Dead Island PlayStation 3

Dead Island Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 411 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dead Island is a first-person shooter that pits you on an island full of zombies.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 41
  2. Negative: 2 out of 41
  1. May 21, 2012
    88
    Dead Island may lack that top level of polish, and even have its own awkward moments, but it's a game worth playing, and easily worth your money. The gameplay is deep, the visuals can be breathtaking (at times), and every bit of it is fun. This game earns itself a spot in the ranks of the best zombie games and RPGs around. There's still plenty of fun to be had with zombie games.
  2. Sep 6, 2011
    81
    Although a bit too ambitious if we compare the expectations and the final result, Dead Island is still a great game, with a lot of hours of fun, a great ambiance and a good combat system which provides a lot of little pleasures when killing zombies. Its cooperative mode and lenghtly story make it a recommended buy.
  3. Sep 6, 2011
    80
    It's completely different from what the teaser trailers suggested, the narrative is missing, the atmosphere is quite basic, characters are just silly. Yet, Dead Island is a funny action/adventure with small RPG influence, delivering fast paced and visceral combat, best served with friends. Consider it if you're looking for a not-so-compelling, light co-op fun.
  4. 72
    The RPG twist on the genre is fairly cool, and does result in an experience that is longer than you might expect, but the game's utter lack of story and reliance on pre-established genre conventions make it a pretty big missed opportunity.
  5. 70
    Technical issues and some repetitiveness keep it from being labeled as great.
  6. 70
    There's a lot to do on this zombie-infested island from hell. With some more varied missions and better melee combat, the final score would have been shimmering.
  7. Sep 20, 2011
    40
    Dead Island is described as a first person action-adventure game, whilst it is definitely first person, the latter two descriptions are misleading, it is action in as much as raising your arm is an action, it is adventure in as much finding toilet roll is an adventure. They should have called it a first person battle of tedium, because it would've been a lot more accurate.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 142
  2. Negative: 30 out of 142
  1. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    + atmosphere
    + the way online Co-op works
    + great environments & graphic overall + almost unlimited exploration area - cutscenes & poor
    + atmosphere
    + the way online Co-op works
    + great environments & graphic overall
    + almost unlimited exploration area
    - cutscenes & poor animation
    - bugs (textures, edges)

    But overall: I love it.
    Expand
  2. Sep 20, 2012
    9
    this is an awesome game if you like zombies. the only downside is that theres no BIG groups of zombies, the max ive seen together is about 6this is an awesome game if you like zombies. the only downside is that theres no BIG groups of zombies, the max ive seen together is about 6 zombies in a group but other than that it's a very well done game. Expand
  3. Nov 30, 2011
    8
    Using the updated software on 1.3.0 This game is exciting and fun. A bit tedious when you get run over by a horde of 8 or 9 zombies at a timeUsing the updated software on 1.3.0 This game is exciting and fun. A bit tedious when you get run over by a horde of 8 or 9 zombies at a time but it evens itself out with good vehicle play and has the GTA sandbox feel. Probably not at the same level as GTA but with another iteration it could be awesome. Long story and great gaming. Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2011
    7
    To me, Dead Island was the perfect formula for a game. I'm a huge fan o zombie-themed games so I couldn't wait for this one to come out. EvenTo me, Dead Island was the perfect formula for a game. I'm a huge fan o zombie-themed games so I couldn't wait for this one to come out. Even though the game suffers from many bugs and the core mechanics seem too shallow, I had quite a lot of fun in exploring the island and pounding the zombies with my sledgehammer. Let's hope techland learnt a lesson in case they plan to release a sequel. Expand
  5. May 1, 2014
    6
    was this game good? yes. but it was also very disappointing. the trailer for this game had people expecting game of the year material, but thewas this game good? yes. but it was also very disappointing. the trailer for this game had people expecting game of the year material, but the end result turned out to be somewhat mediocre. the RPG elements are far to simple and the missions are uninteresting. combat is really fun and has great graphics and blood effects and what not, but the guns in the game feel cluncky. the Island is beautiful, but there is nothing about the map that really stands out, but its a better open world then some games I've seen like prototype. there is not much to the story, but its a zombie game so the story isn't as much as a concern. overall, a game that was suppose to be awesome and revolutionary, came off ok, and just redressed things that we have already seen before. Expand
  6. Aug 23, 2013
    5
    I'll give you this, the atmosphere was well done, the graphics were great. But that's all I can say was good. The gameplay was tedious andI'll give you this, the atmosphere was well done, the graphics were great. But that's all I can say was good. The gameplay was tedious and repetitive, it glitches and had bugs all over the damn thing. The facial expressions were so bland and ineffective. The mission structures were just half-assed at best. Maybe if I played it stoned, it'd be great. Expand
  7. May 9, 2012
    0
    Incredibly bad game; Poor driving, poor combat and poor quests. It's basically a **** version of Borderlands. Don't buy! It has no redeemingIncredibly bad game; Poor driving, poor combat and poor quests. It's basically a **** version of Borderlands. Don't buy! It has no redeeming qualities whatsoever. Expand

See all 142 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.