Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 183 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic and the All-Stars cast battle for supremacy across land, water and air in transforming vehicles that change from cars to boats to planes mid-race.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Feb 6, 2013
    90
    Nostalgia aside, Sonic Transformed as a kart racing game is a blast to play and it comes highly recommended, especially at the reasonable Steam price of $30 (or $80 for a four-pack).
  2. Apr 1, 2013
    86
    Amazingly beautiful tracks where you race, swim and fly, sometimes changing the level as you progress through it, are what makes this game great.
  3. Mar 30, 2013
    85
    This imaginative, thrillingly fast racer is better than it has any right to be. [Apr 2013, p.107]
  4. Feb 18, 2013
    80
    Whether navigating the labyrinthine hallways of Curien’s Mansion or dodging the reptilian occupants of Death Adder’s Lair, Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed is the right kind of trip down memory lane.
  5. Jan 31, 2013
    70
    A superior Mario Kart clone and certainly the best Sega has ever produced, especially in terms of the teary-eyed nostalgia inspired by its endless retro cameos.
  6. 68
    Truth be told, this was a game made for little people and nephews, not for Sega fans. [May 2013]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 48
  2. Negative: 1 out of 48
  1. Feb 8, 2013
    10
    First off, i want to thank Sega for bringing this brilliant and extremely fun game to Pc I was looking forward to this game for a long time,First off, i want to thank Sega for bringing this brilliant and extremely fun game to Pc I was looking forward to this game for a long time, as for i really enjoyed the first one, and (fluid) race and kart games in general. I first played the demo for Ps3, but the frame rate ruined it for me. I always wanted to buy the Pc game on release, but the Pc version was delayed, and at my local game shop they told me it was cancelled. I still had hopes the Pc version would still be released, and to back that feeling up, i bought the Ps3 version, knowing i wasn't going to like it, but the main reason was, to back Sega up on this one. I installed the Ps3 version played it once, and put it on my shelf. But then there was February the first, I bought the game through steam, at a little discount, but still felt i was ripping Sega of, because i truly love this game Its awesome (I do have to say i owned the Master System through to the 32X, so you know, there's a little bit of nostalgic reasons here) I like every aspect of the game, it runs incredibly smooth on my system, the frame rate is buttery smooth, (I just had to use this saying once) the graphics sharp and crisp, (turn blur off) the sound great, music really fitting and uplifting. Games like this make me truly happy, and thankful for the fact i can still play games like this. I really laugh and smile allot when playing this game, but once i putt down my controller, my grumpy face sacks back, and my depressions kick back in again :D Times are hard... I Really would like to say to the Pc community, please buy this game If you like race and or kart games, it's brilliant I know there's allot of pirating in the Pc community, i did it allot my self, and probably will do it again, if they lock the next generation up as they are planning. This generation though, i bought EVERYTHING for my Wii, Ps3, and Pc, if you want to try it, download it, but please buy it if you like it Games like this should be supported, and i know this game will probably sell like S**t, but it DOES NOT deserve that. It's absolutely great on Pc The only thing i dislike about Pc gaming since i went back to it in 2011, after, well... about 13 years, are the damn cheaters. I don't care about offline cheating, i actually like to see what people can do, and how they can alter the game, but please don't cheat online. I well... i think i can say, pretty much suck online, but i don't cheat, i do seem to be pretty good at racing games online though, i think about average, butt i hate it when i suck online, and then lose a lot by cheaters, i don't care if i lose a lot against people who play fair, so please keep the Pc version clean online, so it can be great for everyone. Well... All and all this game rocks, it's recommended to play this game on your tv, with a controller tough, if you have the possibility to do so. I have a 120hz full hd syncmaster, but play the game on my 720p tv at 60fps, on my attic. Gonna play some more now. Game on And once more, Thanks Sega You gave me fond child hood memories. O yeah... one more thing, it's the name of the game... It's probably about marketing technical reasons, that they called the first one: Sonic and Sega All Stars racing, and the next one, Sonic and All stars racing transformed, i know the Sonic name sells, but why not call it Sega All Stars Racing 1 and 2, and just put Sonic on the cover for marketing technical reasons. Just saying... Well now i'm really gonna play some more Peace out Expand
  2. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    This game deserve a few minutes of reviewing. First of all I'm not a big console fan and I prefer simulation racing game to arcade ones. IThis game deserve a few minutes of reviewing. First of all I'm not a big console fan and I prefer simulation racing game to arcade ones. I enjoyed Mario Kart on the SNES back in the days but the further iterations were just "meh" to me because I haven't felt any great improvement over the years. I bought this kart racing game on sale to increase my Steam library and to have a casual game to play with some friends online. I'd never tough I'd get hooked like this. It actually beats Mario Kart in every aspect thanks to it's diversity, freshness and style. The artwork quality is outstanding compared to other arcade PC games and I run at a constant 60fps on a low-midrange card with everything maxed out; it's that well optimized. The gameplay is fast, responsive and the tracks are very diversified. The levels are all themes of different Sega games in history from Sega Master System up to Dreamcast along with some brilliant remastered music. The world tour mode will encourage you in many different competition to unlock every characters and the multiplayer online, or offline up to 4, will keep you playing this little arcade gem for a while.. and come back to it from time to time because there is nothing else like it on PC. If you see this on sale, you have no excuses to overlook it. Thank you Sumo Digital & Sega for the best arcade game I played until now Expand
  3. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    This game is incredibly fun! I have a very hard time understanding why anyone would rate this less than 8. If you've ever enjoyed Mario Kart,This game is incredibly fun! I have a very hard time understanding why anyone would rate this less than 8. If you've ever enjoyed Mario Kart, you will love this game.

    I've been playing Dota 2 for far too long and taking competitive gaming way too seriously. This game's classic arcade-style kart racing is a relaxing breath of fresh air. Plenty of lush, colorful levels and characters. Working through Career modes makes it fun to unlock all the characters, but you'll need to play through all the races on at least medium difficulty to beat the game.

    Obviously the powerups leave lots of the race results up to chance, but the game definitely still rewards skill. With the three different vehicle modes each character has comes a different style of handling. Driving is by far the easiest and has the tightest controls. Boating is slightly harder because the handling becomes much more floaty. Flying is the hardest, adding in the management of the z-axis.

    The core game can be learned in just a few minutes and is absolutely perfect for casual LAN parties, or people like me who just need a break from "sooper srs gaming."
    Expand
  4. Oct 21, 2014
    9
    Sega, you have done it again! Such a fun racing game! It has a variety of power ups and Racing Tracks to race on. For some reason, Sega neverSega, you have done it again! Such a fun racing game! It has a variety of power ups and Racing Tracks to race on. For some reason, Sega never makes a bad racing game (except *cough* SONIC FREE RIDERS! *cough*). So far, this is my favorite racing game from Sega because of its level variety, character variety, and visually appealing graphics. The only complaint about this game I would have is that the controls can be a bit clunky on the PC but once you get used to them, they get smoother. Overall, Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed is a huge step forward for Sega and a great racing game. Would recommend to anyone Expand
  5. Mar 30, 2013
    9
    I've always wanted a Mario Kart-like game for PC. I desperately missed just how much fun they were. I heard about this game and was told thatI've always wanted a Mario Kart-like game for PC. I desperately missed just how much fun they were. I heard about this game and was told that it's very similar so I looked it up on Steam. I then saw that it's only $30 and slammed my finger down on that Buy button. I could not be happier with this game. It's exactly what I was looking for in a kart game. The tracks are great, especially since they're constantly changing as you go through different laps. Parts of road might cave in, a flying ship might suddenly make its way into your path, or surfaces might explode, forcing you to take new paths and keeping each track fresh and fun. The powerups are similar to Mario Kart. The koopa shell is a "drone", a little remote controlled robot that targets a player and finds its way to its target. One thing I really appreciated is there isn't really a "Blue Shell" equivalent that finds the leader and gives you virtually no chance of escape. Instead it's a swarm of giant wasps that fly in front of the leader and stand in his way, forcing the leader to try and dodge the entire swarm as he weaves in and out of them. This is great because the leader is still challenged by an obstacle, but it's one that he can overcome versus a heat-seeking missile that can't be dodged like in Mario Kart. Expand
  6. Oct 1, 2013
    8
    I had never even heard of this game till i saw it in a Sonic bundle for the Steam Summer Sale. This game was the absolute highlight of theI had never even heard of this game till i saw it in a Sonic bundle for the Steam Summer Sale. This game was the absolute highlight of the bundle. This was such a unique racing experience with some pretty awesome characters. It is very fast paced, and doesn't contain just straight races throughout the campaign. The campaign is filled with other types of races and time trial-type races, which make the game more interesting. The tracks are amazing, changing their structure after each lap. The transformation aspect of this game is very unique and pulled off very well. This was a great racing game. Expand
  7. Dec 8, 2013
    1
    Absolute trash. The controls are horrible and binding don't work properly sometimes. Graphics are PATHETICLY BAD. Soundtrack? I'd rather killAbsolute trash. The controls are horrible and binding don't work properly sometimes. Graphics are PATHETICLY BAD. Soundtrack? I'd rather kill myself than listen to that drivel. Then there's the actual driving: I like all types of racing games from Blur, Gran Turismo and everything in between. But this is just not acceptable. There is literally NO DEPTH to it AT ALL! The drift mechanic is completely broken, since you accelerate AND brake at the same time and it will automatically drive for you! The only credit I can give this game is for the number of modes there are and custom games. Everything else about this game is totally terrible. If you have never played a racing game, have an IQ of 55 and are below the age of 6, you might enjoy this. Otherwise, avoid at all costs. Expand

See all 48 User Reviews