Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 129 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Fallen Enchantress: Legendary Heroes is an expansion to Stardock's popular Fallen Enchantress fantasy strategy game. The world of Elemental needs your help. The Fallen Enchantress seeks to destroy the fragile civilizations that have arisen from the ashes of the cataclysm. Fortunately, your fame has spread far and wide attracting the great heroes to aid you. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Jun 27, 2013
    92
    The kind of 4X that brings my relationship with strategy games to a lofty peak. It is engaging and yet oddly meditative, almost relaxing to play rather than nerve-wracking and brain-frying.
  2. May 23, 2013
    88
    This is a good expansion/patch to a good game. It fixes some bugs, adds some interesting features, and slips in lots of changes to quietly improve gameplay and balance. It's definitely worth $20 for “Fallen Enchantress” owners, and $40 for anybody looking for a good 4X fantasy TBS.
  3. May 29, 2013
    85
    None of Legendary Heroes' rough spots keep it from being an excellent game that I recommend with no reservations. Stardock has finally delivered on the promise that Elemental once held, back in the halcyon days of 2009. You don't have to be any kind of strategy savant to appreciate what this exceptional release has to offer.
  4. May 28, 2013
    80
    Fallen Enchantress: Legendary Heroes becomes a stronger game by weakening its hero characters.
  5. Jun 6, 2013
    80
    With its intuitive gameplay and in-game tutorials and hints, Legendary Heroes should be quick to pick up even for the 4X uninitiated.
  6. Aug 16, 2013
    75
    This DLC passes the fun test in a way the previous games didn't. [Sept 2013, p.97]
  7. May 22, 2013
    50
    At first glance the lack of direction appears to be a weakness, but in actuality Legendary Heroes requires you to assist it, to give it the direction it needs.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 47
  2. Negative: 6 out of 47
  1. May 24, 2013
    10
    While being far from perfect, this is the best civ-building strategy-game incorporating magic as a major feature ever made. The overhaul has improved the original Fallen Enchantress a bunch, and it has the same "just-one-more-turn" effect on me as the good civ-games have. A gem, this one. Expand
  2. omi
    May 23, 2013
    10
    A lot of improvements to its base game. Especially graphic haul is impressive.
    I strongly recommend this to any fan of turn based strategy
    game and tactical battles.
    Game play is fun details are amazing. AI seems a little bit feeble at the moment I have experienced but I haven't tried high settings.
    I applaud developers for sticking with their game, and making it shine I hope they deserve the well earned recognition for this.
    Expand
  3. Jul 18, 2013
    9
    Great game similar to Civ and HoMM. Previous titles in the series were plagued with bugs and poor mechanics but it looks like Legendary Heroes finally pulled off what the series was trying to be the entire time. My only complaint is that the AI does dwindle in the late game which means that if you make it that far without getting taken out then you're probably going to win regardless. That said, you have to make it to that point first, and the AI is quite good during the early to mid game. Expand
  4. May 22, 2013
    9
    Outstanding! If you like the mod for Civ 4 called Fall from Heaven 2 then you should like this. It was developed by the same guy and now backed by a reputable company in Stardock. This is Civ 4 set in a fantasy realm and done very well.

    The graphics might look a little cartoony but who cares. So did Borderlands, X-Com, and Torchlight. I'll take a point off for diplomacy as it could use a little love but not a biggie. The game is stable and runs smooth. And above all else...it's a finished product. (are you listening StarDrive?)

    Honestly, I have no idea what game the reviewer from Thunderbolt played. "Building an army is a complex endeavor?" What? I want to build a Spearman...click. Done. Ok, now I want to build Spearmen riding a horse...click, click. Done. Did the reviewer think that Civ 4 or 5 was complex?

    Folks, if you like 4x games then this is a good addition to your library.
    Expand
  5. May 26, 2013
    8
    Very goox fantasy 4x game that should appeal to fans of Master of Magic, Warlords, Heroes of Might and Magic, and Age of Wonders. Pretty deep content with the option to design your own units, CIV like city building, Tactical combat, and lots of RPG-like optional side quests. I've found myself awake later than I intended to be, and the first thing I did after completing my first game is start again. That's a pretty good indication of quality there.

    I was extremely disappointed in the original Elemental game (How could anyone not have been?) and am happy to report that this is nothing like it. This is the game that I wanted to play back then, and I can easily recommend it.
    Expand
  6. May 22, 2013
    7
    I'd rather put 7.5 but the system doesn't work like that. This game is pretty good but the combat gets old pretty quick in my opinion. After a certain point in the game your troops roll over everything with many instances of one shot kills and its pretty easy to get all your troops to move first so very often the other side does not even get to fight back. The RPG part of the game is pretty good, I wish there was greater number of weapons and armor. The city building is also just ok. The races are all really similar; everyone really looks the same. After a few I only play small maps anymore (I have around 40 hours in the game). Late game gets super boring. Expand
  7. Sep 30, 2013
    0
    Legendary heroes is a step backwards to me. I liked recruiting things on the map not handed to me or the ai on a silver platter. Fallen Entrantress was progressing along quite fine until they jumped backwards two steps. Also my pride and joy the beastmaster is worthless not in favor of some summoning snobs...pfft. Collapse

See all 47 User Reviews