• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is a new landmark in the history of Nevendaar, when a new race ascends to power - the ruthless and merciless Undead Hordes. It is the story of selfless love and unfading glory. Heroes of the past, who had lost their lives, but not their sentience, are exacting their revenge in the name of Mortis, the Goddess of Death. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Oct 13, 2011
    76
    Despite some technical issues, Disciple III: Resurrection is somewhat better than the immediate predecessor and a solid successor for the Russian TBS series.
  2. Jan 10, 2012
    65
    There are a few glimmers of brilliance. [Jan 2012, p.141]
  3. Oct 24, 2011
    60
    Some will find its look and concept tired and defunct, but slow paced strategy titles are still big business. If anything, it's good to have the choice of another franchise in English. It's just a shame that the potential for something great has been squandered by a lack of sheen.
  4. Nov 25, 2011
    60
    The game could have been a real gem, but its unholy learning curve and stupefying voice acting kills that dream early on.
  5. 60
    Standalone add-on cannot cover that Disciples are no match to reborn Might and Magic series. If you are a devoted fan you will probably appreciate longer playtime and the few improvements. [Christmas 2011]
  6. 60
    Overall, Disciples III: Resurrection is an expansion that features plenty of turn-based gaming hours, but these come bundled with technical issues and a couple of design choices that get more and more annoying as you progress through the campaign.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 5 out of 11
  1. Feb 2, 2014
    9
    As a forever devoted fan of the Disciples 2 series, I found this game to be dazzling!
    I was amazed by the concept of the map, the new
    perspective, the details put into every mob and the possibility to have a closer look at them in the inventory was amazing and trilling. The story kept me going as the characters were full of unique personalities. The game was long and difficult to finish as one mistake might make you lose the whole map. The few bugs I encountered did not make me stop playing and since this game was so extravagant I did not mind it. Bone chilling animations and music, great choice of designing, etc.
    Only one thing stops me from giving this game a 10: The battles. Disciples 2's combat system remains it's trademark forever, but it changed completely in the Disciples 3 series, as it resembled more Heroes V. Still, the combat was fascinating. Although around the end of the map you become so overpowered that you need not worry about anything . :)
    It saddens me to see people disliking a fantastic game for it's minor developing mistakes.
    Expand
  2. Oct 4, 2012
    8
    The gameplay is actually good, but as in Disciples III:Reneissance, something is still missing. I enjoyed DII more than this. Mind you, DII deserved a full 10/10 in my opinion. The campaign is mildly uninteresting with its dialogues and story, and I guess the moving of the units as the most major change from DII is controversial to me. Despite that, it plays very nicely, the graphics have a lot of climate, as befitting of a Disciples title. Not an excellent title in its own right, but a decent addon which really adds things to the game which is rarer and rarer nowadays. Expand
  3. Oct 15, 2011
    8
    Came across a thread where the series was being compared to HoMM(impressive in itself) with many rather positive posts. So I gave it a go. Visuals are rather impressive(at least compared to HoMM 5) and the mechanics of the game are well thought through. Whenever I couldn't do something it was always due to me not having figured something out yet. I like the idea of having to level your creatures individually instead of upgrading a building and stamping them out in vast numbers. So as far as gameplay is concerned I'm very impressed and actually prefer this to any HoMM that came after the 3rd)) The reason I'm not giving this full points is the way the story in the campaign is delivered. 50% of the time the dialog seemed like a ridiculous waffle and the character personalities seemed to be created by someone who had to do it because nobody else wanted the job. The ancient undead warlord that comes up with expressions that would make a 12 year old seem wise and mature - come on, surely it can be done better! The story itself is reasonable enough, but I'm not too familiar with Disciples lore to say whether it correspond with previous releases.
    Anyway - the gameplay is imho a good enough reason to give this a go - especially if you like the HoMM series)
    Expand
  4. Oct 19, 2011
    6
    The Good: The Game is a classic turn based strategy game with an interesting unit progression system. The game also happens to be a great time sync, and is enjoyable to play once you get into it. ================================================================================ The Bad: The game tries to be epic, and fails at being epic pretty badly due to the horrible voice acting. There's really just no excuse for the voice acting to have turned out this badly. Werewolves sound like Fred Fredburger, the heroes sound goofy, and the narrator reads his script with such an obvious lack of professionalism that players may want to turn the sound off and simply read it themselves. The cut scenes are unimmersive and unenjoyably as anything other than comedy because of the horrendous and hilarious voice acting. There are also a few bugs, and units and objects are sometimes visually poorly represented on the campaign map so it may be hard to see what you're interacting with until you get used to it. ================================================================================
    Once you get past the game's flaws though, you'll find that underneath the ridiculously horrible voice acting and somewhat buggy gameplay is an enjoyable turn based strategy game that you can easily play for days
    Collapse
  5. Dec 4, 2011
    3
    Ah......nope.....i don`t get it....even through i played the Disciples 3 Renaissance,it still.....same,
    and even worst,the animation was
    obviously poorer than D3R game,gameplay......repetitive happen.....
    Just Graphics makes the game looks great? Nah,i prefer gameplay instead of graphics.
    Expand
  6. Jun 27, 2012
    3
    i loved Disciples I for its awesome visual style and laconic jRPG battles, Disciples II was kinda good as well (although AI was total brain dead), played the game for all races and all the expansions. i didn't bother with Disciples III: Renaissance because of very low ratings, but decided to give Resurrection a go. ================================================================================ boy, what a frustration! the very first map, normal difficulty. i can kill the first mob but on the second one (2 squires and 2 archers) i lose my melee unit no matter how many times i try. i can not kill the third one (since it has lvl9 wolf). i just can't get how am i supposed to play? wait several turns doing nothing waiting for enough money-mana to spam spells? wait 50 turns to buy a werewolf? or do continuous corpse-runs? that's not what i would call 'fun' or 'strategic'. ================================================================================ second. health of my units doesn't replenish after battle, okay. but again, what am i supposed to do, return to town/fountain after _every_ battle? wait several turns after _every_ battle? (only works if i chose to be a warrior lord btw). do i miss something here? why not make a proper tutorial then?
    ================================================================================ third. new unit attributes (end|str|agi|int|dex) were implemented in the most confusing way possible. tooltip says that strength gives melee attack power, intellect - magical one, dexterity - ranged. okay. the very first hero Salaar - his info says that:
    * his class is a Mage, * attack type: ranged, * attack source: weapon.
    screenshot: http://i.imgur.com/GyCn0.jpg
    so what attribute would increase his attack power? after some thought i would guess that it's dexterity (since he's clearly ranged unit, and his attack type isn't magical despite him being a mage). but no, dex does nothing for him, you should put points to str to gain anything. where's the logic in that? other units are pretty confusing in the same way (thug is melee but his main attributes are both str and dex, wtf?)
    ================================================================================ i can go on an on (like i built rogues|thugs building and can't find anywhere what it 'unlocks' or how can i use it) but i put here enough letters already, thanks for reading. ================================================================================ TL;DR: D3: Resurrection is hard in a 'cheap' way and pretty confusing, both gameplay and user interface. i wish they would make true D1-2 remake the next time.
    Expand
  7. Dec 30, 2011
    0
    I wish that I could say something to recommend this game, but given how completely absurd the only race you are allowed to play is, I cannot. Music seems just like all the other music in the series, the only race in campaign is the undead, who get 1 turn for ever 2-3 turns that their opponents get on normal difficulty, not hard, but normal. Graphics are decent for the series, but nothing to really brag about. Now before I get into more detail, please keep in mind that I have loved strategy/rpg games for years, dating back to the first Disciples games and Heroes of M&M, and typically have no issues besides a few bugs here or there that developers fix rapidly.

    The main hero in the campaign is an undead spellcaster, whose only good point is that his attacks strike all enemy targets, downside is, he has so little health he dies in 1-2 hits it seems just starting the game out, plus, he receives turns at what seems to be the slowest rate in the game. He has no real armor, no strength, no health, no initiative, or movement. The initiate is the typical spell caster, damaging all enemies within 1 hex of the target, with minimal damage. He has so little health as to negligible as well. 1-2 hits and he is done. He has the same initiative as the hero, which is to say, none.

    Skeletons, a necessary evil, but still so weak, slow, and powerless as to be unable to do anything. Movement is 2 hexes, they might be able to go turn for turn against enemies, unlike the rest of the army, but are so worthless that they are surrounded and killed within moments. Health is low-medium for a warrior-class unit, damage is around 50 points, 80 for a critical. No real armor value either.

    Thankfully I bought this game off of Steam as part of a holiday special, when it was only 2-5 dollars rather than 10 or 20. Save your money for a better game and forget about this one. When your first fight in the game is against a few wolves, or 2 goblins and 1 orc, and your army get' crushed as though it doesn't exist, then the game developers have failed horribly. Get Heroes of M&M or just play Disciples 3 Renaissance.
    Expand

See all 11 User Reviews