Test Drive: Eve of Destruction Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Also known as "Driven To Destruction") Test Drive: Eve of Destruction blends the best elements of racing and demolition and is packed with 25 different events, including Demo Derby, where the last car standing wins; Gauntlet, where the player climbs behind the wheel of a hearse and tries to(Also known as "Driven To Destruction") Test Drive: Eve of Destruction blends the best elements of racing and demolition and is packed with 25 different events, including Demo Derby, where the last car standing wins; Gauntlet, where the player climbs behind the wheel of a hearse and tries to finish a set number of laps while the rest of the field attempts to stop them; Trailer Race, a new brand of racing event, where players compete while towing various types of trailers and must finish the race with something resembling a trailer still attached. Additionally, Test Drive: Eve of Destruction offers players a selection of more than 30 custom vehicles, a dynamic soundtrack and a split-screen multiplayer mode for up to four players. [Atari] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. The one thing that would have made this game a true gem would have been some online play, but the multiplayer is so entertaining that it’s easy to overlook.
  2. The game packs plenty of playability, with easily 30 hours of gameplay under the hood, along with the expected mass hysteria whenever a gaggle of players shows up at your doorstep.
  3. While it may not be for everybody, EoD provides a great wrecking racing experience that I personally think is better than any other one out to date.
  4. Impressively addictive, and manages a quiet grace about itself in presentation -- despite being about smashing the crap out of every moving thing in sight. It's just that without any online options, very little in the way customization and a set of races that towards the end of the game begin to feel a bit stale, it's hard to recommend this as a full-price option.
  5. The driving in Test Drive: Eve of Destruction is one that I think had the potential to be great but with the lack of fine tuning ended up just being average.
  6. The game's wide array of races runs the gamut from interesting to bizarre, but one constant factor lessens the overall impact - the racin' be slow. [Nov 2004, p.128]
  7. A simple cash cow. Cheap concept, cheap marketing, cheap licensing, cheap development costs. Only a few unsuspecting souls need to waste their hard-earned dollars on this trash in order for Atari to turn a profit. And they probably will.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Sabbath
    May 15, 2007
    10
    There aren't any demolition games out there that are as realistic as this one. Improvements could be made with game play in There aren't any demolition games out there that are as realistic as this one. Improvements could be made with game play in scores/drivers but realisticly it is the best demolition game for ps2 on the market,if its not i would like to know what is?if you unlock all the cheats you can have turbo by pushing the r1 button,and really kick some ass! Expand
  2. BrandonM.
    Sep 16, 2004
    10
    It's fun and awesome graphics.
  3. LachlanO.
    Dec 20, 2004
    10
    I rented it and in two days i made it up to 12th ranks i liked it i would like to buy it.
  4. JosephJ.
    Nov 24, 2004
    9
    Really enjoyed it. But I think it's a game I would rent not buy.
  5. Sablicious...
    Jun 27, 2009
    9
    About as good as a game in this genre can get! Not only does the gameplay stack up but it has enough content to give it huge replayability. About as good as a game in this genre can get! Not only does the gameplay stack up but it has enough content to give it huge replayability. Scores of tracks/track variations; plenty of vehicles; unlockable extras/modes; vehicle upgrades (*in campaign); very decent (for Ps2/Xbox) damage modeling... Oh! Did I mention that it has a comprehensive 2-4 player split-screen in most all modes also?! (*not in campaign) Not just that, but it's not your token 'head-to-head' crap where you and another player meander around a barren track on your lonesome(s) due to MIA cpu opponents, oh no! 'Eve' has 8 cpu cars in addition to 2 human players in all modes except campaign! Better showing in this respect than Mario Karts of the same or earlier era(s)!! Great fun multiplayer game which actually takes a modicum of skill to master (unlike most games these days -_-). Due to its late release in relation to the console generation's life-cycle, the game got mostly unnoticed. Nevertheless, 'Eve' is the best game of the 'destruction derby' genre I've encountered. Highly recommended for fans of knock-about racers like this. Collapse
  6. Chknbone
    Feb 23, 2005
    9
    This game is a blast to play and FINALLY somebody put more than just the "far" and "front bumper" views back into a car game. My favorite is This game is a blast to play and FINALLY somebody put more than just the "far" and "front bumper" views back into a car game. My favorite is the "in car" view with the steering wheel, gauges, etc that I haven't seen since my PC version of Need for Speed Porsche Unleashed. Plus it doesn't require 2 months of your life to be able to be competitive, yet it's challenging enough to keep you interested for more than just a week or two. I think the only reason it's rated "T" for Teen is because the announcer occasionally says "H*ll" (which is rare) and in career mode you are allowed to bet money against other drivers. However the betting is optional and not a necessity to continue the game. My kids (10 and 5) both loved this game too, and I had no reservations with letting them play it. There's no sex, blood, gore, ghost, goblins, monsters, etc anywhere in the game, which is very hard to find these days. The only reason I didn't give it a "10" is because there are no online capabilities. Expand
  7. Neil"frog"Warren
    Jan 20, 2005
    8
    Why did this game only get 72%. [Ed: You only gave it an 8!] well, i guess i know why, the graffics arnt no GT3 or concept. but still they Why did this game only get 72%. [Ed: You only gave it an 8!] well, i guess i know why, the graffics arnt no GT3 or concept. but still they are good enough. tho, when u finish the game. thats it.. theres nothing else to do. that was a let down.. took me about 2 weeks to do.. if u played it flat out. prolly take u less then 2 days.. difficulty is good.. tho u cant upgrade to a car thats got the exhausts out the bonnet.. i was waiting for that.. need to use a little common sense while playing this game. u cant just go out and do up one car and make it look and go really cool. coz u'll prolly smash it.. also have back up cars. demolition derby car, and a spare racing car.. all in all.. good game.. go buy it! Expand

See all 8 User Reviews