. MAM2 is both riveting and emotionally draining. I have started watching it again because I am so intrigued with her tenacity in learning from the experts what every single piece of evidence means. She is right, there is no way to recreate what the prosecution says happened. Ken Kratz is an embarrassment to the human race and a clear example of why prosecutors need to be held accountable for misconduct. Expand
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Sonia Saraiya
    Dec 13, 2018
    30
    The docuseries is so hindered by its own blind spots that by the end of the season, it seems to be chasing its own tail, lost in a world where it only sees what it deems relevant, permissible, or just. It would be worthwhile for this series to encounter, and try to interpret, its own warped reflection.
  2. Reviewed by: Erin Keane
    Oct 23, 2018
    80
    Both storylines come with moments of triumph and disappointment for the respective teams in season 2, but it's Zellner's case, with its bloody reenactments, science experts and her fascinating and relentless brain at work, that will keep viewers in their chairs.
  3. Reviewed by: Laura M. Browning
    Oct 19, 2018
    75
    If Making A Murderer is primarily focused on proving the innocence of Steven Avery—a seed that was sown three years ago--it’s because the show and its filmmakers genuinely believe in him and in the justice system. It’s a surprising through-line, this kind of enduring optimism in an institution that has allegedly failed both Avery and Dassey many times over. Defense attorneys are a force for good in this story.