Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 30 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Elven Legacy, the sequel to Fantasy Wars, delivers a world filled with magic and thrilling nonlinear storyline, gauged to provide many hours of gameplay for strategy fans. Through an epic quest aimed to restore the former glory of the Elven race the game offers both depth and scope, all in colorful and inspirational settings. Play for elves or humans in two primary campaigns or for orcs in a wide variety of bonus missions. Using the accompanying tools players may create their own missions and campaigns and share them in multiplayer mode. [1C Company] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27
  1. Half the fun of this game is building an effective, focused force piece by piece using artifacts and levels-up, as well as shrewd tactical choices.
  2. By (re)introducing some of the original ideas that never made it into Fantasy Wars, Elven Legacy became even more captivating than its predecessor.
  3. Elven Legacy is not a bad game by all means, but its high difficulty will most likely drive away the casual gamer looking for a relaxing turn based strategy.
  4. This offers sufficient substance and challenge in a nostalgic, turn-based package reminiscent of the earlier days of gaming. [June 2009, p.99]
  5. From what I understand, Ino-Co is going to add more campaigns and missions in the future, and so possibly the game will eventually work well and be worthwhile if you stick with it. But in the meantime, I wouldn’t really recommend Elven Legacy unless it receives a bargain bin price and you really like tactical strategy games.
  6. This is a slightly above average strategy title that offers some good strategic gameplay. However, many players won’t stick with it because of the difficulty of finishing the missions from about the middle game onward. I enjoy a challenge as well as the next player, but I don’t enjoy utter failure time and time again.
  7. The whole notion of a scored review seems a little arbitrary in the face of the niche and dedicated fanbase this game will attract, and its attempts at populist window-dressing are virtually pointless because for the rest of us, the whole entity is at its most lenient completely mystifying, and at its most uncompromising utterly impenetrable.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 3 out of 9
  1. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    First of all, the most common complaint about this game is that it's too hard. And it is hard, casual gamers need not apply. Elven Legacy and it's predecessor Fantasy Wars are inspired by Fantasy General and the Panzer General series. This is old school hex based strategy.
    If you're interested in a strategy game focused on tactics with a steep challenge you will love this series. The difficulty can be overwhelming but all the missions can be won. Obtaining gold level objectives often isn't as important as exploring the map for items and experience. So just disregard that criticism if you hear it in reviews. Graphics are beautiful and I love that entire units are shown when you zoom in. Great RPG elements with heroes, items and leveling units. My only complaint is that the map overview is always backwards when the mission starts. The plot is just filler and it would have been nice to have the dialogue rendered in cut scenes like Heroes V. Don't listen to the haters though. This game is dope. Any old school strategy gamer will love this game. Get ready for some saving and loading though!
    Expand
  2. Apr 7, 2013
    9
    There is no doubt that this game is difficult, but the challenge is intellectual, not how fast you can click, as it is turn-based. It is not complex to play, but strategy really matters in this game. Units carry between missions, as do unit losses. Play sloppy, it will hurt you in later missions.

    One detail I like, is there is a turn-limit on each mission. You get Gold, Silver, or Bronze depending on how many turns it takes, and rewards reflect the rating. The time-limit forces you use strategies other than the defensive turtle tactic that always seems to work against AIs in other games.

    As for units, they are varied and actually tactically different, and position is important. Archers can stand behind a melee unit, and when that unit is attacked, the archer gets a free retaliatory strike. Mounted units do massive charge damage, but only to units standing on plains. Heros are satisfyingly powerful, but not so much that mastery of other units isn't still needed.

    All units can be promoted, which allows you to customize them a bit. There are also artifacts to add more flavor. You also get to choose the units to bring on each mission. It makes the game feel more like a campaign, rather than a collection of individual missions.

    So, rating... If I just rated on quality and polish, the game would be a 7-8. But I chose to rate this game based on how much fun I had playing it, so 9. I played the main campaign twice, something I rarely do. It is a great tactical game.
    Expand
  3. JohnS.
    Jul 23, 2009
    9
    To keep things short and simple, this game is much more fun than critics have put it out to be. Being a hardcore fan of the genre, I first ignored this game at its release because of the mediocre feedback it was getting. Thanks to Steam's sale on Paradox games, it wasn't until today that I realized how much I had missed out on. All fans of the Heroes series definitely won't be disappointed; old school RPG fans included. Expand
  4. Dec 8, 2010
    8
    Elven Legacy is a good turn based game... Unfortunately the time missions take some fun out of it... Fortunately the game comes with a built in game editor... :D Expand
  5. DeanD.
    Jul 21, 2009
    8
    This reminds me so much of a few classic Amiga titles of yester year which is by no means a bad thing. The more you play this the more you will appreciate it,the story is good and gets your imagination flowing. This title is really good if your new to this genre and gets you involved although more experienced gamers of fantasy and role playing may want something more robust but for the novice this is more than enough. Having multiple endings is a very good plus point and will ensure you'll be playing this for sometime to come,has a good and involving story,with just wanting to see what happens next,good sound and graphics,good characters. We've all seen a few classic fantasy movies and wanted to play the part of a hero well now you can but are you up to the task,play this and you won't be disappointed, I'm loving it anyway. Expand
  6. Aug 20, 2010
    4
    Being an ardent fan of such turn based titles as HOMM, Disciples, AOW and Warlords I really wanted to like this game. Playing the game on easy mode and getting completely crushed in the second scene of the campaign, however, was quite a surprise. I found success on further attempts but it seems to me the game takes the fun out of exploring each map, as you must move directly to the objective as quickly as possible or get wiped out. Problems still exist though, as these side towns troops end up flanking you or advancing on your tail. This while trying to win at the gold level, which may be overly ambitious for my skills. All in all a major disappointment. Collapse
  7. DougH
    Apr 19, 2009
    0
    For all I know this could be a good game. As of today, I cannot know.

    Be warned that this game does not work with a 9600M GT (HP Pavilion
    dv7 laptop). How they managed to get this wrong when Fantasy Wars works fine is beyond me.

    Avoid if you play on a laptop.
    Expand

See all 9 User Reviews