Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 343 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Groan your way through the zombie apocalypse as hit arcade shooter Dead Nation shuffles onto PS4. Fight for your life alone or with a friend as Jack McReady or Scarlett Blake as you step onto the streets of a city overrunwith undead flesh-eaters. And, if you’re feeling really brave, take aGroan your way through the zombie apocalypse as hit arcade shooter Dead Nation shuffles onto PS4. Fight for your life alone or with a friend as Jack McReady or Scarlett Blake as you step onto the streets of a city overrunwith undead flesh-eaters. And, if you’re feeling really brave, take a walk down the Road of Devastation – a deadly experiment that pushes your survival skills to the absolute limit as you face hordes of zombies with no extra lives and no second chances. [Playstation.com] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Mar 4, 2014
    90
    This is the excuse you were looking for playing again Housemarque's masterpiece and, as the great shooter it is, it's the best chance to play it if you couldn't do it on PS3.
  2. Mar 4, 2014
    81
    The additions might look quite irrelevant, but before letting it go, think twice. This game is still as fun as it was on PS3, and the Broadcast+ feature, allowing our streaming watchers to modify our games, is an amazing option you must try.
  3. Mar 4, 2014
    80
    Dead Nation: Apocalypse Edition is a nice take on the original game, packed with some extra modes and upgraded graphics.
  4. Apr 4, 2014
    80
    Dead Nation is roughly the same game as back in 2010, nevertheless Housemarque was able to deliver yet another great game for the PS4 with all the new features.
  5. Mar 4, 2014
    78
    Some new social features and a crisper 1080p look enhance this PS4 reincarnation of Dead Nation without changing the original, proven twin-stick shooter formula.
  6. Dead Nation's plot is as substantial as a slice of Bernard Matthews turkey ham. [May 2014, p.86]
  7. 50
    Still the same lacklustre combination of Left 4 Dead with a twin-stick shooter, where only the status of PlayStation Plus freebie prevents further criticism.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 46
  2. Negative: 7 out of 46
  1. Mar 5, 2014
    10
    The PS4 release is my first experience with DN, and it's fantastic. Top-down perspective, dual stick action that still requires quite a bit ofThe PS4 release is my first experience with DN, and it's fantastic. Top-down perspective, dual stick action that still requires quite a bit of strategy. Interactive game streaming takes advantage of the PS4's capability.

    Diablo III + L4D2 + Stardust HD/Resogun == Dead Nation.
    Expand
  2. Mar 15, 2014
    9
    Dead Nation Apocalypse Edition is a fun game. I went in to it thinking it was going to be another shooter.But I was wrong. The infectionDead Nation Apocalypse Edition is a fun game. I went in to it thinking it was going to be another shooter.But I was wrong. The infection cycle by nation is cool, and the fact that it comes with road to devastation is awesome. It is a great game overall. Expand
  3. Mar 4, 2014
    9
    Such a great game! It has the retro feel to it, which I like, and even though it doesn't exceed with graphics nor gameplay (compared to theSuch a great game! It has the retro feel to it, which I like, and even though it doesn't exceed with graphics nor gameplay (compared to the major PS4 titles), it proved to be a really, really fun time. Love it! Expand
  4. Apr 22, 2014
    8
    Housemarque just make fun and addictive games plain and simple. If you've played Super Stardust or Resogun you'll already know this. DeadHousemarque just make fun and addictive games plain and simple. If you've played Super Stardust or Resogun you'll already know this. Dead Nation Apocalypse is a remastered edition of the PS3 game Dead Nation. It's a top down shoot em up that's based on scores, trophies and reflexes. It's a twin stick shooter in which you are either a man or a women who's in a world overrun by zombies and you have to survive by blasting your way through hordes of different kinds of zombies to reach checkpoints.. You can upgrade your weapons and armor along the way. You can gain new weapons and armor throughout the game also. It's just pure gameplay.

    Players are awarded score multipliers and money when zombies are killed. Money is used to purchase and upgrade weapons at checkpoints, and multipliers to grant better scores. Each time players are hit, they lose multipliers and health. Players fight their way through ten levels, using weapon shops that allow weapon upgrading and armor swapping ( all in game money which is good ). Throughout the levels, players can find boxes that hold ammunition, multipliers, money, or armor pieces, and also loot cars and trunks for money. If a car is blown up before being looted, though, the loot is lost. At times the players are trapped in areas where they must survive until they have accomplished a certain goal (e.g. wait for an elevator while fighting zombies or kill all zombies in the area). Armor sets influence strength, endurance and agility.

    Zombies are attracted by flares, car alarms, grenades, mines, and vending machines. Zombies can be killed by environmental hazards which the player can use to their advantage. Players will encounter a variety of zombies. Players can use a melee and rush attack against zombies, as well as a variety of weaponry like rocket launchers, flamethrowers and electric weapons.

    It can get a little repetitive at times and the story is kind of weak and so is the main character. To be honest though you will be playing this purely for the gameplay alone because it's fun, fast paced and addictive.
    Expand
  5. Mar 29, 2014
    7
    The game is pretty fun, the controls took me a little while to get used to but if you are a completionist like my self you're gonna have aThe game is pretty fun, the controls took me a little while to get used to but if you are a completionist like my self you're gonna have a hard time the game is hard as hell on the hardest difficulty but well worth it Expand
  6. Apr 24, 2014
    7
    Muy bueno, Excelente coop. Una mejora de graficas, imagenes y sonido de la version de ps3. Obviamente un coop de 4 jugadores hubiese sidoMuy bueno, Excelente coop. Una mejora de graficas, imagenes y sonido de la version de ps3. Obviamente un coop de 4 jugadores hubiese sido mejor. Si no lo pudiste tener gratis en un buen buy, Todos los bugs q tenia al principio los arreglaron. Expand
  7. Mar 7, 2014
    0
    They already gave me this game as compensation for handing all my personal information and credit card data to Eastern European hackers. OverThey already gave me this game as compensation for handing all my personal information and credit card data to Eastern European hackers. Over time I was able to forgive them and upon taking them back with the stipulation that I agree to help pay for a better, safer online experience they rewarded me with the same boring top down shooter. Expand

See all 46 User Reviews