Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 128 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Year 2035
    Almost 20 years ago the citizens of The Republic were forced to hide from the turmoil of the Third World War. The lucky ones secured their places in shelters the fruit of proper forethought and planning. Now, when the fear of death is but a bitter memory, their safe hideout
    Year 2035
    Almost 20 years ago the citizens of The Republic were forced to hide from the turmoil of the Third World War. The lucky ones secured their places in shelters the fruit of proper forethought and planning. Now, when the fear of death is but a bitter memory, their safe hideout turns into a cursed prison. It should come as no surprise that some find this claustrophobia unbearable and the tiresome dream suddenly becomes a nightmare...

    In Afterfall: InSanity our character, Albert, is a member of a team of medics, whose job is to monitor mental stability of shelter inhabitants. He specializes in the confinement syndrome, even though he is not entirely free from its symptoms himself. When all the hell unleashes, Albert will have to find answers to a crucial question: Who is behind all this and why?", and try to filter his friends from the enemies. Not only will he face dangers lurking in the dark, but also overcome his own fears and weaknesses.
    InSanity is a hardcore survival psycho horror that will cause fear and boost adrenaline in the minds and veins of all genre aficionados. In the claustrophobia of confined underground space, from which there is no escape, shadows veil mysteries much darker than simply the madness of shelter inhabitants.

    Albert will have to deal with numerous riddles, monsters, and difficult decisions to make. He has a difficult task at hand as he has to rely on his reflexes, but also prove that he can think logically and show extraordinary deduction skills
    Play, overcome your fears, save the inhabitants of the shelter, and find a safe haven...
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 20
  2. Negative: 7 out of 20
  1. Jan 4, 2012
    75
    Afterfall: Insanity gives fans of gritty, horror-action games a whole helping of what they enjoy. Despite its issues with a simplistic combat system and sometimes unintentionally comical cut scenes, the game is otherwise considerably solid.
  2. Dec 19, 2011
    61
    Maybe the setting is clich├ęd and you have experienced all its tricks a million times, but Afterfall Insanity is moderately effective.
  3. Dec 7, 2011
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. Nov 29, 2011
    50
    Afterfall: Insanity is a bit of a mess. Everything about this product comes off as unfinished and if given more time to cook and iron out the bugs, the game could be enjoyable but in its current state it is barely passable.
  5. Dec 27, 2011
    50
    In terms of gameplay Afterfall: InSanity resembles Dead Space and has some strong points (e.g. varied locations) but falls short when it comes to production values. [January 2012, p.48]
  6. Jan 12, 2012
    45
    You need a clear, unified vision to shape a game into something that makes sense and compels the player to see it through to the end But scares and gameplay in Afterfall fall flat as scene after scene repeat the same notes, turning what could have been a spine-chilling adventure into a treadmill to an unsatisfying finish.
  7. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    Do you like videogames? Do you like horror in your videogames? Do you like life in general? If you've answered yes to any of these questions, stay as far away from Afterfall: Insanity as possible.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 39
  2. Negative: 14 out of 39
  1. May 4, 2015
    10
    Very good game I like it very much.

    Graphics Sometimes the environments are striking, and the use of lighting impressed me on more than
    Very good game I like it very much.

    Graphics

    Sometimes the environments are striking, and the use of lighting impressed me on more than a few occasions
    Expand
  2. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    Finally a post apocalypse game with some real depth to the story! Ignore all those people giving it a 0 they probably got scared & didnt getFinally a post apocalypse game with some real depth to the story! Ignore all those people giving it a 0 they probably got scared & didnt get past the first 10 mins of the game, the ideas & themes portrayed in this game are certainly more adult than the average mindless FPS (ie: some listening & thinking required, fear of cannibalism helps too!)

    The sound effects and music help to create a deep atmosphere which adds to the suspense & occasional shock horror. I couldnt put it down until I finished it. My only small moan would be that it ends too soon, the final areas unique gameplay with the shadows & light were fantastic.

    Yes it has similar view perspective to Deadspace, yes it has a post apocalypse theme so people will instantly draw parallels between this and Fallout, but to me it actually had more in common with Condemned: Criminal Origins than anything else (because of the melee combat and sudden from the shadows leaps a crazy person armed with a pipe type gameplay).
    Expand
  3. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    I think that the atmosphere in this game does it all. The sound effects are simply amazing and the enemies never stop to surprise me when I amI think that the atmosphere in this game does it all. The sound effects are simply amazing and the enemies never stop to surprise me when I am playing. Expand
  4. Dec 1, 2011
    7
    I was skeptical about starting an adventure with this game. Now after passing game I can say that this game is worth your money. Animation mayI was skeptical about starting an adventure with this game. Now after passing game I can say that this game is worth your money. Animation may not be sensational in this game, but the story is good. This game is for Dead Space, Fallout fans but not only for them. Expand
  5. ic1
    Nov 26, 2011
    5
    Afterfall: InSanity originally started as an independent Fallout-like project, through the time it evolved into TPP survival horror. I admitAfterfall: InSanity originally started as an independent Fallout-like project, through the time it evolved into TPP survival horror. I admit that I am not a big fan of survival horrors and would rather see a post-apocalyptic RPG, but hey, before passing judgments let's try it first.


    No big intros, weak cut-scene and you are good to go. The game teaches you rather smoothly how to operate, melee, shoot etc. as tries to present the circumstances you are in. Nothing really to catch your attention but as with lots of other games beginnings it not necessarily needs to be a volcano eruption. The bad is that more you are in the game it's not getting any hotter. The play is completely linear and dull. Nothing actually makes your heart beat faster â
    Expand
  6. Mar 3, 2013
    3
    This is not an awful game and I suspect lurking in it somewhere is a good game waiting for a little more developer attention. However I cannotThis is not an awful game and I suspect lurking in it somewhere is a good game waiting for a little more developer attention. However I cannot bring myself to like it because everything is just *off*. If you dig through these reviews there are already plenty of people (legitimately) complaining about the story, the combat, the general blandness so I won't rehash those points. What really irritates me is that the game won't leave my desktop alone. Every time I exit Afterfall I have to resize all my windows and move my icons back because the game won't allow to play it in my monitors native resolution. Guys it's 2013; this should not be a problem anymore. And for this I give it a 3 instead of a 5 Expand
  7. Jul 26, 2013
    0
    This game is bad, poor animations, bad gameplay, HORRIBLE voice acting, dated graphics, don't play this game or you will regret that, i'm telling you!

See all 39 User Reviews