Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1144 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Terraria offers players a chance to be an action gamer, master builder, a collector, and even an explorer.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Jun 1, 2011
    100
    Still, Terraria is a great adventure, one of the best sandbox games around, and an absolute steal for ten bucks on Steam. It's well worth checking out for anyone, regardless of how they feel about Minecraft. Despite having one fewer dimension, Terraria hides greater depth than its 3D cousin.
  2. Aug 4, 2011
    90
    You stick your nose under your first sod and there you are – in another world. Terraria is not much of a Minecraft 2D rip-off, it's an addictive pursuit of perfection that entertains; even though it stinks of a sweat from the adits.
  3. Jun 29, 2011
    88
    Terraria is the best Minecraft clone on the market. Version 1.05 add many items and the Hardcore mode, which is the ultimate Terraria experience to try!
  4. May 27, 2011
    80
    Terraria is a small production that offers a cross between Mario and Minecraft... like a 2D platformer with craftsmanship and free construction. Quite limited in its realization, this title makes you play immediately for hours if you like the concept. Just take breaks from time to time!
  5. Oct 24, 2011
    80
    The open-sandbox creation genre is still in its infancy, and Terraria is a good, solid, and inexpensive entry.
  6. Jun 17, 2011
    80
    An interesting bidimensional twist of the well known Minecraft: Terraria is accustoming and incredibily "deep" (literally).
  7. May 30, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 457
  1. May 17, 2011
    10
    Terraria is an amazingly enchanting game, that sucked me in from the moment I started it up. With great pixel art, endearing music and lots of retro aspects, terraria will occupy me for years to come. This idea is still fresh and I'm glad somebody didn't shy away from it just because of MineCraft's recent success. Expand
  2. Jul 13, 2011
    10
    one of the funnest games i've ever played. i never thought a 2D minecraft would be fun or even possible but they did it. also the price is fantastic, definitely worth $10 Expand
  3. Jun 18, 2011
    10
    one thing :the negative reviews are **** from people that only play CoD and Shooting games that think games are just as good as their graphics
    this game is no 2D minecraft rip-off, this game has bosses, awesome end-game and so on. it's able to have much more content than minecraft in less time just because it's in 2D.
    minecraft and terraria are totally different games if you play them enough to know them well
    minecraft has a strong building side terraria has a strong adventure side

    both games are great
    i would give this game a 11 in 10 but it's impossible
    Expand
  4. Dec 12, 2013
    9
    I have really enjoyed this game for the long amount of time I have played it. The only one disagreement that I have against this game is the fact that it never updates but other then that single player and multiplayer both amazing! I would highly recommend this game Expand
  5. May 23, 2011
    9
    The ones that says that Terraria is like Minecraft should go play the game before writing a "review".

    Terraria is one of those special gems
    that you find. It's not expensive, it's extremely addicting and one helluva experience. It has all the building and mining of minecraft but with the equipment, combat, looting, and gameplay of a sidescrolling action RPG. the whole game feels more polished than Minecraft, anyway, with more items, less bugs, and more fun. It's only $10, it'd be worth at least $50. You should buy it. Now. Expand
  6. Jun 1, 2011
    8
    I haven't played Minecraft, so I'm unable to low-ball this game for being a "knockoff" as many reviewers have. Terraria plays extremely well as a 2d sandbox with lots of options and exploration, the retro look is welcoming to a lot of gamers and doesn't hurt game quality at all, and a very simple UI/control system gives you enough to work with and doesn't overwhelm with a steep learning curve. Though...there's a lot of little detail that the 'Tip Character' doesn't let you know, forcing you to go to forums or Youtube videos to understand (which shouldn't be the case for simple things like how big a home should be to attract people to your world). The music gets a little drab over time as well, but it's very easy to turn it off and pull up your own playlist or Pandora. The combat can be downright irritating at times, tempting you to avoid confrontation with very basic baddies. And the multiplayer is tons of fun, but a lobby system is something to be desired at times, when playing with only friends isn't an option. This is a tremendous game in the end, regardless of little things that could be better. The size of the game really hits you when you go mining down into the world and seem to never hit a boundary, exploring and discovering new things and places is fantastic, and the freedom of creation in Terraria will keep me playing for a long time. Expand
  7. Feb 10, 2014
    0
    An awesome example of how popular those **** indie games can get. The sad thing is, that this game is á copy of minecraft but in 2D. Sad sad saaaaaaad... Expand

See all 457 User Reviews