Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 71 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ridge Racer Unbounded takes the Ridge Racer series in whole new direction by adding a dose of destruction to the familiar arcade gameplay.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. May 10, 2012
    85
    Unbounded is a part of a franchise strongly associated with consoles but somehow turns out to be average on X360 and one of the best arcade racing games in years on PC. On PC it just plays better (even with a keyboard!) and is extremely rewarding. [June 2012, p.66]
  2. Apr 2, 2012
    85
    Unbounded may not have much to do with the things that defined Ridge Racer, but if you can get over that, you'll discover an energetic, entertaining racer, with gratifyingly destructive environments, challenging gameplay and interesting online. Ridge Racer was due for a reboot, and here it is.
  3. May 1, 2012
    80
    Confounds your expectations to create a racing game as much about finesse as destroying buildings.
  4. May 16, 2012
    68
    If you love demanding arcade racing games, heavy on OCD, give it a chance, as soon as its price is lowered. Otherwise, you can find much better games of the genre out there. [May 2012]
  5. Apr 23, 2012
    65
    An urban version of Split/Second from the creators of FlatOut. This sentence evokes two distinctly different feelings, depending on when you read it, before or after playing Ridge Racer Unbounded.
  6. Mar 31, 2012
    60
    Sure, the PC version looks prettier in high-res and runs at a higher frame rate, but it feels like the game's logic can barely keep up with the fast frame rates I was getting, causing an unsettling jerky feeling throughout the game - even though the frame rates were doing just fine.
  7. 60
    Actually, Bugbear missed pretty much all its marks: destroying opponents isn't as fun as the Burnout takedowns; ruining the city has nothing of the adrenaline and the real danger and satisfaction from Split/Second; drifting is one more stress factor and the decision to dominate races is motivated by the points and not by the thrill of the competition. So while this mix is theoretically perfect, in reality it's just not good enough for you to spend too much time in Shutter Bay.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 20
  2. Negative: 7 out of 20
  1. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    For fans of flatout it is a perfect game ! Game is well optimized , for fact that it has so awesome graphic. It isjust good and funy arcade. i would recomended to all flatout players :) Expand
  2. May 15, 2012
    10
    It's not a 10 game but I find that superficial reviews need some balancing.

    The actual note is 8 for this. Really fun but it's a bit weird
    when you first play it.

    Expecting the following games : Burnout, Flatout, NFS even Ridge Racer is a mistake. The combined elements make for a unique experience that begins to be rewarding after some plays.

    When you get around the game mechanics you'll have fun I promise you!
    Expand
  3. Mar 31, 2012
    8
    There is a lot of cars, races and cities in this game. The graphic is cool and mods are very fun. This game is better than Split/second so it is 9/10 for me. And I love like some races aren´t easy like in NFS. I mean you will have to restart them. I think I never pressed restart button in NFS. I expected a funny arcade game like Flatout 2 and I got it! And you can build your tracks. It is amazing. Expand
  4. Apr 4, 2012
    7
    TL;DR Split/Second, not Ridge Racer

    This is far from a Ridge Racer game. Ridge Racer Unbounded's mechanics are solid (aside from the
    drifting), and it's just as much fun to frag other players and blow everything up. The problem is where the feel of the game fits the developer's other titles, and not a Ridge Racer one. It's a nice game coming from Split/Second Velocity, but if you've played and enjoyed previous Ridge Racer games stay away from this one. Expand
  5. Jun 14, 2013
    5
    Interesting racing game with a god-awful driving controls. A truly unplayable mess.
    Get it on discount, its not worth it. There are far
    better racing games. Expand
  6. Apr 18, 2012
    5
    A simple arcade game. Choose a race from the menu, choose your car, try to end the race in 1st place. They've tried to throw more aspects here and there but in the end haven't succeeded in creating something truly awesome or memorable. Nothing really special about this title: Ridge Racer Unbounded don't have serious flaws but it also don't present anything new or special. I would only recommend this game to people who have nothing else to play with. Expand
  7. Feb 1, 2014
    1
    I wouldn't even begin to associate this....game (not the word I'd use for it)..with anything remotely 'flatout' related. Instead I see it as being Namco/Bugbear's horrible attempt at trying so hard to be another Burnout that they thought they'd include the buildings and everything else almost within some kind of twisted logic or reason - Burnout didn't do half as much to promote bad driving as this game does though, smash into everything you like when you like but for some odd reason, you will hit a wall and come to a stop. Yet you can destroy pretty large targets - like stationary lorries, or even an entire petrol station, which completely negates any comment about logic.

    Not the best Ridge Racer I've ever seen. In fact, I would not even begin to think about recommending it.
    Tries to be a lot of fun, but I didn't think it was a lot of fun, not least because I thought it perhaps wasn't intended for gamers of my spritely age (no I'm not telling you, yes I'm probably old enough to be your dad or your grandad).
    Graphically, it was okay, I wouldn't say it was the best I've ever seen, but it was presentable.
    In terms of control, well.....keyboard control always seems to be a...bugbear ?...with what look to be obvious console ports, and this is no exception, you either ARE hitting space to drift, or you are NOT. And then what ensues is a maddeningly horrible display of skidpan chicanery. I would really not buy this game if you are too seriously into the 'grown up' version of racing (NFS Shift 2 / F1 Twothousandandwhatever) but if you really do like just having fun and don't mind losing an immense number of races to get anywhere because you don't have a gamepad, or simply because you aren't that great at it, then 'Shatter Bay' (hardly imaginative title), is probably a good place to be, but I wouldn't bank on it.
    Expand

See all 20 User Reviews