• Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 6, 2020
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Feb 15, 2020
    85
    A funny, horrifying, and generally thrilling account of a female Los Angeles police chief's rocky relations with the city's scummy, thieving (and, of course, male) power brokers.
  2. Reviewed by: Terry Terrones
    Jan 31, 2020
    83
    Smart, well-written and with an excellent cast, “Tommy” is a strong new series that offers a fresh and welcome take on the police procedural.
  3. Reviewed by: Amy Amatangelo
    Feb 6, 2020
    79
    It’s no surprise that Falco presides over all of this with aplomb. She’s instantly believable, instantly real. You’ll root for her take-no-prisoners Tommy, be frustrated for her, question her decisions, and admire her decisiveness. She’s everything you need in a lead character. It helps that Falco is supported by a strong cast.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Feb 7, 2020
    70
    Lately, the broadcast drama has a hard time competing for attention with shinier objects in the pay and streaming universes. But operating within those parameters, Falco's leadership quickly vaults "Tommy" to near the top of its class.
  5. Reviewed by: Melanie McFarland
    Feb 6, 2020
    60
    "Tommy" is quite intentionally a socially conscious construction, and while that's not necessarily to its detriment, its earnest approach to inclusion can at times get in the way of a viewer's ability to appreciate its worth as a solid character-driven procedural.
  6. TV Guide Magazine
    Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Feb 5, 2020
    60
    Edie Falco instantly elevates the role of Abigail "Tommy" Thomas, Los Angeles first female police chief, with emotional intelligence and sardonic wit. [3-16 Feb 2020, p.9]
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Feb 5, 2020
    60
    Falco, of course, is the main reason to tune in, even as “Tommy” struggles to match her range, from serious empathy to dry wit. ... The other reason to watch — indeed, the show’s true potential — is Tommy’s unflappable approach to good community policing, on a network that for too long has fetishized grisly murders and the wonders of DNA results.
  8. Reviewed by: Daniel D'Addario
    Feb 4, 2020
    60
    Where the show does best is in its treatment of Tommy’s private life. In depicting her tentative reconnection with her adult daughter (Olivia Lucy Phillip), a Angeleno-by-choice who left her work-crazed mom behind long ago, the show hits familiar beats nicely. ... A problem the show has yet to solve is that the kind of power she exercises when in uniform would tend to make her unknowable, and keeping her as open and big-hearted in every moment of the show’s running time defies belief.
  9. Reviewed by: Liam Mathews
    Feb 5, 2020
    55
    Edie Falco is so talented that she can make this formulaic CBS cop drama watchable. She can't quite make it good, but she saves it from being bad.
  10. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 30, 2020
    55
    It’s all a little too on-the-nose and predictable. Falco is fantastic as always, but the writing in early episodes lacks anything approaching the nuance and sophistication of Falco’s past series, “The Sopranos” and “Nurse Jackie.”
  11. Reviewed by: Joel Keller
    Feb 7, 2020
    50
    Edie Falco is one of those actors we’ll watch in anything. And Tommy certainly is anything.
  12. Reviewed by: Kelly Lawler
    Feb 6, 2020
    50
    Everything except Falco's performance lands rather dully. The writers fail to make the supporting cast nearly as compelling. Kate is inconsistent, sometimes flighty and hysterical, other times grounded and responsible, making her hard to pin down.
  13. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Feb 4, 2020
    50
    First-rate actress, compelling idea but neither can escape the clutches of a shopworn formula.
  14. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    Jan 30, 2020
    50
    Although neatly episodic in one sense, “Tommy” also has a continuing subplot, the destination of which remains unclear but which makes the relationships among its characters amorphous and their intentions suspicious. The show could use better direction. But it certainly has a sinister undercurrent. ... It remains to be seen how well-suited Ms. Falco is to Tommy, or whether the dialogue gets any better.
  15. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Feb 7, 2020
    40
    Falco is just fine in the show, using touches of dry humor to charm even while we understand that Tommy is a flawed person. But, sadly, despite her chops, Falco is not asked to do a lot in the script except exude principles and rock a police uniform.
  16. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Feb 6, 2020
    40
    After the pilot, I was prepared to be enthusiastic about CBS having landed an above-average version of a very CBS-y show. After the second episode, I was prepared to savage the show. And after three? It's just another mediocre broadcast show that probably could have been a lot better.
User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 11
  2. Negative: 8 out of 11
  1. Feb 8, 2020
    10
    It is a fantastic show. Please don't let the severe right wing people dissuade you from this show because it addresses women in power, aIt is a fantastic show. Please don't let the severe right wing people dissuade you from this show because it addresses women in power, a lesbian, immigration, etc. It is well written and the actors are superb. Full Review »
  2. Feb 7, 2020
    0
    Premise had some promise, but the writing is just too left wing PC crap out of the gate.

    We like lesbians who were rotten mothers. We like
    Premise had some promise, but the writing is just too left wing PC crap out of the gate.

    We like lesbians who were rotten mothers.
    We like women in power.
    We hate ICE.
    White males are all corrupt.

    Predictable and not at all accurate representation of female police officers. I have one in the family and she is nothing like “Tommy!”

    Hoped for better. Didn’t get it.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 9, 2020
    2
    I wanted to like it, but I just can't. Edie was wonderful, but someone give her a decent script to work with. It glossed over all the dramaI wanted to like it, but I just can't. Edie was wonderful, but someone give her a decent script to work with. It glossed over all the drama so it could introduce the premise... chauvinist mayor 'forced' to hire a woman to do the job of chief of police midst a corrupt and misogynistic police force and system. I just wanted a good cop drama. I got an "everything that's wrong with the system" and one woman is going to clean it up, even though she can't seem to clean up her relationship with her daughter.

    Edie is worth so much more than this. What a shame.
    Full Review »