Mario Kart 64 Nintendo 64

Mario Kart 64 Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 252 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Three... Two... One... GO! The signal light changes and you drop the pedal to the metal. Take on up to three friends in the split-screen VS games, or race solo in the Mario GP. Tell your friends to bring it on in the highly competitive Battle mode. Advanced features allow you to race withThree... Two... One... GO! The signal light changes and you drop the pedal to the metal. Take on up to three friends in the split-screen VS games, or race solo in the Mario GP. Tell your friends to bring it on in the highly competitive Battle mode. Advanced features allow you to race with your "Ghost". The driving data from your best run appears as a transparent character on the screen. No longer must you simply race against the clock - you can actually race against yourself! Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. 100
    If you’ve experienced Super Mario Kart on the SNES, this game will feel like a grand homecoming. New players of all skill levels will instantly pick up on the fun.
  2. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    93
    And on the eighth day, God created Mario Kart. He saw it, and it was good. [Jan 2004, p.189]
  3. Although it doesn't break any new grounds in originality (like Mario 64), Mario Kart 64 is a great addition to the N64 line-up. The solid graphics, good sound, and addictive gameplay--coupled with features like being able to race yourself (from a former race) in a special ghost mode--make you want to play it forever.
  4. A weak one player game, Mario Kart 64 excels in the multiplayer arena, and that alone is worth the cost of admission. Few titles can come close to this one in terms of party games.
  5. 81
    Single-player mode gets old pretty fast, but the game's multiplayer mode is forever brilliant.
  6. It's the most beautiful thing that I've ever seen! An incredible game for racing and Mario fans that is the best of both catagories (that's right, better than Mario 64)!
  7. I'm off to Mario Kart on my SNES to reminisce about the good old days, and dream of what this cartridge could have been.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 58
  2. Negative: 1 out of 58
  1. Jul 5, 2012
    10
    Maybe not the best version of Mario Kart out there, but probably the most sheer fun. Possibly the best multiplayer avaliable in video games,Maybe not the best version of Mario Kart out there, but probably the most sheer fun. Possibly the best multiplayer avaliable in video games, great maps, free-for-all battle mode... who am I kidding, it IS the best Mario Kart out there. Expand
  2. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    This game is **** awesome. **** **** I am in 2012 now and still play this game a lot! **** awesome game, all of my friends love to play it inThis game is **** awesome. **** **** I am in 2012 now and still play this game a lot! **** awesome game, all of my friends love to play it in multi-player when they come over my house for a all night game session! Expand
  3. Aug 31, 2015
    10
    I haven't gone a year in my life without playing this game and completing it over and over again just to cope with the sadness that happens inI haven't gone a year in my life without playing this game and completing it over and over again just to cope with the sadness that happens in my life. This game is a memory of mine, something that will stick with me forever. This game is fun, it has creative tracks, a fantastic soundtrack, and can provide hours upon hours of fun with friends, especially taking on the 150cc and mirror cup with two players!

    This game has sunk probably over 1500 hours of my life into it, and I recommend it for any player. This game is something that will be in my heart forever. Thank you Shigeru Miyamoto. Thank you Nintendo. I will continue to play this, and your games, for the rest of my life.
    Expand
  4. AxewhipeS.
    Jan 15, 2008
    9
    One of the best games when it came out & still is the N64 had that long lasting appeal that made you want to go back to those games, This One of the best games when it came out & still is the N64 had that long lasting appeal that made you want to go back to those games, This game is great fun for all, 1 player has the tracks & time trials & multiplayer allows you to battle & race. An Amazing game, Kramer C obviously doesn't know who, what, or where he is & has amnesia & thought he was playing LAIR. Expand
  5. Aug 14, 2012
    9
    This game has held up well, in my opinion, and is one of the very few N64 games I've continued to play years and years later. While it hasThis game has held up well, in my opinion, and is one of the very few N64 games I've continued to play years and years later. While it has it's flaws (e.g. no bots in 3/4 player mode, no additional single player content), it is a solid game that continues to be fun long after you've beat it. Mario Kart 64 is really a multiplayer game: play it with some friends and you'll have hours and hours of fun, especially in battle mode! Expand
  6. Nov 23, 2013
    8
    Great game and all, but just not as much depth as I would hope. I mean this game is all about the multiplayer, of which is done really well,Great game and all, but just not as much depth as I would hope. I mean this game is all about the multiplayer, of which is done really well, but is lacking in the single player department. There should be an adventure mode or something of the sort. Expand
  7. KramerC.
    Nov 14, 2007
    0
    Purelly awsome, packed with fun, adventure, ocassional obastacles, racing, battle, anthing else? No, thats all there is really, nothing Purelly awsome, packed with fun, adventure, ocassional obastacles, racing, battle, anthing else? No, thats all there is really, nothing special. A letdwon. Expand

See all 58 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed N64 Game of 1997
#2 Most Shared N64 Game of 1997