Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 65 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Get fuelled up and prepare to race and explore the world's largest ever racing environment - over 5,000 square miles of spectacular wilderness. Set to revolutionise multi-terrain, multi-vehicle racing, FUEL is a fiercely competitive game without boundaries. On and off-road, two and four-wheeled vehicles race a massively diverse environment, from scaling the highest snow-capped mountain to racing the deepest arid canyon. In a fictional present, vast swathes of the United States have been ravaged by the extreme effects of accelerated global warming: tornados, brush fires, hurricanes and tsunamis have driven people from their homes leaving huge areas of America abandoned. Now these dangerous areas have created the perfect playground for a new breed of adrenaline junkies who set out to conquer each other, and Mother Nature, in closely fought races. There are over 70 different vehicles with which to take on any challenge that FUEL’s stunning environment throws at you. On-road and off-road bikes, cars, quads, trucks, buggies and dragsters take dangerous short-cuts, perform death-defying jumps and tear through spectacular cross-over points. FUEL's landscape is powered by cutting-edge technology and, using satellite data, features some of the most exciting and inspiring areas of America - including the Grand Canyon, Yosemite National Park, Mount Rainier and much more. In FUEL, if you can see it, you can drive to it, taking any route - on or off-road - that you want. With a draw distance of 40KM, 100,000 miles of roads, tracks and trails and hundreds of race events FUEL’s epic world demands to be explored. [Codmasters] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. You want Bikes, ATVs, Muscle Cars, SUVs, Buggies, Trucks…they’re all in here, along with every conceivable type of race set across thousands of miles of populated ultra-realistic topography, complete with dynamic weather. And it all looks and plays spectacularly. Unless you’re looking for an authentic hard core sim, there’s no reason you shouldn’t leave right now, and even if you are, a little FUEL might just change your mind.
  2. Even if some of the fundamental stuff has been sacrificed to the creation of this huge world, Fuel still makes it across the finish line on a far-from-empty tank. [July 2009, p.97]
  3. Impressive as the scale and visuals are as a technical achievement, the game itself is little more than a hollow shell. [Aug 2009, p.90]
  4. It's professor Rubbish AI and his evil sidekick Shite Physics. [Sept 2009, p.60]
  5. Simple concept, simple name, simple game. Here you have your driving wheel and nearly endless (and rather empty) racing sandbox with suspiciously behaving opponents. [Aug 2009]
  6. Ten thousand square kilometers of crushing solitude. You drive on a track poorly lit by a full moon, and you desperately long for something interesting to happen. But no, there are no surprises at all.
  7. FUEL is a big world of promise, but sadly it can't deliver most of them. [Issue#23, p.54]

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 28
  2. Negative: 9 out of 28
  1. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Just another game that's proof of a lot of winey game now.. graphics are awesome the whole idea kicks ass and it a huge massive very big open world where you can go anywhere.. enter races of challenges and unlock sweet stuff.. boring? maybe the reviewer should actually race against other people instead free ride and then write a review Expand
  2. Jul 25, 2013
    8
    Fuel, with all its faults is an extraordinary game. Many have said it all looks the same I disagree, you need to drive and the scenery changes. The demo should have been red rocks zone, they would have sold a lot more games. Yes the AI is hokey and there is no hood or view. Sill many of the races are quite epic. The racing is very arcade, while the world is Sim. Some races are tough and almost have a puzzle quality to them. Some races require the right car and take the right short cuts to win. Some races are easy. There are over 70 different tracks, one review said there were few tracks, what game is he playing? The graphics on PC with a good card are very good, setup in card configuration overriding the games settings. Immediately download the mods from the internet, which corrects many car handling and AI issues, as well as gives you accesses to all cars (when you can afford them) and free fast movement to all tracks, helipads, etc. Its not completely cheating, you still have to win the races, but you see what this game has to offer quickly. I first played the xbox version and put in about 120 hrs. I opened all areas and did 90% of the races. Then I got the PC version with my new gaming pc and it is fantastic, especially with the MODs even more so. I just love driving around and have spent most my time doing that. Although racing can be quite challenging and fun. Its cheap, give it a shot I love it, and I have nearly all the other racing games too, like dirt, grid, forza, etc, etc. Oh yeah, I use a playseat and a cheap wheel. It really is different then any game out there. Expand
  3. Sep 13, 2013
    8
    update edit: Have about 80 hours in Fuel. Enjoyed it very much. Lots of different vehicles that all handle differently, and races across lots of different terrains offroad/onroad.

    original review 12-20-2011: I am so glad I downloaded this game from Steam and played it. I was interested in some things I read about the huge world, free rides in an open world, and it just sounded cool to me. This has become my favorite game on steam for a while now. I can't explain why, but it keeps pulling me back. I like the races and challenges it's particularly good to help the learning curve for someone like myself who's not a hardcore gamer or hardcore racing fan, but the pacing is great and the free ride aspect in a big open world makes it fun for me just to go ride around and get better driving my different vehicles.

    I remember riding around in a thunderstorm last night and pulling up under an abandoned barn on a faraway hillside and just watching it rain and watching the thunder and lightning light up the landscape. It really is a beautiful game that gives a lot back if you like to explore.

    I've only played about 8-10 hours on steam so far, but something about the game makes me want to get better, and driving around the countryside, be it on-road, off-road, make-your-own-road approach is rewarding in-and-of itself. BTW- there a tons of races and challenges for those who are goal oriented, but if you're free-riding it's also fun to try to figure out how to jump that old building on the side of the road also.
    Expand
  4. Jun 8, 2012
    6
    Positive:
    Very huge area to explore. Graphics are impressive. Lot of cars.

    Negative:
    After while its just very boring. Multiplayer isn't
    available in every country. Sound effects are terrible. Area needs more details. Music is very repetitive and there are only few tracks. Expand
  5. Apr 26, 2011
    6
    You've heard others say it... I'll be saying the same. The game is just like an open world... that's it. I just felt so... lonely. Plus the world wasn't really that exciting to explore because it was all the same almost everywhere. I got it on Steam for 5 dollars... now I wish I could trade it for GRID. That was a much better game. It was all on confined race tracks, but each track looked different enough so that it wasn't getting barring. When a game talks about how large it's play area is and all the screen shots look nearly the same, there's something wrong. Expand
  6. Aug 7, 2013
    4
    As far as open world racers go, the available terrain is huge. And that's about it. The landscape may be huge, but it's insanely boring. Fortunately, you can fast-travel to different regions (and I'll leave it up to debate whether that defeats the purpose of being open world). The physics is lacking, but seeing as it's an arcade racer, that's not exactly all that damning. However, there is a complete lack of any sense of speed; you rarely have any idea how fast you're going unless it's obviously under 20 mph.
    Really, though, the biggest problem with this game is the number of races required to unlock new areas, and the computer AI. You need to perfect (three-star difficulty) about 55 races to unlock the whole world, which may not seem bad at first, but the races are repetitive and the AI seems to be more interested in wrecking you than it does winning the race. Oh, and I should also mention that the AI racers explode off the start line at speeds you literally cannot match, and then you play catch-up for the rest of the race.
    As a slight addition to my earlier review, I've been playing this game a bit more in my free time, and I have to say that the AI has really driven me to loath this game. Allow me to present a specific case: I've been working on one of the races you need to beat on the highest difficulty for an achievement, and the gimmick to this one is there is a tornado in front of you that obscures your view and occasionally drops some obstacles onto the road ahead. Now this may sound cool, but let me assure you, it is not. Imagine if you will, leading for the entire seven minute race--but suddenly, 20 feet from the finish line, the tornado drops a car literally right on top of you (you have no chance to dodge it), causing you to crash and lose the race (since this game considers anything other than first place a loss). Sound bad? Well imagine that happening four consecutive times at varying points within the race. There's something to be said for having a challenge, and then there's the game giving you the finger and wasting your time.
    Expand
  7. May 5, 2011
    2
    Big area, most of the time is spend driving to pick up all the stuff. Vehicles don't handle very well, quite sluggish and slow. It's a big open area, with nothing really worth seeing. All of the few buildings are copied and pasted in other locations, and everything is really quite bland. As mentioned, it feels like a tech demo to see how such a world would work. Well, point proven, it runs. As for things to do, there's not much. The open-world aspects are really more limited than you'd think, as driving off steep cliffs can get you reset so easily. Just very boring, and often it asks you to drive these long bland trails to get points access new bland trails to drive. Rinse and repeat. Snooze in between. Glad it was only in a big pack of other real racing games including Grid, which made it worthwhile. If you want open-world racing, get Burnout Paradise and have some fun. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews