• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
48

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 67 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Explore the ever-changing world of this procedurally generated horror game. Waking up in an abandoned hospital with only your mobile phone for illumination, you explore the institution's dark criminal past as you attempt to escape. In Daylight no two experiences are the same, and it is best played alone in the dark. Daylight introduces you to a procedurally generated world that will change each and every time you play. Each time you begin a new game, you experience a new world with new content and encounters; from the layout of the building and the things you seek to the events you encounter, it is never the same experience twice. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 27
  2. Negative: 11 out of 27
  1. Apr 29, 2014
    74
    Daylight's potency is diminished by repetition and distraction, but when you have the chance to become truly engrossed in its shadows, it can really pull you in and make you jump, especially if you’re wearing a pair of headphones.
  2. May 7, 2014
    70
    Tons of atmosphere, but little in the way of replayability.
  3. Apr 29, 2014
    60
    Daylight is a victim of its most-touted feature. When the random generated items and enemies work, every step carries a palpable sense of dread and unease. But the immersion’s lost when the player gets caught in an enemy spawning loop with too few flares is hard to get back. The story’s climax works better on paper, and bland visuals just make maze navigation aggravating.
  4. Jun 2, 2014
    50
    Ultimately, Daylight does manage to produce a few frightening scenarios thanks to the impressive audio, but it's a shame the story, gameplay, and environments aren't as well developed as the sound. The bones of something more chilling (and satisfying) are here, but there just isn't enough meat on them.
  5. May 30, 2014
    49
    Daylight deserves credit for trying to spice up the first person horror genre, but its problems keep it from becoming anything more than an interesting experiment.
  6. May 7, 2014
    35
    The gameplay is uninspired and repetitive, the story is a mess, nobody will care about the protagonist, and the challenge is minimal. And the worst part? Nothing about this is scary. You’ll stumble across a few appropriately freaky parts but even those begin to dwindle with time. If you want frightening, play Outlast. Otherwise, save your money and wait for something else.
  7. Jun 1, 2014
    10
    Flagrantly misapplying the PlayStation 4's freshly unveiled Unreal Engine 4, it looks like it was slapped together overnight, with a plethora of buggy annoyances from rough edges to muddy surface textures and glitchy lighting effects.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 7 out of 12
  1. May 1, 2014
    8
    I haven't beaten the title yet, however from what I have played of it so far, it's really good. For a 10 dollar game I already got what I have paid for despite the level design not being the greatest. Overall enjoyable, the randomness of the game makes for mad tension. Some of the pieces you look for are easier to find then others, and running low on flares is a pain in the ass, but the first time I turned around to an enemy standing right behind me I straight up shat my pants. Scary scary. Expand
  2. May 12, 2014
    8
    What I think is being missed here by most reviews, is that this game is obviously intended to be rendered in 3D; it is a proof of concept title that falls short of perfection, but looses your mind on the possibilities of 3D gaming. I have played 3D enabled platforming titles, and watched 3D movies, but never played a 1st Person game in a full 3D environment as it is presented in Daylight.

    The story is similar to other horror titles that have come and gone through the years; waking up in an abandoned hospital/prison/ghost town, ect. and trying to make your way out alive, putting together the puzzle pieces of what happened along the way. It is by no means a bad story (so far) though, just don't expect it to blow your mind.

    The atmosphere is chilling, and the protagonists random dialogue while searching the spooky environments for more flares or glow sticks actually drew me in quite a bit.

    This is a $10 game that provides $10 of entertainment, why everyone is expecting more, I don't know... but I speak this after having played it in its intended format, 3D enabled with surround sound. If you do not have 3D, or quality sound devices, you may be better off playing Outlast and its new expansion. If you do have 3D, and quality surround sound, this is worth playing.
    Expand
  3. Apr 30, 2014
    7
    What I enjoy about Daylight is this, as that loading screen slowly moves along, I can hear my PS4 saying “Hey Boss, you have to check out this thing I made, I I I I I I I'm not even sure what it is exactly, all I know is that I made it myself. I did exactly what you told me to do. And I'm really excited about it!” And you kind of go “Awwww he's created a mediocre survival horror game, it's adorable. I'm going to hang it on my wall.” But jokes aside I always love wandering through the bland hallways computers make when they're randomly generating a large environment. The environments are very large and maze like, sprawling rooms filled with mostly nothing. And as you explore a feeling that you're being hunted, and could be attacked at any time. You don't know if the music is signalling an enemy or if it's just screwing with your head. I have to admit, it scared me. I scare easily. Amnesia is one of my favorite games of all time but I never got past the first actual enemy, I just watched the damn thing on youtube. This game left me extremely uneasy. Lots of suspense, not a lot of action. The encounters are brief, I just run away. The enemies can be a bit cheap. But it still terrified me, even though I'm really easy to terrify.... So I don't know man, I don't know. It's certainly not great, but a 3 is a bit harsh, I'd say it's a 6.5, but since they only allow 6 or 7 I'll give it a 7. Also I have grown to have an affection for Sarah. I think she is a wonderful idiot. She's like Adrienne in Phantasmagoria. Whenever she delivers one of her terribly acted lines I can't help but smirk. Her fear amuses me. Although sometimes we're on the exact same page, terrified. But here's the thing, I don't hate it. I'm sorry, if you hate this game so much you give it a 3 or a 0 I understand completely, but I just find it fun. I like wandering around the strange labyrinthine mazes the computer constructs. I enjoy listening to the game trying to make me go crazy with the music. I also like the enemies, they're actually pretty scary.... So whatever.... 7. Rate however you want, I can't save this game, but I'd be lying if I said I didn't enjoy it. Is it worth the 10 dollars I paid for it? Yes, many times over. But it's not a perfect Mona Lisa or anything, it's like a low grade bag of potato chips. And you know what else? The environments aren't bad either, they're pretty frightening, but also just, very interesting. It's par for the course for procedurally generated levels, but still I think the level design was actually kind of nice. Overall the environments are pretty good quality. I think it's neat. Graphics aren't half bad either. Not great, but not nearly as bad as people are saying. Haven't finished it yet, but so far it's been pretty enjoyable. If you're really into that sort of thing, maybe it's worth a look. Expand
  4. May 9, 2014
    4
    Ok, where to start. I was looking forward to this for a while it looked good and so sat down and was ready for a outlast type ride. Well. Its not that, not by a mile. Its repetitve, boring, irritating, poorly made, and so crap i havent even finnished it. Dont waste your money, try the new out last dlc its way way better. Expand
  5. May 1, 2014
    3
    Boooooring....
    The scares are boring
    Leveldesign is boring
    Graphics are ps2 quality and....boring
    Loadingtimes are superlong and makes me
    bored.
    Was hoping on another survival horror after the fantastic outlast, but in this game the only thing i need to survive is boredom. Guess i'll have to wait for alien isolation then.
    Expand
  6. Jul 21, 2014
    3
    I have to say with all the hype around this game it was one of the few releases for the PS4 i was looking forward to buying. In all honesty it had a good idea with randomly generated levels so that the playing experience, but after much fumbling around in the dark and getting lost a few times you go through your characters dialog fairly quickly. any time she talked it sounded more and more like a broken answering machine than anything else. In the way of horror genres you can do much better than Daylight Expand
  7. May 1, 2014
    0
    This has got to be one of the worst horror game I have ever played. It actually seems like it is a demo of an unfinished product to be honest. Kept hearing about this game since the next gen consoles arrived and this game is a huge pile of crap, a total disappointment. Avoid at all costs. Collapse

See all 12 User Reviews