Galerians: Ash Image
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The sequel to the classic "survival horror" game, Galerians:ASH brings a new 3D action thriller to the PS2 that masterfully blends horror and science-fiction. Six years have passed since the megalomaniacal mother computer Dorothy launched her plan to create an artificial race of GaleriansThe sequel to the classic "survival horror" game, Galerians:ASH brings a new 3D action thriller to the PS2 that masterfully blends horror and science-fiction. Six years have passed since the megalomaniacal mother computer Dorothy launched her plan to create an artificial race of Galerians over whom she would rule... six years since Rion discovered his own identity as a Galerian, yet still confronted his genocidal creator... six years since Rion sacrificed himself to save the humans. Six years have passed, and a catastrophic program released by a dying Dorothy has been launched. [Sammy] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 22
  2. Negative: 9 out of 22
  1. A groovy game surround by a "so what?" story. Here's hoping the inevitable sequel will see both aspects "get it right" at the same time.
  2. The graphics are really good ... but the similar color scheme in most places hides things well. In addition, some solutions are really vague, and can ultimately lead to a lot of running around.
  3. Get past the weak graphics and there's a stylish, original adventure game here, especially for fans of the first "Galerians" - to which this is a much improved sequel indeed. [Mar 2003, p.42]
  4. 50
    But while putting the psychokinetic kibosh on telepathic geeks is fun, the endless wandering and backtracking hell is a straight-up drag.
  5. 44
    Call it what you want, but I'd call it dull. There are just too many problems and too little to do in the game to make it worth anyone's time.
  6. The game makes you suffer the stress of not knowing what to do or where to go and that makes for very uninteresting and uncomfortable gameplay.
  7. 25
    Why can't the hero run in a straight line? Is he drunk? [Mar 2003, p.43]

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Cain/Rion
    Jul 28, 2005
    10
    Yaoi!!!! it was so awsome when Ash kissed Rion!!!!!!! i was like holy ****!!!!!!!! ^^ i LOVED the game and how you could go and Rewatch theYaoi!!!! it was so awsome when Ash kissed Rion!!!!!!! i was like holy ****!!!!!!!! ^^ i LOVED the game and how you could go and Rewatch the movies!!!!! ^^ Expand
  2. Covert
    Jul 9, 2003
    9
    I enjoyed the first, and after reading reviews, I wasn't expecting a very good game...But as I poped it in, I was once again lied to by I enjoyed the first, and after reading reviews, I wasn't expecting a very good game...But as I poped it in, I was once again lied to by the reviewers. The story is very interesting and keeps you wanting to learn more. The only flaws about the game are that the voice acting gets annoying and graphically some things are just weird. Expand
  3. MephistoI.
    Apr 4, 2003
    9
    I enjoyed the hassle you had to go through, making such a title a challenge. To gradually move on your way. So everything wasn't all I enjoyed the hassle you had to go through, making such a title a challenge. To gradually move on your way. So everything wasn't all that rushed. I enjoyed eveything about the game.. Though it was a new experiance, but then again so was the first Galerians. I enjoyed most of all, the slightest hints of yaoi. Not everyday you see that in a game in the states of all places. I give it four thumbs up. Thats right, four. I'm counting my toes here too people. Expand
  4. Cain
    Aug 4, 2004
    9
    The game is good and it really is the story is horrifying, the graphics is better(not as good as DMC or Onimusha though) and the fighting The game is good and it really is the story is horrifying, the graphics is better(not as good as DMC or Onimusha though) and the fighting style is different(you dont just aim and shoot but you must also think of a good way on how to bash the enemy with ypur "psychic Ability") i have also played Galerians on the ps and both games are hard, sometimes boring(really boring), with some hard enemies but understand the plot deeply and see how horri2fying and good it is(the only good thing about this game is the story). Collapse
  5. JoelM.
    Sep 13, 2003
    8
    This game isint great,but it isint that bad. I honestly would'nt buy it. It is worth renting though.
  6. Zephqu
    Mar 18, 2003
    6
    I just heard about Galerians:Ash. I think it will be fairly good! I'v played Galerians and I liked it very much(mostly for the good game I just heard about Galerians:Ash. I think it will be fairly good! I'v played Galerians and I liked it very much(mostly for the good game play....the storyline is wacked? It has potential to be better though!) Expand
  7. Ghostreviewer
    Nov 2, 2007
    5
    I have very strong, yet mixed feelings, for the Galerians games. The plot is without a doubt one of the best I have ever seen in the sci-fi I have very strong, yet mixed feelings, for the Galerians games. The plot is without a doubt one of the best I have ever seen in the sci-fi or horror genre (better than most movies out there). If you enjoy a good story and nothing more from a game, this alone will kill hours upon hours of your life. The main problem with Galerians Ash and the Galerians games in general is that the gameplay is a complete mess. I appreciate the attempt to put a twist on the traditional survival horror gameplay but controls this archaic are simply unacceptable. I wish I could score this higher, as there is much potential behind it. Sadly though, as much as I enjoyed the story, I just did not enjoy the game. Expand