Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 288 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Terminal Reality’s The Walking Dead video game takes the undead and brings them out of the TV show and into console gaming systems in a new, terrifying way. The iconic walkers will relentlessly hunt down players like their television counterparts, using a combination of sight, sound andTerminal Reality’s The Walking Dead video game takes the undead and brings them out of the TV show and into console gaming systems in a new, terrifying way. The iconic walkers will relentlessly hunt down players like their television counterparts, using a combination of sight, sound and smell. As Daryl, players will need to tread carefully throughout each new area they explore. Once discovered, it doesn’t take much to attract an unstoppable horde of undead walkers, so every threat needs to be assessed, and every situation analyzed. Players will have to choose between whether to stay and fight while risking a gruesome death or using stealth to avoid the undead. No place is truly safe for Daryl as he makes his way through the Georgia countryside in this new, post-apocalyptic world. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Negative: 12 out of 13
  1. Mar 28, 2013
    53
    I'd rather stick with zombie alternatives like Left 4 Dead, just because I can because in co-op play against the undead.
  2. Mar 25, 2013
    45
    A handful of interesting (although poorly developed) ideas are the only bright spots in a game that disappoints in almost every possible way. Sadly, Terminal Reality offers one of the ugliest survival horror games ever.
  3. Mar 22, 2013
    40
    Though there are flashes of interesting ideas, none are fully realized and they are hidden behind a technically shoddy and boring shooter.
  4. Mar 25, 2013
    40
    It's not zombies you need worry about in the painfully dull The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct.
  5. May 13, 2013
    40
    None of its elements is done well enough. The combat system is primitive and slapdash, there’s practically just one enemy type with several skins and the level design based on simple greyish blocks is trivial. [CD-Action 06/2013, p.68]
  6. 38
    What’s frustrating is that Terminal Reality, whether you believe it or not, had laid the foundations for an extraordinary game. WD:SI includes all the activities that a decent zombie survival game should have. [May 2013]
  7. Jul 10, 2013
    20
    After the excellence of Telltale’s The Walking Dead, it’s clear that Survival Instinct is the weaker of this species.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 64
  2. Negative: 46 out of 64
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    To start off, this is no Telltale game so don't expect it to be. Once we got that out of the picture now lets actually look at the game. TheTo start off, this is no Telltale game so don't expect it to be. Once we got that out of the picture now lets actually look at the game. The game plays fairly well, although the one issue I have is that a lot of times that I hit a walker, it doesn't really feel like the hit connected. Other wise it's solid. Graphics aren't revolutionary but aren't bad either, Voice acting is great, combat for the most part works and it introduces good survival concepts. All in all it has its flaws but is still fun to play and a must have if you're a fan of the T.V series. Expand
  2. Mar 22, 2013
    7
    I had accepted that it wasn't going to be good because of everyone on discussions but it's actually somewhat good.
    I witnessed no bugs
    I had accepted that it wasn't going to be good because of everyone on discussions but it's actually somewhat good.
    I witnessed no bugs whatsoever which is a good thing. I never dropped below 60fps with vsync on and everything maxed. EVGA 660.
    The storyline is good, the areas are well developed. The graphics aren't great but if you like the borderlands and telltale TWD art style then you'll like this.
    The back story doesn't dissapoint. We learn more about Daryl and Merle as I wanted.
    The ending, without spoiling anything, leads to the show. It shows how they came to be in Atlanta.
    Overall I'd give it a 7 out of 10. Skyrim being a 10, WarZ being a 1
    Expand
  3. Apr 7, 2013
    5
    The main reason, and perhaps the only one, that I had to play this game was nothing more than it is a Walking dead game.
    The graphics looks
    The main reason, and perhaps the only one, that I had to play this game was nothing more than it is a Walking dead game.
    The graphics looks like the game has 10 years, the playability is not bad, but is not smooth and therefor is not good either. The story is kind of lame and confuse. And I passed it really quick.
    The thing that it really lacks, and I missed it a lot, was the loot system. It doesn't have one. I wanted to loot everything! But I got nothing.
    But, it's not everything bad. It requires you to be stealthy because fight more than 2 zombies will get you killed. Which is a good thing. Daryl shows up, as well as Merle, but rare are the times you see Merle.
    Zombies are dumb, slow, and ugly. But they are not scary. Not sure if it's a good or bad thing.
    The weapons are cool, probably the best thing in the game, but when you have the really nice ones, where you can kill hordes of zombies, the game ends...
    Well, I give it a 5 because the game is not that bad. The thing is: It was pretty disappointing. I expected a nice game, playable, looking good and maybe some rpg experience. But instead I got an ugly, hard to play, confuse and too linear.
    Expand
  4. Apr 3, 2013
    2
    Total waste of money, $14.99 would have been dead on for this game. Not the 50 you have to lay out. My mistake was not looking into the actualTotal waste of money, $14.99 would have been dead on for this game. Not the 50 you have to lay out. My mistake was not looking into the actual game before purchase. This game is nothing more than a cash cow based on the TV show is all. If you love "The Walking Dead" that much buy it but if I were you then please save it until it goes on sale. The graphics system looked like half life 1 gen and the gameplay itself was terrible. (The PC version) Has very little health and ammo powerups unlike from what I've heard on the console that they have tons of health and ammo everywhere. This game completely disappointed me and I wish they would have taken more time to develop it as it could have been something great! But again it's a NAME cash cow game that takes the player by surprise after you buy it. The publisher should have been another warning for me to check into it before purchase as well. Expand
  5. Mar 20, 2013
    1
    -A-ha-ha-ha.....
    I am totally disappointed
    I have played for only about 2 hours but so far it's better then i expected. Graphic is bad
    -A-ha-ha-ha.....
    I am totally disappointed
    I have played for only about 2 hours but so far it's better then i expected.
    Graphic is bad (looks like 5-7 years old game) I think everybody will be agree with me
    It is a not a game It's a piece of
    Expand
  6. Aug 31, 2013
    1
    Bad seriously bad. I'd better play the Left 4 Dead series then this. The A.I is bad the walkers can't even get to a simple gate. The graphicsBad seriously bad. I'd better play the Left 4 Dead series then this. The A.I is bad the walkers can't even get to a simple gate. The graphics oh my god I'm gonna puke at Activision. Collapse
  7. Dec 22, 2014
    0
    The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct is that game that rips off. it just lying to you making you think that you bought the walking dead seasionThe Walking Dead: Survival Instinct is that game that rips off. it just lying to you making you think that you bought the walking dead seasion 1. this game sucks. awful story and the graphics are bad for the wii u and ps3. on pc at least i can see fine. gameplay is so repetitive. one of the worst enemy AI every in gaming. the walking dead season 1 is just at 30$ and it was so much better than this disgusting 50$ generic ass game. that's why there are speed runs for this game on youtube. IN UNDER 45 MINUTES ! 4-5 M-I-N-U-T-E-S Expand

See all 64 User Reviews