Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 185 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic and the All-Stars cast battle for supremacy across land, water and air in transforming vehicles that change from cars to boats to planes mid-race.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Feb 6, 2013
    90
    Nostalgia aside, Sonic Transformed as a kart racing game is a blast to play and it comes highly recommended, especially at the reasonable Steam price of $30 (or $80 for a four-pack).
  2. Apr 1, 2013
    86
    Amazingly beautiful tracks where you race, swim and fly, sometimes changing the level as you progress through it, are what makes this game great.
  3. Mar 30, 2013
    85
    This imaginative, thrillingly fast racer is better than it has any right to be. [Apr 2013, p.107]
  4. Feb 18, 2013
    80
    Whether navigating the labyrinthine hallways of Curien’s Mansion or dodging the reptilian occupants of Death Adder’s Lair, Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed is the right kind of trip down memory lane.
  5. Jan 31, 2013
    70
    A superior Mario Kart clone and certainly the best Sega has ever produced, especially in terms of the teary-eyed nostalgia inspired by its endless retro cameos.
  6. 68
    Truth be told, this was a game made for little people and nephews, not for Sega fans. [May 2013]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 48
  2. Negative: 1 out of 48
  1. Feb 8, 2013
    10
    First off, i want to thank Sega for bringing this brilliant and extremely fun game to Pc I was looking forward to this game for a long time,First off, i want to thank Sega for bringing this brilliant and extremely fun game to Pc I was looking forward to this game for a long time, as for i really enjoyed the first one, and (fluid) race and kart games in general. I first played the demo for Ps3, but the frame rate ruined it for me. I always wanted to buy the Pc game on release, but the Pc version was delayed, and at my local game shop they told me it was cancelled. I still had hopes the Pc version would still be released, and to back that feeling up, i bought the Ps3 version, knowing i wasn't going to like it, but the main reason was, to back Sega up on this one. I installed the Ps3 version played it once, and put it on my shelf. But then there was February the first, I bought the game through steam, at a little discount, but still felt i was ripping Sega of, because i truly love this game Its awesome (I do have to say i owned the Master System through to the 32X, so you know, there's a little bit of nostalgic reasons here) I like every aspect of the game, it runs incredibly smooth on my system, the frame rate is buttery smooth, (I just had to use this saying once) the graphics sharp and crisp, (turn blur off) the sound great, music really fitting and uplifting. Games like this make me truly happy, and thankful for the fact i can still play games like this. I really laugh and smile allot when playing this game, but once i putt down my controller, my grumpy face sacks back, and my depressions kick back in again :D Times are hard... I Really would like to say to the Pc community, please buy this game If you like race and or kart games, it's brilliant I know there's allot of pirating in the Pc community, i did it allot my self, and probably will do it again, if they lock the next generation up as they are planning. This generation though, i bought EVERYTHING for my Wii, Ps3, and Pc, if you want to try it, download it, but please buy it if you like it Games like this should be supported, and i know this game will probably sell like S**t, but it DOES NOT deserve that. It's absolutely great on Pc The only thing i dislike about Pc gaming since i went back to it in 2011, after, well... about 13 years, are the damn cheaters. I don't care about offline cheating, i actually like to see what people can do, and how they can alter the game, but please don't cheat online. I well... i think i can say, pretty much suck online, but i don't cheat, i do seem to be pretty good at racing games online though, i think about average, butt i hate it when i suck online, and then lose a lot by cheaters, i don't care if i lose a lot against people who play fair, so please keep the Pc version clean online, so it can be great for everyone. Well... All and all this game rocks, it's recommended to play this game on your tv, with a controller tough, if you have the possibility to do so. I have a 120hz full hd syncmaster, but play the game on my 720p tv at 60fps, on my attic. Gonna play some more now. Game on And once more, Thanks Sega You gave me fond child hood memories. O yeah... one more thing, it's the name of the game... It's probably about marketing technical reasons, that they called the first one: Sonic and Sega All Stars racing, and the next one, Sonic and All stars racing transformed, i know the Sonic name sells, but why not call it Sega All Stars Racing 1 and 2, and just put Sonic on the cover for marketing technical reasons. Just saying... Well now i'm really gonna play some more Peace out Expand
  2. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    This game deserve a few minutes of reviewing. First of all I'm not a big console fan and I prefer simulation racing game to arcade ones. IThis game deserve a few minutes of reviewing. First of all I'm not a big console fan and I prefer simulation racing game to arcade ones. I enjoyed Mario Kart on the SNES back in the days but the further iterations were just "meh" to me because I haven't felt any great improvement over the years. I bought this kart racing game on sale to increase my Steam library and to have a casual game to play with some friends online. I'd never tough I'd get hooked like this. It actually beats Mario Kart in every aspect thanks to it's diversity, freshness and style. The artwork quality is outstanding compared to other arcade PC games and I run at a constant 60fps on a low-midrange card with everything maxed out; it's that well optimized. The gameplay is fast, responsive and the tracks are very diversified. The levels are all themes of different Sega games in history from Sega Master System up to Dreamcast along with some brilliant remastered music. The world tour mode will encourage you in many different competition to unlock every characters and the multiplayer online, or offline up to 4, will keep you playing this little arcade gem for a while.. and come back to it from time to time because there is nothing else like it on PC. If you see this on sale, you have no excuses to overlook it. Thank you Sumo Digital & Sega for the best arcade game I played until now Expand
  3. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    Very very impressed with this game, picked it up during a steam sale and it was an absolute steal. The graphics are absolutely lush (althoughVery very impressed with this game, picked it up during a steam sale and it was an absolute steal. The graphics are absolutely lush (although the graphics options are lacklustre in the options, but it isn't too demanding I suppose) and the sound design is equally as impressive. Gameplay also feels surprisingly strong whether with a pad or keyboard, and it is one of those rare gems that supports PC splitscreen so props to SEGA for the inclusion of that. In terms of longevity it is great value for money in terms of content over 20 tracks, you nearly double your roster of racers via the campaign and the campaign itself is pretty damn long and has varied game modes ie not just races. TL:DR One of, if not the best arcadey racers on PC (alongside Trackmania imo) Expand
  4. Aug 28, 2013
    9
    I want to start by saying that I haven't enjoyed playing a racing game like this in a long time. Yes, Mario Kart is fun, but you don't feelI want to start by saying that I haven't enjoyed playing a racing game like this in a long time. Yes, Mario Kart is fun, but you don't feel like you are going fast. This game is by far worth every penny that it costs. The graphics are great for the game. What I mean for this is that nothing looks out of place in the game. I have played many games where some graphics look outstanding, but then you have those low quality textures and meshes for all of the objects that are in the background. It subtracts from the game in a major way in my opinion. The audio design for this game is deserving of an "A" grade as well. There aren't any sounds that don't seem to belong in the game, there is no clipping, or sound clips drowning out others. Now that I have covered the typical graphics and audio aspects lets move on to game play.

    The game play controls are so simple that you could pick up the game and just play. This is a great thing seeing as some games just have to many things to do. As for the other aspects of game play I felt this game really delivered. Whether you are flying a plane or driving a car or boat the game holds it's fun and entertainment.

    Now for content. The game has 21 different tracks, which in my opinion is awesome, but it still doesn't compare to Nintendo releasing around 20 new tracks, and twenty old ones in every Mario Kart Game. This means that in every Mario Kart game there are roughly 40 tracks. I also felt that the amount of variation between characters was not optimized, as well as the console mods. The mods could have had much more of an effect in the game. I understand that things must remain balanced, but some of the mods don't really make the character play the way you would think they should. I also felt like there was a lack of characters. Not in the sense of quantity, but in the sense of variety. Obviously Sega wants to include Sonic & Friends, but I felt that Sega shouldn't have had three characters from one game series, and left it at that. Sega has released many other games besides Sonic the Hedgehog, Jet Set Radio, and Space Channel 5. In fact I would have loved to see them bring back more characters from games that came out around the same time that Golden Axe and Shinobi did such as: Phantasy Star, Kid Chameleon, Shinning Force, Vectorman, and maybe even Comix Zone. All of these would have made awesome additions to the game.

    All-in-all though the game is still superb. I know I may have made it seem like the characters and where a huge deal to me, but they aren't enough to sway me below a 9 out of 10. This game is till truly fantastic.
    Expand
  5. Mar 30, 2013
    9
    I've always wanted a Mario Kart-like game for PC. I desperately missed just how much fun they were. I heard about this game and was told thatI've always wanted a Mario Kart-like game for PC. I desperately missed just how much fun they were. I heard about this game and was told that it's very similar so I looked it up on Steam. I then saw that it's only $30 and slammed my finger down on that Buy button. I could not be happier with this game. It's exactly what I was looking for in a kart game. The tracks are great, especially since they're constantly changing as you go through different laps. Parts of road might cave in, a flying ship might suddenly make its way into your path, or surfaces might explode, forcing you to take new paths and keeping each track fresh and fun. The powerups are similar to Mario Kart. The koopa shell is a "drone", a little remote controlled robot that targets a player and finds its way to its target. One thing I really appreciated is there isn't really a "Blue Shell" equivalent that finds the leader and gives you virtually no chance of escape. Instead it's a swarm of giant wasps that fly in front of the leader and stand in his way, forcing the leader to try and dodge the entire swarm as he weaves in and out of them. This is great because the leader is still challenged by an obstacle, but it's one that he can overcome versus a heat-seeking missile that can't be dodged like in Mario Kart. Expand
  6. Oct 1, 2013
    8
    I had never even heard of this game till i saw it in a Sonic bundle for the Steam Summer Sale. This game was the absolute highlight of theI had never even heard of this game till i saw it in a Sonic bundle for the Steam Summer Sale. This game was the absolute highlight of the bundle. This was such a unique racing experience with some pretty awesome characters. It is very fast paced, and doesn't contain just straight races throughout the campaign. The campaign is filled with other types of races and time trial-type races, which make the game more interesting. The tracks are amazing, changing their structure after each lap. The transformation aspect of this game is very unique and pulled off very well. This was a great racing game. Expand
  7. Dec 8, 2013
    1
    Absolute trash. The controls are horrible and binding don't work properly sometimes. Graphics are PATHETICLY BAD. Soundtrack? I'd rather killAbsolute trash. The controls are horrible and binding don't work properly sometimes. Graphics are PATHETICLY BAD. Soundtrack? I'd rather kill myself than listen to that drivel. Then there's the actual driving: I like all types of racing games from Blur, Gran Turismo and everything in between. But this is just not acceptable. There is literally NO DEPTH to it AT ALL! The drift mechanic is completely broken, since you accelerate AND brake at the same time and it will automatically drive for you! The only credit I can give this game is for the number of modes there are and custom games. Everything else about this game is totally terrible. If you have never played a racing game, have an IQ of 55 and are below the age of 6, you might enjoy this. Otherwise, avoid at all costs. Expand

See all 48 User Reviews