Eternal Darkness: Sanity's Requiem GameCube

Eternal Darkness: Sanity's Requiem Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 183 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This horror story spans generations, so you must relive the blood-soaked history while conjuring spells, solving puzzles, and slaying supernatural beasts. Whether you're creeping around as the Roman Centurion, Cambodian villager, or any of the other characters, the psychological thrillerThis horror story spans generations, so you must relive the blood-soaked history while conjuring spells, solving puzzles, and slaying supernatural beasts. Whether you're creeping around as the Roman Centurion, Cambodian villager, or any of the other characters, the psychological thriller will challenge you to use your mind as well as your might. The story is historically based and features many significant real-world events and locations, including the blood-soaked fields of the Somme, the jungle-ridden temples of Angkor Wat, the deserts of Persia, and the haunted vales of Rhode Island. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. 100
    Developers of 3D games should study the camerawork in "Eternal Darkness." It's quite simply a stunning technical achievement.
  2. It's the best game on the GameCube and the best game I've played in a very long time.
  3. Brilliant, stunning, the best thing on the GameCube since I dropped my soiled undies on it two months ago before I went to bed...It blows "Resident Evil" out of the water.
  4. You're not going to find anything like it that outclasses it at all, it's incredible.
  5. You should buy this game because it's frightening in a way that few games ever have been, and because it's a vividly explored, engrossing narrative the likes of which few out-and-out storytellers like "Final Fantasy" can compete with.
  6. I literally got the bejeebers scared out of me when I played it during the midnight hour. Any game that gets under my skin like this one gets my seal of approval.
  7. The enemies are repetitive, the puzzles are simple, and players aren't given much freedom to explore, but what is here is fun to play -- thanks to an interesting story, excellent sound effects, and well-animated visuals.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 68
  2. Negative: 4 out of 68
  1. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    This game will scare you. I didn't believe it was possible to feel so much fear and despair while playing a game. I don't think any otherThis game will scare you. I didn't believe it was possible to feel so much fear and despair while playing a game. I don't think any other horror game past or present has even come close to this one. A classic. Expand
  2. CaseyA.
    Aug 9, 2004
    10
    Eternal Darkness for the Gamecube is one of the best games I've ever played. I'm playing it for the third time. At first I thought Eternal Darkness for the Gamecube is one of the best games I've ever played. I'm playing it for the third time. At first I thought it was just a girl in a haunted house sort of game, but it's much more involved and gets better as it goes on. I love how you experience through time the same buildings but they've changed in an eerie, yet logical sort of way. As a warning, it's a scary game and if you play late at night in a dark room, some of the insanity effects and creatures might make you jump a bit. : ) Anyway, this game is a great one and you should be able to pick one up at a bargain price. Highly Recommended. Expand
  3. Jun 17, 2016
    10
    Playing this game in 2016 for the first time. AND I LOVE IT! Had to get used to the magic-tool-box, but its just brilliant. Graphics are veryPlaying this game in 2016 for the first time. AND I LOVE IT! Had to get used to the magic-tool-box, but its just brilliant. Graphics are very nice for a GameCube game. Expand
  4. KymP.
    Feb 15, 2005
    9
    1. Nintendo didnt make this game...Silicon Knighst did... so all you cokcs who are saying Nintendo should stick kiddie stuff should just shut 1. Nintendo didnt make this game...Silicon Knighst did... so all you cokcs who are saying Nintendo should stick kiddie stuff should just shut the hell up and let the informed people talk. 2. This game is brilliant. 3. Anyone who can't at least acknowledge its well handled gameplay and fantastic story telling should probably go back to playing Driver 3 and The Getaway - 'worst controls EVER! (on foot)' Expand
  5. Sep 7, 2013
    9
    This game managed to create a scary overall atmosphere, yet always made me want to explore every dark corner of all the featured locations.This game managed to create a scary overall atmosphere, yet always made me want to explore every dark corner of all the featured locations. Plot, fighting system, music, sound effects,... everything's top notch. There's only one little flaw: The enemies get quite difficult very soon and you might find yourself frustrated every now and then in the early parts of the game. Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2016
    8
    The game opens with Alexandra Roivas discovering that her grandfather's body has just been found in his mansion, bloodied and torn apart. WithThe game opens with Alexandra Roivas discovering that her grandfather's body has just been found in his mansion, bloodied and torn apart. With the local police unable to uncover any clues regarding the murder, she decides to take matters into her own hands and investigate the mansion and that’s when the tale of Eternal Darkness truly begins.

    Played now the graphics and combat system, while still more than adequate, are slightly outdated but developer Silicon Knights psychological thriller still stands amongst the GameCube’s best. This is in large part to its era spanning storyline that sees the player take control of characters ranging from a Roman Centurion to a hunter from the 1980’s. I won’t spoil the plot here but suffice to say they are all connected.
    Another of the game’s masterstrokes is the use of ‘insanity effects’. Should the players sanity bar drop to low all manner of strange things will start to occur, many of which have an effect on the gameplay.
    It may now be more than ten years old but those who own a Wii and are looking for something new to play could do a lot worse than picking up Eternal Darkness.
    Expand
  7. EricS.
    Jan 12, 2004
    0
    Fun for the first 15 minutes, Eternal Darkness coudn't hold my interest. This is an example of a game that focuses all on graphics and Fun for the first 15 minutes, Eternal Darkness coudn't hold my interest. This is an example of a game that focuses all on graphics and plot, yet ignores gameplay. The "original" combat is slow pased, pointless, repetative, and overall, boring. To make matters worse, ED has an increadibly clunky controls which takes hours to get used to, and for the whole game it feels like the characters are walking around in lead shoes! The most overly hyped game in years, Nintendo should just stick to kiddy games and leave everything else to Sony and Microsoft. Expand

See all 68 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames

    Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames Image
    Published: October 25, 2010
    Our Horror Week continues with a look at some of the best and worst horror videogames ever released, from "BioShock" to "Left 4 Dead." Plus, vote on your all-time favorite horror game series.

Awards & Rankings

3
4
#4 Most Discussed GameCube Game of 2002
4
#4 Most Shared GameCube Game of 2002