Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1356 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Terraria offers players a chance to be an action gamer, master builder, a collector, and even an explorer.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Jun 1, 2011
    100
    Still, Terraria is a great adventure, one of the best sandbox games around, and an absolute steal for ten bucks on Steam. It's well worth checking out for anyone, regardless of how they feel about Minecraft. Despite having one fewer dimension, Terraria hides greater depth than its 3D cousin.
  2. Aug 4, 2011
    90
    You stick your nose under your first sod and there you are – in another world. Terraria is not much of a Minecraft 2D rip-off, it's an addictive pursuit of perfection that entertains; even though it stinks of a sweat from the adits.
  3. Jun 29, 2011
    88
    Terraria is the best Minecraft clone on the market. Version 1.05 add many items and the Hardcore mode, which is the ultimate Terraria experience to try!
  4. May 27, 2011
    80
    Terraria is a small production that offers a cross between Mario and Minecraft... like a 2D platformer with craftsmanship and free construction. Quite limited in its realization, this title makes you play immediately for hours if you like the concept. Just take breaks from time to time!
  5. Oct 24, 2011
    80
    The open-sandbox creation genre is still in its infancy, and Terraria is a good, solid, and inexpensive entry.
  6. Jun 17, 2011
    80
    An interesting bidimensional twist of the well known Minecraft: Terraria is accustoming and incredibily "deep" (literally).
  7. May 30, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 518
  1. May 17, 2011
    10
    Terraria is an amazingly enchanting game, that sucked me in from the moment I started it up. With great pixel art, endearing music and lots ofTerraria is an amazingly enchanting game, that sucked me in from the moment I started it up. With great pixel art, endearing music and lots of retro aspects, terraria will occupy me for years to come. This idea is still fresh and I'm glad somebody didn't shy away from it just because of MineCraft's recent success. Collapse
  2. Jan 28, 2015
    10
    I'll make is easy for you. THIS GAME IS A MASTERPIECE.

    Impossible to explain how deap, FUN, and full of content this game is. I paid
    I'll make is easy for you. THIS GAME IS A MASTERPIECE.

    Impossible to explain how deap, FUN, and full of content this game is.

    I paid $1.99 for this game. I'm at 87hrs, and counting.... Still TONS to do.

    For those paying attention, that's a Mc Donalds Cheeseburger, for 87 hours of entertainment.

    Don't bother scrolling down the reviews looking for REDS to convince you not to pick this up.

    YES, this game is excellent. It's as good as you've heard, far better than it looks. LOADED with endless detail, and content, this is the holy grail of adventure/crafting/mining/combat/more. Grab a friend, and join a world together, it's a blast with friends.

    What you do: Explore the world, build houses, Spelunk, craft weapons, fight a massive skeleton, die, discover hidden dungeons, dig to hell, die, find treasure, die, fight the undead, vampires, Unicorns.... Encounter Huge Bosses, Die, ROCKET BOOTS, set off fireworks, fish, blow the heads off bunnies.... no really, that happens. It's so much fun, jump in. :)
    Expand
  3. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    Tired of companies like Activision and EA selling you rehashes at $60 and then expecting you to pay much much more with content they heldTired of companies like Activision and EA selling you rehashes at $60 and then expecting you to pay much much more with content they held back? Yes they want a future of a copy and paste $100 game. Well, Terraria shows you how games should be. Not only is it only $10this game updates very frequently and they are huge updates. Best of all, they are free! So much more content in these free "DLC" than the big corporations give you, and this is made by a very small team. If they can afford to give you free DLC, surely Activision and EA can afford to give it to you. Nope. They just want as much money as they can get. Terraria is an amazing game. I have over 160 hours logged, according to Steam. It is a 2d sandbox game with unlimited possibilities. Literally! They update it with new content so often! If you defeat all the bosses and explore every biome, you can look for rare items, build with endless possibilities, and best of all, you can play online. There is always something you can do if you get bored. This is the best $10 investment I've ever made. $10 won't even get you a crappy map pack in Call of Duty. Try this game, you will get hooked. You will then realize you don't have to play the sellout junk Activision and EA are trying to sell you (and milk you for all you've got). Graphics don't make a game. It's all about game play. Expand
  4. Jun 23, 2014
    9
    If you think this is a minecraft rip off then go **** yourself, this game is probably the best indie game i have ever played, it doas not needIf you think this is a minecraft rip off then go **** yourself, this game is probably the best indie game i have ever played, it doas not need good graphics to be epic like most outher games (like skyrim and call of duty). I have played it for over 50 hours and its just awesome, i could play this game for freakin 300 hours. Although its not perfect its just ****ing awesome, go buy it, it only costs 10 dollars on steam, honestly i think its worth 50. Expand
  5. May 31, 2011
    9
    Great game to play with friends. I have been playing this since it came out with a few buddies of mine, and Its been a blast. This gameGreat game to play with friends. I have been playing this since it came out with a few buddies of mine, and Its been a blast. This game definitely isnt for everyone, but if you value exploration, and rewarding gameplay then this is for you. Also the game is still technically unfinished as the developers have said to expect regular content updates from here on out. Even if they dont update the game its still an excellent purchase for 10$ ive already logged a good 40+ hours. thats more than most 60$ console games already. Expand
  6. Jun 4, 2011
    8
    This game has lots of content but puts the content in a relaxing game style and not so great graphics style. The music the first time you hearThis game has lots of content but puts the content in a relaxing game style and not so great graphics style. The music the first time you hear it is great, but since there is only 3 minutes of it it gets boring after a while. Hopefully if they continue to add content to the game this will be that one game I play when I want to do something other than shooting or thinking. Expand
  7. Jun 20, 2011
    0
    Rips off minecraft and the concept is bad. Just can't bring myself to enjoy it. I mean, I don't really luike minecraft all that much but whenRips off minecraft and the concept is bad. Just can't bring myself to enjoy it. I mean, I don't really luike minecraft all that much but when you're playing a game that is a blantant rip-off... Expand

See all 518 User Reviews

Trailers