Silent Hill 2 PlayStation 2

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Silent Hill 2 Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 612 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Players assume the role of James, who receives a cryptic letter from his wife (who has been dead for 3 years) beckoning him to meet her in Silent Hill, a place that holds great meaning for the couple. The mystery of the letter compels him to return to the surreal horror and all-too-realPlayers assume the role of James, who receives a cryptic letter from his wife (who has been dead for 3 years) beckoning him to meet her in Silent Hill, a place that holds great meaning for the couple. The mystery of the letter compels him to return to the surreal horror and all-too-real danger in Silent Hill. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. While Silent Hill 2 retains the same basic format of the original, the story is decidedly more coherent and the graphics have been upgraded immeasurably.
  2. It uses a combination of sight, sound, imagery and imagination to create the scariest game on any home console. Turn off the lights, grab your controller and enjoy the horror of Silent Hill 2.
  3. 96
    If "Resident Evil" was likened to "Night of the Living Dead," then think of Silent Hill 2 as "Twin Peaks," minus the damn fine coffee, but plus the atmospheric gloom and cast of insane deviants, with the entire mixture then taken out back into the woods, shot, hacked into small chunks, and buried.
  4. With a unique and interesting story, mind-blowing graphics, incredible soundtrack, great gameplay and FIVE endings, it’s hard to find fault with Silent Hill 2.
  5. 85
    Quite simply, mature PS2 owners craving a creepy game that's perfect for playing with the lights out and speakers cranked, pick up a copy of Silent Hill 2 and you will not be disappointed. Clean underwear not included.
  6. Next Generation Magazine
    80
    The action, though, is simply repetitive, as even the most common creatures must be bludgeoned repeatedly to “kill” them (and there are a lot of creatures). [Nov 2001, p.100]
  7. Suffers a bit from being too close to its predecessor in terms of gameplay, but it does manage to scare up enough dread to be a worthy game for fans of the genre.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 133
  1. DanielM
    Jan 21, 2010
    10
    In my opinion, this is game of the year, all years. This game, is more then a game. It is so deep that almost every last little detail, from In my opinion, this is game of the year, all years. This game, is more then a game. It is so deep that almost every last little detail, from a wall's wallpaper, to a whisper that's just barely audible, and a radio's seemingly random burst of static, all has a profound and revealing reason to be there. I feel so bad that I read the ending before playing this game. If you plan on buying this game, and this is your first non-spoiler review, please. Do not continue reading reviews, just buy it. Many reviews here have spoilers. I hope they make another Silent Hill as good as this one, and that next time, I can play through it with my knowladge of the plot inexistant. Expand
  2. SamC.
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    Quite simply the best game I have ever played on any system. I've played every Resident Evil and every Silent Hill along with many other Quite simply the best game I have ever played on any system. I've played every Resident Evil and every Silent Hill along with many other survival horror games and this has an edge on all of them. On top of the freaky enemies and outstanding settings that will disturb you to the point of sickness, this game has an outstanding plot that will mess with your mind and keep you wondering until the end only to blow you away. If you play this late at night with the lights out and alone your guaranteed for a good eerie feeling. Expand
  3. May 4, 2014
    10
    Simply the greatest,and scariest survival horror game ever. Not for the faint hearted mind, this game can make you feel suffocated andSimply the greatest,and scariest survival horror game ever. Not for the faint hearted mind, this game can make you feel suffocated and depressed, i first played this game in 2001 when i was just 14 and even now it still scary. Classic Expand
  4. Jan 24, 2014
    10
    First game i ever played where i liked all the characters! And actually cared about what happens to them! The story is deep and most peopleFirst game i ever played where i liked all the characters! And actually cared about what happens to them! The story is deep and most people may not get why James personal silent hill has bars and chains link fence everywhere (no spoilers look it up) You know a games good when even the atmosphere of the game ties into the characters inner suppressed feelings.10/10 most own stay far away from the 'clear' or 'cleaner' HD remake silent hill 2 is ment to be murky and foggy. Not to mention even the main terrifying enemy Pyramid head has a meaning (this one will surprise you for sure). Only negative is the game takes 12 hours to beat. I recommend playing it at night and reading all the dairy entries. Expand
  5. ThisPerson
    Jun 27, 2009
    9
    Silent Hill 2. The cult-hit, the game you hear mentioned over and over again when talking about horror games or deep stories in games. Silent Hill 2. The cult-hit, the game you hear mentioned over and over again when talking about horror games or deep stories in games. Considered often the best game in the series with the very first one. And for a good reason. Forget Resident Evil's "Monster-through-the-window"-scares, gore enough to fill a pool and hi-tech weaponry, Silent Hills focus on so called "Psychological horror", where the very disturbing images, settings and audio make you feel uneasy and disgusted. Most of the time it's the what you can't see but you hear that scares you the most, and that's what Team Silent knows. The game's nearly totally covered in either thick fog or darkness where the only light source you often have is your flashlight. Add creepy, disgusting and most importantly very... original sound effects and music track, and you'll find yourself being spooked by even complete emptiness. What about the story? Well, where SH1 mostly focused on "demonic-forces" pouring from the "possessed", suffering mind of certain victim of horrible past, SH2 offers a bit different kind of, "more gentle" story where it's not always clear what is "real", while still implying every thing's not just a dream, the "forces" of the town apparently just working in the background. All the characters have some sort of tragic past and are experiencing the town in their very own way, making the line between "reality", "delusion" and the "otherworld" blur even further, leading to some serious mind-screwing at best. Judging by some review here, not everybody has payed enough attention during the game, they either played it just once by rushing it or they have not researched about all the symbolism and gentle hints of the game that it offers. Add 6 different endings depending on HOW you play the game and what you have done while playing it, unlockable bonuses and a beautiful but sad and disgusting story, SH2 offers a great mature horror experience that does not just throw blood and guts at you. I also do recommend the other games in the series, especially the first and third ones, both of which present a quite a bit more "aggressive" experiences, still having some psychological-teasing and symbolisms. Expand
  6. JamesS.
    Feb 2, 2002
    9
    Silent Hill 2 is the most scariest, gruesome, mind-bending game I've ever played. There's just a few little problems which keeps it Silent Hill 2 is the most scariest, gruesome, mind-bending game I've ever played. There's just a few little problems which keeps it from being perfect. Expand
  7. Aug 12, 2014
    0
    Falls extremely short of my expectations. Not bad, still scary, but nowhere near as scary as everybody makes it out to be. I'm extremelyFalls extremely short of my expectations. Not bad, still scary, but nowhere near as scary as everybody makes it out to be. I'm extremely disappointed with it but it still has managed to get me to jump a few times. Wouldn't recommend it to any seasoned horror game/movie fan. Expand

See all 133 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#4 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2001
#6 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2001