• Network: The CW
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 9, 2017
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 10
  2. Negative: 4 out of 10

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Oct 7, 2017
    85
    Valor in no way resembles the generic bang-bang of CBS' SEAL Team or NBC's The Brave. It's an intriguing conspiracy thriller with some painful observations on modern warfare that may take much of the The CW's youthful audience by surprise.
  2. Reviewed by: Allison Shoemaker
    Oct 9, 2017
    58
    Even with the on-the-nose dialogue, Ochoa’s performance brings Madani to almost vibrant life. Like the dialogue, her work isn’t particularly subtle, but in Ochoa’s hands, that matters less. Madani isn’t a subtle woman.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 6, 2017
    58
    This all probably sounds ridiculous, and pretty much is. Even so, Valor is more entertaining and accessible in its own way than network TV’s two other hard-charging combat hours. Ochoa and Barr blast off in their lead roles and also play well together.
  4. Reviewed by: Dana Schwartz
    Oct 6, 2017
    42
    Every line of dialogue might have been cut and pasted directly from another similar show, like newspaper letters in a ransom note. The characters are no more than the sums of their clichés.
  5. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Oct 9, 2017
    40
    All in all, the drama does not contain the kind of energy, style or specificity that would make one want to check back in to see how the team’s mission is going.
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Lowman
    Oct 9, 2017
    40
    Valor quickly becomes about secrets and lies, guilt and bravery, and hot bodies and awful banter. It’s not the best mix, and not mixed the best way.
  7. Reviewed by: Kelly Lawler
    Oct 9, 2017
    37
    It ricochets between Homeland-like sequences of POW interrogations, pop-music-scored sex scenes and bureaucratic squabbles. None of it fits together, and none of it is particularly compelling on its own.
  8. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Oct 9, 2017
    25
    With the possible exception of Barnett, not one of the cast is remotely convincing or appealing in their parts. The helicopter action is neither impressive nor especially authentic looking.
  9. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Oct 9, 2017
    20
    It's just a show prioritizing checking out hot actors to telling a story in a meaningful way. ... Valor is a big swing for the network and also a big miss.
  10. Reviewed by: Allison Keene
    Sep 25, 2017
    20
    The CW probably should have--and likely will--cancel this mission. Valor doesn’t have the same level of quality on almost any level as its competitors, which is a shame. But it does have a unique point of view and a more focused story to tell.
User Score
4.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 29
  2. Negative: 15 out of 29
  1. Oct 17, 2017
    8
    ok after watching the first episode of the big deal why dose everyone have a problem with it I rather liked it myself I thought the action wasok after watching the first episode of the big deal why dose everyone have a problem with it I rather liked it myself I thought the action was nice the show itself was interesting and even enjoyable I am a man and I feel this way so it must not be really all that bad I thought the lead was beautiful and her ability to kick ass just as well as a man really helped matters I suggest trying this show no doubt Full Review »
  2. Oct 12, 2017
    2
    Offering an uneasy mix of melodrama and military action, CW's "Valor" stumbles right out of the gate. The characters in the show are too youngOffering an uneasy mix of melodrama and military action, CW's "Valor" stumbles right out of the gate. The characters in the show are too young and attractive, the love triangles are cringe-worthy, the helicopter scene reminded this viewer of "Fifty Shades of Grey", the humour fails, and the action is too dimly lit. Yes, it's a CW show, but still.. Full Review »
  3. Dec 5, 2017
    10
    very good show sad they only approved 13 Episodes, really hope they consider bring it back, i do not feel its boring, i look forward to whatvery good show sad they only approved 13 Episodes, really hope they consider bring it back, i do not feel its boring, i look forward to what will happen next, the action was nice the show itself was interesting and even enjoyable I am a Woman and I feel this show is awesome my daughter n law who is a retired marine even enjoys it love to see where it will further go Full Review »