Unity of Command PC

Unity of Command Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 61 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Unity of Command lets you replay the epic conflict that was the Stalingrad Campaign of World War II. In this turn-based game of strategy and cunning, observe how opportunity leads the German army to advance recklessly into the steppes of southern Russia. And as the story unfolds, join theUnity of Command lets you replay the epic conflict that was the Stalingrad Campaign of World War II. In this turn-based game of strategy and cunning, observe how opportunity leads the German army to advance recklessly into the steppes of southern Russia. And as the story unfolds, join the Soviet campaign to repel the invaders... As these legendary battles play out on the hex board, the tension of decision making and difficulties of conducting operations on a massive scale emerge. Command armies and fronts in maneuver warfare, thrust and encircle, capture cities and cross continents; but never, ever forget to watch your supply lines. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Mar 1, 2012
    90
    Both challenging and elegant, Unity of Command is perfect for both novices and hardcore gamers alike. [March 2012, p.58]
  2. PC Gamer
    Jan 26, 2012
    84
    Unlike most Eastern Front wargames, Unity fends off overdone unit counts and dull AI. Wargame of the year material. [Mar 2012, p.80]
  3. Dec 16, 2011
    83
    Unity of Command is a looker. Its minimalistic, but stylish visual design is sure to please the fanciful "iPhone generation" of gamers. The map is clean and accurate, and the interface is a picture of user-friendliness. Beyond this delightful façade, there is a wargame that's deep enough for experienced armchair generals and welcoming for newcomers.
  4. Nov 9, 2011
    80
    One of the most refreshing turn-based strategy games I've experienced for some time. It's clever and deeply tactical, yet also manages to be relatively quick-paced and exciting.
  5. Mar 9, 2012
    80
    This strategy game is a real gem. It's easy to learn and play, very smart and – thanks to a really evil computer opponent – very challenging. I just wish it had a bit more content, especially in the multiplayer department, but don't let that stop you from giving it a go.
  6. Mar 20, 2012
    80
    Unity of Command is a good turn based strategy game: so difficult but so accurate and deep. A must have for all fans of this genre, but a little bit too difficult for all others.
  7. Mar 17, 2012
    80
    An interesting and challenging strategy title that will make hardcore fans of the genre happy.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 26
  2. Negative: 5 out of 26
  1. Jun 25, 2012
    10
    Wow, How did i miss this one? i like war games, but many are too much for me to learn, this is incredibly deep but surprisingly easy to learn,Wow, How did i miss this one? i like war games, but many are too much for me to learn, this is incredibly deep but surprisingly easy to learn, glad i spotted this one. Has a lot of scenarios to play, and seems to be a big community. For a wargame it is beautiful, normally we are use to 20 year old sprites but this one has a perfect UI and graphics, challenging, elegent game, Superb! Expand
  2. Dec 16, 2013
    10
    This game is exactly what wargamers have been looking for from a computer wargame!

    Not as complex as Gary Grigsby's massive (but great)
    This game is exactly what wargamers have been looking for from a computer wargame!

    Not as complex as Gary Grigsby's massive (but great) games and not as simple as Panzer General. This is a subtly deep system which rewards careful play with those hard-to-achieve "Brilliant Victory" rewards! Multiplayer can also work but to be honest it is set up for solo play primarily.

    I was also amazed that this is produced by a four person company somewhere in Croatia, the hotbed of computer game design!

    Buy it on sale direct from them or on Steam and you won't be disappointed! Looking forward to further DLC and applications of the system.

    Highly recommended!
    Expand
  3. Mar 8, 2013
    9
    This is a very enjoyable and relatively simple tactical WW2 game pitting the Germans vs the Red Army on the Eastern Front. I note that theThis is a very enjoyable and relatively simple tactical WW2 game pitting the Germans vs the Red Army on the Eastern Front. I note that the user that said that you have to entirely repeat the campaigns if you lose is wrong in his statement. I admit it's a little confusing to figure out, but you merely need to restart the mission and meet the victory conditions. The game is inexpensive, and I've played and enjoyed it far more than any other game I've purchased in years. It's mainly single player, but has multi-player via capability via internet for all the scenarios (you need to arrange the multiplayer match thru means other than the game for you to find the other party). I think the game has some minor flaws, and there is room for tons of other features if they could be thought of and implemented, but I really have to say that if you like tactical games you should not skip this one because it is challenging and unique. It is NOT a Hearts of Iron type game or the like, it is far less complex and mainly focuses on theatre tactics. Expand
  4. Dec 14, 2012
    7
    If you liked Panzer General you will like this game, because it plays almost exactly the same. Its a good remake of the 90's classic panzerIf you liked Panzer General you will like this game, because it plays almost exactly the same. Its a good remake of the 90's classic panzer general, so casual gamers can get into this as well as a grognard, but grognards need to remember its not a full blown war sim. They have incorporated a pretty neat supply system, making sure all your units stay in supply is very important, but its very annoying the CPU will sacrifice 2-3 CORPS just to interfere with your supply for 1 turn, which does have a pretty heavy cause and effect, but its like the CPUs main mission in life. Since it plays like panzer general combat is not considered simultaneous so I can attack the same enemy unit with every unit I have until its defeated, not realistic but it is what it is, all you have to do is keep rotating out units that attacked and rotating in units that are fresh, each hex is considered to be 20KM so this bugs me, and this is how the CPU will always find a way through your lines to interdict your supply lines, very very annoying, Except for this I find the game fun to play and capable of stealing many hours of my life. Expand
  5. Jul 29, 2013
    6
    A traditional game in WW2 setting where you move armies on a hex field. I saw the demo and didn't buy the full version because the gameA traditional game in WW2 setting where you move armies on a hex field. I saw the demo and didn't buy the full version because the game somehow lacks touch. It's very cold, too abstract, and has very boring premise (cmon, simulating ww2 again? haven't I seen dozens of games like this already).. Expand
  6. Dec 11, 2013
    5
    I like turn-based games and world war II theme, so I was obvious looking for this game. Tactical options, lovely graphics and mechanics areI like turn-based games and world war II theme, so I was obvious looking for this game. Tactical options, lovely graphics and mechanics are really great but I were not still fully satisfied. Maybe, it is by lack of variety in the campaign missions or monotony which really ruined the game. Anyway, looking forward to DLC. Expand
  7. Nov 30, 2015
    0
    This game is pretty boring and very lacking on actual strategy. There are much better strategy games out there that come much closer toThis game is pretty boring and very lacking on actual strategy. There are much better strategy games out there that come much closer to replicating operational decisions than this one, Gary Grisby's War in the East blows this child's game out of the water. Expand

See all 26 User Reviews