Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 462 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Age of Wonders 3 marks a modern reimagining of the series, where players join a clash of kings, queens and dark lords for the spoils of an ancient paradise. By introducing unique RPG-inspired classes and specializations, players are able to craft empires of their own design, developingAge of Wonders 3 marks a modern reimagining of the series, where players join a clash of kings, queens and dark lords for the spoils of an ancient paradise. By introducing unique RPG-inspired classes and specializations, players are able to craft empires of their own design, developing unique strategies and play styles. The world-changing conflict plays out on sweeping landscapes, loaded with mythical locations waiting to be uncovered, conquered and exploited. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Jun 28, 2014
    95
    There was nothing in the way of Age of Wonders III maintaining the quality level of its predecessors. But that did not happen and instead of another solid title we got a game that will make every armchair strategist cry... tears of joy. [05/2014, p.52]
  2. Apr 8, 2014
    89
    Once you have maybe 10 hours of gameplay under your belt, you will start to appreciate the subtle changes that the upgradable heroes and combat mechanics bring, and thus the equally subtle innovations that Triumph Studios has made throughout the game.
  3. Apr 8, 2014
    85
    Since I never played the earlier games, I can’t make the call as to whether or not this game was worth waiting 11 years for. Saying that, I’ve been waiting since I saw the game at GamesCom last year to get my hands on it, and it was definitely worth it.
  4. Apr 1, 2014
    80
    Triumph Software is a skilled bunch of people that have created a really good strategy game. You could have some reservations about the graphics, very minimal portrayal of different castles or not strong enough focus on diplomacy, but none of these issues spoils the fun. Age of Wonders III is a well made, extremely playable game.
  5. Apr 15, 2014
    80
    So while Age Of Wonders III doesn’t really offer much that you can’t get elsewhere from the 4X genre, it feels fresh and distinctive enough – it has been over a decade since the last Age Of Wonders, after all – that strategy fans will have something to get their teeth into all the same. Hopefully next time won’t be quite so far away, and a little more consideration for the city management screen wouldn’t go amiss.
  6. Apr 9, 2014
    80
    All that long waiting was worth it. Age of Wonders III is not only a game about magic but it's a magical one at the very same time. Fight, invent, conjure, and enjoy its endless gaming possibilities. Just... we would like to forget its lazy game engine along with flaws in its game interface.
  7. Apr 8, 2014
    60
    But the more you play, the more you try different game types, the more you experiment with different races and paths along the skill tree, the more you develop favorite combos and hated opponents, the more crushingly disappointing it is that it doesn’t know how to end. A game this good deserves a good finale. It deserves anything other than the long tedious slog to finish a game that was over 100 turns ago.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 110
  2. Negative: 18 out of 110
  1. Mar 31, 2014
    10
    So what are my thoughts on Age of Wonders 3? Let me just start by saying this is going to be a subjective review. There is two ways about it.So what are my thoughts on Age of Wonders 3? Let me just start by saying this is going to be a subjective review. There is two ways about it. I love TBS. I love tactical combat in TBS's. I love fantasy setting and I love unique and varied races and units. Age of Wonders 3 hit all these perfectly for me. This is the game I have been waiting for and wanting.

    Let me underline that I have been participating in the beta for 2 months and have over that time clocked 180 something hours (all within the limitation of real life) in both online and offline modes (yes, you can play offline). Over that time I have gotten a good impression of what the game is about, what it delivers, but more importantly, what it can deliver. The game has such a solid mechanic, that any additional content will just improve more and more on the game.

    I am not a reviewer and I don't know how to write reviews, but what I can do is give you my thoughts on the game. It is complex, it is deep and it really covers the 4X expectations. You get to explore a beautiful map, you get to exploit treasure sites by entering them, fighting the guardians and taking their loot (everything from weapons/equipment to mounts, secret spells, resources, prisoners who will join you and more). You get to expand by building new cities or by having other cities join you through diplomacy, bribes, quests or just conquest! And you get to exterminate all who stand against you in a glorious tactical combat.

    You have heroes who level up and can pick traits, skills and spells as they increase in power, decking them out in magical equipment and riding fantastic mounts from spiders to hell hounds and beyond. You have units who rank up and become stronger and learn new abilities, increasing their tactical value. You have access to great spells that can shape the land, makes cities riot, devestate armies on the strategic map and summon creatures from other places. Spells that can turn the tide on the battlefield and give your opponent a surprise he or she never saw coming.

    There is this and so much more! I am quite horrified to see three votes giving 1 score even before the game is released knowing everyone who has participated in the game so far has been nothing but happy with it. For me, this is just the game I have been waiting for and it combines the best of master of magic, heroes of might and magic, civilization and fallen enchantress. Seeing the game as it is and knowing it is just so incredible fun and that with each addition to it, it can only get better, this is my highest rated TBS game of my so far life time, including all the oldies and classic.

    I can't wait to see other people get to try the game and leave their thoughts on it. I look forward to reading other peoples opinion on the game and I feel confident that any TBS fan will find this game to hit the mark for them.
    Collapse
  2. Apr 3, 2014
    10
    Amazing in every way so many customizable features from creating you hero to creating random maps and if that wasn't enough you can make yourAmazing in every way so many customizable features from creating you hero to creating random maps and if that wasn't enough you can make your own with the editor free with the game great game play many, many hours of fun 10+ Expand
  3. Apr 2, 2014
    10
    This game is great and was worth waiting for. Age of Wonders 3 brings the beauty of all the previous games re-envisioned with better graphics.This game is great and was worth waiting for. Age of Wonders 3 brings the beauty of all the previous games re-envisioned with better graphics. I also love the ability to create new customized characters and gear. Expand
  4. Sep 27, 2014
    9
    The best tbs that i had the chance to try, the game is divided between the world map and the tactical maps in combats.

    The game got 6
    The best tbs that i had the chance to try, the game is divided between the world map and the tactical maps in combats.

    The game got 6 classes and races, each with its pros and cons, amazing game
    Expand
  5. Apr 2, 2014
    9
    Age of Wonders, in a nutshell, is a series that combines the best aspects of a Civilization game, with the best aspects of a fantasy RPG, inAge of Wonders, in a nutshell, is a series that combines the best aspects of a Civilization game, with the best aspects of a fantasy RPG, in the same vein as games like Dominions or Might & Magic.

    I've been a fan of the Age of Wonders series since Age of Wonders 2: The Wizard's Throne, and like a lot of fans I looked forward with eager anticipation to the release of a new game in this series. Age of Wonders 3 does not disappoint. Combat is much tighter and faster paced than before, and there are more interesting things to do on the world map. Graphics are perfect, by which I mean that they spent just the right amount of time and resources on them - enough to look good, but not so much as to detract from gameplay or slow down your system.

    The game isn't perfect - there are still a few bugs to work out (myself and the other beta testers tried our best, but sometimes you just can't fix all of these things by release), and there isn't quite as much content (in terms of races, classes, and the like) as there was in previous installments - for example, we're down to only 6 starting races as opposed to Shadow Magic's 15 races. The developers have, however, promised to keep updating the game, fixing bugs, tightening the gameplay even further, and introducing new content. So far we've been told we'll see the return of the Halfling race, as well as the introduction of a Necromancer class and a hinted-at Merchant class.

    I would recommend this game to anyone. If you're a fan of the series, definitely check it out. If you're not a fan, go ahead and check it out anyway.
    Expand
  6. Apr 9, 2014
    7
    I was between a 6 and 7 for this guy. I went with the 7 mostly because I think the game has unrealized potential. If you segment in theI was between a 6 and 7 for this guy. I went with the 7 mostly because I think the game has unrealized potential. If you segment in the game into its Tactical Combat, RPG, and Strategic components my ratings for these components vary substantially.

    The Tactical Combat is some of the best when compared with similar games that provide this type of instanced tactical combat. The tactical combat is similar to Fallen Enchantress: Legendary Heroes and the Dominion series. IMO it outshines this games by allowing larger armies, facing, flanking, zones of control, cover, and line of sight. The game is very solid in this regard.

    The RPG components are not bad as well, with a variety of choices for how you improve and manage your hero characters.

    Where the game really falls down IMO is the strategic layer. Despite a number of different races, the units you build end up feeling much the same. That said, the units are not the biggest issue here and TBH there is some synergy to be gained by constructing certain units and armies that work well together.

    The cities themselves are pretty much postage stamp representations of each other despite being from different races. There are very few decisions to make here since your building all build in a couple turns and there is little reason to specialize. City management on large maps become a tedious and somewhat boring chore. Until changes to the strategic layer are made I feel smaller maps which tend to focus more on the tactical battles provides the best play.

    As I said, the game has potential and it will be interesting to see where it ends up after a few patches.
    Expand
  7. Aug 5, 2014
    0
    Game looks nice but unfortunately the difficulty is insane even on easy. I barley manage to build 2-3 cities and don't have time to produceGame looks nice but unfortunately the difficulty is insane even on easy. I barley manage to build 2-3 cities and don't have time to produce any army before I'm overrun from all sides so what the f*** am I supposed to do. This is BS. Expand

See all 110 User Reviews