Clive Barker's Jericho Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An unflinching realisation of a Clive Barker nightmare for next-gen console platforms and PC, Clive Barker's Jericho is a supernatural horror concept with story by the master mythmaker, novelist and filmmaker Clive Barker. Jericho deals with the mysterious reappearance of a lost city in aAn unflinching realisation of a Clive Barker nightmare for next-gen console platforms and PC, Clive Barker's Jericho is a supernatural horror concept with story by the master mythmaker, novelist and filmmaker Clive Barker. Jericho deals with the mysterious reappearance of a lost city in a remote desert. When a form of evil that goes right back to the dawn of days resurfaces from there, a Special Forces squad, trained in both conventional warfare and the arcane arts, is sent in. Their mission: Hunt down and destroy the evil that lurks at the heart of the city before it destroys humanity. Jericho is designed as an action horror title that ups the stakes in visuals and phantasmagorical special effects. Mingling the darkest elements of Barker’s horror fiction and films with an ambitious, age-spanning story, aimed at mature gamers, fans of Clive Barker and horror fiction enthusiasts. [Codemasters] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 34
  2. Negative: 5 out of 34
  1. 84
    The worst ending to a videogame ever and a mediocre start aren't enough to ruin one of the better shooters to emerge in years. Barker's influence is something that elevates Jericho, despite its problems, above many other FPSs. A gory treat. [Issue#159, p.80]
  2. The FPS elements are stock and the levels have a feeling of guiding you through the game because the maze of ruins you encounter will only allow you to go in one continuous direction. Still, the controls are easy to learn and the game does have its share of heart-start moments.
  3. Jericho is clever enough for a good time with a FPS, however as anything else Jericho should trade in this blood gushing festival of carnage for jelly donuts.
  4. Jericho doesn't really bring anything new to the gaming world.
  5. Clive Barker's Jericho does a few things well and a lot of things poorly. In no way can it compare to the other awesome FPSs available now (Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare, for example), and when you spend more time healing than fighting, there's something seriously wrong.
  6. It’s important to stress that Clive Barker’s Jericho is really not a bad game. It’s just nowhere near as good as the top shooters that surround it. [Dec 2007, p.124]
  7. 30
    The thread holding Jericho above that pit of legendary awfulness is thin and fraying. Mr. Barker, you're better than this.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. ArthurN.
    Dec 9, 2007
    9
    It's not as bad as what Critics said. Set the difficulty to EASY and apply the 3 cheat codes (1st free cheat code can be obtained simply It's not as bad as what Critics said. Set the difficulty to EASY and apply the 3 cheat codes (1st free cheat code can be obtained simply by registering), and you won't find yourself dying so easily. And then you get to truly appreciate the original idea of posessing the bodies and abilities of your NPCs. Let the fun begins. Expand
  2. TimS
    Apr 15, 2008
    9
    This game was better than the reviews would lead you to believe. If you believe the reviews you would think that your squad was impossible to This game was better than the reviews would lead you to believe. If you believe the reviews you would think that your squad was impossible to control and you spend all of your time running around and reviving them. I just completed this game and had none of these issues. Each character has their own type of play-style and this kept the gameplay refreshing. Voice acting was well done and the story was decent. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 was due to the linear level design and lack of variety in opponents. Expand
  3. Bret
    Oct 29, 2007
    8
    Horror is generally not my kind of game but I have to say this one was pretty well done. I liked the various 'powers' the Jericho Horror is generally not my kind of game but I have to say this one was pretty well done. I liked the various 'powers' the Jericho unit had, also that the unit talks to each other as you play, gave a sense of being less then 2 dimensional. The Action is fast and furious. I definitely think it is better then the reviews it is getting. Expand
  4. May 13, 2012
    8
    Imagine if the Ghostbusters got a call, imagine it is in the middle of the night, and imagine if they rushed to it only to find out that theyImagine if the Ghostbusters got a call, imagine it is in the middle of the night, and imagine if they rushed to it only to find out that they would be spending the night in Hell, and then found out that the call was made by Clive Barker. Somehow this is how I feel about the game Jericho. It's concept involves a team of fearless, for the most part, individuals who live to blacken the eye of unholy abominations. Clive Barker's Jericho is in many ways a Ghostbusters in Hell kind of story, but it is far more than that as well. Jericho is an underrated gem of a horror game which raises a lot more than piles of bodies and ammo, though prepare for plenty of that as well. This game will raise questions about faith, historic figures, religion, reality, what ifs, maybes, might have been's, and some frightening could be's. The tale goes that before man God created another being but was dissatisfied with it and therefor aborted it. Known in the game as The Firstborn these "beings" were placed in a patch of alternate reality known as The Box. (feeling Clive Barkery yet? Just wait...) The Firstborn have the power to basically snap our planet like a twig, if it wasn't for team Jericho. Jericho is a squad of supernatural soldiers who protect our dimension. For every day the sun comes up and we go about our day undisturbed we can thank Jericho. Now, that is all I will say plot wise because the game is very fun to see unfold with its creative little surprises. As I mentioned before, this game really is underrated. You most likely will not hear too many people having played or enjoyed this game and this goes for critics as well. Upon asking why all I can say is one of two things most likely apply if not both, one being the creativity of Clive Barker which I will circle around and come back to in just a moment. The second reason this could be is because this is not a typical game. It is a FPS, and unlike most FPS it takes a strategy and some creative juice on the players part. It is in no way mindless, in no way run and gun, in no way a button masher, and even though a cover system exists many will not find themselves using it, but instead fighting as a team face to face with demonic enemies. In a world where FPS focus on solid run and gun action and quickly getting to the multiplayer section, Jericho takes an approach that while flawed is desperately seeking something fresh. It's style is a co-op single player experience which allows you to control any team mate you wish at any time via possession, and with this you will discover that everyone who plays has a different favorite character because each plays different and has vastly different abilities and weapons. Jericho is a flawed little game but not by a terrible margin. AI is not too bright on either end of the gun but it is forgivable due its charm and pace. Enemies will run directly towards a roaring automatic weapon, your teammates may charge something three times their size, and often team mates are not very responsive when trying to work as a whole. However the games style somewhat shadows this with its over the top sci fi and horror elements. Dialogue is sometimes cheesy but it falls under a more lovable B-movie vibe than anything else. Characters are in some ways typical and in others completely original, but regardless you will probably like all of them even if your not emotionally attached to them. Something else I will briefly address is the ending or the lack of...the ending is not a bad one, its just that there isn't one, I don't mean that its a cliffhanger for a sequel, I mean there is literally no ending, the game just stops. I did not feel cheated but it is strange and has me wanting more. Now back to reason one that this game is overlooked. Mr.Barker himself spreads his wonderful insanity all over Jericho and it simply is not for everyone, but fans of his work will love it. It is dark, gory, disturbing, beautiful, and has the ability to reach under your skin here and there. Fans of Hellraiser and the like need to play this immediately. If the game has one thing going for it, it is the stunning attention to all things menacing. These are not just horror images, these are the things of nightmares and I for one love it. The game is worth playing just to admire Clive Barkers sense of terror and fantastic uses of human flesh, and if that does not sound enjoyable to you then heed my warning, this game is not for those with weak stomachs, and I do not say that often. The music is absorbing and scary as well, it is a bombastic action soundtrack filled with sheer haunting horror all the while not one single ounce of techno creeps its way in, a plus in my book. I truly enjoyed Jericho and would play it several more times. It is very fun, challenging, fast paced, exciting, and quite intense at times. For Barker fans it is an absolute must but I encourage all horror and sci fi fans to play at least once. This is not a Doom clone, this is Clive Barker. Expand
  5. SeanK
    Jun 4, 2008
    7
    Apart from being thrown from recent times then back to the 16th century and so on this is an excellent game that has been way underated.... Apart from being thrown from recent times then back to the 16th century and so on this is an excellent game that has been way underated.... the idea of being able to change characters and all having different weapons and powers is brilliant. The storyline is great along with good visuals and good gameplay (once you get used to the characters). The only real let down for me was the ending which i expected more of a cinematic closure which instead i thought was awfully executed and rushed, this is why i have only given the game a 7 instead of an 8.... If your a fps fan then this is definately a good buy (£17.99!!!) and for those who are fans of the survival horror games or even fans of horror films this is a must. Expand
  6. Dec 17, 2014
    7
    There is a lot to love about this game but also a lot to hate. First the things i didn´t liked: The squad members: There are just to many ofThere is a lot to love about this game but also a lot to hate. First the things i didn´t liked: The squad members: There are just to many of them, in every battle you will go around healing them over and over instead of fighting, this was really annoying. The leveldesign: In one word: Boring (except the roman levels). The ending: Crash! Bamm! Bang! and its done...and you will be sitting there like "Whaaaaaat?". Enemy variety: You will be fighting cultist over and over again, more different enemies would be great! The framerate: Smooth? N-o-o-o!
    Now the things i liked: Some of the graphics look really nice! Enemy models are quiet cool! The special abilitys: Using your squad members special abilitys is fun and enjoyable. The Story. Personally i liked it (except the ending!). The voiceacting: Good work on the side of the voiceactors, the characters are lively and likeable. The game: I just could not stop! I wanted to finish it and all the negative aspects could not break the overall positive experience!
    Expand
  7. Mick
    Nov 6, 2007
    5
    Don't bother buying this I waited ages for it to be released wish I hadn't bothered. I hate slating games but this one drives me mad.

See all 16 User Reviews