Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 287 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Vincent is a normal salaryman with a somewhat normal life, With a girlfriend of 5 years or so named Katherine, Katherine is pushing to get married, and Vincent is a bit afraid to do the final tie-downs. During a night of drinking and contemplation of marrying with Katherine, Vincent meets a rather beautiful, young girl by the name of Catherine. Catherine's charms and beauty are just enough to sway the intoxicated Vincent into sleeping with her, and after that night of sleeping with this mysterious girl, Vincent begins to have horrible nightmares of falling, and strange sheep men. The nightmares are slowly getting worse, and Vincent can't shake off this strange feeling that Katherine knows of his cheating on her, as if that wasn't enough, Vincent learns of unfaithful men, dying in their sleep, and his friend tells rumors of dreams...."When you have dreams of when you're falling and you can't wake up, you'll never wake up again, and die." Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 61
  2. Negative: 1 out of 61
  1. Jul 19, 2011
    100
    In an era increasingly defined by developers' ever-growing fear of creating anything that isn't a safe, conservative million-seller, Atlus' willingness to create and publish something as unique as this is truly commendable. Best of all, it's not just a weird game -- it's a great one, too.
  2. Aug 3, 2011
    90
    Going through the story for the first time is an intriguing affair that ultimately makes you question the type of person you truly are, maybe even more than you'd like to admit. While the difficulty might be too much for some people to handle, it's an experience that is just as rewarding as it is punishing.
  3. Feb 11, 2012
    90
    In Catherine, Atlus successfully combines a puzzle game with heavy emotions (and a large bit of surrealism). It's an important game, that might appeal to an older crowd.
  4. 85
    Catherine is a mind trip, blending the impact of real life decisions, the nightmares of finally growing up, and the fear of dying young. While the core puzzle-platforming offers nerve-wracking excitement, players are likewise gifted with an engaging, authentic story.
  5. Aug 17, 2011
    80
    If you hate puzzle games,Catherine will be like a scorned lover, vying desperately for your attention with methods that don't always work. If you love puzzle games though, Catherine will be the closest you will ever get to having the perfect relationship, drawing you in with its strong and compelling storyline and deep and multi-faceted gameplay.
  6. Mar 13, 2012
    75
    An interactive story enriched with puzzle elements or an arcade/puzzle game with an exceptionally mature and expanded plot – depends on how you look at Catherine. Either way it's both frustrating and fascinating. [April 2012, p.80]
  7. Jul 28, 2011
    40
    Catherine's limited character interaction, shallow characters, and monotonous puzzles combine to form a unique experience that feels frustratingly limited in every respect.

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 82
  2. Negative: 7 out of 82
  1. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    Catherine is a game where you move blocks around in a nightmare while being attacked by sheep, robot babies, vaginas with tongues coming out of them, and all manner of other beasts (such as a gigantic manâ Expand
  2. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    Thank you, Atlus. I've been playing the **** out of this game, and I don't regret my purchase like many games. The soundtrack is fantastic, as is expected of the Persona team. The art direction... I'm just in love with it. This game has so much personality - western games take note. Initially I was worried I wouldn't enjoy the actual puzzle gameplay, however I think it was masterfully executed. The easy difficulty is a perfect place for anyone to start and learn how the puzzles work and how to think in blocks. I think this is the best example I've seen of gameplay that can be extremely accessible to new players but also can present a challenge and real skill-based fun for experienced players. Normal is a completely different game from easy, and the tension of play can often feel similar to playing a shoot'em'up, which I loved. The story is wonderful and interesting - and I'm sure a lot of people can relate to Vincent. I typically am not a fan of story driven games, but I couldn't even bring myself to give a **** when I was watching a long cutscene or something. I liked the persona-like interaction elements with fellow climbers, and the text message system was probably the best dialogue system I've seen. The dialogue system as well as the "morality" meter are both things that make me think "Hey this is kind of like what Mass Effect did minus the horrible fatal flaws." I just really hope everyone gives Atlus all their money and persona 5 is on it's way. :) Expand
  3. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    FINALLY!

    A game that is intended for adults. And no, I don't mean the Bulletstorm "12 year olds pretending to be adults" demographic.
    REAL adults.

    It's not just the subject matter, either. The game is hard, as in you actually have to think. You WILL die, you WILL struggle. And that'll only make you that much more determined to find the solution and climb.

    And that's the beauty of it that has been missing from so many games for so long. Most of us grew up on games that made us start over when we shut it off, and while Catherine doesn't go that far, it still pushes you to use your noggin, as a good puzzle game should.

    I realize the Puzzle Genre isn't for everyone, but the game market has been virtually dead outside of Tetris/Bejeweled knockoffs (Which are a different kind of puzzle game.) It's a welcomed change, and it's enjoyable. In addition, Catherine hits on the simplicity of games in the past. Like a good, perfectly cooked steak. It's not fancy. It doesn't try to woo you with inedible garnishes and sauce smeared on your plate. Catherine is, at its core, a fantastic puzzle game. Pushing boxes, but delivered in a method that you wouldn't expect. There's a reason why ATLUS games have the highest price retention out of any other publisher. Persona 4 is still $35 at Gamestop and it's a PS2 game. ATLUS makes quality games that people won't want to give up. Catherine will be no different.
    Expand
  4. Aug 3, 2011
    9
    I liked this game and recommend to anybody who has younger brother as I do. We played it together an enjoyed a lot! Puzzles and platforms are very hard, be prepared! Expand
  5. Apr 23, 2013
    8
    Catherine is a twisted anime RPG that won’t be for everyone, but it’s definitely worth taking a look. You play the role of Vincent who is caught between two women, his fiancé and the girl of his dreams (Katherine and Catherine, respectively). Speaking of dreams, whenever you sleep you have to run from your nightmares by way of an “Intelligence Cube”-esque puzzler…and you have horns and a pillow…because you and others in your dream are sheep that are all being slaughtered. Yeah. All weird japanese stuff aside the story gives you a real sense of anxiety and you feel like a douche for being stuck in the middle of this self created drama. Fantastic. Expand
  6. Jul 27, 2011
    7
    A breath of fresh air in a gaming landscape cluttered with military shooters. Catherine is a unique and engrossing experience which features some of the highest production values I've seen in years. If you don't have any strong distaste for anime, play it now. Expand
  7. Oct 5, 2012
    0
    Frustrating, annoying, boring, cheap.

    Worst game I've ever played since Small Soldiers on psx...my God, this isn't even a game, it's a
    mediocre anime cartoon, brutally interrupted by random and nonsense puzzle sessions with the only purpose of reaching the top of a bunch of boxes...It was so bad that i actually was annoyed by the puzzle levels and wanted to skip them to watch the cartoon, but obviously it was not possible... WORST. GAME. EXPERIENCE. EVER. Expand

See all 82 User Reviews