• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
48

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Explore the ever-changing world of this procedurally generated horror game. Waking up in an abandoned hospital with only your mobile phone for illumination, you explore the institution's dark criminal past as you attempt to escape. In Daylight no two experiences are the same, and it is bestExplore the ever-changing world of this procedurally generated horror game. Waking up in an abandoned hospital with only your mobile phone for illumination, you explore the institution's dark criminal past as you attempt to escape. In Daylight no two experiences are the same, and it is best played alone in the dark. Daylight introduces you to a procedurally generated world that will change each and every time you play. Each time you begin a new game, you experience a new world with new content and encounters; from the layout of the building and the things you seek to the events you encounter, it is never the same experience twice. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 27
  2. Negative: 11 out of 27
  1. Apr 29, 2014
    74
    Daylight's potency is diminished by repetition and distraction, but when you have the chance to become truly engrossed in its shadows, it can really pull you in and make you jump, especially if you’re wearing a pair of headphones.
  2. May 7, 2014
    70
    Tons of atmosphere, but little in the way of replayability.
  3. Apr 29, 2014
    60
    Daylight is a victim of its most-touted feature. When the random generated items and enemies work, every step carries a palpable sense of dread and unease. But the immersion’s lost when the player gets caught in an enemy spawning loop with too few flares is hard to get back. The story’s climax works better on paper, and bland visuals just make maze navigation aggravating.
  4. Jun 2, 2014
    50
    Ultimately, Daylight does manage to produce a few frightening scenarios thanks to the impressive audio, but it's a shame the story, gameplay, and environments aren't as well developed as the sound. The bones of something more chilling (and satisfying) are here, but there just isn't enough meat on them.
  5. May 30, 2014
    49
    Daylight deserves credit for trying to spice up the first person horror genre, but its problems keep it from becoming anything more than an interesting experiment.
  6. May 7, 2014
    35
    The gameplay is uninspired and repetitive, the story is a mess, nobody will care about the protagonist, and the challenge is minimal. And the worst part? Nothing about this is scary. You’ll stumble across a few appropriately freaky parts but even those begin to dwindle with time. If you want frightening, play Outlast. Otherwise, save your money and wait for something else.
  7. Jun 1, 2014
    10
    Flagrantly misapplying the PlayStation 4's freshly unveiled Unreal Engine 4, it looks like it was slapped together overnight, with a plethora of buggy annoyances from rough edges to muddy surface textures and glitchy lighting effects.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 15
  2. Negative: 8 out of 15
  1. Feb 25, 2015
    9
    This game was a lot of fun for me. You are put in a world that is different everytime you play it. Witches are hunting you down and anytimeThis game was a lot of fun for me. You are put in a world that is different everytime you play it. Witches are hunting you down and anytime you hear them you just want to sit in a corner. Heck one time i was just turning a little to look in the room and BAM she was right there and i screamed like a little girl! It was great. But the best part is that if you stream on twitch people can type in commands to scare you! So i recomend signing up for twitch and messing with some people then deciding if you want to play. its a great game. good atmosphere. the sounds will creep you out. my verdict is dont knock it till you try it. definatly worth $8 Expand
  2. May 1, 2014
    8
    I haven't beaten the title yet, however from what I have played of it so far, it's really good. For a 10 dollar game I already got what I haveI haven't beaten the title yet, however from what I have played of it so far, it's really good. For a 10 dollar game I already got what I have paid for despite the level design not being the greatest. Overall enjoyable, the randomness of the game makes for mad tension. Some of the pieces you look for are easier to find then others, and running low on flares is a pain in the ass, but the first time I turned around to an enemy standing right behind me I straight up shat my pants. Scary scary. Expand
  3. May 12, 2014
    8
    What I think is being missed here by most reviews, is that this game is obviously intended to be rendered in 3D; it is a proof of conceptWhat I think is being missed here by most reviews, is that this game is obviously intended to be rendered in 3D; it is a proof of concept title that falls short of perfection, but looses your mind on the possibilities of 3D gaming. I have played 3D enabled platforming titles, and watched 3D movies, but never played a 1st Person game in a full 3D environment as it is presented in Daylight.

    The story is similar to other horror titles that have come and gone through the years; waking up in an abandoned hospital/prison/ghost town, ect. and trying to make your way out alive, putting together the puzzle pieces of what happened along the way. It is by no means a bad story (so far) though, just don't expect it to blow your mind.

    The atmosphere is chilling, and the protagonists random dialogue while searching the spooky environments for more flares or glow sticks actually drew me in quite a bit.

    This is a $10 game that provides $10 of entertainment, why everyone is expecting more, I don't know... but I speak this after having played it in its intended format, 3D enabled with surround sound. If you do not have 3D, or quality sound devices, you may be better off playing Outlast and its new expansion. If you do have 3D, and quality surround sound, this is worth playing.
    Expand
  4. May 9, 2014
    4
    Ok, where to start. I was looking forward to this for a while it looked good and so sat down and was ready for a outlast type ride. Well. ItsOk, where to start. I was looking forward to this for a while it looked good and so sat down and was ready for a outlast type ride. Well. Its not that, not by a mile. Its repetitve, boring, irritating, poorly made, and so crap i havent even finnished it. Dont waste your money, try the new out last dlc its way way better. Expand
  5. May 1, 2014
    4
    Not scary and boring,long loading times.... Outlast is a better game albeit I didn't find outlast very scary either.... I suggest waiting forNot scary and boring,long loading times.... Outlast is a better game albeit I didn't find outlast very scary either.... I suggest waiting for The Evil Within , I have a very good feeling about that game. If you are thirsty for horror games and do not care abut graphics, I suggest you go back and play Silent Hill 1-3 or Resident Evil 1-3.....Amnesia is pretty good too..... I hope survival horror games make a comeback, but with lackluster titles as "Daylight" we still have a long way to go... I am glade to see more horror games coming out but this one I can not recommend. I didn't like Outlast either but a lot of other people seem to like it so I suggest trying that game out before buying this one, and if you do not like Outlast then you probably wont like this one either... Expand
  6. May 1, 2014
    3
    Boooooring....
    The scares are boring
    Leveldesign is boring Graphics are ps2 quality and....boring Loadingtimes are superlong and makes me
    Boooooring....
    The scares are boring
    Leveldesign is boring
    Graphics are ps2 quality and....boring
    Loadingtimes are superlong and makes me bored.
    Was hoping on another survival horror after the fantastic outlast, but in this game the only thing i need to survive is boredom. Guess i'll have to wait for alien isolation then.
    Expand
  7. May 1, 2014
    0
    This has got to be one of the worst horror game I have ever played. It actually seems like it is a demo of an unfinished product to be honest.This has got to be one of the worst horror game I have ever played. It actually seems like it is a demo of an unfinished product to be honest. Kept hearing about this game since the next gen consoles arrived and this game is a huge pile of crap, a total disappointment. Avoid at all costs. Expand

See all 15 User Reviews

Trailers