Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 376 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Burnout Paradise proves that crashing is awesome! Next generation technology has enabled an unprecedented level of crash deformation allowing you to experience the most explosive pile-ups in the series’ history. Now the development team can realize their original vision for the Burnout franchise: an open world environment where you can do anything, anywhere, anytime. Feel the adrenaline course through your veins as you take to the road for the first time in Paradise City, where the action is all around you. Explore the city, discover events, and look for the best opportunities to crash, jump and pull signature takedowns. In Burnout Paradise you're given the keys to the city, but it's up to you to earn the keys to the meanest and most dangerous cars on the street, and earn your Burnout license. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. The group co-op challenges alone are some of the most fun we've had playing online in years. [Feb 2008, p.76]
  2. Other than the lack of waypoints and some AI-balancing complaints, there's not much to find fault with when it comes to Burnout Paradise.
  3. Paradise is without a single doubt the best game in the Burnout franchise. Criterion cleverly grasped the best elements and tailored them to the free roaming style. Production values are superb, and fans of the series shouldn't miss this fabulous chapter.
  4. Burnout Paradise is the first great game of 2008. It has all the makings of one of the best the Burnout series has seen, and if improved upon for next year could be the best Burnout yet.
  5. The way the vehicles crumple, windshields shatter, and pieces of debris go flying in every direction is second to none, making you appreciate each and every impact. The only quibbles we have with the presentation are the absence of a driver, and one of the most annoying announcers ever.
  6. These minor hitches notwithstanding, Burnout Paradise is an excellent, solid ride for both solo and online gamers, with superb control, high production values, complete freedom, and so much obsessive, secret-hunting, gotta-catch-‘em-all lasting gameplay incentive that it’s almost ridiculous.
  7. The question of how much an open city suits Burnout is soon replaced by how well Criterion makes the game work within one. And, thanks to a number of odd decisions on how players progress, the answer is: sloppily. [Feb 2008, p.114]

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 119
  2. Negative: 26 out of 119
  1. MrX
    Jan 25, 2008
    10
    Stop whining about not being able to restart the race! Just start another one close by. The whole idea is to keep things different and fluid and learn the city. Just because you suck at the game and have to redo a race a thousand times doesnt mean the game is bad. The open city is awesome and really gives a sense of freedom. It also adds to the replay value because you can take a different route every time you do a race and find all the shortcuts. I thought Crash in the previous Burnouts was boring and overated, so I don't miss it here either. The graphics, responsiveness and sense of speed are amazing, and a definite improvement on previous versions. Brilliant. Collapse
  2. MOQ
    Mar 30, 2008
    10
    Its brilliant-awesome-amazing! Ok I really like it. its changed from the original but for the better. The Burnout Boost is just incredible, Showtime is the new crash, onlline is too much fun. Buy it now! Expand
  3. ChrisL.
    Jan 26, 2008
    9
    An overall great game, progress is fast and as soon as you adapt to the find your own route and not being able to restart (If you have to restart too often, your the sucky one not the game.) The offline mode is very easy and only used for getting new cars to use in the online mode which is far better than any other online mode in whatever game i have ever played. You have the freedom of a MMO but with racing insted of monsters. Its practically the MMO of racing when you go online. The car system is great and the different ways to get cars makes it more interesting, you don't drive from race to race just to race, you do it so you can get a new car on the way, as they drive around in the city and you simply have to take them down and they will be at your Junkyard. Its new, its great and probably a contender for racing game of the year, and its only January :) Expand
  4. Feb 27, 2013
    7
    I was a big fan of Revenge and Takedown, but I feel as though EA has pulled a "Capcom" and tried to do an unnecessary revamp of their old series. The lack of loading screens is awesome, which means the gameplay doesn't stop for a second, but I feel as though the game has lost its multiplayer edge due to the lack of split screen and the removal of crash parties, which in my opinion, was the most fun part of Revenge. The open world is a rather ingenious addition to a racing game, and although I admit it works and it is a joy to play at times, it feels as though several events from the previous games have been dulled down to fit into the open world. Again, good game, definitely recommendable, but I would like it much better with crash parties and split screen. Expand
  5. Link90210
    Feb 2, 2008
    6
    Very repetitive and many things detract from the usual pick up and play Burnout arcade style. Things don't seem to be running at such a breakneck pace in this one either which is a real shame. Wish they had real cars too! fed up with these cars that you can't really identify with. Crash has gone and race restarts will have you pulling your hair out. Not a bad racer but no Burnout. Expand
  6. StevieS
    Feb 4, 2008
    5
    Lets hope the open racing is born and dies in Paradise as it seems to be a major drawback in many of the reviews I have read. Luckily I rented this and didn't buy as it's not as good as the pure arcade racers I've come to expect from earlier Burnouts. Expand
  7. js
    Jan 22, 2008
    0
    Yeah, might be worth something if it didnt constantly go to cutscene/wreck everytime i try to something cool. should be a mode to turn off wrecks. environment not so interactive to. should have been made for the pc so it could be modded like a real game (ut3). don't waste your money like me... Expand

See all 119 User Reviews