Nano Assault EX Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Nano Assault EX is an action shooter game in which players pilot a microscopic ship to stop a deadly virus from contaminating humanity.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Apr 9, 2013
    90
    Visual niggles aside, Nano Assault EX takes everything that went well with the retail release, adds more features and puts it up for easier access at more than half the price.
  2. Mar 11, 2013
    90
    Nano Assault EX basically offers up exactly what you'd expect from an eShop upgrade release — better controls, more options, and a brand new mode.
  3. 85
    Gorgeous visuals coupled with a stunning use of stereoscopic depth make for one of the most graphically stunning packages on the Nintendo 3DS. Luckily, it’s a lot of fun to play, too.
  4. Apr 21, 2013
    70
    Fast and frenetic, Nano Assault Ex is a game that will test your reflexes in a series of short bursts perfect for that bus ride home.
  5. Mar 23, 2013
    65
    Not too challenging, not too long, with some gameplay flaws and not very original, but all in all Nano Assault EX can entertain who is looking for a quick, easy pick-up shooter. Circle Pad Pro is supported and recommended.
  6. Better than the Wii U version... It's beautiful and slightly boring. [May 2013, p.86]
  7. Mar 13, 2013
    60
    Some serious 3D eye candy and an interesting concept are spoiled by a pretty shallow gameplay in this Nintendo 3DS re-release.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    tons of content and 3d is amazing. there are 32 levels and tons of extra content like an arcade challenge mode and a boss mode. you can also us play coins to unlock songs and encyclopedia entries. this game is awesome and worth the $15. I got it on sale for $7 which is more than 50% off the original price. if you want it but it's too expensive just wait for it to go on sale. Expand
  2. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    It's one of those games you want to tell everybody to give a try.It goes from exploring a cell with a sense of "Mario Galaxy style" to find the DNA parts and kill all of those nasty microbes, to fly around and shoot a lot of bugs coming to you in the classic shooting style. And the 3D effect is just fantastic (except for a few bugs). Expand
  3. Mar 12, 2013
    9
    I never played the retail version of this game but now I wish I had. This is an excellent experience that I wasn't quite expecting. This one ups the retail version in a few ways. Graphics have been slightly enhanced. We also now have cpp support which I would've like to have used but I own the XL version. Without it it still works fine but I can see at time where a second analog would greatly benefit the controls. Add in a survival mode along with online leader boards and that makes this the definitive version. The Star Fox style levels are where the shooting controls aren't quite as good but that's only 25% of the game. If you have the cpp don't even hesitate and dl. All this for only 14.99 is well worth the download. Expand
  4. Aug 30, 2013
    8
    This is truly a little gem of a title. Having owned the retail version I downloaded this one and sure enough it's been propped up and improved over its predecessor. If you like the all-out shooter genre, this title is not to be ignored! Great visuals, cool music and excellent use of stereoscopy (except for one of the microcodes in Cluster 4... it appears the stereo image is reversed in that one) make this a shooter that's intuitive, presents good challenge without being frustrating and actually keeps you playing after you finish all the clusters. Collapse