Sniper Elite V2 PC

Sniper Elite V2 Image
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 512 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sniper Elite V2 will be a modern take on the critically and publically acclaimed classic Sniper Elite for the current generation of consoles – revitalising a genre all of its own when it is released in 2012.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. May 6, 2012
    80
    In closing, Sniper Elite V2 does a lot of things right. The tactical components have been well thought out, despite predictable enemy AI upsetting the balance somewhat. Minor issues aside, headshot enthusiasts and stealth fans will find much to love here.
  2. May 23, 2012
    70
    I have to admit that my expectations were much lower, but it's fun to cower in the shadows and work out the perfect way to the target and then get the timing just right.
  3. Jul 3, 2012
    70
    A ballsy take on the WWII shooter formula. [July 2012, p.65]
  4. May 10, 2012
    65
    Your level of enjoyment will be almost directly mapped to how entertaining you find the visual spectacle to be, and - for me at least - it was perfectly good fun in short bursts.
  5. Jun 5, 2012
    65
    Tactical systems and satisfying ballistics marred by irritating levels and punishing sight-detection by the enemy.
  6. May 7, 2012
    60
    It's too bad that everything outside of the sniping is so mediocre.
  7. Jun 28, 2012
    57
    Advanced ballistics system, Sniper Elite's saving grace, does not hide the game's flaws, but rather puts them out for all to see.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 138
  2. Negative: 24 out of 138
  1. May 2, 2012
    10
    The graphics are great, shooting mechanics is solid, pretty good sound. The game will intermittently send you in shooting where your shootingThe graphics are great, shooting mechanics is solid, pretty good sound. The game will intermittently send you in shooting where your shooting prowess will determine your victory. This is the kind of game where you need lots of patience, but the game is stealth shooter. Expand
  2. Jan 2, 2015
    10
    Good graphics, excellent game mechanics, good AI, clear game rules. This game requires from the player to think and plan first and only thenGood graphics, excellent game mechanics, good AI, clear game rules. This game requires from the player to think and plan first and only then shoot. WW2 Expand
  3. Jan 30, 2015
    9
    A criminally underrated game in my opinion, this game is an under appreciated classic.

    Pros: Unlike a lot of "realistic" shooters nowadays
    A criminally underrated game in my opinion, this game is an under appreciated classic.

    Pros:
    Unlike a lot of "realistic" shooters nowadays such as Battlefield and Medal of Honor, this game actually has a decent story! It is set near the end of World War 2, an American Sniper named Karl Fairburne is set out to prevent a nuclear disaster (avoiding as many spoilers as I can).
    The visuals are awesome, but slightly bland. In some levels, the lighting effects are absolutely gorgeous and the same goes for the shadows. I really felt like it immersed me in the game and really fit the tone perfectly.
    The sniping is heavenly awesome. On harder difficulties, you have to fight against wind movement, forcing you to perfectly align your shots. When you get a kill, it feels really satisfying and rewards you with a breathtaking, yet gruesome kill-cam which shows you where you hit your target.
    The narration is perfect. Whether it be during cutscenes in between missions or in the mission briefing, it is well acted and swiftly progresses the story forward.

    Cons:
    There is a multiplayer, but it isn't even worth mentioning. From my experience, it is horrible. I don't think that the gameplay style of Sniper Elite v2 fits a multiplayer atmosphere.

    Overall, I think that Sniper Elite V2 is a fantastic WW2 shooter and it really immersed me from the beginning. Multiplayer is horrible though. Maybe its better in Sniper Elite 3.

    9/10
    Expand
  4. Aug 21, 2012
    7
    I bought Sniper Elite V2 on Steam Sale as I wanted to play a recent WWII game and trailer looked interesting. The level of authenticity of theI bought Sniper Elite V2 on Steam Sale as I wanted to play a recent WWII game and trailer looked interesting. The level of authenticity of the sniping in the game is just right for me but the enemy AI is just horrible. The enemy soldiers hang sometimes when they try to run and often take the same route just like their comrades took just a second before and got shot. Not very smart. The music int he game is also annoying. The same part repeats far too often. What I like about the game is the graphics with the excellent lightning effects. I play the game in stereoscopic 3D via native AMD HD3D support that adds even more atmosphere. Also the bullet cam is pretty cool especially in stereoscopic 3D. Expand
  5. May 14, 2012
    6
    Visually a great game, but besides the initial fun of setting up the shot and seeing the bullet cam the fun kind of drops off. It getsVisually a great game, but besides the initial fun of setting up the shot and seeing the bullet cam the fun kind of drops off. It gets repetitive and in some cases makes the game hard to play as a sniper. You get in to close quarter fights that you can only really survive by pulling out the pistol or machine gun to complete. And it amazes me that every single enemy in the area instantly knows exactly where you are once you fire a shot. In an urban setting with buildings, streets and walls, the sounds of gunfire would echo and be pretty difficult to pinpoint. A good distraction for a few hours maybe, but I'm not planning on finishing it. Buy it when it's discounted. Expand
  6. Jun 3, 2012
    5
    There is no, sniper games in recent years is really low, so Sniper Elite V2 has a chance to succeed. An interesting idea for a sniper rifle inThere is no, sniper games in recent years is really low, so Sniper Elite V2 has a chance to succeed. An interesting idea for a sniper rifle in World War 2, nicely done "kill shots" coop. It is clear however that the game is not ideal, you can see blurry textures, graphics problems, bugs, and generally FOR IN boring and ideas, it turns out that everybody else is a classic game. But if someone really loves the game sniper ... maybe a little bit like him. My rating -5/10 Expand
  7. May 21, 2013
    0
    was not impressed with the gameplay one dimensional AI, tedious and boring missions, at times the missions were ridiculously easy at thewas not impressed with the gameplay one dimensional AI, tedious and boring missions, at times the missions were ridiculously easy at the other times ridiculously hard, navigating the map was frustrating, unrealistic. This was one of the most boring games i've played Collapse

See all 138 User Reviews