Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 308 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Groan your way through the zombie apocalypse as hit arcade shooter Dead Nation shuffles onto PS4. Fight for your life alone or with a friend as Jack McReady or Scarlett Blake as you step onto the streets of a city overrunwith undead flesh-eaters. And, if you’re feeling really brave, take a walk down the Road of Devastation – a deadly experiment that pushes your survival skills to the absolute limit as you face hordes of zombies with no extra lives and no second chances. [Playstation.com] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Mar 4, 2014
    90
    This is the excuse you were looking for playing again Housemarque's masterpiece and, as the great shooter it is, it's the best chance to play it if you couldn't do it on PS3.
  2. Mar 4, 2014
    81
    The additions might look quite irrelevant, but before letting it go, think twice. This game is still as fun as it was on PS3, and the Broadcast+ feature, allowing our streaming watchers to modify our games, is an amazing option you must try.
  3. Mar 4, 2014
    80
    Dead Nation: Apocalypse Edition is a nice take on the original game, packed with some extra modes and upgraded graphics.
  4. Apr 4, 2014
    80
    Dead Nation is roughly the same game as back in 2010, nevertheless Housemarque was able to deliver yet another great game for the PS4 with all the new features.
  5. Mar 4, 2014
    78
    Some new social features and a crisper 1080p look enhance this PS4 reincarnation of Dead Nation without changing the original, proven twin-stick shooter formula.
  6. Dead Nation's plot is as substantial as a slice of Bernard Matthews turkey ham. [May 2014, p.86]
  7. 50
    Still the same lacklustre combination of Left 4 Dead with a twin-stick shooter, where only the status of PlayStation Plus freebie prevents further criticism.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 42
  2. Negative: 6 out of 42
  1. Mar 5, 2014
    10
    The PS4 release is my first experience with DN, and it's fantastic. Top-down perspective, dual stick action that still requires quite a bit of strategy. Interactive game streaming takes advantage of the PS4's capability.

    Diablo III + L4D2 + Stardust HD/Resogun == Dead Nation.
    Expand
  2. Mar 15, 2014
    9
    Dead Nation Apocalypse Edition is a fun game. I went in to it thinking it was going to be another shooter.But I was wrong. The infection cycle by nation is cool, and the fact that it comes with road to devastation is awesome. It is a great game overall. Expand
  3. Mar 4, 2014
    9
    Such a great game! It has the retro feel to it, which I like, and even though it doesn't exceed with graphics nor gameplay (compared to the major PS4 titles), it proved to be a really, really fun time. Love it! Expand
  4. Oct 2, 2014
    8
    No major changes from PS3 but still worth the cost if you never played it (and even if you had the PS3 version it might be worth again as the cost is fairly low, free if you have PSN).

    Decent graphics even for a PS4 game. Fast paced action that suits casuals and hardcores (the ones that play for the high score) alike.

    Very very fun with a friend.

    The only major problem is replayability if you are not too keen in high difficulty, high scores and/or achievements, as the game itself is somewhat short (around 3 hours to clear all maps).
    Expand
  5. Mar 21, 2014
    7
    Great game, but would have liked to see more improvements over the PS3 version. The best experience is reached when played with a friend, online or locally. Expand
  6. Apr 24, 2014
    7
    Muy bueno, Excelente coop. Una mejora de graficas, imagenes y sonido de la version de ps3. Obviamente un coop de 4 jugadores hubiese sido mejor. Si no lo pudiste tener gratis en un buen buy, Todos los bugs q tenia al principio los arreglaron. Expand
  7. Mar 7, 2014
    0
    They already gave me this game as compensation for handing all my personal information and credit card data to Eastern European hackers. Over time I was able to forgive them and upon taking them back with the stipulation that I agree to help pay for a better, safer online experience they rewarded me with the same boring top down shooter. Expand

See all 42 User Reviews