Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 91 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Split/Second, an intense action racing game set within the world of a hyper-competitive reality television show. Competitors vie to be the first across the finish line in a made-for-TV city built for destruction, with the ultimate goal of becoming the season champion. Competitors inSplit/Second, an intense action racing game set within the world of a hyper-competitive reality television show. Competitors vie to be the first across the finish line in a made-for-TV city built for destruction, with the ultimate goal of becoming the season champion. Competitors in Split/Second don't just collide with other vehicles to knock them from the track -- they can also trigger explosive events that drastically alter the dynamics of the race. Players must use strategy and pinpoint timing to derail opponents, tactically alter the track or create entirely new routes. [Disney] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. 100
    By expertly blurring the line between arcade racing and popcorn action flicks, Black Rock has not only further established itself as one of the top racing studios in the game, but also created arguably the most intense driving experience of this console generation.
  2. After playing it for an extended period of time, I think it is a great game and would recommend it to anyone who is on the fence and loves racing games. Unfortunately, the candle on this game burns out a little too quickly, with only a few modes supported for online play.
  3. Though initially it tends to be a bit on the easy side and learning when and where to use which power-plays is a case of trial and error, it's not long before the game escalates into a nail-bitingly intense experience.
  4. It's a shame that Split/Second fails to provide new courses later on, and once you've seen it all, it does lose some of its magic. But while it's fresh, Split/Second delivers an exhilarating sense of danger and surprise. It's just simple, explosive fun.
  5. Brilliantly chaotic and rapid, but lacking that killer edge. [June 2010, p.86]
  6. Leaves the majority of its competitors languishing in its slipstream - with a glorious pile of fresh debris raining down around them. [June 2010, p.100]
  7. A lot of speed and explosions entertain us, but this is a racing game that relies to much on a pretty mediocre gimmick.

See all 56 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Dec 26, 2010
    10
    One of the most fun racing games I have ever played in my life! Was very pleasantly surprised by this one. What sold me was the demo, playedOne of the most fun racing games I have ever played in my life! Was very pleasantly surprised by this one. What sold me was the demo, played it 5 times and even though it was the same track, I experienced it differently 3 or 4 of those times. Even the 1st lap of one race was different than the first lap of another because of a portion of the environment being destroyed forcing you to use a new part of the track. On my 5th play-through of the demo I saw a part of the track I hadn't experienced yet, so once the real game came out I picked it up asap and loved it a lot! Definitely worth the money, took a few weeks to beat it since I would try for all gold's before moving to next episode. Expand
  2. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    I never like any racing game but i think game is probably one of the best racing games i played. The game was very fun . probably my firstI never like any racing game but i think game is probably one of the best racing games i played. The game was very fun . probably my first racing i played Expand
  3. Oct 13, 2010
    10
    What do you get with Split/Second? Fun. Just fun. Pure simple unadulterated fun. When you put the game up against other arcade and kart-racingWhat do you get with Split/Second? Fun. Just fun. Pure simple unadulterated fun. When you put the game up against other arcade and kart-racing games, you may put it just in the top 3. You would also need to put an asterisk next to the game, since it is the first game to say "My car is not the weapon, the game is my weapon". This is a twist that is unseen and you can only hope that Disney with BlackRock Studio will make another split/second with more tracks, cars, and improvements.

    I would recommend this game to anybody, but for those who love online racing, I would recommend it more to. As said, I keep feeling like there is something in the game that has been missed. If that feature...whatever it is was in the game, I think more people would know of the game and rate it higher. Either way, what we have now is simple, fast, beautiful and fun.

    For Full Review, visit my blog: http://hypedgames.blogspot.com/2010/09/splitsecond-review-explosions.html
    Expand
  4. Dec 8, 2013
    9
    This is a really, really underrated game. I truly can't explain why this hasn't achieved the same success of the Burnout games, my guess isThis is a really, really underrated game. I truly can't explain why this hasn't achieved the same success of the Burnout games, my guess is because of Disney's bad merchandising. The car crashes are not so spectacular, but the scenario destruction is very impressive, and is really the catch of the game. Very nice graphics, increasing difficulty (to the point it's almost unplayable at the end) and a lot of breathtaking moments will get you hooked to this game for days. Expand
  5. Dec 28, 2010
    9
    Amazed this one has slipped under the radar so much. It really is very good. GT actually felt stodgy afterwards but GT is a different memberAmazed this one has slipped under the radar so much. It really is very good. GT actually felt stodgy afterwards but GT is a different member of the family. Split seconds detonator challenges are excellent fun and will appeal to any stubborn gamers who don't like to be beaten!! Expand
  6. Oct 7, 2012
    8
    Destroy overtake instead: This racing game burns a rapid effect fireworks - and does some things differently than the genre competition. It isDestroy overtake instead: This racing game burns a rapid effect fireworks - and does some things differently than the genre competition. It is a simple but extremely entertaining arcade racing in brilliant bombastic appearance. Expand
  7. Oct 19, 2010
    5
    This game provides a jarring racing experience, unfortunately with boring arcade physics. Everything is on autopilot and the game is veryThis game provides a jarring racing experience, unfortunately with boring arcade physics. Everything is on autopilot and the game is very easy. I was able to win without paying attention to the game. The explosions became irritating so I turned the sound off. Get Burnout instead, even Blur is slightly better arcade racing. This is like eating stale crackers. Collapse

See all 21 User Reviews