Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 306 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Vincent is a normal salaryman with a somewhat normal life, With a girlfriend of 5 years or so named Katherine, Katherine is pushing to get married, and Vincent is a bit afraid to do the final tie-downs. During a night of drinking and contemplation of marrying with Katherine, Vincent meets aVincent is a normal salaryman with a somewhat normal life, With a girlfriend of 5 years or so named Katherine, Katherine is pushing to get married, and Vincent is a bit afraid to do the final tie-downs. During a night of drinking and contemplation of marrying with Katherine, Vincent meets a rather beautiful, young girl by the name of Catherine. Catherine's charms and beauty are just enough to sway the intoxicated Vincent into sleeping with her, and after that night of sleeping with this mysterious girl, Vincent begins to have horrible nightmares of falling, and strange sheep men. The nightmares are slowly getting worse, and Vincent can't shake off this strange feeling that Katherine knows of his cheating on her, as if that wasn't enough, Vincent learns of unfaithful men, dying in their sleep, and his friend tells rumors of dreams...."When you have dreams of when you're falling and you can't wake up, you'll never wake up again, and die." Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 61
  2. Negative: 1 out of 61
  1. Jul 19, 2011
    100
    In an era increasingly defined by developers' ever-growing fear of creating anything that isn't a safe, conservative million-seller, Atlus' willingness to create and publish something as unique as this is truly commendable. Best of all, it's not just a weird game -- it's a great one, too.
  2. Aug 3, 2011
    90
    Going through the story for the first time is an intriguing affair that ultimately makes you question the type of person you truly are, maybe even more than you'd like to admit. While the difficulty might be too much for some people to handle, it's an experience that is just as rewarding as it is punishing.
  3. Feb 11, 2012
    90
    In Catherine, Atlus successfully combines a puzzle game with heavy emotions (and a large bit of surrealism). It's an important game, that might appeal to an older crowd.
  4. 85
    Catherine is a mind trip, blending the impact of real life decisions, the nightmares of finally growing up, and the fear of dying young. While the core puzzle-platforming offers nerve-wracking excitement, players are likewise gifted with an engaging, authentic story.
  5. Aug 17, 2011
    80
    If you hate puzzle games,Catherine will be like a scorned lover, vying desperately for your attention with methods that don't always work. If you love puzzle games though, Catherine will be the closest you will ever get to having the perfect relationship, drawing you in with its strong and compelling storyline and deep and multi-faceted gameplay.
  6. Mar 13, 2012
    75
    An interactive story enriched with puzzle elements or an arcade/puzzle game with an exceptionally mature and expanded plot – depends on how you look at Catherine. Either way it's both frustrating and fascinating. [April 2012, p.80]
  7. Jul 28, 2011
    40
    Catherine's limited character interaction, shallow characters, and monotonous puzzles combine to form a unique experience that feels frustratingly limited in every respect.

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 85
  2. Negative: 7 out of 85
  1. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    Catherine is a game where you move blocks around in a nightmare while being attacked by sheep, robot babies, vaginas with tongues coming outCatherine is a game where you move blocks around in a nightmare while being attacked by sheep, robot babies, vaginas with tongues coming out of them, and all manner of other beasts (such as a gigantic manâ Expand
  2. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    Thank you, Atlus. I've been playing the **** out of this game, and I don't regret my purchase like many games. The soundtrack is fantastic, asThank you, Atlus. I've been playing the **** out of this game, and I don't regret my purchase like many games. The soundtrack is fantastic, as is expected of the Persona team. The art direction... I'm just in love with it. This game has so much personality - western games take note. Initially I was worried I wouldn't enjoy the actual puzzle gameplay, however I think it was masterfully executed. The easy difficulty is a perfect place for anyone to start and learn how the puzzles work and how to think in blocks. I think this is the best example I've seen of gameplay that can be extremely accessible to new players but also can present a challenge and real skill-based fun for experienced players. Normal is a completely different game from easy, and the tension of play can often feel similar to playing a shoot'em'up, which I loved. The story is wonderful and interesting - and I'm sure a lot of people can relate to Vincent. I typically am not a fan of story driven games, but I couldn't even bring myself to give a **** when I was watching a long cutscene or something. I liked the persona-like interaction elements with fellow climbers, and the text message system was probably the best dialogue system I've seen. The dialogue system as well as the "morality" meter are both things that make me think "Hey this is kind of like what Mass Effect did minus the horrible fatal flaws." I just really hope everyone gives Atlus all their money and persona 5 is on it's way. :) Expand
  3. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    FINALLY!

    A game that is intended for adults. And no, I don't mean the Bulletstorm "12 year olds pretending to be adults" demographic.
    FINALLY!

    A game that is intended for adults. And no, I don't mean the Bulletstorm "12 year olds pretending to be adults" demographic. REAL adults.

    It's not just the subject matter, either. The game is hard, as in you actually have to think. You WILL die, you WILL struggle. And that'll only make you that much more determined to find the solution and climb.

    And that's the beauty of it that has been missing from so many games for so long. Most of us grew up on games that made us start over when we shut it off, and while Catherine doesn't go that far, it still pushes you to use your noggin, as a good puzzle game should.

    I realize the Puzzle Genre isn't for everyone, but the game market has been virtually dead outside of Tetris/Bejeweled knockoffs (Which are a different kind of puzzle game.) It's a welcomed change, and it's enjoyable. In addition, Catherine hits on the simplicity of games in the past. Like a good, perfectly cooked steak. It's not fancy. It doesn't try to woo you with inedible garnishes and sauce smeared on your plate. Catherine is, at its core, a fantastic puzzle game. Pushing boxes, but delivered in a method that you wouldn't expect. There's a reason why ATLUS games have the highest price retention out of any other publisher. Persona 4 is still $35 at Gamestop and it's a PS2 game. ATLUS makes quality games that people won't want to give up. Catherine will be no different.
    Expand
  4. Aug 3, 2011
    9
    I liked this game and recommend to anybody who has younger brother as I do. We played it together an enjoyed a lot! Puzzles and platforms areI liked this game and recommend to anybody who has younger brother as I do. We played it together an enjoyed a lot! Puzzles and platforms are very hard, be prepared! Expand
  5. Oct 18, 2013
    8
    Catherine made me feel: Addicted, Adrenaline, Anger, Challenge, Guilt, Intrigue, Relaxation, Victory.

    I cannot recommend this game to
    Catherine made me feel: Addicted, Adrenaline, Anger, Challenge, Guilt, Intrigue, Relaxation, Victory.

    I cannot recommend this game to anyone because you may come back to me angry for having failed to complete a challenge. The challenges are frustrating; I tried to snap my controller in half more than once. I lost countless hours of sleep trying to push myself to get through the increasingly difficult levels. I wanted to quit many times…, but could not because the story had me so hooked I had to make it through to see what would happen next.

    The game is odd, in a good way, in that if feels like two games in one. One game is intense puzzle plat forming, while the other is a relaxing conversation simulator. As you play you switch between the two which makes for some brilliant pacing. Without the story and the knowledge I could relax following an intense brain exploding puzzle, I would have easily quit early in the game.

    The story, while relaxing, tackles some controversial social ethics that will probably affect players in different ways. For me, the game made me look internally and reflect on what type of person I am. This in turn made me feel guilty as I knew I was guiding the character into doing the wrong things but could not bring myself to stop.

    My biggest gripes are that the controls are a bit awkward which make for frustrating moments, and a few of the endings feel incomplete. These are the endings you get if you are indecisive throughout the games trials.

    Catherine is a unique game, and is unlike anything I have played before. The difficult puzzles were always worth it because of the victory I felt when completing them. Sometimes I would jump off the couch with a victory yell. (My wife didn’t appreciate this). In the end, I am happy to have had the opportunity to experience the game.
    Expand
  6. Aug 13, 2011
    8
    great plot. new game play is cool. but trap cube is unnecessary , just wasting time. and mystery pillow is stupid.... still a good game togreat plot. new game play is cool. but trap cube is unnecessary , just wasting time. and mystery pillow is stupid.... still a good game to play. but I got a bad ending : ( Expand
  7. Aug 30, 2013
    0
    This is the worst game I've ever played, literally. I downloaded Catherine from PS Plus, I don't even know how this got in the store. TheThis is the worst game I've ever played, literally. I downloaded Catherine from PS Plus, I don't even know how this got in the store. The first thing that I noticed is the price it's really expensive, at first I thought it's probably good since it costs so much. But I was wrong. When I started the game, this crappy menu showed up. I was like "what the is this?". Before I got to play, it showed some ****ty anime cutscenes, they were so horrible, only a drugged man would enjoy this. But it's nothing compared to the gameplay itself. You're playing as a naked guy with goat horns, and the objective is to jump on blocks until you come to finish. That's basically everything the game is about. I really regret downloading this pathetic excuse for a game, thank god I didn't waste money on it. Anyone who enjoys this is probably mentally challenged or something. Don't buy this game, please. It's really bad. Expand

See all 85 User Reviews