Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 792 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Assume the role of Wilson, an intrepid Gentleman Scientist who has been trapped by a demon and transported to a mysterious wilderness world. Wilson must learn to utilize his environment and its inhabitants if he ever hopes to escape and find his way back home. Enter a strange and unexploredAssume the role of Wilson, an intrepid Gentleman Scientist who has been trapped by a demon and transported to a mysterious wilderness world. Wilson must learn to utilize his environment and its inhabitants if he ever hopes to escape and find his way back home. Enter a strange and unexplored world full of strange creatures, dangers, and surprises. Collect resources to craft items and structures that match your survival style. Play your way as you unravel the mysteries of this strange land. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Apr 29, 2013
    94
    If you like survival games, if you enjoy Tim Burton-esque artwork, or if you’re just looking for an unforgiving challenge of a game, pick up Don’t Starve immediately. Pretty much everything about this game is fantastic, and you’ll undoubtedly fall in love with it.
  2. 88
    Low price, enormous content, it’s a no-brainer. Fans of sandbox survival games, buy it with your eyes closed! [May 2013]
  3. Jun 4, 2013
    85
    One could think that a game that makes you cut down trees, shatter rocks and cook meals will get boring quickly, but it’s not the case with Don’t Starve. Each time you start in a freshly generated world and time and again encounter new things, monsters and events. Even after writing this review I’m convinced there’s still a lot for me to experience in Klei’s new game. [CD-Action 07/2013, p.60]
  4. Apr 30, 2013
    80
    Don’t Starve starts off slow and punishing and continues to get even harder as you play. Its merciless difficulty coupled with its monotonous gameplay can leave some players feeling frustrated and bored. Those who enjoy a good challenge, however, will relish in the satisfaction they’ll get when they manage to outlive their previous record or clear the game’s evil Adventure mode. It may not be for everyone, but if you’re looking for a roguelike game filled with charm and challenge, be sure not to miss Don’t Starve.
  5. Jun 28, 2013
    80
    It's a game that just keeps giving, even as it tears your life from you. [Issue#136, p.110]
  6. Apr 26, 2013
    75
    A small group of hardcore gamers will revel in Don't Starve's punishing difficulty, but without a better sense of overarching progression or purpose, there are more entertaining and rewarding gaming experiences to spend your time on. I'm interested to see what Klei introduces in promised future updates of the game, but even when playing in a world that's customized to your liking, the thrill of Don't Starve is fleeting.
  7. Apr 28, 2013
    50
    Unless there’s a major update in the near future, you’d be better off waiting until it inevitably becomes part of an indie bundle so that you can briefly jump in and enjoy its first few hours. Until then, your money and time should be spent elsewhere.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 181
  1. Dec 22, 2013
    10
    This game blew my comfy house slippers right off my feet and into my fireplace, leaving me with my tootsies unacceptably exposed to the cold.This game blew my comfy house slippers right off my feet and into my fireplace, leaving me with my tootsies unacceptably exposed to the cold. Luckily the game is so absorbing I didn't notice.

    Seriously, this game is that good. The music and graphics work together seamlessly to draw you into the bleak and desolate world. It's like playing through someone's waking nightmare as they stumble from one terrifying incident to another, just when things begin to seem settled something is sure to rattle your bones and leave you scrambling.

    The gameplay may seem simple, but it's in that simplicity that it holds its charm. What might seem easy as first can quickly begin to seem like an enormous task as the burdens of living in the harsh land snowball onto your character and you can't keep up.

    The perma-death feature of the game can make death a traumatizing experience as the character you've so lovingly built up and kept alive for so long has now found it's way to a lonely grave, at the same time it leaves your mind whirring as the cog's and gizmos in your head try to learn from your last play through so that you can survive longer in your next.

    The re-playability is huge, there's always something to learn or do better the next time through. On top of that if you decide you'd prefer things a bit different from time to time there's always a huge selection of mods available for the game that offer a wide selection of features. Things as simple as adding in a new playable character based on the Heavy from Team Fortress 2 or changing the rules of how the game work can really spice up the gameplay.

    So, really give this game a go if you're into moody, strategic, action packed games that leave you twitching at every movement on the screen. It's my top pick of the year!
    Expand
  2. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    To all those who say there is no story, you obviously have not played enough. Inside the game there is an "adventure mode" which is basicallyTo all those who say there is no story, you obviously have not played enough. Inside the game there is an "adventure mode" which is basically story mode(and very challenging). I have logged well over 200 hours into this game and some of my best times were in the beginning when i had no idea what was coming next. The Developers are incredible. They put out over 6 months of content for free after the game was released. There will also be DLC in the future. This game has permadeath. If you cannot get over that fact, then this game is probably not for you. You WILL die. You WILL lose everything. That being said, that is my favorite aspect of the game. Expand
  3. May 1, 2013
    10
    Great game, I followed it since it first appeared on Steam, and loved all the updates it got. It was like Minecraft experience all over again.Great game, I followed it since it first appeared on Steam, and loved all the updates it got. It was like Minecraft experience all over again. I love when I can see all the new things being added And now after the release it's not over yet The devs will still keep new updates coming! Expand
  4. Jul 1, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A good game is from a good idea. Most people say that Don't Starve is similar to Minecraft. I must say yes, it is. But you don't have to say that it's a copy.

    In this game, you have to pick your own food, your own material, build, mix., try new things, discover more, be ready to a new adventure every minute, never be stop, avoid the darkness. Sometimes I keep hours and hours doing the same thing: playing Don't Starve.

    This is not a addicting game, but it is a nice game. I can fast feel tired of playing it because of the system of Don't Starve! Don't attack the shadows over there with low life! Don't be on the total darkness! I do like this game, but this little things make the game turns tiring.
    Expand
  5. May 22, 2013
    8
    Don't Starve is a 2D/3D game where the objective is to survive. Although the game is called Don’t Starve, that is the least of your worriesDon't Starve is a 2D/3D game where the objective is to survive. Although the game is called Don’t Starve, that is the least of your worries in this game. This game has permanent death implemented which I do like, but it can be really annoying to say you have put a lot of hours into a world and it all goes away with in a blink of an eye. However you can prevent this by either playing it safe or getting enough materials to bring you back to life, but you can only use this once.
    The art style is fantastic with an old fashioned style so to speak, with everything being outlined with black and have that depressing but nice to look at style.
    This game is getting updated around every 30 days, and has had caves recently added, and this is really buggy at the moment. It closed down my entire Don't Starve game every time I tried to load it, due to the fact that I was in a cave which really did annoy me. They should not release content that is in alpha stage (content that isn’t complete). So, would I recommend it? Yes I definitely would it’s fantastic, simple and fun to play and kill some time.
    Expand
  6. Apr 29, 2014
    8
    A great game to play on the go. It's fun and addicting, I recommended this game to anyone who wants to have great time for a couple of hours.A great game to play on the go. It's fun and addicting, I recommended this game to anyone who wants to have great time for a couple of hours. It feels like Minecraft but it's not and thats a go thing.
    I give this game 8 out of 10.
    Expand
  7. Jan 12, 2015
    0
    As is typical for survival games, completely retarded.

    It takes three weeks to starve to death, not a few days. Fresh water is much more
    As is typical for survival games, completely retarded.

    It takes three weeks to starve to death, not a few days. Fresh water is much more important. The rapidly dropping mental strength is also ridiculous. Mental strength typically increases in a survival situation over time as a person comes to accept their fate and simply begins working on necessities. Contrary to popular belief, humans are very good survivors.

    Science structure was also idiotic. What is so difficult about chopping down a tree, propping it up and then sleeping underneath it for shelter?

    Why is there no mental boost from fire?

    Total immersion loss at all times. Could not enjoy. Would not recommend.
    Expand

See all 181 User Reviews