The Goldbergs : Season 1

  • Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 24, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 127 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 127
  2. Negative: 13 out of 127

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Sep 25, 2013
    0
    YOWZERS! Note to ABC: stop trying SOOOOO hard. I don't know how or when, but I think ABC now produces more Cheese than the whole state of Wisconsin. I was driving the car with my friend when she saw a poster advertised for this and her immediate reaction was, that looks like a cancelled show." I agree. The jokes are real bad, character are real annoying, the gimmicky cuts between the realYOWZERS! Note to ABC: stop trying SOOOOO hard. I don't know how or when, but I think ABC now produces more Cheese than the whole state of Wisconsin. I was driving the car with my friend when she saw a poster advertised for this and her immediate reaction was, that looks like a cancelled show." I agree. The jokes are real bad, character are real annoying, the gimmicky cuts between the real footage and the camcorder footage isn't working. The voice over has the tone of the Wonder Years, but this show can't hold a candle to such a critically acclaimed show. Give it up ABC, this show is DOA with a DNR order. Expand
  2. Sep 26, 2013
    0
    Absolutely the worst on TV. Awful dialogue, cringe-inducing humor and a non-stop, family scream-fest highlight this train wreck of a sitcom. Mom, dad and the grandpa (George Segal) are fine actors, unfortunately, stuck with a horrible script. Everyone seems to be trying so hard. The youngest son I'm sorry to say, looked like he was acting in a school play; not for a minute, believableAbsolutely the worst on TV. Awful dialogue, cringe-inducing humor and a non-stop, family scream-fest highlight this train wreck of a sitcom. Mom, dad and the grandpa (George Segal) are fine actors, unfortunately, stuck with a horrible script. Everyone seems to be trying so hard. The youngest son I'm sorry to say, looked like he was acting in a school play; not for a minute, believable and the older, high-strung son? Yow, where did they find this one? The daughter seemed OK, but we'll never know as we couldn't hold out until the end. Unbearable. Be very afraid of top critics who score this big. Expand
  3. Oct 8, 2013
    1
    That 80's Show, a.k.a. The Goldbergs, is a rip-off, and not even a good one. I don't mind putting my brain on pause when I watch a comedy, but after watching this "comedy", I have difficulty starting up my brain again.

    The dialog is bad, really bad. The acting doesn't save the bad dialog. The cam-corder trick falls flat. Not only should ABC cancel this show, they should fire the
    That 80's Show, a.k.a. The Goldbergs, is a rip-off, and not even a good one. I don't mind putting my brain on pause when I watch a comedy, but after watching this "comedy", I have difficulty starting up my brain again.

    The dialog is bad, really bad. The acting doesn't save the bad dialog. The cam-corder trick falls flat.

    Not only should ABC cancel this show, they should fire the person responsible for bringing it to the airwaves.
    Expand
  4. Nov 19, 2013
    1
    This show is absolutely horrible. Are people high to think this is actually a good show? The time line doesn't even go in order from everything that they mention in each episode. They go over so many things that are in different years in the 80 's. I can't believe that ABC actually gave this a full season. What is wrong with them. The actors are horrible and the plot is so bad. This isThis show is absolutely horrible. Are people high to think this is actually a good show? The time line doesn't even go in order from everything that they mention in each episode. They go over so many things that are in different years in the 80 's. I can't believe that ABC actually gave this a full season. What is wrong with them. The actors are horrible and the plot is so bad. This is supposed to be based on someone 's real life. I highly doubt that all of this happened the way that he explains it. I had to stop watching after the first episode but see so many previews while watching other shows that make me never want to watch another episode of this horrible show. PLEASE ABC get a clue and CANCEL this horrible show. Please save space for a show that actually belongs on the air. Expand
  5. Apr 29, 2014
    0
    I find this show a disgusting role model for kids. Really?? Are these the kind of values we want our children to impart - throwing food at their parents at dinner when the parents ask their daughter what's wrong, telling their grandfather off for no reason and calling him a lying idiot, and talking back to police officers. And this was all in about a 5 minute segment. I had to turn theI find this show a disgusting role model for kids. Really?? Are these the kind of values we want our children to impart - throwing food at their parents at dinner when the parents ask their daughter what's wrong, telling their grandfather off for no reason and calling him a lying idiot, and talking back to police officers. And this was all in about a 5 minute segment. I had to turn the channel. This stuff makes me sick! I am a teacher and a parent of 2 teenagers and over the past 20 years I have watched kids be influenced by garbage TV shows like this that encourage children to disrespect authority on every level. Kids who value these shows have no boundaries, thanks to you. Can't these writers entertain without role-modeling poor values?? Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 26
  2. Negative: 5 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Oct 3, 2013
    50
    It has its strengths--most of them derived from the skilled cast--but none related to any capacity for originality.
  2. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Sep 26, 2013
    60
    The comedy on The Goldbergs is loud, aggressive, and somewhat abrasive.
  3. Reviewed by: Cody Ray Shafer
    Sep 26, 2013
    50
    The Goldbergs banks on nostalgia for its charm, but needs to build on something more for us to really care about this family.