Resident Evil: Revelations Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 78 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 432 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Resident Evil: Revelations tells the story of what happens between Resident Evil 4 and Resident Evil 5 on the Nintendo 3DS.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
E3 2011: Resident Evil: Revelations - Gameplay Video #3
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 78
  2. Negative: 0 out of 78
  1. Feb 29, 2012
    100
    While survival-horror definitely isn't my best genre, Resident Evil: Revelations is easily one of the best 3DS games I've played to date. Just about any frustrations I've come across is due to my own lack of skill and experience with the franchise as a whole. If you're a Resident Evil fan with a 3DS, this is definitely one to pick up.
  2. Feb 1, 2012
    90
    Granted, there are few portable Resident Evil games to choose from, but Revelations is by far the best, and it's perhaps even better than some of the console entries. Capcom stumbled, but still managed to offer a thoroughly enjoyable romp filled with intense monster blasting fun, along with dump trucks full of gore and some unexpected plot twists along the way. A must for all 3DS owners.
  3. Feb 20, 2012
    90
    While some kinks still need to be ironed out, like the off-balanced narrative and some weak moments in the campaign, the game remains one of the best experiences you can find on the system, and rises as the most impressive technical achievement we've seen on Nintendo's 3D handheld so far.
  4. Jan 26, 2012
    85
    Resident Evil Revelations mixes action with adventure, partially returning to the origins of the series. It is a must-have for console owners, and one of the pinnacles of visual quality we've seen so far in the Nintendo 3DS. It also has a very good story which will please fans of the saga eager to know more about Umbrella, zombies, an the STARS team.
  5. Feb 20, 2012
    80
    Making a handheld game that feels every bit as deep and technically impressive as it's home console cousins is no mean feat, but Capcom have pulled it off in style. Revelations really sets the bar high for third and first party developers on the 3DS.
  6. Feb 4, 2012
    80
    A full-blown Resident Evil title. It proves Nintendo 3DS capabilities with its great atmosphere. Along with its fine visuals and excellent gameplay, no one should miss the opportunity to play this game.
  7. Jan 2, 2012
    60
    Handheld editions of big console titles often feel like straight to video sequels – looking the part but lacking the polish – and Revelations is no different. It nails the atmosphere in its hybrid design, but those crucial sparks of brilliance that make the series so great, no matter which of its eras you prefer… they're as rare as a single use rocket launcher.

See all 78 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 109
  2. Negative: 2 out of 109
  1. Feb 10, 2012
    10
    Excellent game. Great job made by Capcom. The best graphics on 3DS, great story and beautiful soundtrack. A must have sure!. A game thatExcellent game. Great job made by Capcom. The best graphics on 3DS, great story and beautiful soundtrack. A must have sure!. A game that recovers things that RE 5 minimized... You will love this game, ;) Expand
  2. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    I am a big RE fan since its PS1 days, having played most of its installments across different systems. After the relatively disappointing RE5,I am a big RE fan since its PS1 days, having played most of its installments across different systems. After the relatively disappointing RE5, I am surprised at how much Revelations freak me out. Great atmosphere and music, and believe it or not, greatly improved controls which were inherited from Mercenaries 3D! Each missions are also designed to allow for portable play, with numerous checkpoints. If you have a 3DS, then you should buy this game. It's a must have! Expand
  3. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    The best game available for 3DS. The graphics are as good (or maybe even better) as on a Wii. This is the second RE game I played (MercenariesThe best game available for 3DS. The graphics are as good (or maybe even better) as on a Wii. This is the second RE game I played (Mercenaries 3D was the first one) and I'm surely becoming a fan of it. The soundtrack is epic, campaign is great and so is co-op mode. I enjoyed every single minute of it! Expand
  4. Jul 18, 2013
    9
    It squeezes all the power possible from that tiny screen on the 3DS. The storyline takes up an episodic style. Throughout the whole story,It squeezes all the power possible from that tiny screen on the 3DS. The storyline takes up an episodic style. Throughout the whole story, which mostly takes place on a mysterious abandones ship, you play as a variety of characters, including Jill, Parker, and Chris, among others. The plot fills in a gap between RE 4 and 5. Although it's improbable, the storyline is excellent. Some of the script is incredibly cheesy and ridiculous however, but that doesn't happen often. The graphics are incredible for a handheld like 3DS, I never knew it had that much power. They are very realistic and add to the horror experience. So does the impressive 3D effect. I recommend you turn it on. The sound and music adds to the suspense perfectly, resulting in a superbly scary experience. The actual gameplay is reminiscent of past resident evils- before re 4. Limited ammo, memorable bosses, and more all contribute to make this the best resident evil yet. One annoyance is the limited AI of your fellow companions. The game takes about 15 hours to complete- not a lot. But raid mode at least dpubles that. In raid mode, you battle through locations from the main game, fighting enemies every step of the way. This isn't short of scares either. You can play this co-op as well, including both local and online. I'm not lying when I say this is the best resident evil I've ever played. Expand
  5. Nov 11, 2012
    9
    This game brings me back memories of resident evil 4. In some areas they exceed RE4, in others they don't. For example, the ooze are reallyThis game brings me back memories of resident evil 4. In some areas they exceed RE4, in others they don't. For example, the ooze are really creepy enemies. The game overall is probably scarier than RE4. Some of the boss fights like Scagdead and Rachel, are really good. The sea creepers are so scary, you find it difficult to get yourself to go in the shallow water. The only disappointment I have with this game is the fact that it was released for 3ds. The game would have sold much more if it were released on ps3 and I could enjoy playing the game on my TV instead of a small screen. The inventory is really good too. Not as good as RE4, but definitely better than RE5 and RE6. Boss fights are on average OK. Scagdead and Rachel may be good but the other 3 are basically on par with RE5. The dodge mechanic isn't that great either. Also there are times where you play as these random characters, this should have been thrown out. The game should have focused more on Jill. Expand
  6. Feb 19, 2012
    8
    This is one of the greatest Resident Evil installments ever made, and the funny thing is, it's only available on a 3 inch 3DS screen. I haveThis is one of the greatest Resident Evil installments ever made, and the funny thing is, it's only available on a 3 inch 3DS screen. I have put about 20 hours into Campaign mode (completed story on normal difficulty, and most of the story on Hell), and 7 hours was spent on Raid Mode (LV 22). With that said, here is my review of this game: First I will talk about the positive aspects. The graphics are the best of the 3DS games I have ever seen. It is similar to that of 3DS Mercenaries, but a lot more polished, and the character movements are much smoother this time around. Unlike Mercenaries, there are no longer claymation-esc movements of characters, no matter how far away they are. The controls are excellent with the Circle Pad Pro, and without it, they are still great once you get use to them. The sound is awesome, filling the atmosphere with lots of great musical scores and sound effects that create very intense experiences. The storyline is very intricate and well thought-out. It took me almost 2 playthroughs to comprehend the crazy, clever twists in the plot. Gameplay this time around is different, and it took me about an hour to fully understand it. But that's not a bad thing at all. In fact, it was quite refreshing, and fun on a whole new level. I had to learn how to play this game for the first hour though, because the formula changed. This time, the enemies are no longer human-like zombies from RE4 and 5. You can no longer shoot them in all kinds of weak spots and melee the hell out of them like a UFC fighting champion. In Revelations, each character only has one melee move, which you can charge up by holding the action button, and the opportunities to perform a melee move as greatly diminished. And for those who are use to shooting zombies in the legs, that tactic isn't very effective anymore. Instead of them getting stunned so you can perform a deadly melee attack, they will drop to the ground after many shots and start crawling towards you. And they crawl about as fast as they walk. Also, this time the baddies are much harder to predict, because some are surprisingly fast, while others might swag side to side as they move, making head shots very difficult. But after I got use to all of this, it became a really cool and refreshing experience. Players also have the ability to dodge now, and it is crucial that they master this move, because we can no longer walk backwards fast enough to avoid most of these zombies. Now I will address the negative aspects of RE Revelations. One odd perk I found in the campaign is that even though we play as numerous characters in different scenarios, we are only allowed to manage our weapons upgrades when we are playing strictly as Jill. And we only use Jill in about 55 percent of the Campaign. This makes for some weird difficulty peaks, because while playing as other characters, the weapons we use are standard, with zero upgrades what so ever. Because of this, the game difficulty becomes very challenging one moment, and then really easy the next. I don't know about you all, but I believe a game's difficulty should be progressive, not random. Next I want to talk about Raid Mode. Raid Mode is very different from the classic Mercenary Mode, which was in RE:3 through 5. In Mercenaries, it was all about connecting combos to score as high as possible,killing a seemingly endless amount of enemies. You had a time limit, which you could increase by accomplishing certain moves. Raid mode is an RPG game. You progress through stages from the Campaign, killing enemies along the way. You try to be accurate, quick and deadly, taking as little damage as possible so you can level up faster and obtain better weapons and mods. Once you reach the end of a stage, you melee attack a giant coin to finish. When I compare Raid Mode to Mercenaries, I would say that Raid Mode is VERY addictive, but the fun of it fades quite a bit once you maxed out all your stats. Mercenaries Mode is RELATIVELY addictive, but the fun factor never depreciates. Also, Mercenaries was a very coop friendly game mode. Raid however, features coop action, but there are seldom times I had fun playing coop. Either my level was too low, making it too difficult for me, and too easy for my partner, or it was vise versa. Over all though, the positives far outweighs the negatives, and I do recommend RE Revelations to anyone who owns a 3DS. Expand
  7. May 29, 2013
    2
    Not quite what I thought it would be

    This is a title many people including myself have been waiting for for a long time. It promises an
    Not quite what I thought it would be

    This is a title many people including myself have been waiting for for a long time. It promises an almost console like experience and to some extent it does deliver that, although it has it's flaws.

    The Good
    Graphically decent, probably the 2nd best looking 3ds game so far (second to Mario Kart 7 which looks phenomenal)
    Sound design is awesome, play this wearing a decent pair of headphones to get the most of out the sound. The 3ds speakers don't do it justice.
    The luxury cruise ship Queen Zenobia is a decent setting although has been done before in Resident Evil Gaiden.
    Unlockables and costumes to collect.
    Almost returns to the franchises routes with some scares and backtracking to return to newly accessible areas.
    Weapon upgrade system works well and is fun to experiment with.
    Good pacing, not always solving puzzles or shooting monsters.
    Play as the old favourite reoccurring characters.
    Raid mode is decent alone.
    You can move while shooting now. You may like or dislike this.
    Good length. Took me about 10 hours to finish the campaign.
    Many medals to unlock (sort of like achievements/trophies)

    The Bad

    The game teases you as you get a bit of old school corridor exploration like in the earlier games but in the style at Resident Evil 4-5. This would be a good thing but on too many occasions the game resorts to throwing waves of enemies at you and almost becomes a bad third person shooter.
    The story is laughably bad. Terragrigia? Veltro? Why is Capcom introducing more needless rubbish to an already convoluted franchise?
    The new characters are pointless, annoying and add nothing to the franchise. Why not give us a game with Billy or Barry? Nobody wants "Jackass", "Grinder" and "Jessica"
    The dialogue is cringeworthy even by Japanese standards. It's so bad it rivals the first games except it's not in any way amusing.
    Every time a bit of tension builds the game takes you away from the action and forces you to play a lame third person shooter. By the second episode you will have mowed down more Hunters than in every other Resident Evil game combined. It's not fun and it adds nothing.

    Limited ammo and herb carrying capability. You can carry 40 bullets and 5 herbs at first until later where you can find bags to hold more. You have to leave most ammo behind which is annoying.

    They removed the item management system, all you have to do is select your weapon loadouts at weapon chests. This may actually be a good thing depending on your preference.

    The bosses and enemies are really generic and actually make you laugh more than they scare you. The first and second bosses in particular are just stupid.

    The Genesis. You can scan enemies with this which basically fills a bar. Once the bar is filled you get a green herb, which you won't need more than likely. Also you can use the genesis to scan rooms for hidden items. Doesn't add anything and just slows the game down.

    Haven't been to able to connect to a multiplayer Raid game.
    Horrendous lag when a new area is loading. Instead of getting a "now loading" screen the game carries on but the frame rate drops to 2fps and the game stutters like crazy totally removing the point of having invisible loading screens (to avoid breaking immersion).

    While the sound is good when there is many explosions and gunfire the 3DS speakers distort like crazy. I use headphones most of the time but if you allow the speakers to distort like that they WILL break.

    Load times are ridiculous for a cartridge based game. I know the game is probably heavily compressed to fit on the cart but it's still pretty poor.

    Ridiculous circle pad pro add on I refuse to buy makes the game control better apparently. The controls are pretty stiff without but manageable.

    I'm a total Resident Evil fan having completed the previous games many times, Resident Evil 2 and 4 I have probably finished 20-30 times each. I can honestly say this one will never be replayed and I was kind of glad it finished when it did. However it's still a decent game on a system without too many must have titles and I would recommend it at a lower price.
    Expand

See all 109 User Reviews