Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 133 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Alice: Madness Returns takes place 10 years after the conclusion of the original game, with Alice struggling to recover from the emotional trauma of losing her entire family in a fatal fire. After spending a decade institutionalized in an insane asylum, she is finally released to the care of a psychiatrist who just may be able to help her conquer the nightmarish hallucinations that still haunt her. Alice embarks on a mission to root out the true cause of her family's mysterious death, jumping from a gloomy and stark London to a rich and provocative Wonderland. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 52
  2. Negative: 1 out of 52
  1. Jun 14, 2011
    92
    Alice: Madness Returns reminds me a lot of classic N64 platformers like Mario 64 and Banjo Kazooie in the best of ways. By mixing a dark reimagining of a literary classic with stylish combat and rock-solid platforming, EA and Spicy Horse have created a gaming experience quite unlike any other. At any rate, its miles better than the lacklustre Tim Burton movie released last year. This is one rabbit hole worth tumbling down.
  2. Jun 21, 2011
    80
    Alice: Madness Returns should please fans of the original and newcomers alike. The game can feel a bit dated and tedious at times, but the incredibly dark Wonderland that American McGee has crafted is just begging to be explored.
  3. Jun 17, 2011
    79
    Alice - Madness Returns is the kind of game that's retro in both a good sense and a bad: It's a tough game to beat, but lacks innovations and better graphics.
  4. Jun 14, 2011
    70
    Playing Alice: Madness Returns isn't as exciting as looking at it, but you'll still enjoy getting lost in this twisted fantasy adventure.
  5. Jun 17, 2011
    70
    Alice: Madness Returns is stylistically gorgeous, with its crazy characters and a great environmental design. It's a shame that everything is spoiled by huge technical issues, bad graphics and a great lack of variety.
  6. Jun 14, 2011
    65
    Presents a fantastically imagined vision of Wonderland full of secrets, collectables, and wondrous areas of classic platforming to explore. But through questionable level design, graphical inconsistency, and repetitive gameplay, I was pulled out of the experience more than I would have liked.
  7. Jan 9, 2012
    40
    Alice: Madness Return has a terrific visual style and intriguing ideas, which is why it's so frustrating to see what could've been a clever game turn into such a tedious, drawn-out mess.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 45
  2. Negative: 3 out of 45
  1. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    If u are a fan of action/adventure/puzzle games this is a beautiful experience. There is no reason to hate on Alice. I wish there were more games like this masterpiece. Collapse
  2. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    Hellgrip is a **** who honestly should die like right **** now. Jesus Christ this game has bad level design? your moms **** was bad when I **** it last night. If I was president of the united states of **** america I would **** do a genocide on people like you and cause a goddamn massacre. seriously what the **** it has bad level design, no it **** doesn't it has great level design you ****,i f your **** reading this **** give me a message with your address so I can come to your **** house and circumcise you with my Alice madness returns disk, I **** love this game. Expand
  3. Jun 16, 2011
    9
    This game is a piece of art. If you're looking for adrenalin rush, or for a game to be a fine tuned hypnotic machine to make you think you're l33t. This is not that game. It is a fine piece of art for those who want to explore a fantastic world artfully placed between genius and insanity.

    Game reviewers these days are such morons. On one hand, they whine like dying cows when outsiders say game isn't art. On the other hand, when a truly artistic game comes out, they complain about gameplay being too repetitive and "irritating" then use that to slap on a low score.
    Expand
  4. Jun 14, 2012
    8
    I always felt like this game was underrated. I mean playing it today, for the third time, I can't believe how some of these professional reviewers have bashed the game and slapped it with such mediocre scores, which sadly, many people will take one look at and never give this game a chance. This game does so much right: compelling story, VERY beautiful and immersive enviroments/art design/graphics, simple yet exciting combat, fluid controls, good voice acting, replay value, etc. This is honestly one of the only few games that made me stop and marvel at the scenery, plus every enviroment is diverse enough so even if platforming can sometime get tedious, it's still fun to keep going. The only cons about this game are the textures can sometimes look muddy/distorted, pacing is off in that levels are stretched too long, some mini games are boring and repeated too often. But all of this does not equal a mediocre game in my opinion. Most of these flaws are so minor and doesn't even affect the game all that much. Sometimes I feel like the people reviewing the game are just so used to blockbuster games (uncharted, assassin's creed, call of duty, etc.) therefore if a unique game like alice comes out, it doesn't match their "standards" of what a good game should be. Does alice madness returns feel like an old school game? Yes. Is alice madness returns innovative? No. And you know what, that's ok. Unfortunately these so called "professional" don't seem to comprehend this concept rather anything with crosshairs and headshots are considered great games. Expand
  5. Jun 17, 2011
    8
    I didn't really want to play this game; I was somewhat disappointed by the first one. I'm glad I picked it up though. This is a very solid and fun game. It is beautiful, yes, but perhaps more importantly it's varied. Iâ Expand
  6. Jun 17, 2011
    7
    Some of the criticisms are valid. It's repetitive and game play is limited. BUT it looks gorgeous and Alice moves really smoothly. It's full of fun characters but I won't give it higher than a 7. Expand
  7. Mar 6, 2013
    4
    I hadn't played the original Alice McGee game but i still decided to check this game out because it looked creepy and interesting. What a huge disappointment i got. Every single level in this game follows the same pattern, platform jumping, fighting some enemies and collecting collectible items. Okay first i thought Wonderland was kinda cool but the truth is you cannot do anything other than enjoy views besides the actual playing. Game has huge problem with controls, sometimes character doesnt respond to my button pressing at all or does it way too slowly. Combat system is a huge f***kin mess, lock on system is useless because most of the enemies are too fast and attack you while you focus on other one. Last thing i want to make perfectly clear is that this game has ZERO horror in it. Expand

See all 45 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.