Silent Hill 2 PlayStation 2

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Silent Hill 2 Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 478 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Players assume the role of James, who receives a cryptic letter from his wife (who has been dead for 3 years) beckoning him to meet her in Silent Hill, a place that holds great meaning for the couple. The mystery of the letter compels him to return to the surreal horror and all-too-realPlayers assume the role of James, who receives a cryptic letter from his wife (who has been dead for 3 years) beckoning him to meet her in Silent Hill, a place that holds great meaning for the couple. The mystery of the letter compels him to return to the surreal horror and all-too-real danger in Silent Hill. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. While Silent Hill 2 retains the same basic format of the original, the story is decidedly more coherent and the graphics have been upgraded immeasurably.
  2. It uses a combination of sight, sound, imagery and imagination to create the scariest game on any home console. Turn off the lights, grab your controller and enjoy the horror of Silent Hill 2.
  3. 96
    If "Resident Evil" was likened to "Night of the Living Dead," then think of Silent Hill 2 as "Twin Peaks," minus the damn fine coffee, but plus the atmospheric gloom and cast of insane deviants, with the entire mixture then taken out back into the woods, shot, hacked into small chunks, and buried.
  4. With a unique and interesting story, mind-blowing graphics, incredible soundtrack, great gameplay and FIVE endings, it’s hard to find fault with Silent Hill 2.
  5. 85
    Quite simply, mature PS2 owners craving a creepy game that's perfect for playing with the lights out and speakers cranked, pick up a copy of Silent Hill 2 and you will not be disappointed. Clean underwear not included.
  6. Next Generation Magazine
    80
    The action, though, is simply repetitive, as even the most common creatures must be bludgeoned repeatedly to “kill” them (and there are a lot of creatures). [Nov 2001, p.100]
  7. Suffers a bit from being too close to its predecessor in terms of gameplay, but it does manage to scare up enough dread to be a worthy game for fans of the genre.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 111
  2. Negative: 6 out of 111
  1. DanielM
    Jan 21, 2010
    10
    In my opinion, this is game of the year, all years. This game, is more then a game. It is so deep that almost every last little detail, from In my opinion, this is game of the year, all years. This game, is more then a game. It is so deep that almost every last little detail, from a wall's wallpaper, to a whisper that's just barely audible, and a radio's seemingly random burst of static, all has a profound and revealing reason to be there. I feel so bad that I read the ending before playing this game. If you plan on buying this game, and this is your first non-spoiler review, please. Do not continue reading reviews, just buy it. Many reviews here have spoilers. I hope they make another Silent Hill as good as this one, and that next time, I can play through it with my knowladge of the plot inexistant. Expand
  2. Andrew
    Apr 11, 2006
    10
    Without giving too much away, it will be hard for anyone to ever forget the sad tale of James Sunderland after they've played this game. Without giving too much away, it will be hard for anyone to ever forget the sad tale of James Sunderland after they've played this game. Perhaps the most twisted and tragic story in gaming to date wraps up in a way that makes you think not just about right and wrong, love and hate, but also the way we as people face our demons or are destroyed by them. Not to be missed. Expand
  3. May 30, 2012
    10
    This is my favorite game of all time, and has been for over a decade. In my book it's the holy grail of the horror genre, and is more thanThis is my favorite game of all time, and has been for over a decade. In my book it's the holy grail of the horror genre, and is more than just a horror game. The story is also one of the most deep and emotional stories ever created in a game, and no matter how many times you play it, you'll still pick up on details you hadn't noticed before. I would steer clear of the HD collection though, it's not a very good rendition of the game. If you can track down a copy of the ps2 or xbox version, I would do that. Expand
  4. Nov 8, 2012
    10
    This game is amazing, but your not going to fully understand until you play through it. The reasons for it being good don't really translateThis game is amazing, but your not going to fully understand until you play through it. The reasons for it being good don't really translate well into text, and if you don't know about this game, then most of the things I could say would be far fetched. All you need to know is this game has something most horror games made today fail at achieving: great characters and atmosphere. The game does a fantastic job of making people who are interesting and unique, and it makes the town so damn creepy that, no joke, I could only play it alone in the dark for about 2 hours at a time, because any longer than that would make my heart jump out of my chest and leave the room without me. If you haven't already played this game yet, I highly reccommend the HD remastered version, as they also got new voice actors to do the dialog again, and once you compare the 2, you will definitely notice a jump in quality from the original voices to the new ones. Plus, if you don't like the new voices, you have the option to have the old ones play, so no worries for hardcore fans. This game wants to scare you while making you think, and it succeeds. No flaws that aren't intentional, so no reduced score. A great cure for modern horror games, with the exception of Amnesia and Slender Expand
  5. MattP.
    Apr 14, 2003
    9
    Silent Hill 2 is one of my top games, the sound and look are like nothing else on PS2 and it's scary as hell. Plus you get a bonus disc Silent Hill 2 is one of my top games, the sound and look are like nothing else on PS2 and it's scary as hell. Plus you get a bonus disc (PAL version). Expand
  6. Mar 13, 2015
    9
    One of the best horror games ever made, the music is a masterpiece! The graphics are very well done, i never heard such a beautiful music in aOne of the best horror games ever made, the music is a masterpiece! The graphics are very well done, i never heard such a beautiful music in a survival horror game.
    The controls are fluid and well designed, Of course the ps2 is a cheap version with inferior graphics, the xbox and the pc version are awesome. I don't have many words to say how good this game is, much better than sh 3 or sh4 of course, the horror elements are the best addition, you can enjoy a excellent storyline while progressing in the game, the characters have a great personality, each one with a personal story waiting to be revealed, This game is fun and creepy at the same time, unlike the **** we are seeing today.
    Expand
  7. Aug 12, 2014
    0
    Falls extremely short of my expectations. Not bad, still scary, but nowhere near as scary as everybody makes it out to be. I'm extremelyFalls extremely short of my expectations. Not bad, still scary, but nowhere near as scary as everybody makes it out to be. I'm extremely disappointed with it but it still has managed to get me to jump a few times. Wouldn't recommend it to any seasoned horror game/movie fan. Expand

See all 111 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#6 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2001
#5 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2001