HBO MAX | Release Date: September 3, 2020
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 94 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
51
Mixed:
19
Negative:
24
Watch Now
Review this TV Series
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
tdebugSep 27, 2020
Interesting at maybe first 1-3 episodes and becoming rather boring, repetitive and unappealing later on. I am a sci-fi fan and I am rather disappointed.
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
6
alizodiacNov 29, 2020
Raised by Wolves is one of those high-concept shows that slow-burns into an engaging piece of storytelling, only for it to take a giant dump on you at the very end by taking a nonsensical twist. There's plenty to admire, and I was fascinatedRaised by Wolves is one of those high-concept shows that slow-burns into an engaging piece of storytelling, only for it to take a giant dump on you at the very end by taking a nonsensical twist. There's plenty to admire, and I was fascinated by the prospect of this new world and how humanity would function in it, against a backdrop of philosophy, religion and sci-fi mythology. I just can't fathom that ending and it left me quite annoyed. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
6
JimmyLoOct 5, 2020
I like the overall premise however there isn't a single character in the entire first season that has any depth. The planet is dusty and lifeless and so is the writing. I honestly can't understand why anyone would rate this show above a 7.I like the overall premise however there isn't a single character in the entire first season that has any depth. The planet is dusty and lifeless and so is the writing. I honestly can't understand why anyone would rate this show above a 7. There was so much hype leading up, I feel that people are rating this show highly based on what they feel it can be, not what it is. Disappointing overall experience. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
3
PaulverineDec 11, 2020
Starts promisingly but doesn't deliver. The change in directing is really noticeable after Ridley leaves, the characters have little depth, there are pretty gaping plot holes, the pace is pedestrian, and the story is a bit of a jumble.

This
Starts promisingly but doesn't deliver. The change in directing is really noticeable after Ridley leaves, the characters have little depth, there are pretty gaping plot holes, the pace is pedestrian, and the story is a bit of a jumble.

This would work well as a 2.5hr film, but as a series it's flawed.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
DazerDec 24, 2020
I really liked the earlier episodes. But the final two episodes are just so disappointingly bad. Overall the show also struggles with some really poor acting at times, especially by the young cast members (who are also poorly written). AsI really liked the earlier episodes. But the final two episodes are just so disappointingly bad. Overall the show also struggles with some really poor acting at times, especially by the young cast members (who are also poorly written). As others have noted, it all too often comes off as a bad Syfy series. Still, it was good enough to stick to, but the end result makes it a big thumbs down. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
alliciencyDec 20, 2020
The series struggles to fill its time with meaningful development, and far too quickly abandons its frank nature for time-hopping twists and unfulfilling jargon.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
ScienceAdvisorSep 20, 2020
All spectacle, no substance. The tech on display is nonsensical, vascillating between modern era and near god-like, whenever the script requires it. No care was spent to make it believable at all. Aside from those issues, the forcedAll spectacle, no substance. The tech on display is nonsensical, vascillating between modern era and near god-like, whenever the script requires it. No care was spent to make it believable at all. Aside from those issues, the forced diversity in the groups of kids, while everyone else is White is staggeringly obvious. Then there are the plot holes in having two androids, programmed for survival, not understanding the basics of environmental survey techniques to assess dangers. Or in other words, try not to pay attention or you will quickly come to realize this was written for kids. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
3
HasstOct 10, 2020
This show is a hodgepodge of a bunch of crappy concepts rolled up into barely coherent story. Episode 1 was ok and it went downhill from there.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
4
AneDeLeonSep 4, 2020
.
Some great moments but in others it looks like a Syfy series,
the series seems to be lost a little in its own initial idea
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
4
AlphaRebelOct 3, 2020
I so want to like this show; it's got some really REALLY good ideas.
Unfortunately the producers are far more interested in creating a "Lost" style rabbit hole by rolling out a never ending stream of pretentious WTF moments over telling a
I so want to like this show; it's got some really REALLY good ideas.
Unfortunately the producers are far more interested in creating a "Lost" style rabbit hole by rolling out a never ending stream of pretentious WTF moments over telling a cohesive story and I strongly suspect this will either get cancelled outright before we get any answers or the answers we will get will be a garbled fustercluck of half baked ideas or the show will just cancelled outright as everyone checks out before they deem we are worthy of getting any answers.
Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
2
PhredatorSep 14, 2020
Tried watching the new show "Raised by Wolves" about robot colonists on some planet (not mars).
I am truly amazed at how awful it is. People who never follow science fiction should never attempt to make science fiction shows.
Androids fly to
Tried watching the new show "Raised by Wolves" about robot colonists on some planet (not mars).
I am truly amazed at how awful it is. People who never follow science fiction should never attempt to make science fiction shows.
Androids fly to another star bringing less gear than you would bring on a weekend camping trip, "birth" some humans in an artificial womb, then use hammers to put nails into wood and hand weave fabric, all the while telling each other that "their programming tells them to do this".
I can just see the idiot writers talking among themselves. "We should have them plant crops to feed the kids. How do you plant crops? I know, crop circles right!" If Elon Musk (or anyone else) gets us to Mars one day, you can bet that he will bring machinery, and lots of it, to build homes, make fabric, plant crops, etc. People today are connected (cell phones etc.) You can bet that on Mars or wherever Musk will make sure that everyone has access to the cloud so that no one gets lost in a sandstorm or falls down a well. And above all else, you can be sure that if we have robot butlers or nannys or whatever, none of these will howl at the moon(s) if we fall and hurt ourselves.
I won't waste time talking about the nonexistent acting, plodding pace, Kansas sized plot holes, or other improbable plot points. Suffice it to say that this has Gilligan level storytelling. Not quite. I actually laughed at Gilligan. I watched for thirteen minutes. Thirteen precious moments of my life I'll never get back.
Save yourselves. Run away from this dreck.
Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
8
Ahab_GaddisSep 10, 2020
There's not too much mystery but a lot of exposition missing that's slowly being covered in the 5 episodes I've watched. I don't even care to know it yet, just digging the aesthetic and vibe and the immediate plot of the androids dealing withThere's not too much mystery but a lot of exposition missing that's slowly being covered in the 5 episodes I've watched. I don't even care to know it yet, just digging the aesthetic and vibe and the immediate plot of the androids dealing with their kids trying to survive and reboot humanity in this unknown planet and mithra faction. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
1
KTLeanderDec 21, 2020
I can already tell that these writers have no idea how to write sci-fi. They are drawing ideas out of their behind and think that is deep.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
mondainaiOct 28, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First episode is phenomenal. Then it just goes downhill from there. Later episodes have me almost constantly rolling my eyes. If an alien from the movie aliens had popped out of the android instead, all would be forgiven. Ending is too absurd. So much is not explained. I mean, you have a humanoid figure show up in the 2nd or 3rd episdoe and then nothing. Who are the ghosts. Are they dreaming this? Whose voice are they hearing? It seems the authors just make it up as they go along. I really loved the first episode, and am SOOOO dissapointed the rest stinks. Maybe it is the annoying overacting from child brats. I want 7hrs of my life back... Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
JortigoOct 7, 2020
It presents similarity to his masterpieces "Prometheus and Alien Covenant" both in the design of the planet's atmosphere, war and the end of humanity, and how artificial creation is superior to natural creation. A 10-episode masterpiece thatIt presents similarity to his masterpieces "Prometheus and Alien Covenant" both in the design of the planet's atmosphere, war and the end of humanity, and how artificial creation is superior to natural creation. A 10-episode masterpiece that radiates storytelling and spectacular visuals throughout the series. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
NeonCriSep 12, 2020
I watched 5 episodes and can honestly say that so far it is the best tv episodes in 2020! Highly recommended. Brilliant!
7 of 15 users found this helpful78
All this user's reviews
10
kamgeforceSep 7, 2020
Interesting concept and so far well executed. Audiovisuals are amazing for a series, the production didnt take many shortcuts. Travis Fimmel is the reason I watched it in the first place and he is delivering but the real surprise is the mainInteresting concept and so far well executed. Audiovisuals are amazing for a series, the production didnt take many shortcuts. Travis Fimmel is the reason I watched it in the first place and he is delivering but the real surprise is the main duo of Mother and Father. Even the kid actors are doing well. Hopefully it will hold for entire season and if they keep it up, there is no reason to go lower than 9. Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
1
slavvaOct 5, 2020
I do not know what "specialists" should be employed and who approved the script to spoil a good series with one scene in the last episode.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
6
HughMBehaviorSep 14, 2020
Mediocre.
Like Orson Scott Card phoned one in.
Production values are high though, and there ain't much else to watch... For once the critics have it right (probably because there's nothing SJW to slavishly fawn over, although one of the main
Mediocre.
Like Orson Scott Card phoned one in.
Production values are high though, and there ain't much else to watch...
For once the critics have it right (probably because there's nothing SJW to slavishly fawn over, although one of the main characters is kind of transgender. Totally congruent to the story, not contrived.)
Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
10
VovaDSep 18, 2020
For me this show is 10 out of 10. I can understand the negative reviews, because this show is not for everyone, but if you're a sci-fi fan, this show will open a new dimension for you. Can't wait for 2nd season.
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
10
HopliteSep 26, 2020
Critics gotta be nuts. This is Ridley Scott at his best. Most creative original sci-fi since interstellar. The story is amazing. The world building and vision of the future is not like anything I've seen. I didn't think there'd be any goodCritics gotta be nuts. This is Ridley Scott at his best. Most creative original sci-fi since interstellar. The story is amazing. The world building and vision of the future is not like anything I've seen. I didn't think there'd be any good sci-fi for awhile. Character development is also a priority in Scott's story I was invested in each of their motives. Pleasant surprise, considering Lovecraft put me to sleep.

Update, Just finished episode 9. Story is unlike anything I've seen. It's innovative in its story telling and reverberates like a human heart in its complexity and emotion, in each of its characters. I can not tell what is going to happen next and I'm anxious to find out because the way it presents each character's journey, how they have one perspective that evolves in ways that draw you in and make you care for them. Transcendant in its ideas of religion, reality, existentialism, what makes you human or alive, and the value of life. This is what I hoped prometheus 2 would be, but unlike Alien Covenant, this delivers. You're in for such a treat if you're starting at episode 1.
Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
10
djandredantasSep 11, 2020
This series captivated me in such a short time, I found the first episode overwhelming, and the following episodes left the series more and more engaging. The scenery of this series is beautiful, the androids are brilliant. For those who likeThis series captivated me in such a short time, I found the first episode overwhelming, and the following episodes left the series more and more engaging. The scenery of this series is beautiful, the androids are brilliant. For those who like fiction it is a full plate. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
9
baharhashemiSep 10, 2020
If you are interested in science fiction series, Raised by Wolves is a unique series in this genre. But it is too early to judge and there are many questions to answer but what is there is that we must be ready to see an exciting work.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
10
lhokSep 10, 2020
An amazing world, this really looks like a mix between Alien and Blade Runner universe. This brings a lot of complex topics to discuss, such as faith, the human nature of belief in something, and how this can potentially create the edgeAn amazing world, this really looks like a mix between Alien and Blade Runner universe. This brings a lot of complex topics to discuss, such as faith, the human nature of belief in something, and how this can potentially create the edge between an android "consciousness" and Human consciousness. The show needs to pay attention only to don't get lost in too many complex discussions. If they manage to keep the same pace the show will be perfect.... Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
10
paulvanjafSep 19, 2020
simply pure Sci fi from the master of it, Ridley Scott. maybe the best Sci Fi show of the decade. this is a must to watch if you are a fan of Prometheus, the AI, what humanity means and what is a glace of the future from us as species. excelent
3 of 11 users found this helpful38
All this user's reviews
8
AndrewChristSep 4, 2020
Besides political propaganda implemented because otherwise it won't be possible to create any movie - this series is great. Scott loves stories about human origin and future. Great stuff. Recommended.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
flavioxivSep 7, 2020
Really interesting show, we've been lacking good "space" sci-fi and this is a really welcome breath of fresh air, really masterfully directed by Ridley Sott, it got me hooked from episode 1, can't wait to see the rest of the season. I reallyReally interesting show, we've been lacking good "space" sci-fi and this is a really welcome breath of fresh air, really masterfully directed by Ridley Sott, it got me hooked from episode 1, can't wait to see the rest of the season. I really don't see why people are disliking it, it's well written, well acted and well directed and this is something that's getting harder and harder to find these days. Hope more people give it a try, it's worth . Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
8
marco34laOct 31, 2020
This show is slightly uneven to begin with, however, as the episodes progress, the series gains momentum and more and more things come to light. I had some slow hurdles to get over - like episodes 2 and 3, but now that I'm 2 episodes awayThis show is slightly uneven to begin with, however, as the episodes progress, the series gains momentum and more and more things come to light. I had some slow hurdles to get over - like episodes 2 and 3, but now that I'm 2 episodes away from finale, I don't want it to end. It should be noted to people, that critic reviews are only based on the first few episodes they receive. The entire series is NOT sent out for review. Episodes 4 on... are usually still in post production when the series begins to air. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
jfrisbySep 24, 2020
Incredibly weird and beautiful show. Some of the themes have been done to death before, but this is one of the more original things on TV in some time.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
8
greenisgoodOct 18, 2020
TL;DR- If this is what Ridley wanted to focus on since Promethus how did these concepts get shoved into the his 'Alien/Xenomorph' universe ?? This whole season had far more interesting and amazing concepts, acting performances and atmosphereTL;DR- If this is what Ridley wanted to focus on since Promethus how did these concepts get shoved into the his 'Alien/Xenomorph' universe ?? This whole season had far more interesting and amazing concepts, acting performances and atmosphere than both of his recent Movies, even if the concepts are not novel the amalgamation of the sci-fi concepts and the bigger picture is quite the experience.


The Good

Donno if it was Ridley's insistence or the Producers who forced Scott to retroactively try and force the Xenomorph lore into his Android/Existentialism aspect which was clearly what he wanted to deal with. His movies were always an example of stellar cinematography which is one of the best parts of the show. The character performances were absolutely enthralling and engaging from start to finish, this is supported with really well written character interactions and character dialogue.

Being one of the main driving forces of this universe the show does really well to delve into both sides of Religion and Atheism, by both I mean the Positive and Negative successfully making sure this does not get too preachy on either side.
The twist of Androids encapsulating Adam and Eve, Mother Father, Married Couple was fascinatingly portrayed by both Salim and Amanda with the best performances in the show by the duo. Almost all of the children in their performances were well done and barring a few minor details here and there were believable and understandable.

The Bad

A few times I felt a pang of irritation rising up in me, everytime this was because of some link to the Xenomorph universe like the helmet being similar in design to the engineer helmet. The cinematography of the opening episode having similarities to Promethus which has been pointed out by many. And I almost lost it when I thought there was going to be a chest burster scene but thankfully it did not happen.

I am also a part of hate train as the mishmash of Promethus and Alien Covenant felt like everything good was overshadowed by bad and oddly disconnected.
Either way but I am glad Scott finally has an outlet for his passions again since this was quite a breath of fresh air from a Science Fiction standpoint.

Raised by Wolves is quite a refreshing watch on a whole even if parts of the whole are not anything new but the way the narrative is constructed is Ridley Scott at his best.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
SadYokaiNov 29, 2020
Almost perfect. Ridley scott at his best. I really don't get the negative reviews (most of them at least). Great soundtrack and visuals as well as good writing and acting. I think this might be one of my fav sci fi shows ever.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
Barger01Oct 3, 2020
This show is out of this world, literally. It’s so unique and completely different than anything I’ve ever seen. I put down my phone and was hooked after 10 minutes, which is rare for me. It’s quirky and has so many WTF moments, I love it.This show is out of this world, literally. It’s so unique and completely different than anything I’ve ever seen. I put down my phone and was hooked after 10 minutes, which is rare for me. It’s quirky and has so many WTF moments, I love it. Cannot wait for season 2! Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
4
Rmiles801Jan 15, 2021
This show started off pretty good, enough to keep our attention and keep going at least. After about episode 6-7 or so it became apparent that the show wasn't going to tie any of the random crap that wasn't explained together, this leads toThis show started off pretty good, enough to keep our attention and keep going at least. After about episode 6-7 or so it became apparent that the show wasn't going to tie any of the random crap that wasn't explained together, this leads to just a bunch of question marks that never get answered, and considering those question marks have a considerable time allotment in the show, you'd think they would try to make better sense of some things, not sure how any casuals would watch this show and not quit by E6.

I could talk quite a bit about many different things that occurred that were never explained as the show progressed and became increasingly frustrating/annoying to watch because they were spending so much time on things that made zero sense, the show became drastically less-coherent in the 2nd half of S1. I would not recommend this show to others no matter what, I'd actually pretty strongly recommend against it, never have I watched an entire season of a show and wished I had my time back so much as this one, so for that... congrats, I won't be returning for S2 and the return of the magical nessie on steroids.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
RowanBlackJan 9, 2021
The majority of the positive reviews seem to be based on the first six episodes which do give the show an interesting premise. However the final episodes of the season devolve into a mess of broken plotlines, unanswered ideas, and almostThe majority of the positive reviews seem to be based on the first six episodes which do give the show an interesting premise. However the final episodes of the season devolve into a mess of broken plotlines, unanswered ideas, and almost random events with no big payoff. If you are intrigued by the beginning episode realize it's going to be a downhill run. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews