• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 12, 2014
Season #: 3, 2, 1
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1956 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Buy On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jan 29, 2014
    9
    Moody, hypnotic, philosophical, biting, moving, complex: just three episodes down and I'm completely captivated by this new HBO series. The acting is masterful. The dialogue is believable (a rare treat). The self-reflective story line demands that the audience watches and waits; so we look forward to being invited in on each secret. Television for grown-ups.
  2. Feb 19, 2014
    9
    Not since the premiere of Breaking Bad have I been pulled into a series so quickly. McConaughey and Harrelson are at the top of their game with True Detective.

    The first season kind of takes a weird turn around episode four, but only proves that things are never quite how they seem in a story that makes you question every revelation each week.
  3. Jan 19, 2014
    10
    I've never reviewed a show after only two episodes, but I think that I need to say that if you are not watching this show then you need to start now before you miss too much. So far everything about the show is near-perfect. Matthew McConaughey and Woody Harrelson are playing characters who are incredibly complex and human, and they are doing amazing jobs at their performances. That praiseI've never reviewed a show after only two episodes, but I think that I need to say that if you are not watching this show then you need to start now before you miss too much. So far everything about the show is near-perfect. Matthew McConaughey and Woody Harrelson are playing characters who are incredibly complex and human, and they are doing amazing jobs at their performances. That praise is extended to the whole cast.

    I cannot get over how believable everything feels. The case is complex, deep, dark, and mysterious. I can't wait to see where they take it from here. By far the best part of the show are the moments outside of the case, that help make these characters feel like real people. The dialog here is amazing. I truly believe that these are things that real people would say. The whole thing is just amazing and excellently shot.

    Like I said it has only been two episodes, so if I feel that my opinion has changed as the show progresses I will update my review. As of right now 2014 has only just started and we already have what will probably be one the best shows of this year. All I can say now is that if you are not watching it I highly recommend that you start. I am completely blown away at how excellent this whole show has been after only two episodes, and I can't wait for the next.
    Expand
  4. Jan 27, 2014
    10
    This series is surprisingly compelling and well worth the effort to go back and see the first few episodes, if you're late getting into the game. The subject matter is dark, and the two main characters are not easily categorized. You have no choice but to watch them carefully for clues into what motivates them. Clearly, the series writer has no interest in pandering to those who likeThis series is surprisingly compelling and well worth the effort to go back and see the first few episodes, if you're late getting into the game. The subject matter is dark, and the two main characters are not easily categorized. You have no choice but to watch them carefully for clues into what motivates them. Clearly, the series writer has no interest in pandering to those who like their TV stories to be "quick hits": there is an assumption of viewer intelligence, which pleases me to no end.

    This isn't just a show about detectives, or about crime. Like life, there is an overall experience to consider, layers of an onion that just won't quit. The two actors are in their element, which characters that interact on many levels.
    Expand
  5. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    the acting is superb, the locations and atmosphere are top notch, this show has me instantly hooked. If these guys don't get an Emmy im never having any faith in the academy again
  6. Feb 12, 2014
    10
    One of the best series to come out in a long time. The pacing may be slow, so if you're expecting actionscenes in every episode you may be disappointed. I must admit, I was almost put off by the pacing until I realized what a brilliant show this is, it's psychological and philosophical in a way that no run-of-the-mill crime series could ever hope to achieve. The flashback narrative isOne of the best series to come out in a long time. The pacing may be slow, so if you're expecting actionscenes in every episode you may be disappointed. I must admit, I was almost put off by the pacing until I realized what a brilliant show this is, it's psychological and philosophical in a way that no run-of-the-mill crime series could ever hope to achieve. The flashback narrative is doing its job extremely well in introducing all the subplots and setting the mood for future episodes, but the best part of the show is simply seeing Harrelson's and McConaughey's characters slowly evolve with each episode, McConaughey in particular delivering some incredible acting. Expand
  7. Feb 28, 2014
    9
    I can bet in my Bike,i wish not use some harder language, that most of (Most of, not every one) non lovers of "True Detectives", was the big fan of Sopranos, which wasn't bad at all, but essentially that was this, words of HBO CEO of production, after first presentation of script :
    "I said to myself, this show is about a guy who's turning 40. He's inherited a business from his dad. He's
    I can bet in my Bike,i wish not use some harder language, that most of (Most of, not every one) non lovers of "True Detectives", was the big fan of Sopranos, which wasn't bad at all, but essentially that was this, words of HBO CEO of production, after first presentation of script :
    "I said to myself, this show is about a guy who's turning 40. He's inherited a business from his dad. He's trying to bring it into the modern age. He's got all the responsibilities that go along with that. He's got an overbearing mom that he's still trying to get out from under. Although he loves his wife, he's had an affair. He's got two teenage kids, and he's dealing with the realities of what that is. He's anxious; he's depressed; he starts to see a therapist because he's searching for the meaning of his own life. I thought: the only difference between him and everybody I know is he's the Don of New Jersey."
    Simpler presentation of gangsters like all other peoples whit "specific problems of trade" all other is same for most of US citizens, and that kind of identification whit Sopranos is key of success.
    In True Detective does not exist such things like "common" "ordinary" "guy whit same problems but little bit different trade".....And most of non like'rs of first several episodes as the biggest failures highlighted the speed which the audience discovers the plot and characters, (whit just little bit of exploring) many of "non like'rs" also do not like way of thinking and perception of life by Mathew character,obviously make kind of confusion in common viers perception of plot, almost same as in "common sense detective" Woody Character rolle(which i found very interesting and funny), like one of "don't like" viers said "psychobabble script " Again in simplified version, i think that most of "non likers" can not just to switch they brains on a little bit demanding movie language, but strange case is (by written comments) whit some of which is like new one TV Series, they like it, but they isn't so sure way, and for me most interesting group of people which is obviously "higher level movie educated" audience, they argue is " cliche film noir(neo noir O.K) and nothing new " i can't agree, simply because of fact that is one of, the best of the best, movie in this moment,on this same @Metacritic-Site-movie Topic, by joint assessment film reviews and the audience is the new "Lego" Animation,!!!??? if that is ultimate artistic "celluloid " expression. "True Detective" is Transcendental tautological artistic endeavor" know what i mean.
    Expand
  8. Jul 14, 2014
    10
    Probably a bit belated with this review but as an avid fan of this work I wanted to say my bit. Yes, the script tends towards the prosaic in places; the plotting and continuity leave something to be desired [although with 3 time periods it's not surprising]; the acting while superb all round does showboat in places; the characterisation, especially of women is limited and the ProductionProbably a bit belated with this review but as an avid fan of this work I wanted to say my bit. Yes, the script tends towards the prosaic in places; the plotting and continuity leave something to be desired [although with 3 time periods it's not surprising]; the acting while superb all round does showboat in places; the characterisation, especially of women is limited and the Production Design is organic and atmospheric rather than planned - but despite all this True Detective is, for me a work of art, Shakespearian in places and just the most chilling, disturbing and impactful piece of television in the last 20 years - and that includes Breaking Bad. Career defining performances from Harrelson and McConaughey makes this the most 'must watch' TV around... more please! Expand
  9. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    not bad...Beautifully shot, superbly acted with an utterly enthralling plot introduction, I think this is the beginning of a love affair. Like the opening pages of a book you can't seem to put down, the first episode of True Detective wholly captured my attention. Of course with two Hollywood heavyweights like Harrelson and McConaughey I expected no less.
  10. Feb 15, 2014
    10
    If you are ready to give True Detective a pass because of the treatment toward female characters, please read this: the female characters are the ones we are supposed to sympathise with. There is a lot of repression, misogyny, and womanising in the show and you are supposed to hate it. This is intentional on the writers' part where they portray law enforcement in the American southIf you are ready to give True Detective a pass because of the treatment toward female characters, please read this: the female characters are the ones we are supposed to sympathise with. There is a lot of repression, misogyny, and womanising in the show and you are supposed to hate it. This is intentional on the writers' part where they portray law enforcement in the American south accurately, as an environment where even the "good guys" can be hostile toward women. The viewer is not supposed to tolerate it or like it--you're supposed to disapprove of the characters' actions. You're supposed to feel like the scumbags are scumbags. The way certain characters treat women is meant to be a condemnation of their own morality and to point them out as hypocrites. And it's done very well. Expand
  11. Nov 1, 2014
    8
    The refined acting and writing help make this drama overcome the soapy, grotesque feel the show has at times. Don't get me wrong: the show is visually stunning. It just needs the extra push.
  12. Mar 10, 2014
    7
    While I thought the acting by Matt and Woody was terrific,the plot and storyline had lots of gaps .

    Here are a few: How did the killer get to the prostitutes he killed when he spent most of his time scoping Tuttle schools for children for weird sexual rites? Was the yellow king the sun? I guess .Was the killer mainly a scout for children for the Tuttle rituals ?There seemed to be
    While I thought the acting by Matt and Woody was terrific,the plot and storyline had lots of gaps .

    Here are a few: How did the killer get to the prostitutes he killed when he spent most of his time scoping
    Tuttle schools for children for weird sexual rites? Was the yellow king the sun? I guess .Was the killer
    mainly a scout for children for the Tuttle rituals ?There seemed to be sheriff and Tuttle family involvement
    but that was just washed away with a " we didn't get everyone" single statement. That's weak writing.

    Many holes even though I enjoyed the show.
    Expand
  13. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    Quite simply, magnificent. HBO's latest phenomenon, True Detective, is the best new tv show around. It's debut season is sensational from the start to it's excellent end. It's a package that offers everything in it's entirety. It's dark, intelligent, intense, riveting, powerful, smart, suspenseful and unique. A truly tremendous piece of television. The premise immediately captures theQuite simply, magnificent. HBO's latest phenomenon, True Detective, is the best new tv show around. It's debut season is sensational from the start to it's excellent end. It's a package that offers everything in it's entirety. It's dark, intelligent, intense, riveting, powerful, smart, suspenseful and unique. A truly tremendous piece of television. The premise immediately captures the imagination and lures you in, grips you and never lets go throughout. The series follows two Louisiana State Police homicide detectives (Matthew McConaughey & Woody Harrelson) and their hunt for a serial killer in Louisiana across the span of 17 years. McConaughey's recent renaissance hits almighty new heights here. His performance as Rustin 'Rust' Cole is masterful! An actor at the top of his game and it's evident in abundance. Harrelson is also in terrific form as Martin 'Marty' Hart. Infact, the pairs relationship is the heart of the first series and the chemistry the two have on screen in there for all to see. It's two stellar performances. Michelle Monaghan and Kevin Dunn also add to an already awesome series. True Detective is unmissable. It will have you hooked from the start! And whilst at times it can be slow burning, it all pays off and comes together in an unexpected climax. And to round it off, the shows theme tune is instantaneously a hit and you will be replaying it over again. I'll be astonished if you see a better series of television this year, the only shame is that McConaughey and co won't return for the much anticipated second season! Expand
  14. Dec 30, 2014
    10
    Amazing television show worth all the praise and love it gets. McConaughey and Harrelson are both brilliant. The director masterfully builds suspense with incredible payoffs over and over again. See this show if you haven't already.
  15. Oct 1, 2015
    10
    This is simply one of the greatest seasons of dramatic television. It would be hard to recall any other show that featured two better lead performances than McConaughey's and Harrelson's, and they were fantastically written characters as well, so much credit to sole screenwriter Nic Pizzolatto as well. The supporting cast is great as well. The storyline is dark and foreboding andThis is simply one of the greatest seasons of dramatic television. It would be hard to recall any other show that featured two better lead performances than McConaughey's and Harrelson's, and they were fantastically written characters as well, so much credit to sole screenwriter Nic Pizzolatto as well. The supporting cast is great as well. The storyline is dark and foreboding and unfolds in multiple timelines- again, crafted excellently by Pizzolatto. No flaws to speak of, just great TV. Expand
  16. Jul 14, 2015
    10
    I found myself riveted to the show after the first 2 episodes, and then from episode 4 to the end of season 1 it improved to a level that few series can maintain. The acting by the 2 male leads is of very high quality, also some of the symbolism of the south and the "good old boy" network was interesting. And the 2 main characters (Cohle & Hart) have so many dark sides, which doesn't seemI found myself riveted to the show after the first 2 episodes, and then from episode 4 to the end of season 1 it improved to a level that few series can maintain. The acting by the 2 male leads is of very high quality, also some of the symbolism of the south and the "good old boy" network was interesting. And the 2 main characters (Cohle & Hart) have so many dark sides, which doesn't seem to bother Hart much while Cohle obsesses constantly about his shortcomings. In a few words - highly impressive acting and storyline. Expand
  17. Jan 10, 2015
    10
    That was one of the best **** I've been in years! The mystery, the drama, the story, the dialogs... Oh, the **** awesome dialogs! Thx, Rust, Marty and every other character for making this series one of the best of the decades! These eight episodes seduced a lot more than maaaany other movies, books, series and other things that I wasted my life with. Give it a shot! I guarantee you won'tThat was one of the best **** I've been in years! The mystery, the drama, the story, the dialogs... Oh, the **** awesome dialogs! Thx, Rust, Marty and every other character for making this series one of the best of the decades! These eight episodes seduced a lot more than maaaany other movies, books, series and other things that I wasted my life with. Give it a shot! I guarantee you won't damn regret it! Expand
  18. Sep 12, 2014
    9
    A lot of fun is in the progress of the investigation itself. Yes it does take its time, but most season long detectives shows do. The show relies heavily on mood. It has an overpowering sense of dread and plays more noir than thriller until the final episode. I appreciated the two different acts, Act one is two police officers both being extremely reckless drunkards, who seem toA lot of fun is in the progress of the investigation itself. Yes it does take its time, but most season long detectives shows do. The show relies heavily on mood. It has an overpowering sense of dread and plays more noir than thriller until the final episode. I appreciated the two different acts, Act one is two police officers both being extremely reckless drunkards, who seem to wondering aimlessly through life and letting the case get to them. But the last episodes feature them more as disciplined p.i.s, who do not have to answer to authority and are allowed to run their own investigation. This is the best season long detective show I have seen since the first couple seasons of the killing. Expand
  19. Aug 26, 2014
    9
    True Detective: Season 1 ImageThe first show that even compares to Breaking Bad. It was amazing from start to finish. The story and plot are fantastically written. The story is dark, gritty, and very interesting. Cory does an amazing job directing all eight episodes and that 6 minute tracking scene was utter brilliance. McConaughey and Harrelson perform spectacular performances and they'reTrue Detective: Season 1 ImageThe first show that even compares to Breaking Bad. It was amazing from start to finish. The story and plot are fantastically written. The story is dark, gritty, and very interesting. Cory does an amazing job directing all eight episodes and that 6 minute tracking scene was utter brilliance. McConaughey and Harrelson perform spectacular performances and they're definitely some of the best acting this year. Their chemistry is just amazing and it such the correct choice. The match was perfect from start to finish. The story moves very well. It gets bigger and bigger as the season goes along. the opening credits is one of the best of all time and it has the perfect song to go along with it. The show was very dark, gripping, exciting, grasped with memorable acting performances, and had some of the best writing/directing on TV. It was an amazing show and the first show that has had quality of that to Breaking Bad. It is definitely the best new of 2014 and one of the best period. Expand
  20. Jul 19, 2015
    7
    This is one non-optimistic and slow but surprisingly relatable and stylish new tv-show. It's beautifully shot, deep and it got a great metamorphic storyline and a much deeper one than the usual crime show.

    The greatest thing is the characters, I became obsest with both Rust and his partner Marty after the first episode. We get to know them more and more and I really enjoy their
    This is one non-optimistic and slow but surprisingly relatable and stylish new tv-show. It's beautifully shot, deep and it got a great metamorphic storyline and a much deeper one than the usual crime show.

    The greatest thing is the characters, I became obsest with both Rust and his partner Marty after the first episode. We get to know them more and more and I really enjoy their backgrounds. There's also something undefinable that makes this show so great, not just the characters, something else. Because the whole concept is excellent, the story is so well written and it really feels real. The great and spectacularly cinematography is another aspect that's really beautiful, so smooth! It's uniquely shot and directed with a superb style. Not to mention the awesome cast and the beloved McConaughey! We even got a six minute single take tracking shot of intense action! The show for me really defines what the world really is like, pessimistic and sometimes even tragic. The deep and relatable dialogs really did a great job in that matter. There're much in this tv-show to tell about our ordinary life. The style is another thing, it feels so 90s, small town (Texas)-alike. My only concern with this crime/drama show is that there are some slow moments in every episode. For me; I didn't enjoy the slow dialogs that much, I usually got bored at least once in every episode were nothing happens. Sure it's fun to be a part of the story due to it's easy to hang along on the plot, but it's just so boring sometimes. I do on the other hand admire that the story (and its sub-plots) continues over a longer period, throughout the whole season. The action that does exist is awesome, and there's much intensity too! One thing that I would love to see more of, is bigger and more unpredictable plot-twists, I got high hopes for the second season!

    My overall rating for each episode is 6.81.

    + Characters, beautifully shot, deep and relatable storyline, title-sequence & structure.
    - Slow

    A great crime/drama show about our tragic place on Earth.

    7/10
    Expand
  21. Jun 14, 2015
    10
    Not much to say other than utterly superb, possibly the pinnacle of TV shows. The two main characters are well crafted and allow for some of the finest acting of Harrelson's and McConaughey's careers, although the plaudits must go to McConaughey for his portrayal as Rust Cohle; probably my favourite character ever. The plot is subtly dark and a 6 minute long shot just might be the bestNot much to say other than utterly superb, possibly the pinnacle of TV shows. The two main characters are well crafted and allow for some of the finest acting of Harrelson's and McConaughey's careers, although the plaudits must go to McConaughey for his portrayal as Rust Cohle; probably my favourite character ever. The plot is subtly dark and a 6 minute long shot just might be the best scene in TV show history. Keeping it to 8 episodes allows the story to move swiftly enough without becoming drawn out but allows for just enough character and plot development. I cant recommend this show highly enough. Expand
  22. Dec 5, 2014
    9
    True detective is the best criminal series of all time, it got out all the cliches of csi and law and order in the trash, it has the best screenplay of a criminal series.
  23. Jan 25, 2014
    10
    A TV show which shows a lot of promise. At first I was sceptical given the slow nature of the show, but as I watched I became more and more invested in the plot and moreover the complex characters impressively portrayed by Harrelson and McConaughey. I have very high hopes for this series and hope support for it will continue to build over the coming months. Well done!
  24. Sep 16, 2014
    10
    This shows tone, atmosphere, writing, directing and everything is incredible. Highly recommend to anyone. The ending is so fulfilling and the characters play off of each other so much.
  25. Jan 20, 2014
    9
    Watched the first episode last week, can't wait to see more. Best new show in years. Acting is superb, the plot is riveting. Do yourself a favor and watch it.
  26. Aug 26, 2014
    10
    Indeed a perfect TV show. The greatest, most sophisticated writing and acting combine to tell the story of a 17 year hunt for a serial killer! It's not just another serial killer show. It focuses on the minds of ordinary people living in a world of crime.
    I cannot possibly underrate this show!
  27. Jan 19, 2015
    10
    I just finished watching all 8 episodes back to back and wow I loved this show. Matthew McConaughey is unbelievable in this. I've only ever seen him in Interstellar prior to seeing this.(No point watching those crappy rom coms he was in for a long time.) Woody Harrelson is reliable as always being a good guy but a bit of a jackass throughout but of course helps add tension to theI just finished watching all 8 episodes back to back and wow I loved this show. Matthew McConaughey is unbelievable in this. I've only ever seen him in Interstellar prior to seeing this.(No point watching those crappy rom coms he was in for a long time.) Woody Harrelson is reliable as always being a good guy but a bit of a jackass throughout but of course helps add tension to the relationship between McConaughey and Harrelson towards the end of the series. The supporting cast is top notch as well. The twist with the killer and that we met him early on in the series and only find out in the penultimate episode of his true self left me in shock and awe. The Cinematography is breath taking as well and adds fantastic atmosphere to each scene. The one thing that makes it truly special is that all the episodes were written by Nic Pizzolatto and directed by Cary Joji Fukunaga. It feels like a full on 7 and a half hour movie. I have high hopes for the future and hope that they deliver with Colin Farrell and Vince Vaughn and the rest of the cast in the second season. Fingers crossed. One of the best shows I have ever seen and it's gonna be an interesting Season 2. Expand
  28. May 5, 2015
    10
    This is the second best tv show I have ever watched, after Breaking Bad . The acting,writing and story are all great. The story keeps you guessing through out the 8 episodes.
    10/10
  29. Jul 12, 2014
    10
    I love great TV drama with expansive story arcs The Wire, Breaking Bad, Thrones, 6 Feet Under, Sopranos, etc... At the end of the final episode I felt I had watched the perfect TV drama for the times. As a lover of The Wire, Breaking Bad, Thrones, 6 Feet Under, Sopranos I have to say - this is how it is done. My favorite duo of all time is Jones and Duvall in Lonesome Dove. Harrelson andI love great TV drama with expansive story arcs The Wire, Breaking Bad, Thrones, 6 Feet Under, Sopranos, etc... At the end of the final episode I felt I had watched the perfect TV drama for the times. As a lover of The Wire, Breaking Bad, Thrones, 6 Feet Under, Sopranos I have to say - this is how it is done. My favorite duo of all time is Jones and Duvall in Lonesome Dove. Harrelson and McConneghy have attained that gold standard in True Detectives. There is not an aspect of this show that is less then superb. The downside - topping the 1st season will be close to impossible. Expand
  30. Mar 3, 2015
    10
    This show took a lot of time to grow on me because of its slow pace. But thankfully I paid attention to most of the details of the story very well and it seems worth all the effort!

    True Detective feels like an 8 hour movie. Its narrative and storytelling were consistent throughout the entire season and makes this show a more cinematic experience. The direction from Cary Joji
    This show took a lot of time to grow on me because of its slow pace. But thankfully I paid attention to most of the details of the story very well and it seems worth all the effort!

    True Detective feels like an 8 hour movie. Its narrative and storytelling were consistent throughout the entire season and makes this show a more cinematic experience.

    The direction from Cary Joji Fukunaga is amazing and the cinematography is so eye-pleasing to watch with its gritty tense atmosphere. I believed it was shot on film which explains it feels so organic while watching the show.

    The writing from Nic Pizzolatto was clever and intriguing. I liked how it doesn’t even have the case of the week plot device to drag out the main case and instead uses the main case as a plot device on how the characters were affected by the case which makes the characters interesting to watch. The character development was done brilliantly and again, it attributes to the clever and intriguing writing. My favorite character development was from Rusty, he is one of the most interesting and well-written characters I have ever seen.

    The cast performances were perfect. Matthew McConaughey and Woody Harrelson were the show. They lost themselves to their role and they have a great sophisticated buddy cop chemistry. I don’t see them as actors playing a role. I see them as Rusty Cohle and Martin Hart.

    The first season of True Detective is an 8-hour extravaganza cinematic experience thanks to its consistent narrative, storytelling, direction, writing and cinematography. The cast performances from Matthew McConaughey and Woody Harrelson were to watch for!

    Season 2 has a lot of big shoes to fill. Better to keep my expectations low.
    Expand
  31. Jul 4, 2015
    9
    Powerfully acted by it's A-List cast and brilliantly crafted by Nic Pizzolatto, True Detective overcomes a slow start and some familiar police procedural elements to become one of the best written, acted and shot TV series in years.
  32. Feb 4, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Peak McConaughey

    Watch Matthew McConaughey channel Pacino and Brando at once. Full of himself and hungry for more, the man is unstoppable. There are three faces to Detective Cohle: the withdrawn intuitive intellect; the fiery, robust avenger; and the warped, resigned drunk. Four, if you count the resurrected detective with nothing to lose. He plays them all with intense, unforgiving vigour. The programmed elements in this series are impressive enough. The story is adequate (as good as any post-modern concoction), the dialogue is often great, the pace is riveting, the cinematography decent when not shooting in low-light video (i.e. the botched 5 minute single-take robbery), the imagery stark and spooky, and the music is T Bone terrific (seriously, Burnett needs to score every show there is from now on), but True Dick wouldn't stand out if it wasn't for McConaughey's highly-charged, tirelessly arresting and magnetic performance. He is the reason this show is heaped with abundant praise from critics and audiences alike. Now I love Woody Harrelson, but he can't hold a candle to a blazing fire. Mathew, like Al and Marlon, is easy on the eyes but no gracious wallflower. His inflated, commanding and overcompensating performance distracts us from any puzzling shortcomings in the plot while effectively depreciating the rest of the cast and his peers. If he wasn't so ripped and self-adorning, he'd have easily won the Emmy. Upon picturing the two leads swapping roles, I could only envision Matty's Detective Hart scorching the screen and stealing the show as the "good" cop, bad husband sidekick. McConaughey is tripping. Enjoy the buzz while it lasts.
    Expand
  33. Sep 7, 2014
    7
    I'll start off with the good. This may be visually the most well crafted show I have ever seen. Every single establishing shot you will see is worthy of a print for somebody's wall. Every single shot of dialogue is just plain enough to keep from distracting from the story, but interesting enough so that it is still something to be entertained by when the story doesn't deliver. For those inI'll start off with the good. This may be visually the most well crafted show I have ever seen. Every single establishing shot you will see is worthy of a print for somebody's wall. Every single shot of dialogue is just plain enough to keep from distracting from the story, but interesting enough so that it is still something to be entertained by when the story doesn't deliver. For those in film school, or anybody who just loves watching beautiful shows, this is one beautiful enough to watch with the sound off.

    Another plus is that the acting is great. All of the family stories were told very well, but did not seem in place for this show. I won't say that the acting is outstanding, but only because I personally am incapable of being blown away by acting that involves strong men who rarely emote. But given that this was probably exactly what the director asked for, I'd say that the whole cast delivered.

    Which brings me to the final great strength that this show has. At this years Emmy awards, Cary Fukunaga received the most deserved award for television directing that I am aware of. Episode 4, "Who goes there," contains the shows first real violence, as well as a fantastically paced build leading up to it. The second half of that episode is as good as the best television I have ever seen, and is nearly the best I can imagine television being. It is almost impossible to give too much praise to this sequence. Fukunaga is certainly one to watch in the future.

    The second half of episode four, and the first half of episode five of an eight episode arc are its best. It peaks at its exact midpoint. This is a result of not poor storytelling, but poor story. The mystery that the detectives are trying to solve is both slow-paced and uninteresting. The crime, (I hope this isn't a spoiler because it is known early in the first episode) is that a woman has been raped, tortured, drugged, and murdered in a satanic and ritualistic fashion. This is, due to its position as essentially the worst or one of the worst things that a person can do, a very vanilla and played-out crime for a drama.

    This puts the viewers attention on the process of solving the crime, and the people who are doing it. At its core, this is what is wrong with True Detective. The crime solving process involves over a dozen interviews with generally uninteresting people who put the detectives in touch with the next person on the chain. In between these interviews, detectives Hart and Rust, who's names don't seem to symbolize anything about their characters, have very poorly informed discussions about philosophy. Rust in particular rehashes ideas that have been floating around for a while, while occasionally contributing new and neat ways to phrase them. Hart responds by attempting and failing to poke holes in Rust's thoughts, by outright rejecting them, or by telling Rust to shut up.

    If you decide to watch True Detective, that is what you sign up for. Brilliant visuals, good acting, outstanding directing, many well-paced sequences, and a very boring crime.
    Expand
  34. Nov 12, 2014
    10
    At first, I wasn't too excited about this show due to the acting choice. But after 1 episode I was hooked. This show is how detective shows SHOULD be. It has great acting, deep and dark themes, and a storyline that hooks you in and keeps you wondering what will happen next

    Acting : 10/10
    Script: 9/10
    Themes: 9/10
    Plot: 9/10
    Audio: 8/10
    Length: 9/10
    Cinematography: 8/10
  35. Sep 30, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Matthew McConaughey and Woody Harrelson performance is off the charts! Really amazing together in True Detective. I'm sure they will win severely awards for this show. A must see! Expand
  36. May 29, 2015
    9
    It is closest to se7en in terms of atmosphere, and it is just like 7 led by two fenomenal actors. I am especially surprised by how good McCounaghey is, because im a fan of Woody since like always. The plot is not as good as it is in 7 but I really enjoyed almost every minute of it.
  37. Oct 10, 2014
    10
    It's not even close: this is the best show on television, drama or otherwise. Woody Harrelson's sardonic rebuke of Matthew McConnaughey in the pilot illustrates the profundity of the show. "Stop saying **** like, you smell a psycho's fear... Or, we're living in someone's faded memory of a town."
  38. Jan 5, 2015
    9
    Series Very good! With Rust with your little convenient way to listen with incredible scenarios meche with fantasy, adventure, very well done script. Performances unusual for TV series ...
  39. Nov 20, 2014
    7
    Sehr stimmungsvolle Serie, die verdammt heiß auf mehr macht. All das würd aber vom sehr enttäuschendem und bedeutungslosem Ende sofort wieder im keim erstickt.
  40. Nov 30, 2014
    10
    Quite possibly the best show on TV for the last two decades, and yes that includes Breaking Bad. The work exudes dark mystery and thought-provoking writing and perspectives on life from the very start, and the intricate often beautiful web woven around the story arc is just stunning. But what sets this apart from everything is McConnaughey. Where the hell did this performance come from, atQuite possibly the best show on TV for the last two decades, and yes that includes Breaking Bad. The work exudes dark mystery and thought-provoking writing and perspectives on life from the very start, and the intricate often beautiful web woven around the story arc is just stunning. But what sets this apart from everything is McConnaughey. Where the hell did this performance come from, at time it seems like he's channeling an alien presence, so otherworldly is his delivery and the potency of his annunciation. The drag on his cigarette alone will have actors studying this piece and doubtless replicating monologues in auditions for many years to come. So to watch True Detective is to witness the groundbreaking culmination of two men's worth but otherwise slightly ailing careers brought to life, like a pair of phoenix rising from the ashes of the burning cain fields in which the story opens. The creator Pizolatto should be praised for changing the face of television with nods to Neitze and quantum cosmology, and there are subtle nods to other game changers such as Twin Peaks, although not blatantly obvious, throughout the piece. This is a work which demands repeat viewing, and I still come back for more as often as I can. The new series with its new cast and storyline may or may not build on this greatness, but at this point it hardly seems to matter, given the finite nature of the story, one can only marvel at this and dream of what could come next from this beautiful and dark, clearly very complex mind behind the show. Expand
  41. Mar 23, 2015
    10
    One of my favourites, I watched the first episode, was hooked, and could not stop. Each and every week, I found myself coming back, wanting to know what would happen next. I wish more shows were this good
  42. Jun 22, 2015
    10
    Actuaciones de primer nivel: Nunca fui un fan de McConneghy, pero en esta serie es realmente brillante.
    La dirección, la fotografía, el guión son excelentes. En el aire siempre flota una suerte de presencia sobrenatural y maléfica. Este efecto está perfectamente logrado en una atmósfera estilo "Gothic Americana".
  43. Sep 10, 2015
    7
    Season 1 was awesome, with the two detectives/cops in New Orleans that found symbols tied to their case. Was hooked with Woody H and Matthew M with their own dark sides and how the case progressed.

    Season 2 however, sometimes left me with a taste that I missed something...would watch parts of it again and still ask, "What the h happened?"...While Season 2 had a good cast, it was lacking
    Season 1 was awesome, with the two detectives/cops in New Orleans that found symbols tied to their case. Was hooked with Woody H and Matthew M with their own dark sides and how the case progressed.

    Season 2 however, sometimes left me with a taste that I missed something...would watch parts of it again and still ask, "What the h happened?"...While Season 2 had a good cast, it was lacking something, and not sure what, except that it seemed the "darkness" in the 3 main characters (cops/detectives) was overloaded. Got it with Vince being the good/bad guy, and got it with thugs and all, but something in the translation of the 3 cops just didn't make sense...It just didn't have the personality like Season 1.

    Season 3 will bring another new story, entirely new characters..Let's hope they bring back a bit more of sense it should make.
    Expand
  44. Aug 10, 2015
    10
    Acting is off the charts for Season 1 True detective.

    THumbs up..> WAAAYYY up. Also the story line has balance, and dips and dives. It is a complete. And this season 1 True Detective will knock your socks off.
  45. Sep 4, 2015
    10
    At the risk of repetition, this is tv at its best. I look for a sense of place and the acting, screenplay, laconic pacing combine to provide it. You want it to move faster. But you' be damned if it ends too soon. It joins my Premier league of TV shows: The Wire, Deadwood, Twilight Zone, Hannibal, American Horror, Fargo.
  46. Dec 26, 2015
    10
    Wonderful. The best production of the last years and not only in film tv category (better than films that won the oscar in several past years). Great actors, great story, great photografy. Wonderful.Extraordinary.
  47. Dec 28, 2015
    10
    Can t think about any better serie created than this one. You start, you will see the end for sure, as the plot and athmosphere are Addictive, unique, perfect.
  48. Feb 17, 2016
    10
    True Detective Season 1 is the best TV I've ever seen. Both lead performances are amazing, cinematography is dark and mysterious, the directing by Fukunaga is unparalleled. Simply awesome television.
  49. Mar 11, 2016
    7
    I love Season 1. Matt and Woody: priceless. I like Vince and Colin. Season 2 was a bummer. Too many cliches: sexual abuse, prostitution, police corruption and on and on, The writers would have done better to focus on Vince and Colin's character development, than the thirty odd ball characters meandering around this mash-up.
  50. Mar 24, 2016
    10
    There's something iconic about this first season. The visuals, the two detectives, the soundtrack, the atmosphere. I found the plot hard to follow the first time watching it, so watching it a second time on Blu-Ray along with the behind-the-scenes extras was a rewarding experience.
  51. Apr 11, 2016
    10
    Never had I been so captivated by a TV show.
    This series is literally on another level of TV. It felt like a book except on video.
    The dialogue, the cinematography and the story.. when it all came together, you are just left with a taste in your mouth that you just can't describe. Pay attention, this isn't a normal TV show, everything you see, everything you hear matters in some way
    Never had I been so captivated by a TV show.
    This series is literally on another level of TV. It felt like a book except on video.

    The dialogue, the cinematography and the story.. when it all came together, you are just left with a taste in your mouth that you just can't describe. Pay attention, this isn't a normal TV show, everything you see, everything you hear matters in some way or another.
    A picture can mean a 1000 words and this series tells a whole lot more.

    Most people thought that the villain was just an average bad guy type villain we usually see in a crime drama, except it was just not that simple. "We got our one.." and that's what they did, they only got their one. Ultimately, in a larger scheme, the dark had won over the light. The 'good' guys lost in several ways, yet only won in one scenario.

    Cary Fukanaga's direction surely played a big role in telling the story, however it was Nic Pizzolatto that brought such a masterpiece into our lives. Brilliant writing, direction and acting. Truly felt like a horror crime drama in the sense that such a demented cult could've existed at one point in our time.
    Expand
  52. Apr 27, 2018
    10
    The best season in television history. McConaughey and Harrelson give two of the greatest performances ever, the writing is as consistent and intelligent as it can possibly be. The direction is on another level to anything we've seen on TV before. Everything works to an unprecedented level of enjoyability and critical success. Season 2 lets this show down immensely. Season 1 delivers 8The best season in television history. McConaughey and Harrelson give two of the greatest performances ever, the writing is as consistent and intelligent as it can possibly be. The direction is on another level to anything we've seen on TV before. Everything works to an unprecedented level of enjoyability and critical success. Season 2 lets this show down immensely. Season 1 delivers 8 episodes of near perfection. Expand
  53. Dec 29, 2018
    9
    Episode #1 Review - 9/10
    Episode #2 Review -
    Episode #3 Review -
    Episode #4 Review -
    Episode #5 Review -
    Episode #6 Review -
    Episode #7 Review -
    Episode #8 Review -
  54. Oct 2, 2018
    8
    Great character work from McConaughey and Harrelson, great writing, and truly outstanding directing from Fukunaga. The one take from episode 4 will never leave my memory.
  55. May 9, 2014
    8
    Right from the superb pilot True Detective makes for a bleak watch and as a result it won’t be to everyone’s tastes, especially since it is certainly a slow paced show for the most part. The writing and acting (Harrelson and McConaughey are fantastic throughout) are of such a high standard however that I was quickly drawn into the two detectives serial killer hunt.
  56. May 3, 2014
    9
    Très bonne série télé! Le scénario est profond, juste assez obscur pour nous porter à multiplier les interprétations. Le point fort principal est la qualité du jeu des acteurs, le superbe travail au niveau des personnages.

    Pourrez-vous franchement passer le générique au début de chaque épisode? Moi, je n'ai pas pu : c'est une pure merveille de créativité! Ce genre de série devrait
    Très bonne série télé! Le scénario est profond, juste assez obscur pour nous porter à multiplier les interprétations. Le point fort principal est la qualité du jeu des acteurs, le superbe travail au niveau des personnages.

    Pourrez-vous franchement passer le générique au début de chaque épisode? Moi, je n'ai pas pu : c'est une pure merveille de créativité!

    Ce genre de série devrait idéalement devenir une norme à la télé américaine! Bien sûr, nous pouvons toujours rêver, parce que les ricains font beaucoup TROP de télé, ça c'est connu... Mais une fois qu'on tombe sur une série de la qualité de True Detective, on garde espoir! ;-)

    Enjoy!
    Expand
  57. Mar 18, 2014
    7
    Entertaining but not the masterpiece that the critics are trying to sell. Without the great acting of the two main actors it would be completely forgettable. The plot is not offering anything new or surprising, lot 's of echoes of True Blood and Hannibal and the main characters are stereotypes. Great direction and photography, though.
  58. Mar 30, 2014
    9
    Takes a few episodes to get into it but once it grabs you, You will grind watch this show just to find out what happens at the end like I did. It's definitely worth checking out and I'd highly recommend it.
  59. Mar 15, 2014
    9
    What Is Worth Noting & As intriguing Enough in this radiant series is the role the two main characters hold in the development of the narrative as also the kind of interpersonal bundle which happens explicitly among them. Both, serve keenly to justifications on story premiss as of unique interest that pops out from viewing it. Great focus for TV Series Making.
  60. Apr 18, 2014
    9
    I could do without the heavy-handed psychological pathos and I really wish they would keep the same characters as the series progresses instead of making this an anthology, but I can't deny the sheer goodness of True Detective. Tis swell.
  61. May 12, 2014
    7
    I give it a 7. Not sure where all the ecstatic enthusiasm is coming from. This feels a bit rehashed to me....something offered as fresh/new/groundbreaking but, in reality, re-warmed in many ways....e.g. the whole "2 diametrically opposed detective personalities forced to collaborate amidst seemingly preternatural criminal element" bit. You know...perhaps first seen in the movie Se7en.I give it a 7. Not sure where all the ecstatic enthusiasm is coming from. This feels a bit rehashed to me....something offered as fresh/new/groundbreaking but, in reality, re-warmed in many ways....e.g. the whole "2 diametrically opposed detective personalities forced to collaborate amidst seemingly preternatural criminal element" bit. You know...perhaps first seen in the movie Se7en.

    I'm not feeling the "literary" filigree that's been lauded. There's an attempt, but it doesnt feel cohesive enough to be genuine. Lacks integrity, or something. Couple of dollops of existential/nihillistic overtones from Rust as counterpoint to Martin's superficial everyman's characterization (a man not without issues...but not nearly as subterranean as Rust's inner conflict, to be sure)....all stir fried with time line attenuation/back-and-forth that feels a bit arbitrary and doesn't seem to freshen the left overs.

    It's all well done, to be clear...but doesn't really feel like we're advancing beyond something seen before. Not that that's necessary, I don't guess...but, for me....well, I tend to be a bit picky in this regard.
    Expand
  62. Apr 13, 2014
    9
    True Detective relies chiefly on the main character, Rustin Cohle's, peculiar and eccentric style and speech and mannerisms to keep audience attention. He doesn't have much of a private life, or even a social one for that matter. He despises small talk and often wanders into prolonged monologues about the merits of humanity and its place in the universe, religion and its pitfalls, hisTrue Detective relies chiefly on the main character, Rustin Cohle's, peculiar and eccentric style and speech and mannerisms to keep audience attention. He doesn't have much of a private life, or even a social one for that matter. He despises small talk and often wanders into prolonged monologues about the merits of humanity and its place in the universe, religion and its pitfalls, his disgust for his own family, and basically everything else that doesn't involve solving the case at hand. His partner, Marty, is the more traditional detective whose type most of the viewers would be familiar with in other shows and movies. He is clearly overshadowed in intelligence and cunning and resourcefulness.

    As the case progresses, through luck, chance and hard police work (never by a moment of enlightenment), the stakes are raised to the extreme by the fourth episode, which featured one of the most impressive direction I have seen anywhere, film or TV.

    The finale was a bit disappointing. Although the showdown with the man with scars was bloody and thrilling, I was hoping he was just a member of the Tuttle family from a dilapidated branch who was included in the rituals by the richer branch but had on his own killed and left the body of Lange out in the open and jeopardized the rest of the family against their will. Instead, the Tuttles were completely ignored and spared and the duo chase down this crazy fellow. He has clearly killed countless but the Governor and his followers may have killed many more and would continue to kill even more. The Yellow King is not some clever devious villain pulling the strings. In fact we don't know who he is or even if he exists. He might have been introduced as a red herring for all I know, but doesn't seem so. Audrey, Hart's eldest daughter only comes into the picture in the last scenes. We never know if she knew something, was abused by someone related or unrelated to the Tuttles, or anything else for that matter. Her drawings and doll placement depicting gang rape, and her subsequent promiscuity in teenage years, is left unexplained. Maybe they were trying to tell us that girls who become whorish become so of their own accord. That might be true, but then what was the point of showing all that. Were they trying to cram every kind of vice into the show?

    I think people mistook the show for being far more intelligent and thought-provoking than it really was. By keeping vague and unfocussed, and not delving into anything of worth, the show progressed with timely monologues from Cohle discussing his latest takes on the meaning of life and the age of the universe. If the ending had been done right, all this would have contributed to the belief that the show had succeeded in exploring philosophy as well as delivering a mind-boggling mystery and narrative. Apart from the action sequence with Childress, which, incidentally, was done well, the rest of the episode wasted time in going places and discussing more quake philosophy. Before this every episode left me pondering for at least an hour and trying to account for everything that had gone down.

    I was praying this wouldn't happen. I have watched a lot of trilogies where when the story had been spiced with mysteries when revealed had nothing to stand upon. The mysteries were there for just that, to make us come back for more. By the time we realize that they had been after our money, it's too late and the whole story seems to be a ploy to keep us interested with unexplained fantastic storytelling that would in the end have no consequence.
    Expand
  63. Feb 24, 2014
    7
    Of course the cast is out of a TV-show's league, but there is little to do when your story is the same procedural detective drama where the leads have deep personal issues and are faced with quasi mysterious events. The script would be great if Cohle's words didn't sound like he actually rehearsed every single one of them. Overall, it looks like Hannibal without a character like Hannibal.Of course the cast is out of a TV-show's league, but there is little to do when your story is the same procedural detective drama where the leads have deep personal issues and are faced with quasi mysterious events. The script would be great if Cohle's words didn't sound like he actually rehearsed every single one of them. Overall, it looks like Hannibal without a character like Hannibal. Not bad at all, though. And if it's true they're making this an anthological series, even better. Expand
  64. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    Now I normally don't do reviews for anything other than video games or movie, however I just feel that I have to tell you how truly phenomenal this show is! True Detective is by far the best series on tv right now and undoubtedly one of the greatest shows that has ever run! Everything, from the engrossing plot to the deep and interesting characters; everything is absolutely flawless! InNow I normally don't do reviews for anything other than video games or movie, however I just feel that I have to tell you how truly phenomenal this show is! True Detective is by far the best series on tv right now and undoubtedly one of the greatest shows that has ever run! Everything, from the engrossing plot to the deep and interesting characters; everything is absolutely flawless! In fact I want you to stop reading this review right now and go watch the first episode! Trust me when I say that you will be glad you did! Expand
  65. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    I'm going to go out on a metaphorical limb here and make a really bizarre comparison.

    This show really reminded me of the recently released movie American Hustle. Both were intensely complex and deep narratives captured within the framework of trope-like story structures (Hustle with the sting operation and Detective with the cop-crime-drama). However I found True Detective to be
    I'm going to go out on a metaphorical limb here and make a really bizarre comparison.

    This show really reminded me of the recently released movie American Hustle. Both were intensely complex and deep narratives captured within the framework of trope-like story structures (Hustle with the sting operation and Detective with the cop-crime-drama). However I found True Detective to be executed much better, dealing with themes such as nihilism and existentialism, whereas American Hustle was more akin to an acid trip within the mind of an absurdist kleptomaniac.

    True Detective is a masterpiece not just because of its stellar dialogue, marvelous acting, gorgeous cinematography, and daring directing. It is a masterpiece because of the fact that it does all of this while balancing such complex ideas, taking it's characters down philosophical rabbit holes that immerses the viewer.
    Expand
  66. Jan 24, 2014
    8
    True Detectives choreography is different than most traditional television shows. To be honest we need this kind of creativity in the television department. Television is getting WAY too cliché. So here, we have true detective. A mix of a narrative and a period drama. So far its been alright, to say the most episode one did not have me yet. I enjoyed episode two knowing the characters andTrue Detectives choreography is different than most traditional television shows. To be honest we need this kind of creativity in the television department. Television is getting WAY too cliché. So here, we have true detective. A mix of a narrative and a period drama. So far its been alright, to say the most episode one did not have me yet. I enjoyed episode two knowing the characters and their lives, made me more interested. We need more this creative TV and I'm glad to see it here, especially with Woody and Matthew. There's some hope for the television drama and this is a sign. Expand
  67. Apr 26, 2014
    9
    I started watching this series after the full episodes are released in blue ray .I found those high ratings and after watching the first episode i was like, what the hell ?? I decided to give a try for the second one too, then all of a sudden I watched till 5 in one sit.
    Its that intriguing plot along with some top notch acting from Matthew McConaughey and Woody Harrelson which made it
    I started watching this series after the full episodes are released in blue ray .I found those high ratings and after watching the first episode i was like, what the hell ?? I decided to give a try for the second one too, then all of a sudden I watched till 5 in one sit.
    Its that intriguing plot along with some top notch acting from Matthew McConaughey and Woody Harrelson which made it damn interesting , i finished all 8 episodes within next 2 days and Iam really impressed by the cinematography and screenplay .
    the writer Nic Pizzolatto and Director too deserves a thumbs up.
    Its more like an addicting style, if you watch Matthew McConaughey's character deeply, you sure as hell is gonna be like him in real life. Its that never mind don't care attitude along with so many good one-liners which makes me want to watch it again and again .
    Expand
  68. Mar 24, 2014
    9
    This series can best be described as wanting to be "No Country For Old Men" while holding the pacing and suspenfullness of "Silence Of The Lambs". Now that's not to say it'll be as great of a movie/show as "Silence Of The Lambs" was, just that its a wannabe. All in all it has potential, its an HBO show, has a good cast. Only time will tell.
  69. Mar 11, 2014
    8
    After watching the whole season the finale is a bit of a letdown. That being said, the only reason the finale was a letdown was because episodes 1-6 (most of 7) was absolutely phenomenal. It is without a doubt one of the finest first seasons of a TV series I've ever seen. Right up there with Game of Thrones and Hannibal. The rich and lush environment of the Louisiana swamp. The inhabitantsAfter watching the whole season the finale is a bit of a letdown. That being said, the only reason the finale was a letdown was because episodes 1-6 (most of 7) was absolutely phenomenal. It is without a doubt one of the finest first seasons of a TV series I've ever seen. Right up there with Game of Thrones and Hannibal. The rich and lush environment of the Louisiana swamp. The inhabitants dripping in Cajun 'sauce.' Then the acting was spectacular all around especially Mcconaughey's Rust Cohle, a complete nihilist, with an almost endless vocabulary. (I assume Rust and Boyd Crowder would be fast friends) An absolutely amazing new series, and I can't wait for season 2. Expand
  70. Mar 20, 2014
    10
    This was my favourite TV show ever half way through the 8 episodes. Episode 4 cemented it for me. I haven't thought about a TV show from when an episode ends to the next one begins a week later like this since Lost. I hung off every single thing Rust (McConaughey said. There is hidden meaning in everything. I can usually guess the killer straight off in procedural dramas, had no clue withThis was my favourite TV show ever half way through the 8 episodes. Episode 4 cemented it for me. I haven't thought about a TV show from when an episode ends to the next one begins a week later like this since Lost. I hung off every single thing Rust (McConaughey said. There is hidden meaning in everything. I can usually guess the killer straight off in procedural dramas, had no clue with this. Highly recommend it to anyone who has the intelligence to stick with it. Expand
  71. Mar 22, 2014
    7
    True Detective is great television, but I think it gets a lot more hype and praise than it deserves.The series works better as a character study between Rust and Hart than as a "true detective" mystery thriller. Hopefully the focus carries through to the next season, it would be a shame for this to turn into another procedural. The "whodunnit" aspect of the series really doesn't work soTrue Detective is great television, but I think it gets a lot more hype and praise than it deserves.The series works better as a character study between Rust and Hart than as a "true detective" mystery thriller. Hopefully the focus carries through to the next season, it would be a shame for this to turn into another procedural. The "whodunnit" aspect of the series really doesn't work so well when you have a set of two dozen or so on-screen characters, but, again, that is not necessarily a bad thing.

    McConaughey and Harrelson do an absolutely phenomenal job portraying essentially three distinct characters in the short span of eight episodes. I love the Nietzsche tie-ins, but it felt a bit heavy handed at certain points when Rust has to go through and explain everything.
    Expand
  72. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    Mesmerizing and nihilistic view on human nature and existence, time and space, and the possibility of forces of light and evil, presented in meticulously written and spot-on delivered dia- and monologues. Featuring captivating performances from both leads this pitch-dark crime-and-cop story never cares much about "whodunit", placing the lives of the two mismatched detectives as well asMesmerizing and nihilistic view on human nature and existence, time and space, and the possibility of forces of light and evil, presented in meticulously written and spot-on delivered dia- and monologues. Featuring captivating performances from both leads this pitch-dark crime-and-cop story never cares much about "whodunit", placing the lives of the two mismatched detectives as well as their relationship in the centre of attention instead. Thoughtful and true to the end storyline along with brilliant and suspenseful cinematography by Cary Joji Fukunaga (who finds chilling and mythical views on the swamplands of Louisiana - AND the car rides :) !) create a highly gripping and absorbing piece of television. The very few flaws - like the rather flat and flavourless rest of the characters, as well as a lukewarm proposition at the end, that even the smartest and most charming atheist might be convinced of the existence of some greater force in the universe when looking at star-scattered night sky - do not derogate my overall extremely positive feelings about this excellent series as a whole. Expand
  73. Apr 3, 2014
    9
    This is just a great show. If you feel a bit like me (wanting more substance for your time), then you really will like this series. The pros are the writing, acting, and visuals. The cons are excessive nudity and really tough subject matter. Overall, the show is gripping with a fitting and rewarding finale. In case it helps... I also like Hannibal, The Wire, The Americans, and Homeland.
  74. Apr 16, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really loved this show, it completely absorbed me ! Harrelson and McConaughey are incredible.
    I didn't put 10 because I was a bit deceived by the ending.
    Expand
  75. May 25, 2014
    9
    Fantastic. Woody and Matthew are so good in this series. The storyline is very captivating, when one episode finishes you are craving the next one. We can only hope that season 2 will come soon.
  76. Jun 1, 2014
    9
    True detective runs slow and steady without ever seeming to drag. Even minors characters get room to breathe and seem independently alive. The acting by Matthew McConaughey and Woody Harrelson is off the charts.
  77. Sep 17, 2016
    7
    I overall enjoyed watching this series, but my thoughts were the first few episodes were vary time consuming [some might say boring] but I enjoyed the way the series went to the past and the present, vary well done in that sense, and the action scene was vary well directed, the series gets dark at times and vary adult themes, and there is a lot of mystery, thats what really makes you watchI overall enjoyed watching this series, but my thoughts were the first few episodes were vary time consuming [some might say boring] but I enjoyed the way the series went to the past and the present, vary well done in that sense, and the action scene was vary well directed, the series gets dark at times and vary adult themes, and there is a lot of mystery, thats what really makes you watch the series the acting is good too. Expand
  78. Jun 1, 2016
    10
    Başyapıt Dizilerden Birisi
    Pek nadir olan derin karakter tiplemelerine ve buna çok katkısı olsan eşsiz oyunculuğun yanında, kaliteli atmosfere ve kurguya sahip. Dizi bittiğinde Suç-Felsefi-Dram üzerine kurulu bir roman okumuş gibi hissetmeniz muhtemel ve bunu yapabilen bir kaç dizi var. True Detective bu konuda en iyisi. Bu söylediklerim elbette 1.Sezon için geçerli.
  79. Jun 14, 2018
    7
    season 1 is good , with a follow able story, however season 2 is almost pure nonsense, and very difficult to follow . so I would give it 7 out of 10.
  80. Jan 14, 2019
    10
    isto é incrivel, melher serie policial e com as melhores atuações de todos os tempo.
  81. Jan 21, 2019
    10
    Not sure how much more perfect a TV series can be. First season is outstanding.
  82. Jul 31, 2016
    9
    American television is evolving, aggressively abandoning the 20-episode season in favor of shorter, character-driven, story-concentrated seasons heavy on substance and light on filler.
  83. Jun 8, 2016
    10
    We loved this season. All of the actors were well suited to their roles and very convincing. Vince Vaughn should receive an award for his outstanding performance.
  84. Oct 13, 2017
    10
    The first season is just brilliant. It gives you everything you could desire from a movie like that: an interesting plot, drama, the best acting, deep philosophical thoughts of the main charismatic character and the most atmospheric series you have ever seen. If you want to be fascinated, watch "True Detective: Season 1".
  85. Feb 16, 2017
    10
    Esos diálogos... es lo primero que se me viene a la cabeza al pensar en 'True Detective', increibles diálogos y una apabullante madurez en el trato de los personajes, el como se trata la condición humana, el quien somos, adonde vamos, de donde venimos...etc.

    Las interpretaciones son increibles, el personaje de Macconaughey es ESPECTACULAR como también lo es el personaje de Woody
    Esos diálogos... es lo primero que se me viene a la cabeza al pensar en 'True Detective', increibles diálogos y una apabullante madurez en el trato de los personajes, el como se trata la condición humana, el quien somos, adonde vamos, de donde venimos...etc.

    Las interpretaciones son increibles, el personaje de Macconaughey es ESPECTACULAR como también lo es el personaje de Woody Harrelson. Y otro personaje del que nadie habla pero para mi es brutal, que es el de Michelle Monaghan.

    En cuanto a la trama esta de sobra a la altura del resto con un tono religioso muy profundo, con un excelente guión donde nada desafina y con algún momento bastante perturbador con las niñas...

    Personalmente, es de las mejores series "independientes" que he visto y por favor, el famoso PLANO SECUENCIA... Silencio.
    Expand
  86. May 25, 2018
    10
    The characters Rust and Marty are two of the best duos ever to appear on T.V. .(Luther and Alice from LUTHER also are at the top.) This show is part ofThe Golden Age of Television. The landscape/cinematograpy, music, lighting, dialogue are all THE BEST one could hope for. CaryFukunaga, the director, is an Artist. We want more of this !
  87. May 13, 2017
    10
    Outstanding, riveting performances from a stellar cast and a twisty, non-linear narrative kept me glued to my seat. Requires more than one viewing to fully appreciate the richly nuanced dialogue and textured storytelling techniques.
  88. Dec 26, 2017
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Season 1 is good although extremely male centered! They need to have female writers for this show because at times it feels like a 14 year old boy is writing this story. There is one point where Rust "has no choice" about something, later redeemed when he says he had a choice. Of course he had a choice, it's insane to push the belief that men can't control themselves and it's damaging for men too! At one point Marty sleeps with a much younger woman, it's really disgusting. It's just disgusting. I really doubt a young girl that age is going to go for a guy his age unless he's wealthy and if you wanted to make a character like-able and believable, why would he sleep with her after saving her as a child? Sure, he could have more failures, but, why her? Wouldn't he be comparing her to his own daughters? When she told Marty how she wanted to do something that she never had done before: that is a ridiculous line and seriously brought me completely out of it. And then the wife that keeps taking him back, I wish it didn't end like that. It felt so undeserved. The characters were good, I liked Rust and even Marty (minus all the stuff I already talked about) and the plot itself was really interesting. I felt like the killer was kind of a give away before it had to be. I kind of wish that there was a surprise moment when we find out who it is. The second season is better, perhaps they got a lot of flack about the sexist overtones in the first season. The second season is definitely harder to follow and there are a ton of lines that are jarbled and impossible to understand. It took me a few episodes to figure out what was going on and I'm still not completely sure. There is a lot of fast quiet talking, especially in the beginning. Less of a teenage boy fantasy though, but some of the episodes kind of drag along. Expand
  89. ABR
    Jul 7, 2018
    10
    True detective. Season one. Rustin Cohle. This series gave me something to think about even in real life. One of the best movie character ever, thank you, Matthew McConaughey.
  90. May 22, 2019
    10
    Simply Amazing. i Can't imagine a more perfect human-made thing since all the plot and even the minimum particular is studied perfectly.. and fits into the main story. Perfect.
  91. Mar 8, 2019
    10
    One of the best seasons of any TV show. The casting is perfect and the story sucks you into the True Detective universe. With mysterious references to Weird fiction and the Cthulhu mythos it's a must watch for any fan of thrilling and strange mysteries.
  92. Apr 1, 2019
    10
    Best psychological thriller I've ever seen, and my favorite detective "movie" :).
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Jeff Korbelik
    Mar 27, 2014
    100
    The drama is quite riveting.
  2. Reviewed by: Emily Nussbaum
    Mar 27, 2014
    30
    Whatever the length of the show’s much admired tracking shot (six minutes, uncut!), it feels less hardboiled than softheaded. Which might be O.K. if True Detective were dumb fun, but, good God, it’s not: it’s got so much gravitas it could run for President.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Feb 20, 2014
    100
    HBO's program is not just an actor's showcase for two greats. It is dense, complex, rewarding storytelling, heightened by a sense of location from its writer and director that is mesmerizing and a character-driven storytelling aesthetic that brings to mind great films like David Fincher's "Zodiac" and Bong Joon-ho's "Memories of Murder."