• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 290 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the wake of the spectacular events in Might & Magic Heroes VI, you will play in a party of four adventurers entangled in intrigue and political machinations unfolding in and around Karthal. The city, on the verge of secession, is prey to competing factions vying for its control. YourIn the wake of the spectacular events in Might & Magic Heroes VI, you will play in a party of four adventurers entangled in intrigue and political machinations unfolding in and around Karthal. The city, on the verge of secession, is prey to competing factions vying for its control. Your actions will determine the fate of the city. Might & Magic X Legacy is an authentic solo experience in the classic first-person RPG genre. Create and lead your group into an exciting world and battle powerful mythical creatures while collecting ancient magical treasures. Through a turn-based gameplay system, defeat creatures and bosses to accomplish unique quests and make your way through dangerous dungeons, cities and labyrinths full of traps. Dive into vintage Might & Magic and play old school, new rules. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. 100
    From the second that I stepped into the game's world and into the first village that would become a base of operation for a few subsequent hours, I was hooked as wave after wave of nostalgia hit me.
  2. Jan 30, 2014
    82
    Legacy is the "return of the old-school rpg”. The turn based combat is well done, but not perfectly balanced. The development of the four hero-characters, chosen from 12 playable classes, is motivating, because there is much room to specialize them. The story is classic fantasy stuff, mostly told within text windows. Some technical issues like the bad performance in the open-world areas can be frustrating sometimes. But in the end, Legacy offers much old fashioned and charming rpg content from good old M&M-days.
  3. Jan 24, 2014
    80
    It's my new favorite installment in the series, and it offers a great example of how to update old-fashioned RPG mechanics for the present day.
  4. Jan 23, 2014
    70
    A bit buggy and a bit uninventive, but a loving, enjoyable tribute to RPGs of olde.
  5. Mar 12, 2014
    70
    The pros and cons of Might and Magic X: Legacy are more straightforward here than they tend to be for the series.
  6. Feb 3, 2014
    65
    For the people of the nostalgic factor, Might & Magic X Legacy is a great game. It does, however, have no story whatsoever and feels quite outdated. Legacy is a game for a certain group of people.
  7. Jan 26, 2014
    50
    Authentically retro but then many games are these days and Legacy’s dungeon-crawling action is not nearly as entertaining as the best of its rivals.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 97
  2. Negative: 26 out of 97
  1. Jan 25, 2014
    10
    I started playing this and could not stop. I only paused to write this review and then I'm getting right back into it again.

    This game is
    I started playing this and could not stop. I only paused to write this review and then I'm getting right back into it again.

    This game is retro done right - no weird art styles to make the game "look" retro, instead they took an old game system and rejuvenated it . The entire game is turn based - in dungeons and overworld. And every step has to be thought about. The fights are brutally hard, even on adventurer level. If you don't think about every choice, you're going to die.

    The loot is interesting. The battles are fun. The enemies are varied. The overworld has a lot of interesting stuff - exploration pays off, that square of land a few steps away may contain some loose dirt that needs to be dug in, or a hidden shrine to some god tucked away on the side that will give you valuable benefits you may *need* to get past the next fight.

    Fights are tough but fair. Magic is interesting. Character/racial choices have a huge effect on gameplay - for example some characters may only be able to get to "novice" on swordplay, whereas someone else may be able to become a grand master. (There are four levels: Novice, expert, master, grandmaster, for every skill.) If you particularly want a grandmaster healer, you better pick the right race AND occupation.

    There are a few minor blemishes - movements keys are set up so that WASD, rather than being what most people are probably used to, is Forward/Left/Backward/Right. But as the keys are reconfigurable you can fix this in seconds. Also on the overworld map trees spin in place each time you take a step. Minor stuff indeed.

    What you need to know is, this game is FUN. Not because it's retro, but because it's tough but fair and thought is rewarded. It's as if chess and D&D had a beautiful baby.

    If you like RPG's or if you like strategy, TRY THIS GAME.

    I can't wait to see what the devs do next. I congratulate them for a wonderful first outing and I'm really hoping they do an M&M XI.
    Collapse
  2. Feb 19, 2014
    10
    When I finally decided to buy this game, I was a little bit wary having read a lot of mixed critics and user reviews. I believe Might & MagicWhen I finally decided to buy this game, I was a little bit wary having read a lot of mixed critics and user reviews. I believe Might & Magic X is a great game (considering also its low budget), and a worthy successor to the older ones of the series. The gameplay still remains very addictive, true to its roots and personally, I find the graphics pretty good considering that high - end visual results is not something you are looking for in a game like this. If you are a fan of the Might & Magic universe (or the good old turn-based RPGs) you really have to try this one. If not... this is your chance people! This game is really worth it! ;) Expand
  3. Jan 23, 2014
    9
    This is a fantastic return to form for the classic M&M franchise. This returns to the series roots of turn based, strategic, grid basedThis is a fantastic return to form for the classic M&M franchise. This returns to the series roots of turn based, strategic, grid based gameplay. These classic elements enhance strategy over twitch reflexes and promote deep character promotion. Experimentation with party builds and a decent range of skills have been generally missing in the last decade of gaming and its great to see these come back. The fresh and cartoony graphics are rather enjoyable (given a reportedly limited budget) but really help throw the series into this decade. All in all a great game for people who love a serious RPG classic! Expand
  4. Aug 29, 2013
    8
    I'm a huge fan of Heroes of Might & Magic series, discovered Legend of Grimrock lately. Must admit that Might & Magic X is a great mix betweenI'm a huge fan of Heroes of Might & Magic series, discovered Legend of Grimrock lately. Must admit that Might & Magic X is a great mix between old school RPG and Heroic Fantasy game! Definitely a good choice for every old school RPG fan.

    Definitely happy with the Early Access thing. I'm giving feedbacks to developers on the game, hope they'll take into account the tweaks I've been asking for. But if they do we'll have a true RPG.
    Expand
  5. Sep 8, 2013
    7
    This game is still in Alpha. It won't be release till next year. I'm only writing this review to tell potential purchasers of this gameThis game is still in Alpha. It won't be release till next year. I'm only writing this review to tell potential purchasers of this game (which will be released NEXT year) to ignore the reviews so far (especially the low scores).

    Anybody who reviews an unreleased game, in Alpha stage yet, needs to be ignored like the plague. After the game comes out, then I'd listen to those reviews. Why Metacritic allows reviews long before a game is even released is beyond me.
    Expand
  6. Jul 19, 2014
    5
    Interesting RPG system. But who balanced hard mode?! "Your mage has 90 hp? Take and handle 204d mg from regular enemy!" Oneshot, with noInteresting RPG system. But who balanced hard mode?! "Your mage has 90 hp? Take and handle 204d mg from regular enemy!" Oneshot, with no chance to win. Expand
  7. Jan 8, 2015
    0
    Harsh title, but whole heartedly deserved - Initially I had high hopes for MMX as I've been a long time fan of the series since the early 90s,Harsh title, but whole heartedly deserved - Initially I had high hopes for MMX as I've been a long time fan of the series since the early 90s, but MMX makes me question the developers ideas because they simply do not work period. Some of the worst aspects are combat related, such as being locked into combat and no monsters are in the local area, a bug that STILL has not been fixed, this particular bug occurs because of the ridiculously decision to make the combat turn based, where as the previous games was all psedo-turn based meaning you could move your party/pause the game and attack. MMx locks you into a fight to the death once monsters reach a certain distance from your character, unfortunately I've had this bug out far too many times forcing a reload to a previous point to fix - not to mention this particular type of combat also punishes the players rather harshly against ranged monsters, because you sometimes can't move into melee range!! Absurd but true!! Honestly - the person who thought up this mechanic should be fired because its one of the serious gamebreaking issues MMx has.

    If your a veteran of the MM series, you'll know that skill points are valuable but in previous games you had somewhat leeway into making some mistakes with your builds, MMx forces you into very specific builds and characters classes otherwise you could literally become stuck in game without the ability to progress either because of bosses being too difficult or some encounters completely overpowering your characters, so creating your party requires very careful planning and even more careful skill point allocation.

    Another major problem MMx is balance, or lack off it. The balance problems are so bad that I don't think the game was ever playtested properly. Overall game difficulty is another issue as it wildly increases/decreases, for instance you don't know the level of any monsters and since they cut corners with monsters design (they just re-color) the difference in color of a monster could mean that you have your entire party one-shotted or you one-shot the monster. But for the most part, you'll die ALOT when exploring, so save literally before every encounter. Because a typical scenerio when exploring is...kill basic monsters...no problems...oh new monster!! Game Over...reload, avoid area until higher level, it happens far too often which makes me wonder if this development team ever played any of the original might and magic games...

    I could write on and on about all the complaints and issues I have with this game, but this is one of those games you're either going to love it, or hate it. I just don't recommend this game to anyone who easily gets frustrated. It is also especially time consuming because MMx also suffers from excessive loading, with entering buildings/inns...loading...enter/leaving areas...more loading...entering dungeons/new floors...more loading.

    Basically, This game needs to have the movement lock removed as that would solve many of the issues.
    Expand

See all 97 User Reviews