Burnout Paradise PlayStation 3

Burnout Paradise Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 453 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Burnout Paradise proves that crashing is awesome! Next generation technology has enabled an unprecedented level of crash deformation allowing you to experience the most explosive pile-ups in the series’ history. Now the development team can realize their original vision for the BurnoutBurnout Paradise proves that crashing is awesome! Next generation technology has enabled an unprecedented level of crash deformation allowing you to experience the most explosive pile-ups in the series’ history. Now the development team can realize their original vision for the Burnout franchise: an open world environment where you can do anything, anywhere, anytime. Feel the adrenaline course through your veins as you take to the road for the first time in Paradise City, where the action is all around you. Explore the city, discover events, and look for the best opportunities to crash, jump and pull signature takedowns. In Burnout Paradise you're given the keys to the city, but it's up to you to earn the keys to the meanest and most dangerous cars on the street, and earn your Burnout license. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. 100
    Give it a chance and you may find yourself having the most fun you've ever had in a virtual car. [Feb 2008, p.70]
  2. Other than the lack of waypoints and some AI-balancing complaints, there's not much to find fault with when it comes to Burnout Paradise.
  3. Paradise is a wonderful game: it's inventive, confident and brilliantly produced and just shows what's possible when developers make the PS3 the lead console. If you're even remotely into racing games, this is one you can't afford to miss out on.
  4. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    90
    A truly superb racer; fast, vast and there's plenty to do under that super-slick surface. [Jan 2008, p.118]
  5. The way the vehicles crumple, windshields shatter, and pieces of debris go flying in every direction is second to none, making you appreciate each and every impact. The only quibbles we have with the presentation are the absence of a driver, and one of the most annoying announcers ever.
  6. These minor hitches notwithstanding, Burnout Paradise is an excellent, solid ride for both solo and online gamers, with superb control, high production values, complete freedom, and so much obsessive, secret-hunting, gotta-catch-‘em-all lasting gameplay incentive that it’s almost ridiculous.
  7. games(TM)
    70
    The question of how much an open city suits Burnout is soon replaced by how well Criterion makes the game work within one. And, thanks to a number of odd decisions on how players progress, the answer is: sloppily. [Feb 2008, p.114]

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 131
  2. Negative: 26 out of 131
  1. MrX
    Jan 25, 2008
    10
    Stop whining about not being able to restart the race! Just start another one close by. The whole idea is to keep things different and fluid Stop whining about not being able to restart the race! Just start another one close by. The whole idea is to keep things different and fluid and learn the city. Just because you suck at the game and have to redo a race a thousand times doesnt mean the game is bad. The open city is awesome and really gives a sense of freedom. It also adds to the replay value because you can take a different route every time you do a race and find all the shortcuts. I thought Crash in the previous Burnouts was boring and overated, so I don't miss it here either. The graphics, responsiveness and sense of speed are amazing, and a definite improvement on previous versions. Brilliant. Expand
  2. DamienR.
    Mar 31, 2008
    10
    This is by far the best racing game I have ever played. It is the complete Burnout experience with all new features... and I hear a lot of This is by far the best racing game I have ever played. It is the complete Burnout experience with all new features... and I hear a lot of people saying "they've done away with the crashes".. well... obviously they werent going fast enough were they? Put the foot down you panzies!! The crashes are in and better than ever! Everything is also open-world as well, so the option to explore Paradise City from top to bottom is at your fingertips. They've got a new formula going here.. and should continue it with the next generation of Burnout games - cause here we have something that works, and works better than every other racing on the market! Expand
  3. ChrisL.
    Jan 26, 2008
    9
    An overall great game, progress is fast and as soon as you adapt to the find your own route and not being able to restart (If you have to An overall great game, progress is fast and as soon as you adapt to the find your own route and not being able to restart (If you have to restart too often, your the sucky one not the game.) The offline mode is very easy and only used for getting new cars to use in the online mode which is far better than any other online mode in whatever game i have ever played. You have the freedom of a MMO but with racing insted of monsters. Its practically the MMO of racing when you go online. The car system is great and the different ways to get cars makes it more interesting, you don't drive from race to race just to race, you do it so you can get a new car on the way, as they drive around in the city and you simply have to take them down and they will be at your Junkyard. Its new, its great and probably a contender for racing game of the year, and its only January :) Expand
  4. IsaacM.
    Feb 24, 2008
    8
    I'm actually giving this an 8.5. I love it!!! This is the first Burnout I have actually gone out and bought coz while the others were I'm actually giving this an 8.5. I love it!!! This is the first Burnout I have actually gone out and bought coz while the others were terrific to play a couple of races on I couldn't sit there and play it seriously I hated having to watch loading screens for hours and I just wasn't drawn into the game I prefer something like Driver or NFS to Burnout. This 1 though is different for starters it has almost NO loading throughout the entire game which is a testament to some serious programming, the graphics are meh could be better (GT5 hurry up and get your a** released already), the city is large and plenty of exploring to do (always a bonus) and the online is utterly flawless. I'm staggered how easy it is to use and how much fun the Online mode is. Other game developers take note this is how easy access to online modes needs to be from now on. PS3 Rocks!!! Now its time to go and collect some Mugshots!! Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2011
    6
    I don't like how it's an open world and you have to drive to the different races, also, it was too fast paced which caused me to crash a lot,I don't like how it's an open world and you have to drive to the different races, also, it was too fast paced which caused me to crash a lot, and the poor navigation system didn't help. The huge variety of different race types was the highlight of this game, my favourite is still take down (although this mode was extremely easy in this game). It definitely wasn't the best Burnout game I've played, Burnout 3 and Revenge are still the best, but it was still a good game, but with a lot of flaws. Expand
  6. RandolphF.
    Feb 14, 2008
    5
    Good looking. The occasional race feels like classic Burnout. Everything else is broken. If you want to see open world racing done right, you Good looking. The occasional race feels like classic Burnout. Everything else is broken. If you want to see open world racing done right, you need to play Midnight Club 3. To see it done wrong, play this game. It just doesn't work. Criterion needs to learn that change for nothing more than the sake of it isn't a good way to make games. Highly suggest the superior Burnout Revenge on the 360. Expand
  7. js
    Jan 22, 2008
    0
    Yeah, might be worth something if it didnt constantly go to cutscene/wreck everytime i try to something cool. should be a mode to turn offYeah, might be worth something if it didnt constantly go to cutscene/wreck everytime i try to something cool. should be a mode to turn off wrecks. environment not so interactive to. should have been made for the pc so it could be modded like a real game (ut3). don't waste your money like me... Expand

See all 131 User Reviews