Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 131 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Year 2035
    Almost 20 years ago the citizens of The Republic were forced to hide from the turmoil of the Third World War. The lucky ones secured their places in shelters the fruit of proper forethought and planning. Now, when the fear of death is but a bitter memory, their safe hideout
    Year 2035
    Almost 20 years ago the citizens of The Republic were forced to hide from the turmoil of the Third World War. The lucky ones secured their places in shelters the fruit of proper forethought and planning. Now, when the fear of death is but a bitter memory, their safe hideout turns into a cursed prison. It should come as no surprise that some find this claustrophobia unbearable and the tiresome dream suddenly becomes a nightmare...

    In Afterfall: InSanity our character, Albert, is a member of a team of medics, whose job is to monitor mental stability of shelter inhabitants. He specializes in the confinement syndrome, even though he is not entirely free from its symptoms himself. When all the hell unleashes, Albert will have to find answers to a crucial question: Who is behind all this and why?", and try to filter his friends from the enemies. Not only will he face dangers lurking in the dark, but also overcome his own fears and weaknesses.
    InSanity is a hardcore survival psycho horror that will cause fear and boost adrenaline in the minds and veins of all genre aficionados. In the claustrophobia of confined underground space, from which there is no escape, shadows veil mysteries much darker than simply the madness of shelter inhabitants.

    Albert will have to deal with numerous riddles, monsters, and difficult decisions to make. He has a difficult task at hand as he has to rely on his reflexes, but also prove that he can think logically and show extraordinary deduction skills
    Play, overcome your fears, save the inhabitants of the shelter, and find a safe haven...
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 20
  2. Negative: 7 out of 20
  1. Jan 4, 2012
    75
    Afterfall: Insanity gives fans of gritty, horror-action games a whole helping of what they enjoy. Despite its issues with a simplistic combat system and sometimes unintentionally comical cut scenes, the game is otherwise considerably solid.
  2. Dec 19, 2011
    61
    Maybe the setting is clichéd and you have experienced all its tricks a million times, but Afterfall Insanity is moderately effective.
  3. Dec 7, 2011
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. Nov 29, 2011
    50
    Afterfall: Insanity is a bit of a mess. Everything about this product comes off as unfinished and if given more time to cook and iron out the bugs, the game could be enjoyable but in its current state it is barely passable.
  5. Dec 27, 2011
    50
    In terms of gameplay Afterfall: InSanity resembles Dead Space and has some strong points (e.g. varied locations) but falls short when it comes to production values. [January 2012, p.48]
  6. Jan 12, 2012
    45
    You need a clear, unified vision to shape a game into something that makes sense and compels the player to see it through to the end But scares and gameplay in Afterfall fall flat as scene after scene repeat the same notes, turning what could have been a spine-chilling adventure into a treadmill to an unsatisfying finish.
  7. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    Do you like videogames? Do you like horror in your videogames? Do you like life in general? If you've answered yes to any of these questions, stay as far away from Afterfall: Insanity as possible.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 41
  2. Negative: 15 out of 41
  1. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    I think that the atmosphere in this game does it all. The sound effects are simply amazing and the enemies never stop to surprise me when I amI think that the atmosphere in this game does it all. The sound effects are simply amazing and the enemies never stop to surprise me when I am playing. Expand
  2. Aug 2, 2013
    10
    Giving this a 10, because this is the kind of game I want to see made. Is the fighting good? no, that really needed be worked on and lessGiving this a 10, because this is the kind of game I want to see made. Is the fighting good? no, that really needed be worked on and less repetitive. The graphics are decent and there were actually a few creepy points in the game which is hard to find these days.

    Mainly I want more games that have an interesting and creepy story line that is not cut and dry, most of what I don't like about this game could have been solved with a few more developers and a better budget. Turn the difficulty down and play through in a couple of sessions and you will get a good story experience for cheep.
    Expand
  3. Nov 28, 2011
    9
    this game is pretty impressive (graphic looks good, music builds nice atmosphere, character and monster sounds are on average level) besidesthis game is pretty impressive (graphic looks good, music builds nice atmosphere, character and monster sounds are on average level) besides the cut scenes which are kinda funny. Expand
  4. May 25, 2015
    7
    I see a lot of very negative reviews, mostly undeserved. People, this is/was a budget product and should be considered as such. Comparing itI see a lot of very negative reviews, mostly undeserved. People, this is/was a budget product and should be considered as such. Comparing it to major projects (or even franchises) like Fallout or Dead Space) is like comparing shiny, gamma-irradiated apples to greenish oranges.

    I myself got it at a clearance sale for 1 euro and honestly, it's more than money's worth.

    The sound is frequently off, voice out of sync in respect to character animations and the combat system quite laughable. However, I did appreciate the graphics, suspense, very good touch on mental mambo-jumbos and slightly scary atmosphere. I did not expect shiny apples for 1 euro, though I still got myself an eatable orange :).
    Expand
  5. Apr 17, 2015
    5
    I would start by saying that this game actually DOES worth those 5 bucks and even some more. Judging Afterfall:Insanity by it's productionI would start by saying that this game actually DOES worth those 5 bucks and even some more. Judging Afterfall:Insanity by it's production value, I'd say it's a 20 bucks game. Unfortunately this game is a big mess, and while I did enjoy it (somewhat) in a forced and bizzare way, I wouldn't recommend it, and I don't think many would enjoy this game. (Although. again. it *does* worth the current 5$ price tag)

    So, basically this is the action-survival-horror post-apocaliptic kind of thing.
    Which can be rather good bad also a pain in the ♥♥♥.
    The story of Afterfall, or at least the idea of it, is interesting and could be something pretty good actually. The main character is a psychiatrist which is supposed to investigate a serious disease which causing the people around mental and physical changes. I won't spoil anything else about the story and the game's futuristic setting but I would say that they're basically great and have a lot of potential.

    Too bad the execution is so bad... because that story doesn't go too far and doesn't develop that well.
    Is there a good climax at least...? I wouldn't say so.
    Also the script was pretty poor, and the characters' voice-overs even poorer.
    What could be a pretty darn good video-game story ended up being a nuisance.

    A good gameplay can always save the situation, of course, because who gives a damn about story when there's a good game to be played, right?
    Well, the gameplay is also a tragedy, unfortunately, and is filled with mostly running around and with boring, not too fun, not too challanging, not rewarding at all- melee combat.
    There's a very low amount of weapons to choose from, and it all gets rather repetitive very quickly.
    Towards the end of the game it all got too annoying for me and I simply used a trainer just to finish this game and see how it ends.

    The game's graphics were actually fine, BUT, about half of the game happens withing undergound shelters which are designed in a boring and repetitive way. And when you get out, IF you'll get to this point in the game, somehow it doesn't get too impressive, too.

    The music and sounds are well done, but I felt it only when listening to the game's soundtrack outside of the game (being the video-game&soundtracks geek that I am) and I somehow felt that the soundtrack isn't integrated so well into the game, and gets way too repetitive and banal.

    As I said at the beginning I did enjoy this game somehow, to some extent.
    It made me curious enough to go and try the sequel (Reconquest) which I download at this very moment.
    I still wouldn't recommend this game so much.
    Perhaps you should try it if you, too, like mysels, have some mysterious affections to certain bizzare andor mediocre games.
    And.. well, it's just 5 dollars.
    Expand
  6. Nov 28, 2011
    2
    Game doesn't look bad. But animation is a joke, voice acting is horrible, fighting is bad, oponents are retarded, and cut scenes are makingGame doesn't look bad. But animation is a joke, voice acting is horrible, fighting is bad, oponents are retarded, and cut scenes are making you laugh .. how somebody could give this 9 or 10 is beyond me, probably producers themselves. Expand
  7. Jul 26, 2013
    0
    This game is bad, poor animations, bad gameplay, HORRIBLE voice acting, dated graphics, don't play this game or you will regret that, i'm telling you!

See all 41 User Reviews