• Network: Bravo
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 8, 2006
Season #: 16, 15, 14, 13, 12, 11, 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 56
  2. Negative: 14 out of 56

Where To Watch

Stream On
Buy On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. KarenP
    Mar 9, 2006
    10
    Loved it!
  2. RickL
    Mar 9, 2006
    3
    This is a very poor "kitchen" version of Project Runway. The emphasis is too heavy on the "chefs" critiquing each other, rather than the experts commenting on the food and the processes. It is obviously sqeezing the drama from the obnoxiousness of the culinary toddlers, throwing sand in the kitchen sandbox. Much of the appeal of Project Runway was the dynamic between Heidi Klum and the This is a very poor "kitchen" version of Project Runway. The emphasis is too heavy on the "chefs" critiquing each other, rather than the experts commenting on the food and the processes. It is obviously sqeezing the drama from the obnoxiousness of the culinary toddlers, throwing sand in the kitchen sandbox. Much of the appeal of Project Runway was the dynamic between Heidi Klum and the designers. No such magic is evident in this incarnation. Expand
  3. ValerieS
    May 11, 2006
    10
    I Love this show. To me it's one of the best shows on bravo. I hope they continue with more seasons!
  4. StephanieL
    Jan 4, 2007
    10
    I love this show. Although there are participants that make the show almost tedious to watch, it is addictive. Food is a passion of mine, and I am enjoying this show as it is part of my weekly viewing line up! I love it!
  5. sallym
    Oct 4, 2007
    9
    GIVE US MORE! Love the concept,competitors, judges, majority of challenges. Would like to see expansion of creative situational challenges.Judging is done with integrity but my heart wanted mohawk to win last night. When can we expect the next round? Tom C is the perfect anchor judge !!!
  6. TerryB
    Jan 8, 2007
    9
    Tired of seeing Marcel used as a whipping boy by the "I'm so talented thugs". Glad that big mouthed Betty is finally off. Maybe things can get professional now.
  7. MichaelC
    Feb 10, 2007
    8
    Marcel got gipped.
  8. DougF
    Nov 11, 2006
    10
    Entertaining for those like myself that thouroughly enjoy cooking and expieramenting with food flavors and friends, the show is a far cry from all of the way to serious programs and world news tha seemes to blast the small screen all other times of the day! I faithfuly watched rhe first season not skipping a minute of the programming. We are a few episodes in to season 2, and I cant for Entertaining for those like myself that thouroughly enjoy cooking and expieramenting with food flavors and friends, the show is a far cry from all of the way to serious programs and world news tha seemes to blast the small screen all other times of the day! I faithfuly watched rhe first season not skipping a minute of the programming. We are a few episodes in to season 2, and I cant for next Wednesdays airing. Expand
  9. SandyD
    Oct 25, 2006
    10
    I really enjoy watching this show very much.
  10. DGH
    Mar 10, 2006
    1
    The self-righteous anger of some of the cooks -- although especially Tiffani from Las Vegas -- is such a turnoff. If I were Ken, the Irish guy sent packing on episode 1, I'd be relieved to be away from all of them. Completely insufferable. Won't be watching any more.
  11. J.T.RIllinois
    Mar 14, 2006
    7
    A competition based on cooking takes some imagination - yet Iron Chef has been a huge success for years. Overall the show is entertaining, but I think I will appreciate it more when the judging is left to the judges. Of course, the producers are trying to focus on the personalities, and Im sure there's judicious use of editing, but it is interesting to see each of the contestants A competition based on cooking takes some imagination - yet Iron Chef has been a huge success for years. Overall the show is entertaining, but I think I will appreciate it more when the judging is left to the judges. Of course, the producers are trying to focus on the personalities, and Im sure there's judicious use of editing, but it is interesting to see each of the contestants different philosophies and approaches to cooking and each challenge. BTW - Billy Joel's wife is a knockout, but they couldn't have found someone with more credentials to host the show? Expand
  12. chefjeffd
    Mar 20, 2006
    5
    i feel they should have based there choices on skills and knowledge rather than personality,any one who works in foodservice is a charecter in my book.The organic stir fry from episode 1 was quite possibly the most terrible looking dish i have ever seen on t.v.why ken was sent home first rather than her is very puzzling,tasting with your finger especially when on a line where the patrons i feel they should have based there choices on skills and knowledge rather than personality,any one who works in foodservice is a charecter in my book.The organic stir fry from episode 1 was quite possibly the most terrible looking dish i have ever seen on t.v.why ken was sent home first rather than her is very puzzling,tasting with your finger especially when on a line where the patrons can see you is uncalled for but if sauce was out of the temp danger zone whats the big deal,weve all done it when in a rush.the attitudes from the sommeliar and red head our terrible,very very arrogant.If they had the skills to back it up it would be o.k.when the sommeliar admitted to putting out a fruit dish that he hadn't even tasted showed me what type of chef he is.You never let something leave the kitchen if you dont know what it tastes like! all in all i find the show quite entertaining especially episode 2.And i dont understand why a show about chefs is being compared to a show about clothing designers? Expand
  13. JayW.
    Mar 29, 2006
    10
    The show itself is great. I enjoy watching it. The best part that I enjoyed watching tho was the hostess Katie. She is a piece of pie!
  14. KaitlinM
    Mar 8, 2006
    2
    The host, whoever she is, is boring, not assertive, no personality---everything Heidi had but at least shes extraordinarliy beautiful (only made more beautiful by her pregnancy on the show) and already a well-known figure. The judges were not in the least bit intimidating, and the food... well it''s just food. The only part of the food that we can judge from home is the The host, whoever she is, is boring, not assertive, no personality---everything Heidi had but at least shes extraordinarliy beautiful (only made more beautiful by her pregnancy on the show) and already a well-known figure. The judges were not in the least bit intimidating, and the food... well it''s just food. The only part of the food that we can judge from home is the presentation, and apparently that is not enough b.c the worst presentation won the challenge and the best presentation went home. Also--- the irish guy was irritating and rude-- but so is Santino. Keep him around for a few episodes to keep us all watching. Terrible show. I'll be watching food networks "Next Food Network Star" show on March 19th instead of this. Expand
  15. davea.
    Mar 9, 2006
    4
    The level of hostility and competitiveness far outweighs any other aspect of the show. It is a most unpleasant show. The tone is set by the unwaveringly hostile attitude of the ringleaders. Unlike the show on which it is based, Project Runway, in which Tim Gunn and the panel of judges seem on the whole to be very nice people who at times are stern, the judges on Top Chef lack any social The level of hostility and competitiveness far outweighs any other aspect of the show. It is a most unpleasant show. The tone is set by the unwaveringly hostile attitude of the ringleaders. Unlike the show on which it is based, Project Runway, in which Tim Gunn and the panel of judges seem on the whole to be very nice people who at times are stern, the judges on Top Chef lack any social grace that I can discern, and are simply brutish authoritarians. Perhaps that is the way in the kitchen, but I am not interested in spending my time with these people. Similarly, while the contestants in Project Runway were competitive, on balance the show was about how different artists respond to different challenges in a competitive environment. It was about how they dealt with the combination of stress and creativity. In contrast, in Top Chef, it seems to be primarily about testosterone and proving who is the best. There are several interesting and nice people in the competition, but they are overshadowed and overwhelmed by all the nasty egotists. All in all, this show is not worth anyone's time. Expand
  16. TerriP
    Mar 9, 2006
    5
    There was an overall lack of class and education in the approach and conversation of the cast. There needs to be more discussion of how they are preparing their dishes and why...we can't taste what they are making and the discussion at the end doesn't engage the audience. I also think the host needs to interact more with the chefs. She seems alittle bored with the process. There was an overall lack of class and education in the approach and conversation of the cast. There needs to be more discussion of how they are preparing their dishes and why...we can't taste what they are making and the discussion at the end doesn't engage the audience. I also think the host needs to interact more with the chefs. She seems alittle bored with the process. Overall the show was hard to get into. Expand
  17. chuyc
    Apr 6, 2006
    4
    i think this show sucks. i agree with one of the other reviewers that all of the chefs seem egotistical and arrogant. they fucking suck. i've watched a coupla shows already but can't stomach another round. ugh my concern is that in TV land there seems to be this subculture building up about food that it should be this artsy-fartsy thing and everything has to be precious and for i think this show sucks. i agree with one of the other reviewers that all of the chefs seem egotistical and arrogant. they fucking suck. i've watched a coupla shows already but can't stomach another round. ugh my concern is that in TV land there seems to be this subculture building up about food that it should be this artsy-fartsy thing and everything has to be precious and for the elite only. i watch food network a lot and it seems that for the most part the cooks on the show really want to teach people how to cook decent tasting food but there are a few wankers on that show that pose this celebrity cheff crap -- bobby flay, that fat italian guy who has to tell stories about his food everytime he cooks -- pretentious and annoying which is exactly like the losers on this stupid top chef's show. Expand
  18. sumitb
    Jan 24, 2007
    0
    judges suck.Marcel sucks
  19. lauras
    Feb 11, 2007
    10
    I really enjoyed watching Top chef. I would wait for every Wednesday to watch it. Will you have a new season. Please say yes
  20. Vito
    Mar 10, 2006
    7
    Unlike 'Project Runway' where we can see the final product, with 'Top Chef' we need to imagine the taste of the entries. This takes something from the show. But I nevertheless enjoyed the opening episode. I liked the behind-the-scenes look at the restaurant's 'Line'. I liked seeing the contestant's different approaches. I'll tune in for Episode Unlike 'Project Runway' where we can see the final product, with 'Top Chef' we need to imagine the taste of the entries. This takes something from the show. But I nevertheless enjoyed the opening episode. I liked the behind-the-scenes look at the restaurant's 'Line'. I liked seeing the contestant's different approaches. I'll tune in for Episode 2. -Vito Expand
  21. millvalleychef
    Mar 11, 2006
    4
    not believable whatsoever. more like bad acting that reality. fleur de lys business must be a little slow?
  22. cheftasty
    Mar 15, 2006
    4
    Lousy "casting" cuz so few of these people have any talent as chefs, whereas Project Runway's group seems truly skilled. The format for the show has great potential. Chef Hubert and Fleur de Lys, Tom Collichio--both great and respected veterans of the industry. Who was responsible for picking the contestents? Obviously, not chefs. I'd love this show it had all real kitchen Lousy "casting" cuz so few of these people have any talent as chefs, whereas Project Runway's group seems truly skilled. The format for the show has great potential. Chef Hubert and Fleur de Lys, Tom Collichio--both great and respected veterans of the industry. Who was responsible for picking the contestents? Obviously, not chefs. I'd love this show it had all real kitchen talent--and come on--San Francisco and the Bay Area must have one of the richest talent pools in the food industry! Expand
  23. ange'sw
    Mar 19, 2006
    10
    I hate Steven on the Top Chef he is a popis idiot
  24. ShamiaH
    Mar 22, 2006
    5
    I agree that this is no Project Runway! While watching Top Chef I noticed the Tim Gunn character is named Tom...Tom is no Tim! He was pompusin the first episode and hardly guides the chefs....Also I saw in the commercials a montage with Heidi....all I could think of was ahhhh I REALLY miss project runway!
  25. michaelw
    Mar 8, 2006
    9
    The emotionaly charged contestants try to gain a shot at the big time in the restaurant business. In this fast paced competition, the desperate and talented competing chefs not only get to show their stuff, but get to savage each other's efforts. Under the extreme pressure of performing at the highest level as those critical eyes of the field's best chefs look on, a wide range The emotionaly charged contestants try to gain a shot at the big time in the restaurant business. In this fast paced competition, the desperate and talented competing chefs not only get to show their stuff, but get to savage each other's efforts. Under the extreme pressure of performing at the highest level as those critical eyes of the field's best chefs look on, a wide range of strong emotions are let loose. While we at home can't taste the food, I think audiences will "Eat it up!" This behind the scenes view at the top of the food chain, will leave viewers more agitated than when they get the checks at the top restaurants. Expand
  26. [Anonymous]
    Mar 9, 2006
    2
    dull and played. they are all stero-types -- arrogant line cook and snooty sommelier... blah, blah, blah.
  27. ElizabethE
    Apr 18, 2006
    10
    This show is intelligent and funny; people have issues with the snobbery of the chefs, but that's their world. Get over it, we don't all idolize Chey Boyardee.
  28. FrankP
    Apr 21, 2006
    2
    You need to get some talent, very little knowledge of real foods. It seems like they are painting not cooking food. What about an Italian flare, something you find on most menus. This show does nothing for a true professional. I do not see any love of food on this show. Work on talent and personality.
  29. PaulE
    Apr 22, 2006
    1
    I loved Project Runway because it was really fun. The only time anyone on this show looks like they are having a good time is if they've been asked to leave--then they relax and look visibly relieved. Most of the contestants seem annoyed by the contest and each other, the judges have no sense of humor and the host, whatshername, has no discernable personality. Most of her lines are I loved Project Runway because it was really fun. The only time anyone on this show looks like they are having a good time is if they've been asked to leave--then they relax and look visibly relieved. Most of the contestants seem annoyed by the contest and each other, the judges have no sense of humor and the host, whatshername, has no discernable personality. Most of her lines are obviously recorded later and layered over a hackneyed editing style. Project Runway was so much better. This is pretty unwatchable. So we've stopped watching. Expand
  30. ednap
    Jan 14, 2007
    9
    I watch this show every week and usually repeat at least once. Find myself wanting to defend Marcel and I picked him as the dark horse this season. Can't wait for this weeks show.
  31. akaw
    Jan 31, 2007
    2
    Bleah. Only saw two eps, and that's enough. The judges suck and the chefs are screwed over and/or raked through the coals. Plenty of things in Real Life where decisions and competence-under-pressure are important, but food should be *enjoyable* and this ain't it. Oh, and Iron Chef is cool.
  32. kareng
    Jan 4, 2007
    8
    love the show. My whole family enjoys top chef
  33. MariaO.
    Jun 28, 2007
    10
    when will season 3 start cooking. you keep repeating just 2 meals one of them is the quick fire.
  34. johnt
    Mar 13, 2006
    10
    great show...this is unique and challenging so far...not like hell's kitchen , a definite original and i think bravo has another huge hit on their hands...can't wait to watch the rest of the series..for those with negative comments maybe you should tune in to something more appealing to you.....way to go bravo
  35. JoeAverage
    Mar 15, 2006
    3
    Let's start off with the line test. I have never scene a kitchen so clean they must have remodeled for the show. Finger in the sauce? Very, very common, we chefs and cooks are always washing our hands but sometimes we short cut and forget to use a spoon for tasting. Did the chef throw out the sauce? A very legitimate question, and then attacking the person asking the question was a Let's start off with the line test. I have never scene a kitchen so clean they must have remodeled for the show. Finger in the sauce? Very, very common, we chefs and cooks are always washing our hands but sometimes we short cut and forget to use a spoon for tasting. Did the chef throw out the sauce? A very legitimate question, and then attacking the person asking the question was a move worthy of Karl Rove. It just goes to show that the sauce was not thrown out. Then letting Ken the finger in the sauce guy go instead of Ms. Missed cooked vegetables and the Model that over cooks her chicken is just wrong. Chefs are crazy, and well a**holes this show does well to show that, but this show is turning out to be amateur hour and only Ken and a few others could actually handle being sandbagged on a real kitchen line. Expand
  36. MaryL
    Mar 17, 2006
    1
    This show is NOT Project Runway quality at all! The host is LAME--stiff and boring.
  37. theresaz
    Mar 22, 2006
    2
    Do people that prepare food for a living real feel they are entitiled to this much ego? What have these people done to rate this much arrogance? They are not even at the top in their own fields! and their fields are something that is very pleasurable, but not something that is going to change the world. Why do they thing they rate? I was hoping to see some creative people competition Do people that prepare food for a living real feel they are entitiled to this much ego? What have these people done to rate this much arrogance? They are not even at the top in their own fields! and their fields are something that is very pleasurable, but not something that is going to change the world. Why do they thing they rate? I was hoping to see some creative people competition brought the best ideas out in, disappointed in the ideas and the attitudes. Expand
  38. EdwardS
    Apr 25, 2006
    0
    There isn't one contestant left who is in any way bearable. After Andrea left, that was it. Their egos transcend their skills. There is no camaraderie, no cooperation. All back-stabbing and criticizing and bad-mouthing. I watched The Next Food Network Star on Food Network and those people were fun, had a great time together, cared about each other, helped each other. I hated to see There isn't one contestant left who is in any way bearable. After Andrea left, that was it. Their egos transcend their skills. There is no camaraderie, no cooperation. All back-stabbing and criticizing and bad-mouthing. I watched The Next Food Network Star on Food Network and those people were fun, had a great time together, cared about each other, helped each other. I hated to see any of them leave. In Top Chef, I want them all to pack their knives and go home. The worst are Tiffani, Steven, and Harold but the others are close seconds. Expand
  39. d
    Apr 28, 2006
    8
    i didn't like the show for the first few airings and i am not a regular realtiy show viewer. but for the contestants i would not have continued watching. the judges are useless and provide no insight into their decisions.. they think steven is arrogant and pompos.. well they need to look inward.... wont watch the next series if the same judges are controlling the program.
  40. BonifaceB
    May 17, 2006
    10
    Great show loved it cant wait to see more next season.
  41. JoniV
    May 22, 2006
    10
    I Loved the show!! My favorite had to be Harold. Don't forget Steven though. Although he was a no it all, he was really kinda sexy... If Ever in Louisina.... :) I cant wait for the next show...
  42. GaylordFriend
    Apr 13, 2008
    0
    What a miserable and worthless pile of garbage. I walked into the room while my 10 and 12 year old children were watching this pathetic excuse for a tv show and had to listen to some ridiculous want to be using vulgar language because he is too stupid to express his thoughts with real words. without having my kids not watch tv at all, which is probably the best idea at this point, how do What a miserable and worthless pile of garbage. I walked into the room while my 10 and 12 year old children were watching this pathetic excuse for a tv show and had to listen to some ridiculous want to be using vulgar language because he is too stupid to express his thoughts with real words. without having my kids not watch tv at all, which is probably the best idea at this point, how do I best filter this crap? Expand
  43. May 25, 2012
    2
    A very poor start to an inconsistent series of cooking competitions with weird critiques, high drama and a lot of cooking talent......................
  44. Jul 27, 2012
    7
    This show is a good idea and not all the drama from other cooking shows where editing will change the context of a entire situation. No long pauses for no reason, no jump cuts in the middle of a conversation, and quick eliminations and no gimmicks. Here is my major problem with the show. Product placement. Every couple of seconds they are showing the label of a item straight to the cameraThis show is a good idea and not all the drama from other cooking shows where editing will change the context of a entire situation. No long pauses for no reason, no jump cuts in the middle of a conversation, and quick eliminations and no gimmicks. Here is my major problem with the show. Product placement. Every couple of seconds they are showing the label of a item straight to the camera or whenever they go for a drive or being drove somewhere, they always mention the year and model of the car. Sometimes even to the point that I think they are going into a full blown commercial. It takes away from the show. If they did not focus so much on who their sponsor is, I would of liked it more. Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. The series has a familiar format, but the opening episode suggests it may have some real spark to it.
  2. 40
    "Top Chef," though it appears to have a stable of good talent in the kitchen, so far doesn't really have much else going for it in the way of personalities.
  3. "Top Chef" seems like a no-brainer, an extension both of the interactivity of TV cooking and the art-and-craft side of reality shows, in which people are actually making things as opposed to just asses of themselves.