Sid Meier's Civilization V PC

Sid Meier's Civilization V Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2391 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: With over nine million units sold worldwide, and unprecedented critical acclaim from fans and press around the world, Sid Meier's Civilization is recognized as one of the greatest strategy franchises of all-time. Now, Firaxis Games will take this incredibly fun and addictive strategy game toWith over nine million units sold worldwide, and unprecedented critical acclaim from fans and press around the world, Sid Meier's Civilization is recognized as one of the greatest strategy franchises of all-time. Now, Firaxis Games will take this incredibly fun and addictive strategy game to unprecedented heights by adding new ways to play and win; new tools to manage and expand your civilization; extensive modding capabilities; and intensely competitive multiplayer options. Civilization V will come to life in a beautifully detailed, living world that will elevate the gameplay experience to a whole new level making it a must-have for gamers around the globe! Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Sid Meier's Civilization V - Civilization and Scenario Pack: Korea - DLC Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. My favorite Civilization to date. Hex tiles and no stacking makes combat fun and more tactical. The new systems work incredibly well without altering what makes the game Civilization. Civ V is an excellent game.
  2. It's very hard to describe a Civilization game in great detail without starting to ramble. If you take nothing else from this review, know that Civilization V is more inviting, fun, and engrossing than any lengthy description can truly convey.
  3. This is Civilization at its best and over time it will ripen like a fine wine and become a masterpiece. 2K Games have outdone themselves in making some massive changes without changing the core gameplay and alienating their fans.
  4. Excellent tactical battles and a slick interface make the latest Civilization another wonderful addition to a classic franchise.
  5. The most significant sequel in Civilization history maintains all of the series' most intriguing features while greatly improving the accessibility and combat.
  6. It's still not very accessible to non-grognards, and it's still fairly boring when it comes to multiplayer (turn-based games just involve too much waiting around for other people to finish up). But it's also still incredibly addictive, begging you to stay up just five minutes more, just to see what happens in the next turn.
  7. 50
    Unfortunately, it also features some questionable design decisions, an A.I. that can't play the game Firaxis has designed, and the need for a couple of patches.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 22, 2010
    10
    A fantastic addition to the Civ franchise. My greatest complaint with previous Civ games, which I've been playing since 1991, was that largeA fantastic addition to the Civ franchise. My greatest complaint with previous Civ games, which I've been playing since 1991, was that large armies were extremely unwieldy and frustrating to manage. Sea transportation logistics were also a frustrating time sink. Both of these problems have been solved with Civ V. Everything about the game screams polish and it runs like an absolute dream, haven't had a hitch yet which is becoming so rare with new releases. Expand
  2. Jun 24, 2015
    10
    A wonderful strategy/simulation game, this is what strategy game should be and Civilization V shows us the true and classical feel ofA wonderful strategy/simulation game, this is what strategy game should be and Civilization V shows us the true and classical feel of strategy. One of Sid Meier's best Civilization game! Expand
  3. Oct 17, 2010
    9
    I played Civ 1 through 3 but unfortunately missed 4 due to World of Warcraft. I'm glad I waited for Civ 5, what an upgrade on every level.I played Civ 1 through 3 but unfortunately missed 4 due to World of Warcraft. I'm glad I waited for Civ 5, what an upgrade on every level. Amazing graphics, combat is vastly superior, the interface is much improved and easier to use. I also haven't experienced a SINGLE glitch, crash or problem - its been SOLID. If you could name your multiplayer saves and if they had included end game videos, I'd give it a 10 for sure. Great job Sid, glad you're still at the top of your game. Expand
  4. Dec 3, 2010
    8
    This game is an amazing new addition to the Civ series. The 'feel' of the game is nothing new to experienced Civ player. But do not let thisThis game is an amazing new addition to the Civ series. The 'feel' of the game is nothing new to experienced Civ player. But do not let this discourage you if you are not familiar with the series though! The game has a variety of difficulty settings, customizable rules and terms of victory to the game which makes it a fun game for the casual and more experienced player. You can choose many different civilizations with their own specializations and unique units, which can be very enjoyable to explore.The culture trees are a fun way to make long term (but not absolutely decisive) strategic decisions for your empire. The tech tree is realistic and seems to be very accurate to real world dating of similar inventions. You can have hours of game play just experimenting with all these possibilities.
    A huge upside is that the developers listen to the players carefully and consider each proposition. The patches are huge and so far added quite a few extra options to enhance game play. One major flaw however, is that, in my opinion, they made a poor choice by (already) releasing several DLC packs this soon after release of the game which could already be added to the game in the first place. (for example the map packs called 'Cradle of Civilization' released early December 2010). However, it is to be expected these days. Be reassured: the packs do not enhance or alter the game play. So, if you do not want them you won't miss them. All in all it is, and will be, one of the better turn based strategy games with a wide variate of choices and options to win the game.
    Expand
  5. Apr 12, 2011
    6
    With the fifth series the developers made some radical changes for the civilization series, including some bold new choices. I spent a longWith the fifth series the developers made some radical changes for the civilization series, including some bold new choices. I spent a long time playing the game before commenting as it is difficult to review a classic franchise. The best improvement is the combat system. Combat is now on a hex system. One army per hex. Ranged units can fire from hexes away but are generally weaker from attack, making the organization of your army critical. Non fast units move as fast like scouts in prior game (2 hexes over open ground, 1 hex over rough terrain), which makes terrain important. One bad change, and a baffling design choice, is the UI. In Civ 4 the UI told you everything you needed to know. You could tell how you were doing in points, and could hold your pointer over a resource to instantly know how many you have. No longer, for some reason. Advisors are back, but they only give general advice that most experienced civ players should already know. They are not an adequate replacement for Civ 4's excellent information screens. Cities take much more time to produce both buildings and units. Which means you must be selective about what you build. I can see why this was done, but the effect is that the game feels much slower than its predecessors. Happiness is now an empire wide trait. Instead of having happy and unhappy cities, every city has an equal amount of happiness which rises and falls together. Unfortunately, this means that a game of conquest and annexing conquered cities (which is now much harder, as cities take several turns to fall and can defend themselves with ranged attacks) can cripple your entire kingdom. This also slows down the game. I'd give this game a hesitant recommendation. I would also strongly advise having a very fast hard drive if you wish to play on any map beyond the smallest. Expand
  6. Nov 10, 2013
    4
    This game is an insult to the Civilization series, compared to Civilization 4 it lacks the depth of gameplay and has some serious balancingThis game is an insult to the Civilization series, compared to Civilization 4 it lacks the depth of gameplay and has some serious balancing issues as well as containing AI that don't know how to play. As a stand alone game it isn't too brilliant either, with the game revolving around playing as the best civilizations and getting wonders which are overpowered the fastest. The rest of the features one would expect from a Civilization game were released in the form of DLC meaning the vanilla Civ 5 is an incomplete game. I do frequently play this online as my friends moved to it from other Civilization titles however we can agree this game is flawed. A terrible disappointment. Expand
  7. Jun 2, 2016
    0
    Civilization, more like UNcivillized, because of terrible characters, boring game play, badly paced story, an unlikable main character, andCivilization, more like UNcivillized, because of terrible characters, boring game play, badly paced story, an unlikable main character, and dull set pieces. Expand

See all 510 User Reviews