How to Survive Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 203 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Featuring a robust crafting system, unique survival guide and a host of playable characters, How to Survive strands players on a remote archipelago off the coast of Colombia in the aftermath of an unexplained accident...but you're not alone. In order to survive, you must fulfill the most basic of needs - seeking out food, water and shelter, as well as crafting dozens of tools and weapons from fishing rods to Molotov cocktails. Players can also team up with other survivors in local and online multiplayer story and challenge modes to take on a growing array of the infected. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. Nov 20, 2013
    91
    There are no areas where How to Survive really stumbles, and there are plenty of areas where it shines. The combat flows well, though ranged seems to be a better idea than melee, and the enemy variety keeps things from becoming stale.
  2. Nov 6, 2013
    72
    My initially negative impression started to melt away when I reached the second island. I don’t blame myself too much for that, as the game’s presentation at that stage is kind of bland and uninviting and especially its God-awful music needed switching off immediately. But sticking around a little longer, I started to appreciate what the game was trying to achieve; combining the therapeutic fun of slaying zombies with requiring players to apply their brain and look for ways to survive tomorrow as well as today.
  3. Oct 30, 2013
    70
    How to Survive's story can be played quickly, so the two-player co-op and the Challenges are a buyer's best option to extend the play time. That's the only way the average player will be able to explore all the seemingly inconsequential upgrade options and power-ups and not feel bored.
  4. Dec 30, 2013
    62
    Other rickety spots aside, How To Survive’s biggest issue is that it doesn’t do enough to keep you engaged across its short, repetitive campaign.
  5. Nov 21, 2013
    60
    How to Survive is more or less a minimalistic RPG bringing nothing new to the table. Fans of the zombie theme will like it as long as they are not bored by the game's repetitive setting, limited combat system and wasted potential of crafting.
  6. Oct 23, 2013
    54
    It's an adequate twin-stick shooter, and a few years ago that might have been enough. With so many zombie games out there now though, one this uncommitted to its own ideas can never hope to be more than just part of the horde.
  7. Oct 22, 2013
    40
    Attractive in its original idea, How To Survive could have been more fun if it was not as lopsided: the gameplay is cagey and the game is quite repetitive. There is still a multiplayer mode, and battles are sometimes letting off steam.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 41
  2. Negative: 6 out of 41
  1. Oct 23, 2013
    10
    Disclaimer: after 4 hours of playing! Amazing survival game with a lot of amusing moments and more than a decent crafting system!! Some animations could use a bit of a work, but everything else is just there! I haven't had such fun for quite a while!! Expand
  2. Dec 25, 2013
    9
    i don't know why peoples rating this game bad.this game is different experience with good survival tactics and great crafting system though map is little bit of small and some animation may wanna be worked Expand
  3. Oct 25, 2013
    9
    Top down Zombie shooter with a craft system. I prefer this to Dead Island, and the 2 player Co-Op is hilarious because friendly fire cannot be turned off. Crafting doesn't pause the game in Co-Op, and really I wouldn't even bother with the game if there wasn't Co-Op. First map (out of 8 I believe?) took me 44 minutes with a friend.

    Seriously fun with a friend. Grab it while it's on sale.
    Expand
  4. Oct 25, 2013
    7
    I can understand the criticisms of the game, but to me it represents less a "missed opportunity" than a fun, well-realized game on its own merits. It's got more freedom than the PSN's "Dead Nation" or the lacking "Zombies Must Die," and while it definitely borrows elements from other games (crafting is basically Dead Island style, as is weapon durability, etc.) it nonetheless presents a fun, if somewhat casual, survival game in a zombie setting. Yes, it is easy and gets easier to survive; yes, playing to min/max means you'll probably end up just using some super-weapon that kills everything easily instead of experimenting with the broad variety of craftable weapons. The difficulty curve is much less steep than the rate at which you learn the mechanics of the game. It isn't hard, but it is, and this is why I believe it deserves a rating "in the green," quite fun. It's clearly an independently developed title, there's no mistaking that, and perhaps it's moderately overpriced for the level of content it will offer most players, but it's still a fun experience in that sort of smashing-bubble-wrap kind of way (to borrow a term from IGN's review). It won't change your life or ask much of you; and some will be put off by the very idea of a casual survival game. But if you have half an hour to kill, you can spend it killing zombies in a sandboxy world with a lot of variety in ways to inflict final death onto those temporarily only mostly dead; and that's enough to make it worth the price of entry for me. Expand
  5. Oct 25, 2013
    7
    "How to Survive" is basically "Dead Island" packaged as an isometric perspective twin-stick shooter, but it doesn't take itself as seriously. The gameplay is good and responsive and the fighting feels right: you're tough and fast, but by no means invincible. There's no camera control and no way to rotate the view, which is primitive by today's standards and leads to parts of the map that are permanently hidden. The crafting adds nice variety without overly complicating the game like in "Far Cry 3". The skills aren't very exciting, but they don't hurt the game either. The humor is cutesy, but forced and unoriginal. Kovac, the author of the survival manual, is a blatant rip-off of Marcus in Borderlands. I have two complaints. The first is that you can't remap the controller buttons. Only laziness can explain this in a game that's released in 2013. The second is that it uses checkpoints instead of actual saves. Again, that's just pure laziness. But what's worse is that it's not clear where and when the checkpoints occur, so you don't know when it's safe to exit the game. But overall, while this game isn't stellar, looks and plays like a game from 10 years ago, and won't win any GOTY awards, it's still well made enough that someone who likes the zombie genre (and isn't fed up with it) will enjoy it. Expand
  6. Mar 29, 2014
    6
    It's a twin-stick shooter that could've been much better if it didn't have auto-aim and such a silly story to tell. Maps are kinda average and they give this game a very linear overall feeling. Crafting system is the best thing I could point out. Fun in co-op, decent in solo. Expand
  7. Oct 30, 2013
    0
    This game was advertised as multiplayer co-op and it's not. May all liars burst into flame; they stole my money.

    The idea of surviving by
    making cool things from items found in the environment is great, but the execution on this idea is abysmal. It really has the feel of a High School project.

    The gameplay is dull and repetitive, the spawns are infinite giving everything you do a pointless feel.
    Building things might be interesting, except they managed to take all mystery out of that process.
    Expand

See all 41 User Reviews