Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1299 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Alan Wake is a psychological action thriller, a unique new take in the world of gaming. The game is set in an idyllic all-American small town and its surroundings in the state of Washington. Alan Wake, the game's protagonist, is a bestselling horror writer, who writes a novel about hisAlan Wake is a psychological action thriller, a unique new take in the world of gaming. The game is set in an idyllic all-American small town and its surroundings in the state of Washington. Alan Wake, the game's protagonist, is a bestselling horror writer, who writes a novel about his darkest nightmares. In the game, those nightmares come true. As with Remedy's previous games, story and atmosphere are fundamental elements. The game features a massive, open world for the players to explore. The game design is mission based with the player as the driving force behing the action, and as with their previous games, Remedy again focuses completely on delivering the best possible single player experience. The use of light is a significant gameplay element. Remedy has developed proprietary new technology to support the gameplay of the title and to push the high definition visuals to the next level. [Remedy] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Mar 8, 2012
    91
    Arguably the best compliment I can give Alan Wake is that it is a console-to-PC port done right.
  2. Feb 15, 2012
    90
    Though the camera can cause issues and the supernatural story that's more interested in asking questions than answering them, it's a tough game to put down once you've started. Remedy's done a great job of mixing elements of written work, television, and videogames to create an experience full of scares, laughs, and thrills that's just as fun to play as it is to watch.
  3. Feb 22, 2012
    90
    The mix between intriguing storytelling and near-perfect game design elevates Alan Wake to an extraordinarily finely crafted experience. Even if should you shelf it after its 10-15 hours and never take it out again: This one playthrough will be a lasting experience. Alan Wake is something special that enriches the world of gaming.
  4. Mar 12, 2012
    83
    Alan Wake comes to the PC and brings his paranormal curse with him, completely intact. The same defining horror experience is here, occasionally marred by outdated graphics and quirky character animation, but everything else works like a charm. The extra DLC chapters are also included, so book your trip to Bright Falls today...you won't soon forget it.
  5. Feb 15, 2012
    82
    Indeed, it grieves me that Remedy has placed the survival horror passages comparatively unloving and exhausting in the game, but anger quickly fades behind the the fantastic story. Other developers may gladly follow its example.
  6. 80
    Alan Wake is not a flawless game. The combat system is entertaining at first but its magic is killed by unnecessary and numerous action segments. Still the game is a very atmospheric adventure of a very rare kind. [March 2012]
  7. Feb 17, 2012
    60
    The PC version of Alan Wake includes the two mildly interesting special episodes that debuted on Xbox 360 post-release as DLC. Continuing from the end of the main game, these gritty episodes delve deeper into the psyche of Alan after his adventure in Bright Falls, but rehash themes and environments seen in the first six episodes. They're worth playing if you just can't get enough of Alan and the darkness swirling inside his noggin, just don't expect new environments or a clear resolution to the character's fate.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 255
  1. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    I admit back when this first came out I was sucked in. Being a writer the idea of a world where a writer's own work appears to take on a lifeI admit back when this first came out I was sucked in. Being a writer the idea of a world where a writer's own work appears to take on a life of it's own, however the story is far more complex than that.

    Also, I am not one for horror games as usually they have terrible combat and at times aren't that creepy, however this is a game with a good combat system and able to be creepy without using gore. Afterall, darkness is one of the most primal of fears. It's well worth it's price for anyone looking for a deeply involving story and/or want to play a creepy game.
    Expand
  2. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    This is a great game!
    There is a gimmick to it, but it is not bad at all. Feels a lot like the old Max Payne games because it is the same
    This is a great game!
    There is a gimmick to it, but it is not bad at all. Feels a lot like the old Max Payne games because it is the same studio, but totally different atmosphere than Max Payne. This game makes extensive use of light and shadow and it will definitely frighten you.

    Once you get the hang of the gameplay then it should be fairly easy to get through all but the toughest areas. The scenery is a joy to behold and is some of the best I've seen in awhile. If there is one thing that remedy does well then it is developing the atmosphere to make you feel like you are really in the game, Alan Wake is no different, great atmosphere, great story, and I really felt myself wanting to play more to evolve the story.

    I would have liked to see a bit more variety in the "bad guys", but that goes the same for nearly every game. The way that the story presents the characters makes the whole thing very believable. Basically, it feels like you are playing a Stephen King novel, and that is a pretty high compliment. There is no sex or depravity like in King novels, but plenty of frightening scenes and lots of malevolent creatures.

    Being your flashlight!
    Expand
  3. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    I have only one question: why console exclusives are so much better than multiplatform games? The best videogame story i've ever seen in myI have only one question: why console exclusives are so much better than multiplatform games? The best videogame story i've ever seen in my life. Moreover, 2 years after release, but the game still looks simply awesome. Thank you, Remedy, for porting this masterpiece to PC. Great story, great graphics, atmosphere, sound, gameplay. I'm very impressed. Expand
  4. Mar 13, 2012
    8
    It is story-heavy game and that story is pretty good. Finding those story pages is actually pretty good "storytelling mechanic" and I reallyIt is story-heavy game and that story is pretty good. Finding those story pages is actually pretty good "storytelling mechanic" and I really loved it.

    It has great gameplay mechanics. You have different tools to defeat enemies, but right combination is the key. Thanks to that, the gameplay feels very rewarding and I was really enjoying it all the time.

    Graphics of the game is very good, both technically and artistically. The darkness feels "real", The light really cuts trough it, and as a result, I was "scared" in the dark and I was rushing towards any kind of light that I saw.
    Expand
  5. Mar 5, 2012
    7
    I originally gave this a 4, because the controls were hard to get used to and the game had severe ammo/weapon limitations. However, as theI originally gave this a 4, because the controls were hard to get used to and the game had severe ammo/weapon limitations. However, as the plot developed and the game spanned across some beautiful scenery, I became somewhat addicted to this game and I was able to use most of the controls. Perhaps, I just haven't been exposed to a game where you have to rely so much on a flashlight. Expand
  6. Jan 12, 2014
    6
    To be honest, the game is so-so. The storytelling is good, despite of everything other. The gameplay is quite poor. It's poorly copy-past theTo be honest, the game is so-so. The storytelling is good, despite of everything other. The gameplay is quite poor. It's poorly copy-past the famous resident evil series, and contains no puzzles, no interesting enemies. So we are getting half novel story-telling, half shooting game very similar to Max Payne, and to be honest it doesn't justify my expectation. I pretty sure that you will get more fun by playing in resident evil or silent hill. Expand
  7. Sep 28, 2013
    0
    I find it difficult to accept many of the positive reviews made here for this game. In all honestly, you could barely call it a game at all.I find it difficult to accept many of the positive reviews made here for this game. In all honestly, you could barely call it a game at all. It's more like an interactive story in the vein of Dear Esther than a game. It's boring and predictable, the controls are awful and the choices are superficial. It's about as horrific as ordering neopolitan icecream and discovering they gave you all strawberry. Do not buy even on sale. Expand

See all 255 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Alan Wake: Inside the Reviews

    Alan Wake: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: May 10, 2010
    The embargo is over, and reviews are pouring in for the moody new thriller "Alan Wake," one of the year's most-anticipated 360 exclusives. Does the game live up to the hype?