Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 477 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sniper Elite V2 will be a modern take on the critically and publically acclaimed classic Sniper Elite for the current generation of consoles – revitalising a genre all of its own when it is released in 2012.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. May 6, 2012
    80
    In closing, Sniper Elite V2 does a lot of things right. The tactical components have been well thought out, despite predictable enemy AI upsetting the balance somewhat. Minor issues aside, headshot enthusiasts and stealth fans will find much to love here.
  2. May 23, 2012
    70
    I have to admit that my expectations were much lower, but it's fun to cower in the shadows and work out the perfect way to the target and then get the timing just right.
  3. Jul 3, 2012
    70
    A ballsy take on the WWII shooter formula. [July 2012, p.65]
  4. May 10, 2012
    65
    Your level of enjoyment will be almost directly mapped to how entertaining you find the visual spectacle to be, and - for me at least - it was perfectly good fun in short bursts.
  5. Jun 5, 2012
    65
    Tactical systems and satisfying ballistics marred by irritating levels and punishing sight-detection by the enemy.
  6. May 7, 2012
    60
    It's too bad that everything outside of the sniping is so mediocre.
  7. Jun 28, 2012
    57
    Advanced ballistics system, Sniper Elite's saving grace, does not hide the game's flaws, but rather puts them out for all to see.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 132
  2. Negative: 23 out of 132
  1. May 2, 2012
    10
    The graphics are great, shooting mechanics is solid, pretty good sound. The game will intermittently send you in shooting where your shootingThe graphics are great, shooting mechanics is solid, pretty good sound. The game will intermittently send you in shooting where your shooting prowess will determine your victory. This is the kind of game where you need lots of patience, but the game is stealth shooter. Expand
  2. Jan 2, 2015
    10
    Good graphics, excellent game mechanics, good AI, clear game rules. This game requires from the player to think and plan first and only thenGood graphics, excellent game mechanics, good AI, clear game rules. This game requires from the player to think and plan first and only then shoot. WW2 Expand
  3. Jan 30, 2015
    9
    A criminally underrated game in my opinion, this game is an under appreciated classic.

    Pros: Unlike a lot of "realistic" shooters nowadays
    A criminally underrated game in my opinion, this game is an under appreciated classic.

    Pros:
    Unlike a lot of "realistic" shooters nowadays such as Battlefield and Medal of Honor, this game actually has a decent story! It is set near the end of World War 2, an American Sniper named Karl Fairburne is set out to prevent a nuclear disaster (avoiding as many spoilers as I can).
    The visuals are awesome, but slightly bland. In some levels, the lighting effects are absolutely gorgeous and the same goes for the shadows. I really felt like it immersed me in the game and really fit the tone perfectly.
    The sniping is heavenly awesome. On harder difficulties, you have to fight against wind movement, forcing you to perfectly align your shots. When you get a kill, it feels really satisfying and rewards you with a breathtaking, yet gruesome kill-cam which shows you where you hit your target.
    The narration is perfect. Whether it be during cutscenes in between missions or in the mission briefing, it is well acted and swiftly progresses the story forward.

    Cons:
    There is a multiplayer, but it isn't even worth mentioning. From my experience, it is horrible. I don't think that the gameplay style of Sniper Elite v2 fits a multiplayer atmosphere.

    Overall, I think that Sniper Elite V2 is a fantastic WW2 shooter and it really immersed me from the beginning. Multiplayer is horrible though. Maybe its better in Sniper Elite 3.

    9/10
    Expand
  4. Oct 9, 2012
    7
    Almost every aspect of this game is very polished (graphics, sound, ballistics, level design, etc). You can be hiding behind a vehicle andAlmost every aspect of this game is very polished (graphics, sound, ballistics, level design, etc). You can be hiding behind a vehicle and hear the german guards complaining about not being able to phone their wife in the midst of the Berlin invasion... that is the level of realism you get. The downside is that it becomes repetitive, and frustrating at some points. You cannot change the difficulty without starting the whole game all over again... Do not take the "elite" word in the title lightly. All in all it is a good game if you find a good price for it. Expand
  5. May 10, 2012
    6
    These are the four reasons why the game loses four points: 1) The music is just completely rubbish (sorry composer) - I even turned itThese are the four reasons why the game loses four points: 1) The music is just completely rubbish (sorry composer) - I even turned it completely off. 2) The AI seems like it belongs to a game made 10 years ago - these moronic nazi and soviet soldiers, just haven't got a clue. Killing them is no challenge at all, and ultimately not a lot of fun. Even when you have to escape from a bunch of snipers, they are pretty lame-ass. Why do they all have to just sit there and get shot? Can't they move around a bit and take up new positions when they are getting shot at? And, why is each cannon-fodder Nazi so poorly trained that they just constantly run into the line of fire, and show no signs of working together to take out a threat at all? 3) The missions themselves are really linear, and don't offer much in the way of variety or open-ness - like shooting ducks in a barrel. 4) Graphically things are ok, but still doesn't feel like you're playing a current shooter than costs £25.

    However, despite my gripes I did find myself playing away til the end (took about 6-7 hours on Medium difficulty). The kill-cam is brilliant fun, and sniping really is the name of the game as you do not last long, trying to take the baddies out with a pistol or machine-gun. One thing I will say though is if you pre-ordered, then the Assassinate the Fuhrer mission is a bit of a let down. If the game had cost less then I would actually recommend that 3PS shooter or sniper fans check it out.
    Expand
  6. Jul 4, 2012
    5
    Ok... so this is NOT NOT NOT worth the $50 paid - at least to me. I did have some fun playing in coop mode with a friend... then we were bothOk... so this is NOT NOT NOT worth the $50 paid - at least to me. I did have some fun playing in coop mode with a friend... then we were both like... that's it? This is the end of the game? I think we completed the whole game on a Sunday afternoon. I like the idea of sniping, but when you shoot one guy, and all his friends know exactly where you are from 250 meters/yards away, that sux. I like taking my time and sniping, I don't like waves of foes that know exactly where you are. Expand
  7. May 21, 2013
    0
    was not impressed with the gameplay one dimensional AI, tedious and boring missions, at times the missions were ridiculously easy at thewas not impressed with the gameplay one dimensional AI, tedious and boring missions, at times the missions were ridiculously easy at the other times ridiculously hard, navigating the map was frustrating, unrealistic. This was one of the most boring games i've played Collapse

See all 132 User Reviews